petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ferrets for Dummies

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Ferrets for Dummies

Fun and entertaining book written in the down-to-earth Dummies style gives you the lowdown on keeping your ferret healthy and contentLearn everything from how to choose the right ferret for you to feeding and training
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ferrets for Dummies
Review 1 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woozel-rific!

PostedDecember 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Melissa
from Florida
I read "Ferrets for Dummies" because I'm considering purshasing a ferret next year. Right when I bought the book, I began reading it. It's very large but worth it. This book tells about everything from breeding, to handling, to training, and even teaching ferrets tricks! It even gives some backround information on the Black-footed ferret. This is a very informative book that I would recommend to anyone that has a ferret or is considering on getting one. Five Ferret Paws up! ^^
I would recommend this to a friend!
Information Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Chloe's Mommy
from Moses Lake, WA
It was the MOST informative book I could have ever asked for about ferrets, their behavior, and their health. It explained almost any question I ever had in a simple and humorous manner. The information came in handy on more than one occasion to determine whether or not my ferret's health was in question and I needed to contact a vet for a problem I could have mistakenly ignored or dismissed! It is just SO good and comprehensive that I recommend it to Anybody who has a ferret- or is considering getting one (or more).
I would recommend this to a friend!
Information Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have for any new ferret owner

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngelMR2
from Central Pennsylvania
Great knowledge about medicine and treatments and thoughtful tips in regards to everyday life. If you're thinking about getting a ferret, buy this book first.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The book for ferrets.

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
2ferrets2cats1dog
from Vernon,CT
This book gives me facts and information that's very useful. Its not just great for if your wanting a ferret but also if you have one and is good for years and years of your ferrets life tells you about tricks, food to give you ferret and what's the best things, travel questions and what diseases and help you can give to your ferret,and so many many more things. I really do believe this book will help you out for the years with your ferret.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Good Good

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
AnimalLovr21
from Las Veags NM
I ordered this book because I've been seriouly thinking about adding a ferret to the family. It has so many great facts and detailed information for new ferret owners. Even if you already have ferrets it's a great book to have on hand because it has first aid info, recipes, any health issues, and for when the time comes; how to say goodbye to your fuzzy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
magandkoda
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this book! I got it about two years ago when I got my first ferrets, Koda and Maggie. It has absolutely everything you need to know about ferret care, and more. I STILL refer to it sometimes, and I've been a ferret owner for two years now! This is definitely a must-get for any new ferret owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The..Best...ferret book...

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
MadDog112
I haven't finished it all but im in the middle and i already got a ton of information about my little Fuzzy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Guide to Start

PostedNovember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
blavv
from Vancouver, BC
Pet shop owner recommended this book to me. I had very limited knowledge about ferrets, but after reading this book, I am more confident in living with ferrets. I recommend this book to all people who are planning to live with ferrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Ferrets!

PostedSeptember 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
VeterinaryStudent
from Orange, CT
This is a great book if you are looking to get a ferret or want to know more about the ferret you already know. Full of great informative things on how to properly care for your ferret, how to feed, house, and even bathe your ferret. This book goes into great detail about everything you would ever have to know and any questions you may have. It also has a very informative section on your ferrets health and what signs to look for if your ferret is getting ill. It is also filled with really cool facts that you may not know about ferrets. For example I bet you didn't know that a ferret has to taste everything that you want them to eat by 6 months old. This is because their ability to smell the food diminishes after that time if they have not already come in contact with it. I would highly recommend this book and have read it over 10 times and still look back at it if I need to remember something.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
ferretsRmything101
I read this book and it was great! I had alot of questions and this FABULOUS book had all the answers. I recommend this book to anyone who owns or wants to own a Ferret. This book will help you take good care of your Ferret and keep it happy. The explanations were easy to understand and can be read by pretty much everyone. It had lots of humor and humorous ways of explaining things. So, anyone who wants a happy and healthy Ferret should purchase "Ferrets for Dummies".
Seriously people this book is grrreat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good read

PostedMay 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
FerretFiend03
from Janesville, WI
this is a must for new ferret owners. the author provides personal stories and excellent insights to the world of carpet sharks. wonderful information about everything a ferret parent needs to know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedMay 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
animalfreak101
from Spokane Valley, WA
gives extreme detaile yo make sure your ferret lives long and happy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tons of information

PostedMay 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
katxanrn
from Illinois
This is the book all ferret parents need to have on hand to handle all the things that come up when you own ferrets. It covers everthing from diet to toys to what to do when your ferret is lost. We keep this book out all the time and use it alot. It is absolutely packed with information. Very easy to read and understand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Book for New Owners

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
MNovak
from Connecticut
This is a must have for new ferret owners. It also makes a good book to reference as far as medical issues and just things that might be of concern.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!!!!!!1

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
ferretgirl
from Mapleton, Minnesota
Hi, i have a pet ferret, and i wanted to fed her some people food but i didn't know if she would get sick so i bought this book, and it helped me out a lot. Now i know what is healthy, and how to keep coda (my ferret) healthy. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very helpful book!

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Krystal87
I bought this book when I got my first ferret in 2001, this is by far the most helpful book on ferrets that I have ever read! If you are a new owner or someone thinking of buying a ferret, you should purchase and read this book, it is very helful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy read and a great reference

PostedFebruary 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
partnersINcrime
from nj
definately got me through my first AND second fuzzies :) it tell you everything from buying your ferret, many different feeding options...all the way through training tips and sicknesses you may come across
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This book tells you all you need to know about ferrets and even more!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ferret book

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
PaigeV
This is a great informational book. I learned alot about ferrets that I didn't know. It's perfect for a first time ferret owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ferrets for Dummies
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
ahappyperson
from naples,florida
this book is a great guide to ferrrets.it is very true and extremely helpful.i would purchase this book a hundred times over.its great book.i highly recomend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>