petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
56 out of 60(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY
This kennel is a good fit for my dog and gives her plenty of room to move around. It is also large enough to leave a small water bowl for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel, delivered scratched

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Davis,CA
I was excited to get this kennel because I got a great deal on it. It is a great kennel but I was bummed when I recieved it and there was a big scratch on the side. I don't know if it was shipped like that or if UPS did it. It wasn't worth the hassle of sending it back so I just live with the scratch. Overall it's a great kennel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from RI
came quickly. Perfect size. Easy to assemble and extra lug nuts provided
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid purchase - easy to use

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
This crate was SO easy to put together and has been great so far. Our pup likes it much better than his old wire crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

petmate ultra vari dog kennel

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from phoenix,az
Love it. Easy to put together and not too heavy. My dog has plenty of room to move around in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Carrier worth it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
We bought a larger version online and returned it to a local Petco store and it was the most pleasurable return experience in my life. The Petmate kennel we ended up with is the right size for our Shar Pei to grow into, and is very well made with quality that will last!
Very happy with Purchase and so is Dude......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality and value

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from hazle township, pa
I purchased an ex-large vari kennel for my Chesapeake bay retriever pup and we are both pleased with the purchase. It was priced well below comparable kennels and it is exactly what we wanted. Would/will recommend to anyone. It was delivered in a timely manner and assembly was simple. THANK YOU!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Reno, nv
Good quality & speedy shipping! Got the large 40' for our chocolate lab puppy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Sturdy so you can store items on top to save space
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Good As Ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Beach
I've always been completely satisfied with the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel. I hadn't bought any in a few years and had read reviews disparaging their quality. I thing they are essentially the same as ever. Yes, the color is darker--taupe rather that nude. I had never noticed the cable-tie holes to protect the inmate from being accidentally freed by an airport luggage handler. Having heard about dogs getting loose at airports, I think this modification is great.
Our dogs always travel in their crates (which I've ingeniously attached to the car with "shock cords") whether they are going on a long trip or just a short trip to the grocery store. They also like crates in the house for "me time" once in a while. We leave them in their crates by the patio door whenever they are to be home along. They are fed in their crates. Needless to say, they like their crates.
We buy them at Petco for two reasons: price and speed. Once upon a time Continental Airliness sold crates for really low prices, but now Petco has great prices all the time. Also, Petco processes orders quickly and their shipments appear to be close to error-free. I like their tracking links on their website?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Vari Kennel

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
The order shipped timely and was exactly as ordered. The kennels fit my van perfectly and provide security for my dogs while travelling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product great price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Corona,CA
This is a great quality crate. It looks very nice, was super easy to assambly and you can't find something similar for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a quality dog kennel

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, BC
Nice looking kennel that should last well. Best price I have found anywhere on this model. Delivered incredibly fast and arrived in perfect condition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Kennel

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
This kennel is sturdy and perfect for my puppy. However, I was disappointed that it didn't have a handle on top so I could easily move it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great kennel

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
Really calms down the dog when used as an indoor kennel when you are working. They have much less anxiety in this type of enclosure compared to the wire cages so many use. It's like a child feeling comfortable in their home made tent, they feel more comfortable and safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Bragg, CA
I had trouble finding a crate large enough for my Shepard mix just wish it was just a little cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broken

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
The metal on the side of the carrier, my dog somehow unhinged. He then started to chew at the bare plastic and got through the hole he made. Now the carrier is no good and I'm out about 100 bucks. Waste of money, time, and space. If your dog is smart and determined enough, it'll get out of this crate using those metal sides. my dog did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog crate for large dog

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Lake, NJ
I love this crate and own 3.... It looks great, is easy to assemble and sturdy enough for any traveling. We use it in our SUV and keep the others at different homes. Our Lab goes in and out of this crate all day long. He sleeps in the crate at night and if we go out for an extended time. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you have a dog that actually wants to get out of the crate-this is not the crate for you

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
My dog (Rhodesian Ridgeback/Pitbull mix) has bad separation anxiety. We bought this crate for him and he broke out by destroying the steel door in 2 days. Spent $220 for a plastic box with no door. Wonderful. I will have to contact my bank and see if I can get my money back if they will not honor this product at Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good crate

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Seems very durable and takes about 5 minutes to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>