petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
73 out of 78(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Measure your dog!

PostedAugust 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
My mixed breed dog is 24" tall at the shoulders. She only weighs 40lbs, but the large kennel (36") is too small for her to be comfortable - the INTERIOR DIMENSIONS of it are 30" x 19". Technically, she does fit in the crate, but there's not much room left for her to move around if I put her pillow bed and blanket in there. Planning on exchanging for the x-large (40").
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

petmate kennel 32"

PostedAugust 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ny
like I tried to explain. if I am buying something new, I want new. it looked like the caps of the last two kennels were made too fast or something . the small guides for the holes for the front doors were bent so I bent the back and then they were weak and not hard like they are suppose to be. and the second one had hit marks on it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Kennel

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
Had never used a kennel for my last dog, he was older when I adopted him. Wasn't sure I wanted to use one, but was given a puppy, by my family, for my retirement!! We had him in a big box (no top) and all he did was scratch and whine. Bought the kennel and it has been great. First night he went to sleep right away.
He wakens once, I take him out and then he goes right back in to sleep. Nice size for growth. So glad I got this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for Petmate Kennel

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Matthews, NC
Was searching for Petmate Kennel for new rescue dog.
We have one that is over 20 years old and is still in great shape. Found this one on web site at great price and no shipping charge! Arrived much quicker than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The design is great!

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville FL
Received the new crate about a week ago. Arrived in great condition and was easy to assemble. I put the fasteners on upside down to keep the wings from appealing to my chewer. Lost a number of them on the last crate when she figured out how to unscrew them chewing them up like chewing gum! It's a great design giving my lab as much room as possible to turn around. The crate it replaced was narrower at the top and bottom. Getting another one to replace the 2nd crate. It's an inch shorter, but the room inside is wider and makes up for it. My pups are about 75 lbs each and crate trained. They generally will sleep in their crate during the day, so I'm thrilled to have found these at Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Kennel/Carrier

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
My last Petmate dog carrier had bigger holes on the side for better ventilation, but could not find it on the web. The cost was right since I now have two 9 month old German Shepherds. Also noticed the bottom latch on the gate is hard to close so Make Sure it is closed each time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good kenel-good value

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cresco, PA
A sturdy kennel, easy to assemble and clean. Materials not as thick a gauge as the traditional vari kennel but able to hold up under use. Lighter to move than traditional vari kennel and the wing nuts are easier than the locking screws. I got these for the vacation house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and Great Service...

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Santa Barbara, California
This kennel is perfect for crate training our eight month old Golden Retriever puppy.
It's durable and will give us many years of great service.
The delivery was very swift and we're very happy with the whole transaction.
Thanks, Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate, Easy to assemble

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We got a great deal online. In store they do not match the website prices, which was a bummer since we had to wait several days for shipping. Putting them together was very easy. We bought two and I put them together in under 15 minutes. Very nice and roomy. We got the largest size available. We bought cushion mats for the bottom since it is just the plastic bottom. We are still working with one of our dogs to trust the crate, but the other is very comfortable and started taking his naps in the crate after a day of them being set up. Very pleased.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great-But

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Love these kennels. But hate the color. Came in black, Its hard to see your black puppy in a black crate. The tops is also very dark. Prefer the light colors. Shipped direct from Mfg, so you get no choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bowling Green, OH
I got the xtra large cage for my 50 lb border collie so he can stand up. Very nice durable cage and easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Kennel - Good Price

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This is a great kennel. Purchased as a secondary one for my shih-tzu/poodle, it performs as expected. Nice locking mechanism, easy to assemble, solid, and has the upgrade of metal on the side vents. Plus it includes shipping stickers and info (if you are shipping your pooch; we weren't). Be sure to get it online with free shipping and another discount too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Ultra Kennel

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Florida
This kennel is high end kennel which can be used to transport you pet. Equipped with handle and feeding/water dish which attaches to the metal cage swing gate. You an purchase on line thru Petco with coupon and save a lot. I recommend this kennel for your dog weather using to transport your pet or for home use as a permanent cage-crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crate!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bolingbrook, IL
I owned another Vari Kennel that I have had for over 30 years. It is still in good shape but I need a larger crate when our new puppy started to grow. I chose the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel and it is perfect. Our Lab/Golden puppy loves it and likes to go in it on his own for naps. It is a little large for him now but will be the perfect size as he grows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Corrales NM
Had some difficulty assembling because some of the nuts aren't drilled through all the way. Crate is sturdy and comfortable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Columbia MO
I bought this kennel because I thought it looked great and would be perfect for my 30 lb dog. It is just the right size for him and was easy to put together. One note, the screws that secure the top/bottom have flat heads, so you can't use a screwdriver to tighten. That made it difficult to get them secure...ie, it takes some muscle to hold it while putting the cap on. There is also no handle on top to move it, but it is lite enough to move easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price ~ Perfect Weight

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bayside, CA
We plan to order at least one more of these great crates ~ the pricing & quality is great! Easy to assemble,which means it will be easy to take apart to clean, transport or store. The little food/water tray is pointless/useless, so I recommend ordering something more substantial if you want a water (especially) receptacle; a water BOTTLE would make the most sense with less chance for an accident. Overall, the crate is a great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a couple suggestions

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Concord, CA
Nice and sturdy. First minor suggestion: add sturdy grip holds on either side of the casing. And Second: a large food/water container which can be screwed into place where the pet's movement wont jar it, spilling water and food throughout.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NY
This kennel is a good fit for my dog and gives her plenty of room to move around. It is also large enough to leave a small water bowl for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel, delivered scratched

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Davis,CA
I was excited to get this kennel because I got a great deal on it. It is a great kennel but I was bummed when I recieved it and there was a big scratch on the side. I don't know if it was shipped like that or if UPS did it. It wasn't worth the hassle of sending it back so I just live with the scratch. Overall it's a great kennel
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>