petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
45 out of 49(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product great price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Corona,CA
This is a great quality crate. It looks very nice, was super easy to assambly and you can't find something similar for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a quality dog kennel

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, BC
Nice looking kennel that should last well. Best price I have found anywhere on this model. Delivered incredibly fast and arrived in perfect condition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Kennel

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
This kennel is sturdy and perfect for my puppy. However, I was disappointed that it didn't have a handle on top so I could easily move it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great kennel

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
Really calms down the dog when used as an indoor kennel when you are working. They have much less anxiety in this type of enclosure compared to the wire cages so many use. It's like a child feeling comfortable in their home made tent, they feel more comfortable and safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Bragg, CA
I had trouble finding a crate large enough for my Shepard mix just wish it was just a little cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broken

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
The metal on the side of the carrier, my dog somehow unhinged. He then started to chew at the bare plastic and got through the hole he made. Now the carrier is no good and I'm out about 100 bucks. Waste of money, time, and space. If your dog is smart and determined enough, it'll get out of this crate using those metal sides. my dog did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog crate for large dog

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Lake, NJ
I love this crate and own 3.... It looks great, is easy to assemble and sturdy enough for any traveling. We use it in our SUV and keep the others at different homes. Our Lab goes in and out of this crate all day long. He sleeps in the crate at night and if we go out for an extended time. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you have a dog that actually wants to get out of the crate-this is not the crate for you

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
My dog (Rhodesian Ridgeback/Pitbull mix) has bad separation anxiety. We bought this crate for him and he broke out by destroying the steel door in 2 days. Spent $220 for a plastic box with no door. Wonderful. I will have to contact my bank and see if I can get my money back if they will not honor this product at Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good crate

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Seems very durable and takes about 5 minutes to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XL Dog Kennel

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
We ordered this kennel to replace a smaller one. The ordering process was easy and the crate was delivered within the stated timeframe. The entire process was quick and easy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Dog Crate

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hudson, Florida
I bought two of these dog crates for my dogs. I use them as their "house" and ordered two on line. They were easy to assemble and are plenty big for each dog (they are both under 15 pounds). They were shipped quickly and are sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fargo, ND
Unbeatable value for a travel kennel! We originally purchased the large size and easily returned to store and ordered the medium online to fit inside our car more easily. Seamless return policy to store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier for our local pet shelter

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seadrift,TX
This was a very welcome addition for the animals at our local pet shelter. Wish I could afford more for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good crate

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southeastern Massachusetts
This is the second Petmate crate of this size that I have puchased, the first was about 4 years ago. I just got a second dog, so I got a second crate. This one is pretty much the same, but does not seem quite as sturdy. Also, the food/water tray that came with it is a joke. Since I don't need to use it for airline shipping, that doesn't matter to me. I just crate my dogs at night, or when I need to keep them out of my hair. These crates are easy to put together, and the Intermediate size is nice and roomy for a Pembroke Welch Corgi. You do have to be sure that the door latches properly. Plastic crates are quieter than metal ones, easy to clean, and I think the dogs feel safer in them. A very good crate for the money, especially as it was on sale deeply discounted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built to last

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle,Wa
I love the all of the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennels. I have many of different sizes. The most recent purchase was to replace one that was 20 years old, it was still in great shape but unfortunately it came to its demise after being ran over in the garage.These are built to last. They are easy to clean and are very sturdy. They are worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid product

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is my second crate in this model. A very durable and solid product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vari Kennel

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Great crate and you couldn't beat the price by buying it on line with free shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
Bought this for my son's dog and she loved it. Appears to be made well. Delivery was fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MO
Easy to put together. Great size. Very please with durability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be careful with interior dimensions!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington,DC
I ordered a 32"L x 22.5"W x 24"H crate for my 26lb Cocker Spaniel, whom is 28"L and 21"T.
When the item arrived, the actual interior dimensions were 26.5"L x 16"W, which is too short for my dog. The item itself is sturdy and high quality, will be exchanging for a larger size.
Account for a difference of at least 5" on the length and width when ordering these crates! The 30" wire crate I own by Petmate is longer and wider than the 32" plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>