petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice kennel

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LastHipChickinOR
from Oregon
Bought this for my puppy during last week's sale. Shipped fast, was easy to set up, and was the right size for my pup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT CRATES

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
RICKY12345
from San Francisco, CA
I purchased the crates to transport my dogs from Washington, DC to San Francisco, CA via United Airlines. They worked out great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built well

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lynch
from Evanston, IL
This crate is perfect for transitioning a young puppy to a bigger crate. It is built of good quality materials, and seem sturdy. It is easy to put together and overall I am very satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just what my dogs needed!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThreePoodlesOneCrate
from Fredericksburg, VA
I bought the 28" carrier (and it was so nice that I went back and bought 2 more!) for my three toy poodles (20 llbs. or so each). Because they're very high maintenance dogs, I take them to the groomers a lot and was not about to let their nails dig into my new leather seats. The crates were lightweight and fit easily into my SUV with no hassle (as opposed to the previous wire crates we had before that were a mess and noisy when the dogs scratched on them).
The size is nice because I can fit a medium dog bed in there. Plus its super easy to clean and the top can be taken off.
The color scheme is not hideous so they blend in well around my house, and when I am not using them, they can be easily stacked and put in the closet.
When I have company over, my dogs PREFER to go into the kennel as soon as the bell rings and stay in there the whole time...even with the door open. The kennel makes them feel safe & in charge of their space, which is very relaxing for everyone.
They love it. It's nice & shady so I can put it on the back porch with me not have to worry about them getting too hot.
Totally worth it! I recommend this product to dogs of all ages, breeds, size, temperament, and living environment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still my dogs' favorite

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
GSP510
from Davis, CA
My current pack of four German Shorthaired Pointers, and many generations of shorthairs before them, have all loved their Vari kennels. We've just moved up in size to the extra large (500) for the over-sized young male and his aging great-grandmother. While the dogs love these crates, I'm not ecstatic with the way the doors latch. I have to make a special point to ensure that the rods fit correctly in the holes, since they don't always line up appropriately. I do like the size and the construction is still fine, with no rough edges, or other safety hazards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My dog broke out.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
HuskEmush3
from Chicago, IL
This crate came highly recommended by my trainer. Too bad my dog chewed thru it in 2 nights & escaped. What a huge waste of money...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality Kennel

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
bordercollieluv
from Brooklyn, NY
I purchased the 36” crate for my 11 week old Border collie so he should have some room in it even when he is full grown. He’s expecting to get around 40 pounds and I wanted to find a kennel that he could grow into but also be airline approved so we can travel and see family. Works great! Right now its roomy for him since he’s only a puppy, but it meets all the requirements for American Airlines, I was worried about the ventilation but he doesn’t seem to mind it as long as I have a fan blowing near the front of it, not straight on him. If he gets too hot, he pushes the bedding out of the way and sleeps on the plastic instead of coming out and sleeping on the floor. He took to it right away, throwing a thin beach cover on top, he uses it like a den sleeping, bring toys in there or escaping in there for peace and quiet. Plastic all holds up really well against his puppy chewing and digging inside it.
Researching different types of Kennels, I find this to be a great deal that meets all the requirements for flight travel, but is also a great price! Would recommend this product for anyone. Fast shipping!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great deal!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
PitPupLove
from Phoenix, AZ
I bought this for my 8 month old pit bull puppy and he and I both love it. It came quickly, assembled in minutes, and I could not ask for a better sale. Thanks, PetCo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beautiful Crate but not made for SMART dogs

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
OGio
When I received the 40 in Crate I was super impressed- It really is nice and big and appealing if you are using it indoors BUT if you have a smart dog they will get out of it. My dog got out the front way in one hour than when I wired it down, she chewed through the bottom part of it and got out :/
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Nice I bought a 2nd one!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thomi
from Maine
I've had petmate kennels for years and years. They're sturdy and all the dogs I've had seem to find them comfortable. I've had an intermediate and a large petmate kennel for over 15 years but I needed another kennel for a new older pup I just adopted (he's 10 months old). I chose the Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel in the 70-90lb size to accommodate his height (he's on the tall side for an Australian Cattle Dog). The kennel arrived in excellent shape, was easy to put together all by myself and the new puppy liked it. I found that the dog that normally stayed in the intermediate sized crate was trying to go into the pup's crate and seemed to prefer it so I bought a second one for her. I have 2 of these kennels now and they're perfect for my purposes. I find my dogs lying in them during the day when the doors are open. My new pup sleeps in this kennel at night and he's very strong and energetic so when I wake in the morning, he jumps around in his crate and paws at the gate and the kennel holds up just fine (it does move across the kitchen floor a little, lol). I'm happy with the quality of the kennel and would certainly buy another in the future should I need it. I would suggest buying a mat to lay on the bottom of the kennel for your dog's comfort. My dogs prefer thinner mats so I use large, plush bathmats and they love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what i needed

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from lake Elsinore, CA
fPerfect fit for our cars. My dog is very comfortable in it. Fast, free shipping! Couldn't find the X-Large crate in the store, but the online price was fair.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Kennel for a Good Price

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
MalligatorMom
from Ohio
We recently purchased this kennel for our new puppy. It is made in the US (a bonus) and is sturdy and easy to put together and keep clean. We would recommend this kennel to other dog owners. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
LynnMarie
from Northern California
This kennel is very solid, easy to assemble, and has side ventilation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Crate

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CTcatmom
from Connecticut
These crates are study and durable. The gates and latches work for a long time. I would not buy another brand of crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultra Kennel, good deal

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
mebjager
from maryland
I find the Ultra Kennel to be a good choice. Have had a few in my years of dogs and this one one is as good as any. Door is a little out of alignment though. That's all I can find wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Nice Dog Crates

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
LabOnwer
from Dallas, OR
This order went really well from start to end, fast shipping. The crate is everything that Petco said it would be. The only thing that went wrong was we didn't get our water bowl with one of the crates. Called Petco and they said they would get it right out to us. So really not a problem. We are using them to move over to HI with our two labs. I would tell a friend to buy one of these crates if they needed one. The size is what they tell you on Petco it will be. We are very happy with our crate's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
808StateOfMind
from Eastside, O'ahu
I ordered 2 crates on-line. First The Traditional & then exchanged it for the Ultra Vari Kennel. The Ultra is way stronger and sturdier. The traditional actually arrived damaged, the door hinge pierced the side of the kennel during shipping, so I exchanged it for the Ultra. I bought the XL size 40" for my lab/pit, she's 80lbs. She's short and stocky., there's plenty room for her to move around freely. I bought a crate cushion which is 40" but it's to big and doesn't fit perfectly inside. I'm using this for travel between Hawai'i and California. I would recommend this for kennel for sure. ALL airlines approve this model, I checked!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pet taxi

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
doggrandma1
from vinton, la
I like the pet taxi, Sometimes I have to fly puppied to the new owners and always feel the pet taxi is safe and comfortable, room to stand and sit or turn around is important, The latch us easy to open and close, have had other brands that are very difficult to operate with one hand.This product has great features,
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

36x25x27

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
liljess27
Kennel is excellent. My dogs have travelled cross country, and soon overseas, as well as use it in the house. Sturdy, with easy assembly/disassembly. The only thing I would change is adding handles on the side or top for ease of transportation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product has great features

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Snook
from Santa Nella, CA
The dog kennel came exactly as advertised. It is made well and is a rated travel carrier. It is strong, well ventilated and since it is our third one they last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.