petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Simple Solution Potty Training Aid

Scientifically formulated attractant helps shorten housetraining timeTrains your pet where to urinateFor indoor or outdoor use
Average Customer Rating:
2.758 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
15
15 out of 33(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Review 1 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIFESAVER!!!!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, Ca.
I had decided to litter box train our new puppy. Unfortunately, our steam cleaner was getting more use than the litter box. After searching this site for a solution, I went to petco, purchased this product and sprayed some in her litter box. Weeks later, she has not had even one accident! I doubted the product before purchase because of the negative review on this website. But I was desperate and willing to try anything! THANK GOD for this product! It worked immediately! If your relationship with your little sweetheart is strained by her accidents, TRY THIS PRODUCT! It has taken away the only negative that existed between us and the newest memeber of our happy household! I cannot praise this product enough! I have suggested it to all of my friends who suffer through doggie accidents!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Puyallup,WA
Of course this was my dog's reaction - yours may not do this.
He LOVED to eat this product. I had also purchased the "buried stake" version of this product which he could not get enough of. It did not encourage him to urinate where he was suppose to but rather seemed to act as a dessert topping and made things more desirable to eat. (I sprayed it on wood chips in his kennel)
I took it back to the store for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better safe than sorry!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I have bought this product twice while training my puppy. I actually spray it on her wee pads. Either the product works or she is just a smart little dog who's learning where to go...maybe a little of both!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not at all working

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco
I dunno. I'm about to give up. I adopted a dog trained by a former K9 cop, so the poor thing (he was not a k9 dog, but trained as such)
So, he won't go in the back yard, because I guess at the kennels, he was trained to go in a remote area of back-woods.
I built him a sod litter box in a corner of my back yard, and have tried EVERYTHING to get him to go on it.
In the store, he seemed really interested in this smell, but at home, it might as well be repellent.
I'm not sure if it will work for your dog, but it does have a money back guarantee...I think mine is going back :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a miracle!

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Stevens Point WI
We adopted an adult male dog who had no interest in actually 'going potty', only marking spots as he went on walks. Sprayed some on a tree in the yard and led him to it and he took the longest leak he has taken all week!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hi
I bought this product to help train my 10 week old siberian husky to potty outside. I tried the product for a week and nothing happened. He sniffed once and just ignored the scent the rest of the time. Had high hopes for this product but ended up returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Woodside, NY
I was very disappointed with this product. I guess it's completely up to our pet's preference but this was definitely not a good choice. I sprayed a little on the pad and I noticed the pad was gone. My dachshund puppy took the pad and hid. He was frantically chewing at the area that was sprayed and ripped the pad to shreds. It took a few tries even to get him to go to the pad again. I don't know what is in this product to make him act the way he did. Needless to say I poured the bottle down the drain and threw out the bottle. Waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Great product!!! Cant believe it actually worked. After reading some of the reviews about this product I was a bit skeptical but I was really desperate to have my puppy trained so I gave it a try and I am so glad I bought this!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Used with Adult Dogs

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from LA, CA
Yes, my boys are not puppies, so take this review with a grain of salt. That said: sure, maybe this stuff helped a little bit. I definitely don't need a whole bottle. My dogs seemed to favor paper grocery bags to urinate on while inside the house. I put the paper bags outside and sprayed this stuff next to it. The dogs are now going outside on the bags. Was it due to the potty training spray or the bags, or a combination of both? who knows...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dog wouldn't even smell the spray

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from OK
I was really hopeful that this product would work after getting a new dog. I purchased a potty patch system and tried this spray. My dog wouldn't even walk near it. I tried it outside and my dog walked around the spot. Not a strong smell inside, but outside when the wind picked up it smelled like manure. You would think a dog would at least sniff, but not mine. It was worth the try, but didn't work for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
does not work at all, i have used multiple products from this brand and none of them worked. i think my puppy is very picky maybe....but it had no effect at all on him.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst ever

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
do not buy this item it does not work at all
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Life/Home Saver

