petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crate features durable construction with reinforced sidewallsEasy-open squeeze latch keeps pets safe and secureVents on back and side walls for airflow and ventilationTie-down strap holes molded in around the edges for zip-tie installationComes with a live animal sticker, a pet ID sticker and a water cupVari kennel can be used to fly with pets – check your airline’s pet travel policiesAssembles in minutes – no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
51 out of 55(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Carrier worth it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
We bought a larger version online and returned it to a local Petco store and it was the most pleasurable return experience in my life. The Petmate kennel we ended up with is the right size for our Shar Pei to grow into, and is very well made with quality that will last!
Very happy with Purchase and so is Dude......
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality and value

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from hazle township, pa
I purchased an ex-large vari kennel for my Chesapeake bay retriever pup and we are both pleased with the purchase. It was priced well below comparable kennels and it is exactly what we wanted. Would/will recommend to anyone. It was delivered in a timely manner and assembly was simple. THANK YOU!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Reno, nv
Good quality & speedy shipping! Got the large 40' for our chocolate lab puppy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kennel

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Sturdy so you can store items on top to save space
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Good As Ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Palm Beach
I've always been completely satisfied with the Petmate Ultra Vari Kennel. I hadn't bought any in a few years and had read reviews disparaging their quality. I thing they are essentially the same as ever. Yes, the color is darker--taupe rather that nude. I had never noticed the cable-tie holes to protect the inmate from being accidentally freed by an airport luggage handler. Having heard about dogs getting loose at airports, I think this modification is great.
Our dogs always travel in their crates (which I've ingeniously attached to the car with "shock cords") whether they are going on a long trip or just a short trip to the grocery store. They also like crates in the house for "me time" once in a while. We leave them in their crates by the patio door whenever they are to be home along. They are fed in their crates. Needless to say, they like their crates.
We buy them at Petco for two reasons: price and speed. Once upon a time Continental Airliness sold crates for really low prices, but now Petco has great prices all the time. Also, Petco processes orders quickly and their shipments appear to be close to error-free. I like their tracking links on their website?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Vari Kennel

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
The order shipped timely and was exactly as ordered. The kennels fit my van perfectly and provide security for my dogs while travelling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product great price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Corona,CA
This is a great quality crate. It looks very nice, was super easy to assambly and you can't find something similar for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a quality dog kennel

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, BC
Nice looking kennel that should last well. Best price I have found anywhere on this model. Delivered incredibly fast and arrived in perfect condition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Kennel

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greenville, SC
This kennel is sturdy and perfect for my puppy. However, I was disappointed that it didn't have a handle on top so I could easily move it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great kennel

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
Really calms down the dog when used as an indoor kennel when you are working. They have much less anxiety in this type of enclosure compared to the wire cages so many use. It's like a child feeling comfortable in their home made tent, they feel more comfortable and safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Bragg, CA
I had trouble finding a crate large enough for my Shepard mix just wish it was just a little cheaper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broken

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicago
The metal on the side of the carrier, my dog somehow unhinged. He then started to chew at the bare plastic and got through the hole he made. Now the carrier is no good and I'm out about 100 bucks. Waste of money, time, and space. If your dog is smart and determined enough, it'll get out of this crate using those metal sides. my dog did.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog crate for large dog

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Lake, NJ
I love this crate and own 3.... It looks great, is easy to assemble and sturdy enough for any traveling. We use it in our SUV and keep the others at different homes. Our Lab goes in and out of this crate all day long. He sleeps in the crate at night and if we go out for an extended time. I highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If you have a dog that actually wants to get out of the crate-this is not the crate for you

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
My dog (Rhodesian Ridgeback/Pitbull mix) has bad separation anxiety. We bought this crate for him and he broke out by destroying the steel door in 2 days. Spent $220 for a plastic box with no door. Wonderful. I will have to contact my bank and see if I can get my money back if they will not honor this product at Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good crate

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Seems very durable and takes about 5 minutes to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XL Dog Kennel

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
We ordered this kennel to replace a smaller one. The ordering process was easy and the crate was delivered within the stated timeframe. The entire process was quick and easy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Dog Crate

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hudson, Florida
I bought two of these dog crates for my dogs. I use them as their "house" and ordered two on line. They were easy to assemble and are plenty big for each dog (they are both under 15 pounds). They were shipped quickly and are sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fargo, ND
Unbeatable value for a travel kennel! We originally purchased the large size and easily returned to store and ordered the medium online to fit inside our car more easily. Seamless return policy to store!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier for our local pet shelter

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seadrift,TX
This was a very welcome addition for the animals at our local pet shelter. Wish I could afford more for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Ultra Vari Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good crate

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southeastern Massachusetts
This is the second Petmate crate of this size that I have puchased, the first was about 4 years ago. I just got a second dog, so I got a second crate. This one is pretty much the same, but does not seem quite as sturdy. Also, the food/water tray that came with it is a joke. Since I don't need to use it for airline shipping, that doesn't matter to me. I just crate my dogs at night, or when I need to keep them out of my hair. These crates are easy to put together, and the Intermediate size is nice and roomy for a Pembroke Welch Corgi. You do have to be sure that the door latches properly. Plastic crates are quieter than metal ones, easy to clean, and I think the dogs feel safer in them. A very good crate for the money, especially as it was on sale deeply discounted.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>