petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, Well Built and Nicely Designed

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
NoodleDoodle
from South Haven, MI
I bought the 32" crate for a trip with our medium size Labradoodle puppy who will grow to about 40 lb. I like this crate because it is tall enough for Noodle, but still fits onto the back seat of our car. The front gate can be installed to swing open from either the right or the left as needed-- make this decision when assembling the crate. The screw and wing nut closures all around the two halves of the crate make for a very secure, tight join, with no tools needed. The four sturdy corners have holes in the rim to be used if you need to lash down the crate in a vehicle. There are ventilation screens on the sides, and ventilation holes at the back end of the crate. Some airlines will not ship a dog in a crate that lacks the back end air holes, so this is a must for us, for possible future trips. Also, the rim around the crate is required by airlines to ensure that the crate cannot be shoved against a wall so snuggly that it cuts off the ventilation on the side that faces the wall or back. Good to know. The top of the crate does not have handles, which suits me fine, as I believe they would weaken any crate if actually used. The front door latch opens by pinching two bar-like pieces toward each other. This mechanism is smooth and very secure. It is not effortless but reassuringly firm, the way you want it to be, with no struggle. There are holes above the front door so that if desired you can lock it for shipping security. Two clip on food/ water dishes came with it. I am very pleased with my purchase. The crate seems sturdy, well made and designed, and Petco even gave me free shipping, and it arrived in five days.
I expect to use this crate for Noodle for quite some time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

step down for Vari Kennel

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
kuni
from LA
I bought this to replace a 12-year old 40 inch Vari Kennel. The new one is more flimsy and the one I received had a number of manufacturing defects that should have been picked up by quality control. There was a sizable rough gob of plastic in the doorway frame. And most of the bolts would not fit into the bottom of the kennel - the square holes in the bottom of the kennel, into which the square head of the bolt is supposed to fit (to keep the bolt from twisting) was too small in about half the holes. I spent over an hour opening these up (best results using a hammer to force the bolt in, then a small knife to cut away the plastic blocking the square hole). And in addition to these manufacturing issues, Petmate, the manufacturer, still provides plastic nuts even though many airlines have been requiring metal for years. Sorry to see what was a great brand turning out much lower quality crates. I need it too soon or I'd have returned it and found another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs Improvement !

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luckii
from McKinney, TX
I am very disappointed on the poor craftsmanship and quality of this plastic crate or kennel. It looks like the plastic is not as thick as they use to make them. The bottom half is made from the same mold as the top half and they Need to remove the cut outs in the center for where the handle in the top half would be affixed to. The plastic where these rectangle cut out spots are, are very thin and in time may be punctured out, especially if the crate was layed on top of something that would poke it. This is for the 28"L size.
Another problem is that the tie down holes are not cut out entirely on one side of the crate. So on that side you will not be able to use a thicker piece of rope, which you may need to use to tie the crate down for traveling.
This company needs to make some changes in their design and have better quality control for these plastic crates of theirs!
I like the lighter colors of this crate, at least for the 28"L. This allows you to see blood,fur and debris more easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable Pet Carrier

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
neecey68
from Franklin, OH
I was very pleased with purchasing this carrier. I needed a carrier that would accommodate both my 22 lb cat and my 18 lb Miniature Pinscher (not for them to be in together) to transport while traveling. I needed something bigger so they could turn around & for my dog to be able to stand up in. It is very durable material & a good quality product. It also has a lot of air ventilation for your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
PlatoP69
from San Antonio, TX
Very happy with my purchase. Looks like it will last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy & easy to assemble

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BandB241
from Lees Summit, MO
I love this crate, it is easy to assemble and is nice looking to leave out in kitchen. I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crate

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fatsy
from Mechanics burg, pa
Placed my order on line Sunday and received 2 of the vari kennel crates by Thursday , excellent price and awesome service. Now just waiting for my new GSD...very soon..thanks to Petco for quality product and competitively priced...keep up the good work
Thanks Fatsy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid; exceeds expectations

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steve66
from DFW metroplex, TX
Was looking for new dog crate as dog has kept growing. Using the guidelines for my dog's size, I was able to choose this one which is perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice kennel

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LastHipChickinOR
from Oregon
Bought this for my puppy during last week's sale. Shipped fast, was easy to set up, and was the right size for my pup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT CRATES

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
RICKY12345
from San Francisco, CA
I purchased the crates to transport my dogs from Washington, DC to San Francisco, CA via United Airlines. They worked out great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built well