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
After reading the reviews on this product, I was skeptical as to whether this was going to work or not. After I purchased it, I was excited to go home and test it out.
We currently have our male Teacup Yorkie going on puppy pads, and hope to keep it this way as he was paper trained at the breeder's house. When we moved him into our home, he was going everywhere, and for a while, it seemed he had it in his head to go when we could see him just to get a treat.
I started spraying this on the puppy pads once to twice a day, and using the Nature's Miracle Stain and Odor Remover in all his accident spots. So far he's been going on the puppy pads! Even when we leave him alone to roam the house (all bedroom and bathroom doors closed), when he gets up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, he goes to the pads!
We're so proud of him, and it makes him being in the house much easier on everyone. This product is great.
One thing I kept reading is that it depends on the dog, but I love this and will continue to buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Training Aid Ever

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I used this on my Potty Patch the very 1st day I got my puppy & he sniffed it & went right away on the potty Patch!! No messes on the floor or carpet to clen up!! Fantastic Product
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MIRACLE worker - lifesaver product !! Thank you !!

PostedDecember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from L.A.
After a little over a week of trying to puppy litter train my puppy she just wasn't getting it. My puppy is an American Eskimo - they are very intelligent but also can be VERY stubborn. The first couple of days we tried just putting her in the potty but she didn't want to use it. I had read to try putting a box around the litter so they aren't able to run off and play when it's potty time. So we tried that the second half of the week - Well my puppy ended up just playing IN the potty and even laying down to nap and our theory is that she ended up seeing it just like a second crate and so she did not want to potty in it (she loves her crate and was crate trained from the.first.night.)
So THEN we bought a puppy pad (didn't work - she tore it up) and this spray. We also removed the litterbox from the surrounding box and tried just putting it out on the floor again.. She went in the litter box, sniffed, circled twice, and started going in her potty..! For the first time..! (She had gone a couple of times "finishing" after we caught her but that was very rare usually she would just hold it and run off and go somewhere else 2 minutes later). Since then she has only had 1 urine accident - I think she was just overly excited - and about 60% of the time she is going number 2 in her potty as well (this spray only teaches them to go #1). In a short while she should be 100% trained on number 2 as well.
My dog went from 0-80 like *that* and I truly was amazed with this product. From reading the reviews I have noticed those that had trouble with the product were those using the pads. The pads already have a scent so it probably confuses them even more. Also I spray alot and I spray more a few times a day just to make sure.. I reccomend trying with the litter if the pads or pads + spray are not working. They still like to chew on the litter but the pads they love to DESTROY and rip to shreds instead of going potty on them - lol.
Also another tip if your dog doesn't take to it the first time don't give up - maybe they don't even have to go at the moment or they could just be a slow learner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Handling/Shipping

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
from NY
My item was delivered with all the liquid leaked out of the bottle. Customer Support was very helpful and oferred free replacement, but that too arrived with the bottle open and all the product in the plastic bag it was placed in Didn't even call Customer Support again, was too frustrated!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It definitely worked on the first set of pads

PostedJune 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
from washington dc
I purchased this training aid when my daushund mix was about 7 weeks old. I first used non scented pads and would spray it on the pads about twice a day. 90-95% of the time she would do her business on it.(But puppies still make mistakes)Then I bought some arm & hammer puppy pads that were already scented but i would still use it so that she would still be familar with the smell to relieve herself. When I spray th training aid on the pad she now tries to lick it but she still uses the pad. So now Im not sure if its the arm and hammer pad itself or the training aid spray. However the pads dont just work alone. If you see your puppy sniffin around after a nap, playtime, or after meal time, just place them on the pad and dont let them get off until they finish their business. It definitely works for the unscented pads and I spray the bitter apple spray on the edges of the pads so that she wont try to tear the pad up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great but Give it Time

PostedNovember 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
We could not break "Brenna" from going all over our yard. We chose a place where we were comfortable with her going ...but nothing we did could make her go in that one spot. Thank goodness we tried this product. At first she seemed to avoid this spot at all cost. But within 7-10 days it worked!! Thank you
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work!

PostedSeptember 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Jersey City, NJ
I've sprayed this product on newspaper and it doesn't work. I also tried it on the wee wee pads that my puppy ignores and it instead drives him crazy. He ends up digging at it and biting it but not urinating on it. I will request my money back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Simple Solution Potty Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just doesnt work

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Virginia Beach, VA
I was very hopeful for this product. My puppy was doing good at the breeders going potty on a pad, but when we brought her home, she hasn't been doing so well, so we where hoping this would attract her to the pad.... it doesnt do squat... doesnt attract her or unattract her... I dont even think she knows it exist.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>