petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food

Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food

100% all natural ingredientsHigh-quality proteins, fresh fruits & vegetablesSupports a shinier coat, less shedding & healthier skinEasier digestibility & increased energyGrain-free, no poultry by-products, artificial flavors, colors or preservativesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Review 1 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again! Vomiting and Diarrhea

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
ItsMeJedB
from Long Beach, CA
I wish there was a ZERO Paws option!
We transitioned to this food from a Castor & Pollux product because the store near our new home didn't sell the old food.
We did the transition as suggested over a week, mixing foods until 100% new food.
When we got to 100% new food our dog slowed down the pace she would eat and wouldn't finish a whole bowl unless we literally sat there and hand fed her.
That lasted a couple of days, then the vomiting and diarrhea set in and she stopped eating all together. This lasted for two days and she wouldn't eat anything, not even boiled chicken and rice. Finally she started eating the boiled chicken and rice so we started adding the WEF food back into that and she would eat it and then at the WEF food again for a couple of days and the vomiting and diarrhea started a gain - followed the same process as above as we thought she has maybe eaten something on a walk.
Finally we went through the chicken and rice process one more time until we got to 100% WEF food and she just stopped eating anything that had touched the WEF food, so that meant not even the mixed chicken and rice...all the while the projectile diarrhea continued - she could shoot a can off a post a 10ft.
I googled the food and found reviews on dogfoodadvisor.com and many had the same experience.
We went to the vet and she confirmed it was most likely the food and we discussed new options, but we will be returning to the Castor & Pollux food, hopefully finding it at a store near us.
We will NEVER buy this brand again and caution others as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
VioletBear
We had just adopted our 8 month Newfoundland/Lab mix puppy, and we wanted to switch him from the nasty food they fed him at the humane society. The very knowledgable manager helped us find this food. I knew I wanted a good high quality food at a manageable price. We initially were going to get Blue Buffalo until she showed us Whole Earth Farms. When I heard it was a sister company of Merrick, I trusted it more. We decided to get a small bag to start with. He ate it well enough. We quickly learned our new addition was more of a grazer than a sit and eat it all type of dog. We haven't stopped getting compliments about how soft and glossy his fur is. I haven't had any issues with upset tummy or diarrhea. We don't deal with a bunch of waste, and when he does have bad gas, it's not because of this food. I'd HIGHLY recommend this food if you want a quality dog food without braking the bank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
GSboys
from Pittsburgh, PA
I switched from a more expensive brand dog food that was an equivalent. So far my boys like it and everything is fine. The recipes were so close that it was easy to transition. The kibble is a little larger in size so I might be going through it faster . I wouldn't recommend it for a smaller sized dog and the food is darker making their stool darker in color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My gentle giant dog loves it!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
AACamil23
from Chicago Heights, IL
My two years old and 150lbs Saint Bernard extremely loves it. I bought (Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food ) two bags of 25/25 lbs (50lbs). I feed him 4 cups per a day, 2 cups for morning and 2 cups for evening. The prices aren't ever bothering me. I bet your dog will loves those product!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great option!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
ZMOM
from UPSTATE NY
My girls need to be on a grain-free diet due to severe allergies. They digest this food easily and prefer the smaller kibble even though they are large dogs. They never leave any behind, so must also be tasty.Thanks for a reasonably priced food my girls enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST SO FAR . . .

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Raterriermom
from Orange County
I have a almost 12yr old RAT TERRIER and she has had dog food allergies and digestion problems in the past years. I've tried so many brands over the years from the least $ to the most $$$$ food in the past years, I even made her food at one or more times and it just was not successful.
ANYWAY this is the best so far. She has been on it for about 4 months and NO problems at all with scratching or digestive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Recommendation!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Momma2Marley
from Bellevue,NE
I own a Standard Poodle and was noticing how dingy his hair seemed while feeding him Beneful. Switched over to this Whole Earth brand and WOW!!! He loves it, hasn't had any issues and I didn't even do the highly recommended food change of half new food half old food for a better transition!! No tummy problems, no horrid farts and he doesn't eat as much or beg quite as much!! He really is getting all his nutrients and satisfaction through this food!!! Thank you Mariah from the Bellevue,NE location for recommending this for my baby!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price and flavor

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
VPPV
from Vero beach, Fl
My dogs like this food, and it is cheaper than most of the other grain free brands. It smells better than the salmon flavor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food. Great price.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcripps
from Summerfield, FL
I love when Petco includes dog food in their free shipping sales. I like to feed grain free and this food seemed like a good value. The dogs love it and it's working out very well for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All 5 dogs like it!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
FrankiePaws
from Indiana
It is hard to find a dog food every one likes. My Pom has food allergies and does well on this food. The price was a welcome relief. I would and have recommended this brand. Although our German Shepard puppy did not care for the canned puppy food it was too runny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great food

