petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API PimaFix

API PimaFix

An all natural antifungal fish remedy extracted from West Indian Bay TreesRapidly treats fungal infections on body and finsSafe for delicate fresh and saltwater fishMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for API PimaFix
Review 1 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prima fix safe for snails, plants, frys(baby fish), and pregnant fish

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I've used Premont fix for over four months now and found it works extremely well it doesn't bother my snails it does not bother my plants it actually helps my plants grow larger and faster the baby fish were not affected in the pregnant fish were not affected this is a great product to using your tank all the time if you'd like to give it a fresh scent and protect your fish it is wise to use for at least seven days to 10 days when you get new fish to prevent an outbreak of fungus. Fins grow back within 3 days and the redness on the fish stay for about 5days I used it without the carbon filter and with the carbon filter. With the carbon filter and it does not work as well you need to use double the dose it's not three times and without the carbon your water may begin to smell and get cloudy but it works much more effectively to do it that way for the first seven days
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good product to have on hand

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma
Ive used this to repair fin damage on fish and it really does help speed up the healing. This is one of the must haves I think every fish owner should keep in his fish medicine cabinet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my betta

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
My betta scratched his side on one of the decorations in his tank and I used this to make sure it didn't become infected. After a week his side healed up and everything was good. I'm glad I had this on hand. But, don't forget to turn off or take out any filters with charcoal because they will take medicine out of the water and neutralize it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pimal Fix - Highly Recommended

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas
I have some of my fish treated in isolation as recommended by the manufactur and this worked great for my Fish and they made it. I like this product since it uses natural products and not a bunch of quimicals that cause more harm then actually address the symtoms. Basically this product works and I do recommend it for any one that is experiecing deseases and or fungus on their fish. Tthank you PiimaFix
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works brilliantly

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Northern California
One of my bettas developed a fungal infection on his tail fin, and it took me a few days before I could reach a pet store to buy a treatment. All I had was BettaFix, also by API, but it wasn't doing much. The fungus had been doubling in size by the day but the first day after using this it hadn't grown and wasn't as opaque, and now it's three days later and it's GONE. The best part is that it's cheap, and my betta is in a 1/2 gallon bowl so I only needed the tiniest drop. I'm so relieved to have found this product, I don't know what I would have done without it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Betta!

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
30 mins after adding Pimafix, my doubletail betta started swimming with his fins less clamped!! After noticing listlessness, color fade and fin rot, I started treatment with just Bettafix (a diluted version of Melafix) but that didn’t seem to do much for him. Now I’m treating him with both Bettafix and Pimafix in combination. The instructions say to treat for 7 days THEN change 25% of the water but being that I have him in a one gallon without a filter, I do 100% water changes twice a week, not once. Since then, he’s been swimming around all day…I have yet to see him in a listless state! With every water change, I now also add conditioner, beneficial bacteria (in a bottle you can buy at any pet store) and will soon be adding freshwater aquarium salt to give him better water quality when I take him off the meds. He’s gained his color back and the Pimafix also wiped out the white cottony growth on his caudal fin in just 3 days! It’s also safe for my live plants. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I will soon see new fin growth!
I don’t want to stop the medication since he’s back to being so lively and colorful! LOL. I hope everyone has the same luck with PIMAFIX.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuffs

PostedJune 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
from 19006
good stuff that WORKS on my discus fungus infection
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG Amazing

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
This started working the day i put it in. My goldfish was covered in black splotches its been a week and theres barely a sign of the stuff on him. I was thrilled and very happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have staple for any Fishkeeper

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Waterford, MI.
PimaFix and MelaFix should be the Fishkeepers first line of defense and preventative. We have 10 tanks and trust this product to treat all our fish from Discus to our tiny little Rasboras without adverse effects to our shrimp, snails and plants.
Excellent treatment and preventative. It's a staple in our household.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny! :o)

PostedJanuary 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
About a week ago I had a sick goldfish in my tank...he had white spots all over him, and was frequently at the top of the tank. I did my research and discovered it was a fungus, and quickly did my homework on the type of medicine to use.
After reading the other ratings, I decided to give this a try in conjunction with Melafix and a pinch of aquarium salt. It started working within the first hour of adding it to a separate tank with the sick goldfish. I am happy to say that the fish is now swimming around a lot better, and eating habits have improved also. I would definitely recommend this product...it was money (very) well spent!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray for PimaFix!!!

PostedMay 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
I keep a beta, Smokey Joe, in my cubicle at work. He is a tad spoiled and won't eat unless I hold it on a spoon just under the water line. Well, I was in a hurry and just dropped some vegetable cubes in there and left for the day. Well I came back in the morning and the poor guy is covered in a white slimy fungus :( THAT QUICK!!! I was so upset with myself. So I ran to PetCo and grabbed some aquarium salt and PimaFix. Within minutes all the slime was gone and I am hoping it is clearing up any remaining unseen fungus, hopefully only external, but from other reviews it seems like if there is any internal infection he should be cured of that as well! Thanks for a great product! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Round Lake Beach, IL
I use this combined with Melafix to treat any number of fish ailments. They have yet to let me down. I also love the fact that they are a natural alternative to some harsh meds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pimafix worked great!!!

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
My 8 year old goldfish had by the base of his fins in 2 spots a red sore with some cotton/lint like stuff coming off of it....I figured out it must be fungus (maybe with a bacteria infection as well?) First I added some Aquarium salt to the tank, and that seemed to help the sore some, then the next day started treatment with the Pimafix. It worked great for this problem. I have an 80 gallon tank with 8 large goldfish in it, and I treated the whole tank as it said on the bottle for 7 days. Then did the 25% water change at the end. (I also had old carbon in my filter, like 5 months old, so I just left them in during treatment, although the bottle said to remove them....but I thought they were old enough to leave in, and removing it had made my filter leak)
My fish recovered and I was VERY pleased with this product.
Good luck with your fish as well!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sigh of Relief

PostedJanuary 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased a 29 gal. tank to put two small oscars in until they got bigger. I also bought some guppies while I was at the store. Within the first few hours, two had died. I immediately moved them into the currently unoccupied 29 gallon so that they wouldn't make my other fish sick. There were only 3 left, so they were freaking out, so I put some of my other guppies, since I had so many (I breed them) in with them, aware of the risk of them getting sick too. Well, they did. BAD. Every single fish's fins were clamped. After 3 or 4 weeks of using jungle fungus tabs, I had little to show for it, just some dead fish and sickly live ones. I used pimafix and melafix in combination, and within 1 and a half weeks fish had no visible symptoms. They were still slightly contagious, other fish they were put in with were slightly ill for a few days, but pimafix worked on that too! Fungus is very hard to get rid of, but this is your best bet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API PimaFix
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pimafix

PostedMarch 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
I bought Pimafix because my goldfish, Bruce, had a fungal growth on his top dorsal fin the size of a small glass bead, and he's a pretty small fish. I put the medication in the tank and within 30 min., the fungus was the size of a needle head! He is looking so much better than he did! I would recommend it to anyone, including people with reef aquariums or sensitive fish! And its all natural, you cant go wrong with an all natural product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.