petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
66 out of 70(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate, Easy to assemble

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We got a great deal online. In store they do not match the website prices, which was a bummer since we had to wait several days for shipping. Putting them together was very easy. We bought two and I put them together in under 15 minutes. Very nice and roomy. We got the largest size available. We bought cushion mats for the bottom since it is just the plastic bottom. We are still working with one of our dogs to trust the crate, but the other is very comfortable and started taking his naps in the crate after a day of them being set up. Very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great-But

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Love these kennels. But hate the color. Came in black, Its hard to see your black puppy in a black crate. The tops is also very dark. Prefer the light colors. Shipped direct from Mfg, so you get no choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bowling Green, OH
I got the xtra large cage for my 50 lb border collie so he can stand up. Very nice durable cage and easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Kennel - Good Price

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This is a great kennel. Purchased as a secondary one for my shih-tzu/poodle, it performs as expected. Nice locking mechanism, easy to assemble, solid, and has the upgrade of metal on the side vents. Plus it includes shipping stickers and info (if you are shipping your pooch; we weren't). Be sure to get it online with free shipping and another discount too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Ultra Kennel

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This kennel is high end kennel which can be used to transport you pet. Equipped with handle and feeding/water dish which attaches to the metal cage swing gate. You an purchase on line thru Petco with coupon and save a lot. I recommend this kennel for your dog weather using to transport your pet or for home use as a permanent cage-crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crate!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bolingbrook, IL
I owned another Vari Kennel that I have had for over 30 years. It is still in good shape but I need a larger crate when our new puppy started to grow. I chose the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel and it is perfect. Our Lab/Golden puppy loves it and likes to go in it on his own for naps. It is a little large for him now but will be the perfect size as he grows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Corrales NM
Had some difficulty assembling because some of the nuts aren't drilled through all the way. Crate is sturdy and comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Columbia MO
I bought this kennel because I thought it looked great and would be perfect for my 30 lb dog. It is just the right size for him and was easy to put together. One note, the screws that secure the top/bottom have flat heads, so you can't use a screwdriver to tighten. That made it difficult to get them secure...ie, it takes some muscle to hold it while putting the cap on. There is also no handle on top to move it, but it is lite enough to move easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price ~ Perfect Weight

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bayside, CA
We plan to order at least one more of these great crates ~ the pricing & quality is great! Easy to assemble,which means it will be easy to take apart to clean, transport or store. The little food/water tray is pointless/useless, so I recommend ordering something more substantial if you want a water (especially) receptacle; a water BOTTLE would make the most sense with less chance for an accident. Overall, the crate is a great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a couple suggestions

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Concord, CA
Nice and sturdy. First minor suggestion: add sturdy grip holds on either side of the casing. And Second: a large food/water container which can be screwed into place where the pet's movement wont jar it, spilling water and food throughout.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY
This kennel is a good fit for my dog and gives her plenty of room to move around. It is also large enough to leave a small water bowl for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel, delivered scratched

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Davis,CA
I was excited to get this kennel because I got a great deal on it. It is a great kennel but I was bummed when I recieved it and there was a big scratch on the side. I don't know if it was shipped like that or if UPS did it. It wasn't worth the hassle of sending it back so I just live with the scratch. Overall it's a great kennel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from RI
came quickly. Perfect size. Easy to assemble and extra lug nuts provided
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid purchase - easy to use

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis
This crate was SO easy to put together and has been great so far. Our pup likes it much better than his old wire crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

petmate ultra vari dog kennel

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from phoenix,az
Love it. Easy to put together and not too heavy. My dog has plenty of room to move around in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Carrier worth it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
We bought a larger version online and returned it to a local Petco store and it was the most pleasurable return experience in my life. The Petmate kennel we ended up with is the right size for our Shar Pei to grow into, and is very well made with quality that will last!
Very happy with Purchase and so is Dude......
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality and value

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from hazle township, pa
I purchased an ex-large vari kennel for my Chesapeake bay retriever pup and we are both pleased with the purchase. It was priced well below comparable kennels and it is exactly what we wanted. Would/will recommend to anyone. It was delivered in a timely manner and assembly was simple. THANK YOU!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Reno, nv
Good quality & speedy shipping! Got the large 40' for our chocolate lab puppy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Sturdy so you can store items on top to save space
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Good As Ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Beach
I've always been completely satisfied with the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel. I hadn't bought any in a few years and had read reviews disparaging their quality. I thing they are essentially the same as ever. Yes, the color is darker--taupe rather that nude. I had never noticed the cable-tie holes to protect the inmate from being accidentally freed by an airport luggage handler. Having heard about dogs getting loose at airports, I think this modification is great.
Our dogs always travel in their crates (which I've ingeniously attached to the car with "shock cords") whether they are going on a long trip or just a short trip to the grocery store. They also like crates in the house for "me time" once in a while. We leave them in their crates by the patio door whenever they are to be home along. They are fed in their crates. Needless to say, they like their crates.
We buy them at Petco for two reasons: price and speed. Once upon a time Continental Airliness sold crates for really low prices, but now Petco has great prices all the time. Also, Petco processes orders quickly and their shipments appear to be close to error-free. I like their tracking links on their website?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>