petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters

Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters

Quiet power filtration fits discreetly inside your tank, working in as little as two inches of waterCombines mechanical, biological, and chemical filtration to deliver crystal clear water
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
15
63 out of 84(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters

PostedNovember 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
fred aka zippy
from Mesquite NV
This filter was great i have a small tank for my baby frog an all the other filters to up to much room so this one was great!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filters!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
HamatoKameko
from Los Angeles, CA
I have four Tetra Whisper Internal Filters, two small and two medium, and I love them all. They're quiet and keep the tanks nice and sparkly clean. Definitely recommended!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishymomma
from MT
I purchased the internal filter because I had trouble with my last filter leaking. I love this and it is quite. The only downfall is I can't fill the aquarium as full but it is still worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

VERY NOISY

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
froggirl1287
from NJ
the filtration feature works well but the fact that its named WHISPER, leads one to believe its quiet but not for a turtle tank set up with water only above the minimum line for this filter. im honestly thinking of returning it for a submersible filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the whisper systems!

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
thesavants08
I had a ten gallon tank in my sons room but he was kept awake by the filter included with the tank. I bought a whisper filter and love it! The gentle hum is all you hear and it was an excellent product. Now with my 29 gallon tank in my dining area I have installed another whisper 40i. I didn't buy a tank 'kit' specifically so I can use this filter system. It always keeps the tank clean and water moving which is great! Also, the replacement filters are not outrageous to replace. I also love that on my hood I only had to punch out the smallest hole because this filter is internal. I only had to have enough space on top for the hook. No water splashes for me because my hood still covers it! Excellent filter and would recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tetra Whisper 2-10i, a little too powerful for 3 gallons

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
joeylikesanimals
from Duluth, MN
I have a 3 gallon tank with one male betta. I was GOING to get the Tetra Whisper 3i, but my local Petco was sold out of them, so I got the 10i instead, seeing that it could cope from 2 gallons to 10 gallons. When I plugged it in, it was tossing my poor guy around like a hurricane. BUT - there is an easy solution to this! I covered the intake with a pantyhose, and I baffled the outflow with a piece of soda bottle. You can google this if you want to try. It works great!
As the name suggests, it is absolutely SILENT, so that's a good thing going for it.
My only big complaint is the suction cups. If they fall out, they are a REAL pain in the neck to get back in.
Overall, I'd say the Tetra Whisper filters are a good buy... just make sure you get the right size!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough filter

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
bettaprotector
This filter has been through a lot. When I first purchased it, it was for my 10 gallon aquarium. I bought a 20 gallon model, since I wanted a bit of a stronger water flow. It was in that aquarium for probably around 2 years. Then, we went away for 2 weeks, and when we got back, the 10 gallon was leaking. The water level was way down, the filter was gurgling on air bubbles, but still moving. After I upgraded to a 20 gallon, that filter continued its job for another year before I switched to a canister. It did have a problem with overflowing out the back, but that was because the filter cartridge would get clogged and then the water could not pass through it quickly enough. During its entire life, it was in an aquarium with sand on the bottom. I never heard so much as a single grind out of it. Excellent, quiet design. The filter is sitting dry in storage still usable. Altogether, this is a tough but silent filter well worth the money.
I hope that this is helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

regarding the 3i: bit noisy, but it works.

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ichthyophobia
from Colorado
I have the smallest model of this filter. It works well, and the filter cartridges are easy to change. I also like that it doesn't try to suck my betta's fins in, though I'm still getting plenty of water movement. I haven't had any problems with unpleasant odors or discoloration in the tank since installation, and the suction cups enable me to put the filter high enough that I get a waterfall instead of a current across the entire surface of the tank. (My fish also loves to sleep behind the filter on top of the suction cup. It's one of his favorite spots in the tank.)
However, the air pump is not quiet. We originally had it on a wooden surface, and it would rattle and buzz. Putting it on a washcloth didn't work either, as it would rattle its way off the washcloth and continue to buzz. We eventually wrapped it in bubble wrap, which has mostly alleviated the problem, but it still has a notable hum. However, if you don't mind the noise, the filter is very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

whisper quiet!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
pasha2001
from florida
I had this filter for my ten gallon tank and it was amazing. it was super quiet and my water was Crystal clear!! I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
: ))
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for my fish bowl

