petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter

Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter

All the strength, half the weight24/7 performanceContinuous odor control99.9% dust freeMulti-cat formulaLight, tight clumps for easy scooping
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(6287 Reviews) 6287
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 6,287 reviews
5 stars
3,494
4 stars
1,606
3 stars
325
2 stars
233
1 star
629
5,194 out of 6,127(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight litter

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Concord nh
Great product - cats like this litter & clumping factor is great when it comes to cleaning the litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the lightweight.

PostedApril 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
I have 4 cats and I also foster. I brought 3 fosters into my home in 1 week and had to put out extra litter boxes. I moved my cats boxes to my master bath off my bedroom. Needless to say I have had to mix regular Tidy Cat with the lightweight. I was walking in cat litter constantly for weeks and vacuuming daily sometimes twice daily. Not to mention the cats lay on my bed, so I had litter in my bed too! What a mess! It is okay if mixed and I will buy when on sale and with coupons preferably.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New lightweight is horrible

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from TX
I have used this product for years. I was excited when I saw the adds for light weight litter. It is awful. Since they switched to light weight, there is a constant dust smell in the air. It is a very strong dust odor, noticible from 20 feet away. I am switching to a new product today!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
PurinaTidyCatsMarch 22, 2015
We're really sorry to hear you're not pleased with the scent of our LightWeight formula. It's actually designed to have a fresh laundry detergent or a citrus floral smell, depending on which formula you've purchased. Our team is really interested in better understanding what you're smelling when you use the product. We're always here to talk at 800-877-7551. The Tidy Cats Team
PurinaTidyCatsMarch 22, 2015
We're really sorry to hear you're not pleased with the scent of our LightWeight formula. It's actually designed to have a fresh laundry detergent or a citrus floral smell, depending on which formula you've purchased. Our team is really interested in better understanding what you're smelling when you use the product. We're always here to talk at 800-877-7551. The Tidy Cats Team
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rockland County, NY
I have two huge cats and this litter works just as well as others but doesn't kill me lugging it up the stairs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Dusty

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mishawaka, IN
The only thing I like about this product is the light weighing. It's way to dusty, I have to dust off everything in the room every other day. It doesn't cover the number 2 smell either and I clean the box 3 times a day for 2 cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Messy

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Eastvale, Ca
Was nice that it was light weight. But be ready for whatever room your litter box is in ( covered litter box or not ) there will be a fine dust everywhere. With in the 1st day my bathroom had a dust layer. By 2nd day was even worse and in every room of the house. I ended up dumping and getting rid of the litter by the 3rd day. It also did not block odors that well either *and I clean the box at least 2 times a day but with this litter I was checking it every moment I got cause you could smell it threw out the hallway of my house from the bathroom* The dust was everywhere and was a royal pain in the butt to clean. Back to normal weight litter. May be light weight and easy to carry but you will spend more time cleaning the mess it leaves behind. One of the WORSE litters I have ever used.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The litter is only average

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
The litter doesn't clump as well as others. It only has average odor controlling ability but the lightweight is a plus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite litter

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
Out of all the litter I have tried for my cats, this is my favorite. It really is light weight and it keeps the smell away unlike most litter I have tried.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lighter is not always better

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
Pros: Light weight, recyclable container, if you like fragrance it's got a nice, fresh "linen" scent (I wish the container indicated it was scented, however)
Cons: the lighter litter gets tracked through out the house much more than the regular weight litter I used to use. I had to sweep and vacuum more often. Some of the the litter particles "melt" and stick to the box and cover I use. I also think this litter produces more dust.
Overall, I do not recommend this litter unless you absolutely have to have a lighter alternative to regular litter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great litter!

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
This stuff is fantastic. I have 4 cats and over the years tried many product, both natural and manufactured. This stuff WORKS GREAT!! It is so light and easy to clean. Clumps wonderfully. Kills oders and most important because it is so light the cats and my kitten all can easily cover their messes completely. It's lightness and oder control and clumping power makes cleaning the litter box a much more pleasant chore. I no longer dread going to clean it because it doesn't smell foal, everything is covered and it clumps so well! Everybody loves this stuff!.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Filthy mess

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pgh., PA
This litter was such a disappointment, at first I was thrilled with the weight and how easy it was to scoop. However, after a few days I discovered the odor control seemed non-existent. It flew out all over the floor and I had to sweep every time they used the box. The dust was worse than any home remodeling job I've had done and it tracked into all 8 rooms of my house. In other words, it was a waste of my time and money. Worst product ever!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much easier to carry...

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Auburn, CA
Thank you Tidy Cats for lightweight litter; I have a two story house, litter box upstairs and now can easily carry litter without breaking my poor back. Also it clumps nicely, has a pleasant fragrance and my cat loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tidy Cats Light Weight Performance Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Texas
I broke my wrist in March and out of necessity I bought this litter because of the ease of handeling...was I pleasantly surprised to find it every bit as effective as the heavier formula!!! Now all I buy is the lightweight formula...it is such an improvement ...way to gobTidy Cats.....A+++ product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.