petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
39 out of 41(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good crate

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Seems very durable and takes about 5 minutes to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XL Dog Kennel

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
We ordered this kennel to replace a smaller one. The ordering process was easy and the crate was delivered within the stated timeframe. The entire process was quick and easy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Dog Crate

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hudson, Florida
I bought two of these dog crates for my dogs. I use them as their "house" and ordered two on line. They were easy to assemble and are plenty big for each dog (they are both under 15 pounds). They were shipped quickly and are sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fargo, ND
Unbeatable value for a travel kennel! We originally purchased the large size and easily returned to store and ordered the medium online to fit inside our car more easily. Seamless return policy to store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier for our local pet shelter

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seadrift,TX
This was a very welcome addition for the animals at our local pet shelter. Wish I could afford more for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good crate

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southeastern Massachusetts
This is the second Petmate crate of this size that I have puchased, the first was about 4 years ago. I just got a second dog, so I got a second crate. This one is pretty much the same, but does not seem quite as sturdy. Also, the food/water tray that came with it is a joke. Since I don't need to use it for airline shipping, that doesn't matter to me. I just crate my dogs at night, or when I need to keep them out of my hair. These crates are easy to put together, and the Intermediate size is nice and roomy for a Pembroke Welch Corgi. You do have to be sure that the door latches properly. Plastic crates are quieter than metal ones, easy to clean, and I think the dogs feel safer in them. A very good crate for the money, especially as it was on sale deeply discounted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built to last

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle,Wa
I love the all of the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennels. I have many of different sizes. The most recent purchase was to replace one that was 20 years old, it was still in great shape but unfortunately it came to its demise after being ran over in the garage.These are built to last. They are easy to clean and are very sturdy. They are worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid product

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is my second crate in this model. A very durable and solid product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vari Kennel

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Great crate and you couldn't beat the price by buying it on line with free shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
Bought this for my son's dog and she loved it. Appears to be made well. Delivery was fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MO
Easy to put together. Great size. Very please with durability.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Be careful with interior dimensions!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington,DC
I ordered a 32"L x 22.5"W x 24"H crate for my 26lb Cocker Spaniel, whom is 28"L and 21"T.
When the item arrived, the actual interior dimensions were 26.5"L x 16"W, which is too short for my dog. The item itself is sturdy and high quality, will be exchanging for a larger size.
Account for a difference of at least 5" on the length and width when ordering these crates! The 30" wire crate I own by Petmate is longer and wider than the 32" plastic.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This is a great kennel. Well built, sturdy. Love the ability to change opening sides on door. The only gripe I have is there should be at least some indent like place to grip on the top of the kennel to help in moving it. Not with a dog in it of course, just to help in moving it from point a to b. Other than that I would definitely recommend.
There was a review where someone said the top was so thin light shone through. Truth is it's light colored and of course the light is going to shine through and last I checked the dog isn't putting his weight on the top, at least they shouldn't be. If a dog can chew their way out of this kennel they are not a good candidate for a plastic kennel of any kind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, Well Built and Nicely Designed

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Haven, MI
I bought the 32" crate for a trip with our medium size Labradoodle puppy who will grow to about 40 lb. I like this crate because it is tall enough for Noodle, but still fits onto the back seat of our car. The front gate can be installed to swing open from either the right or the left as needed-- make this decision when assembling the crate. The screw and wing nut closures all around the two halves of the crate make for a very secure, tight join, with no tools needed. The four sturdy corners have holes in the rim to be used if you need to lash down the crate in a vehicle. There are ventilation screens on the sides, and ventilation holes at the back end of the crate. Some airlines will not ship a dog in a crate that lacks the back end air holes, so this is a must for us, for possible future trips. Also, the rim around the crate is required by airlines to ensure that the crate cannot be shoved against a wall so snuggly that it cuts off the ventilation on the side that faces the wall or back. Good to know. The top of the crate does not have handles, which suits me fine, as I believe they would weaken any crate if actually used. The front door latch opens by pinching two bar-like pieces toward each other. This mechanism is smooth and very secure. It is not effortless but reassuringly firm, the way you want it to be, with no struggle. There are holes above the front door so that if desired you can lock it for shipping security. Two clip on food/ water dishes came with it. I am very pleased with my purchase. The crate seems sturdy, well made and designed, and Petco even gave me free shipping, and it arrived in five days.
I expect to use this crate for Noodle for quite some time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

step down for Vari Kennel

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from LA
I bought this to replace a 12-year old 40 inch Vari Kennel. The new one is more flimsy and the one I received had a number of manufacturing defects that should have been picked up by quality control. There was a sizable rough gob of plastic in the doorway frame. And most of the bolts would not fit into the bottom of the kennel - the square holes in the bottom of the kennel, into which the square head of the bolt is supposed to fit (to keep the bolt from twisting) was too small in about half the holes. I spent over an hour opening these up (best results using a hammer to force the bolt in, then a small knife to cut away the plastic blocking the square hole). And in addition to these manufacturing issues, Petmate, the manufacturer, still provides plastic nuts even though many airlines have been requiring metal for years. Sorry to see what was a great brand turning out much lower quality crates. I need it too soon or I'd have returned it and found another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs Improvement !

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
I am very disappointed on the poor craftsmanship and quality of this plastic crate or kennel. It looks like the plastic is not as thick as they use to make them. The bottom half is made from the same mold as the top half and they Need to remove the cut outs in the center for where the handle in the top half would be affixed to. The plastic where these rectangle cut out spots are, are very thin and in time may be punctured out, especially if the crate was layed on top of something that would poke it. This is for the 28"L size.
Another problem is that the tie down holes are not cut out entirely on one side of the crate. So on that side you will not be able to use a thicker piece of rope, which you may need to use to tie the crate down for traveling.
This company needs to make some changes in their design and have better quality control for these plastic crates of theirs!
I like the lighter colors of this crate, at least for the 28"L. This allows you to see blood,fur and debris more easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable Pet Carrier

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Franklin, OH
I was very pleased with purchasing this carrier. I needed a carrier that would accommodate both my 22 lb cat and my 18 lb Miniature Pinscher (not for them to be in together) to transport while traveling. I needed something bigger so they could turn around & for my dog to be able to stand up in. It is very durable material & a good quality product. It also has a lot of air ventilation for your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
Very happy with my purchase. Looks like it will last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy & easy to assemble

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lees Summit, MO
I love this crate, it is easy to assemble and is nice looking to leave out in kitchen. I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crate

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mechanics burg, pa
Placed my order on line Sunday and received 2 of the vari kennel crates by Thursday , excellent price and awesome service. Now just waiting for my new GSD...very soon..thanks to Petco for quality product and competitively priced...keep up the good work
Thanks Fatsy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>