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bettalover143
from Palatine,il
I was looking for a filter small enough for my fish bowl with green crowtail betta. It fit perfectly and made no noise and the waterfall didn't scare my betta.I love it I will recommend it for fish lover with small tank or bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DDIZZELZ
from Hayward, CA
I have two 5 in. res turtles in a 10 gallon tank. The whisper 10i filters really well and is extremely quiet. My water is very clear and I'm loving it. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little filter

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
masslady
from North Adams,Ma
I have these in my zoomed betta house tanks they work great.The bettas don't seem to mind them at all.Theres another small filter that pushes the bettas around this one doesn't.It does a good job filtering.I have18 of them love them so do the bettas
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whisper system is simple and easy

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alexi
from New Jersey
I ordered a Whisper filter to replace my old unit. The first one lasted about seven years of continuous use. The unit is quiet and compact, it's easy an economical to change the filters and clean.
We have a ten gallon tank and several cats that like to sleep on the lid. The Whisper filter traps impurities from the tank plus loose cat hairs from the water's surface. The replacement filters are inexpensive and come singly or in boxes of three.Very good value all around!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My opinion

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Animilia
from FL
This is a really nice fit for an aquarium that is at least 5.5 gallons.
The filter is not very high-duty, so it does not replace quarter changing every week.
Food CAN get clogged in it, so be sure not to feed near the filter.
The suction cup it comes with is good AT FIRST, but then when you try to move it, it will fall off the filter, and you will me out of luck. I have to just keep mine floating in the water now.
Overall, I am satisfied, and it was a good price for what you get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Where is the -5 paw

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
NinjahNTygur
from Bridgeport,Ct
I just bought this thing Saterday it's now Monday getting ready to pack it up and bring it back I woke up this morning to a loud vibration noise as if My turlte's tank didnt have any water. And the water pressure coming out the filter was low and had the whole tank steamed up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
debo51
i have a 20 gallon and 10 gallon tank. The reason i have two tanks are because i had two turtles(red ear slider and African sideneck) in the same tank. then i got a baby res and the older turtles tried to eat him. i got this filter for my 10 gallon just to see how it was before i bought a new one for the 20 gallon. This filter is great. it is so much more quiet than the one in my 20 gallon. The only thing is that the hook on the back of the filter makes the filter tilt alittle but im sure thats not a problem. I love this filter and i am getting one for my 20 gallon tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

holy turtle poo!!

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
verdaj
from Clute, Tx
This is NOT good for turtles..after one week the filter stopped working and the water turned brown..Filter is supposed to last 2 to 3 months..I guess I got what I paid for...LOL
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Performance

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suncatcher2
from Racine, Wisconsin
I have a 16 gallon Tetra "European Style" tank which came with the Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filter. I have to say this is the ultimate in filters in my 30 years of fish keeping experience. This filter is virtually care free as far as maintenance is concerned, a weekly filter change is all that is needed if that. I now am the proud owner of a 36 gallon Chichlid tank and am here to purchase another Whisper Internal Power Filter to replace the filter which came with the tank. The filter which came with the tank creates a hard currant and foam which is not at all desirable to either the fish or myself. It also creates an atmosphere of constant seemingly oxygen agitation which the fish do not seem to appreciate. I am waiting for the new filter to see if this clears things up. Peace and happy fishes to you all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for small aquariums!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Willowbird
I got the 3i model for a 2 gallon glass tank, housing a betta. Gentle and effective filtration. Makes it great for quiet water type fish..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filters

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
FerretFiend
from austin,tx
I have the up to 3 gallon and the up to 10 gallon filters and i love them both. The up to 3 gallon filter is kinda noisy but if you put a soft cloth under it and don't let surrounding objects touch it its not so bad. It doesn't bother me one way or the other though since its in the 1.5 gallon in the bathroom. The up to 10 gallon one is quiet and works FANTASTICALLY. I had a Duetto in my 10 gallon and i had to clean it thoroughly once a week it got nasty really fast. When i switched to this my tank cleared up fast and this filter is a lot easier to clean when it needs to be than the other one was. I am a bit of an over feeder so i love that this filter keeps my water from turning orange.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>