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lynch
from Evanston, IL
This crate is perfect for transitioning a young puppy to a bigger crate. It is built of good quality materials, and seem sturdy. It is easy to put together and overall I am very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just what my dogs needed!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThreePoodlesOneCrate
from Fredericksburg, VA
I bought the 28" carrier (and it was so nice that I went back and bought 2 more!) for my three toy poodles (20 llbs. or so each). Because they're very high maintenance dogs, I take them to the groomers a lot and was not about to let their nails dig into my new leather seats. The crates were lightweight and fit easily into my SUV with no hassle (as opposed to the previous wire crates we had before that were a mess and noisy when the dogs scratched on them).
The size is nice because I can fit a medium dog bed in there. Plus its super easy to clean and the top can be taken off.
The color scheme is not hideous so they blend in well around my house, and when I am not using them, they can be easily stacked and put in the closet.
When I have company over, my dogs PREFER to go into the kennel as soon as the bell rings and stay in there the whole time...even with the door open. The kennel makes them feel safe & in charge of their space, which is very relaxing for everyone.
They love it. It's nice & shady so I can put it on the back porch with me not have to worry about them getting too hot.
Totally worth it! I recommend this product to dogs of all ages, breeds, size, temperament, and living environment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still my dogs' favorite

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
GSP510
from Davis, CA
My current pack of four German Shorthaired Pointers, and many generations of shorthairs before them, have all loved their Vari kennels. We've just moved up in size to the extra large (500) for the over-sized young male and his aging great-grandmother. While the dogs love these crates, I'm not ecstatic with the way the doors latch. I have to make a special point to ensure that the rods fit correctly in the holes, since they don't always line up appropriately. I do like the size and the construction is still fine, with no rough edges, or other safety hazards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My dog broke out.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
HuskEmush3
from Chicago, IL
This crate came highly recommended by my trainer. Too bad my dog chewed thru it in 2 nights & escaped. What a huge waste of money...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Kennel

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
bordercollieluv
from Brooklyn, NY
I purchased the 36” crate for my 11 week old Border collie so he should have some room in it even when he is full grown. He’s expecting to get around 40 pounds and I wanted to find a kennel that he could grow into but also be airline approved so we can travel and see family. Works great! Right now its roomy for him since he’s only a puppy, but it meets all the requirements for American Airlines, I was worried about the ventilation but he doesn’t seem to mind it as long as I have a fan blowing near the front of it, not straight on him. If he gets too hot, he pushes the bedding out of the way and sleeps on the plastic instead of coming out and sleeping on the floor. He took to it right away, throwing a thin beach cover on top, he uses it like a den sleeping, bring toys in there or escaping in there for peace and quiet. Plastic all holds up really well against his puppy chewing and digging inside it.
Researching different types of Kennels, I find this to be a great deal that meets all the requirements for flight travel, but is also a great price! Would recommend this product for anyone. Fast shipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great deal!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
PitPupLove
from Phoenix, AZ
I bought this for my 8 month old pit bull puppy and he and I both love it. It came quickly, assembled in minutes, and I could not ask for a better sale. Thanks, PetCo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beautiful Crate but not made for SMART dogs

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
OGio
When I received the 40 in Crate I was super impressed- It really is nice and big and appealing if you are using it indoors BUT if you have a smart dog they will get out of it. My dog got out the front way in one hour than when I wired it down, she chewed through the bottom part of it and got out :/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Nice I bought a 2nd one!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thomi
from Maine
I've had petmate kennels for years and years. They're sturdy and all the dogs I've had seem to find them comfortable. I've had an intermediate and a large petmate kennel for over 15 years but I needed another kennel for a new older pup I just adopted (he's 10 months old). I chose the Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel in the 70-90lb size to accommodate his height (he's on the tall side for an Australian Cattle Dog). The kennel arrived in excellent shape, was easy to put together all by myself and the new puppy liked it. I found that the dog that normally stayed in the intermediate sized crate was trying to go into the pup's crate and seemed to prefer it so I bought a second one for her. I have 2 of these kennels now and they're perfect for my purposes. I find my dogs lying in them during the day when the doors are open. My new pup sleeps in this kennel at night and he's very strong and energetic so when I wake in the morning, he jumps around in his crate and paws at the gate and the kennel holds up just fine (it does move across the kitchen floor a little, lol). I'm happy with the quality of the kennel and would certainly buy another in the future should I need it. I would suggest buying a mat to lay on the bottom of the kennel for your dog's comfort. My dogs prefer thinner mats so I use large, plush bathmats and they love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what i needed

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from lake Elsinore, CA
fPerfect fit for our cars. My dog is very comfortable in it. Fast, free shipping! Couldn't find the X-Large crate in the store, but the online price was fair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Kennel for a Good Price

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
MalligatorMom
from Ohio
We recently purchased this kennel for our new puppy. It is made in the US (a bonus) and is sturdy and easy to put together and keep clean. We would recommend this kennel to other dog owners. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>