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
lovmyfurbabies
from PA
Both of my dogs have sensitivities and this is the first food they both can eat with no issues..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Male Gordon Setter Has So Much More Energy

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
writegirl
from Longmont
I have two Gordon setters and a golden retriever that range in age from 6-12 years, and I spent years trying to find a dog food that worked for all of them. The male gordon was always the most finicky and his coat was always dull and his energy level was just lethargic. I've never been a believer in grain free. I figure wolves are carnivores that leave nothing behind including the stomach of their prey which is loaded with grain. Nevertheless, I tried the chicken and turkey grain free from Whole Earth. The price was fantastic. I liked that it was Merrick; I'm a fan of their canned food for extra treats in the bottom of their bowls. My dogs love this food, and my male Gordon is on fire now with energy. His coat looks good and waste levels have gone down significantly for all of them. I will agree with one of the other reviewers that I can't say the say thing for their beef variety. That particular recipe seemed to be too hot (in Protein or something) for my kiddos. Chicken and Turkey is just right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Seemed good at first

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Based on the price and the review from dog food advisor i decided to buy this dog food. It has good ingredients and it's a subcompany of merrick so I decided to go with it. My dogs ate the first bag then halfway through the second they stopped eating it for some reason. Went to the vet and she prescribed a gastrointestinal science diet food that they ate right away. She said to try that then ease back to the old food. They wouldn't eat it again (bought a new bag) so I'm not sure what the deal is. Others seem to have similar experiences with the beef version..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's a keeper in my household

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
FurrBabyMomma
from illinois
I am just tickled pink with this food. My shiz tzu has skin allergies and eye allergies, and my chi has problems with gas a lot. So my brother suggested I use this food. I got a 5lb bag and my shadow hasn't been constantly iching like he always did, and peanut's tummy issues have stopped altogether. It didn't stop all at once but I got to say they seem so much happier and comfortable now. The cat even eats it and she has never been able to keep dog food down before but this food she seems to be ok with. I'm wanting to find out if they have a cat food version of this but I'm so glad my brother found this!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small miracles...

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Furbaby562
from Long Beach, CA
My 9yr old mini poodle and 5 yr old Rat Terrier love this food. I have to say this is a small miracle in itself. Never have both of them liked the same food at the same time! Great ingredients and great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ingredients

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
jusblu
from Claremont, NH
Since this is a Merrick product, all the ingredients are USA sourced, which is the first big plus. It has high quality ingredients and is affordable. Unfortunately, two of my four dogs developed diarrhea on it, and two didn't. Since I need to have one food for all life stages and the whole crew (so there's no fighting over dinner), I had to switch to another Merrick food. While on it, all dog coats were shiny, soft, eyes bright, teeth clean. If not for the diarrhea issue, I would still be feeding this food, but the two with the reaction have also had trouble with other chicken based foods, so I think it is more an intolerance of the chicken than anything to do with the food, as my other two dogs did great on it. Would recommend this food if your dog doesn't have issues with chicken or turkey.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pennyismydog
from Missouri
Our 10 lb. corgi/chihuahua mix had terrible skin/itching problems, even her fur felt gummy and sticky, and it smelled funny. Tried a different grain free food which was good but $$ was a little hard on the wallet. Researched this food on line and many other grain free. So far, so good. Our little dogs like it and the one with the issues feels and smells like a new dog! No more scratching, shedding is very minimal now and she feels like she just got a bath, she is so soft and smooth! Kibble is even small enough for our 7 lb. pom and they both like it! No problems with vomiting or diarrhea.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog loves it

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoCalRG
from San Diego
I like that this food is grain free but still fairly affordable. My dog is thriving on it, and I will continue buying it for her. I would recommend this food highly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure yet about this food

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dottness
from Port St Lucie, FL
I always fed a more expensive holistic brand of food to my dogs but based on the good reputation of Merrick and the cost savings I switched to the non grain free version of this food. Both my Rottweilers started having mushy bowel movements (always perfect before) and very smelly gas (never had before). My female started eating grass which she never did before. I'm on my 2nd bag of this grain free version and things seem a little better. If I don't get total improvement I will be switching back to my original holistic brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whole Earth Farms Grain Free Chicken & Turkey Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Whole Earth grain free dog food

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doubledoodles
from Melbourne, FL
first time purchasing dog food online, although I buy all my dog food from Petco. So far my doodles love it, and they are doing well on it. No gas, no tummy upsets. Great online price and good dog food. would recomend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.