petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit

Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit

Includes hidden 3-stage filtrationFeatures Rail LightDaylight & moonlight settingsUses blue and white LED's
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new 3 Gallon glass tank!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wyoming, MN
This is my first glass Betta tank. I've had many acrylic tanks and will never go back. I had originally bought a generic glass tank which was missing parts and it was not made well so I returned it. My Marineland 3 gallon is quality made, you can tell by just how thick and beautiful the small aquarium is. The LED lighting is so awesome, you can use the day lights for a brighter tank or the blue night lights for a softer look. I added a small 10 watt heater that just sticks to the back glass behind my plants. The filter is so quiet, you won't even hear it. I have mine set to low and it does have a pretty good current going, but I don't think it's too much for my Betta. He seems happy and swims all over the tank and eats well. I think this is a perfect tank for a Betta or other small fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
Alright so I'm relatively new to the aquatic life but, after a lot of research, I currently have two betas (a crown tail male and a female). I initially had bought my male first and kept him in a 1 gallon for a while as I was just testing the waters on my dedication to taking care of fish. I kept up with water changes but after hearing numerous complaints about the size not being adequate for him I decided to upgrade to the 3 gallon tank. This was not a simple choice, I kept reading reviews on other products on how they broke not long after they arrived or that they arrived broken upon delivery and needless to say I was almost put off on investing a lot of money. But the 3 gallon fit my needs the best (as I live in the dorms at my college presently) and the lighting/set up is beautiful. I would've gone with the 5 gallon except I prefer a cube shape and this one was the best quality I could find. Needless to say I was not disappointed. Delivery was quick and aside from a little confusion in the directions pretty easy to set up. I love that it's glass and with rounded corners. I don't know much about filters but I still change about 15-20% of the water every week just because I'm already doing it for my female who's in a 1 gallon. With how small she is if I put her in a bigger tank I'm afraid I'd lose her... But once I'm more finically capable I will definitely look into upgrading her to this tank possibly too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great aquarium

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston
Just the right size for two small goldfish. Very nice looking with the night lights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tank for the price!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WA
I got the 5 gallon one. This little tank looks so sharp and is sooo quiet!!! My peach betta looks so pretty against the black background. The filtration system is easy to work with and there is plenty of space in the pump compartment, so you can put a heater and anything else, out of sight. The glass is good quality, and the LED lights seem to be bright enough for my low-light live plants. All in all, very pleased with this product :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tank is so beautiful!!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought the 3-gallon tank and absolutely love it! The glass thank is so clear and beautiful with the LED lights. I love the 2-way light setting options (day/night). We put glofish in this tank and they look awesome under the blue light. I can see this tank being used for a betta or just 2-3 small fish. The filter is pretty quiet and the top glass slides back about 2 inches for easy feeding and maintenance (I also leave it at this position to allow more oxygen going into the tank).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
this tank is so beautiful. It is made out of glass and not plastic. In the picture it looks like it does not have a cover but it has a glass lid. I love the day and night lighting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tank for the office!!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
Extremely easy to set up and very quiet. My only gripe is the cover over the filter does't leave enough space to run a heater cord and the like under it flush. It makes it sit a little awkwardly but, nothing that would make anyone notice or think it looks funny; but since it's mine, I notice it a little. But it's a beautiful tank and adds just the right look to my office! I LOVE the LED lighting!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful Aquarium!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Royal Palm Beach. FL
I really like this aquarium. I had ordered another glass aquarium prior to this one and UPS delivered it shattered/broken. I contacted PETCO about my disappointment and had to return the broken aquarium to a PETCO store. When this aquarium arrived, the box had 'FRAGILE' stickers on it and the box looked sturdier. I opened it up and the aquarium is fine/not broken!! Tks PETCO for the better packing, labeling and shipping method.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tank for Betta

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Morro bay, CA
I bought this tank to upgrade my betta from his bowl. I couldn't be happier with this tank. Not only does it have lots of room for him to swim around and hide around plants but it's beautiful sitting on my counter! My only minor and fixable complaint was that even with the filter on the lowest setting it pushed my betta around a bit. So I cut up some aqua filter and tied it around the water output with fishing line. This baffled the water enough to where it drips out and water spits out the side of outflow. My betta is much happier now! Also put a large plant in front of water output and intake. He loves it! I just bought my second tank. Now it's time to go to the store and find the next lucky betta! Thanks petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Marineland Contour Aquarium

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MT
The aquarium appears to be well made, and the rounded corners and LED lighting is an elegant touch. Unfortunately the dimensions are a little misleading. While this is a 5 gallon aquarium, it isn't setup very well for anything other than the smallest of fish. I was replacing an aging "Chi" aquarium and this one, and even though it is the same volume, it has very little swimming room due to it's narrow depth (filter unit takes up valuable inches at the back of the aquarium) and increased height. If you're going to be housing a tetra or similar it might work fine, but for anything larger, look elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the price

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from seattle, WA
System looks great for small fish. see the picture
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with Purchase!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
Really like this tank so far, wasn’t going to buy another Marineland but took a chance with this one and am very happy. Looks very nice. Shipping was fast and the tank was in perfect condition. I order the 5 gallon.
Pros: Glass, Modern and Stylish!, LED’s are brighter than my 20gal Marineland LED’s at night, can’t see cords in back, upgrade from my Marineland 5 gallon Hex tank, the flow can be adjusted, easier to put together then the Marineland 4 gallon Classic Aquarium Kit and LED’s are covered unlike the 4 gallon classic kit. The LED’s also tilt back so you can clean the tank, there was room for a small heater in the back part. The glass top also moves smoothly for feeding.
Cons: I am thinking that after a couple of months the back area with the pump and filter is might be hard to clean, I can’t get my hand back there. The curved glass looks really nice but like all tanks with curve glass the water is a little distorted when looking through the curved part, but I am ok with that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous tank! (5 gallon)

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from GA
It's a shame that this is not sold in stores--at least, not in the Atlanta area. I had to wait even longer for it to arrive and driving to the store was a waste of time.
It's a beautiful tank, and the five gallon one is taller instead of wider. My betta went from a 3 gallon to this one and he adores it! The lights are bright and beautiful. My betta is black with blue stripes on his fins, and the blue lights really make that blue stand out!
There have been reviews stating that the current is too strong. I'll admit that I had it on high when I put him in--he was pushed across the tank and into the glass. Once I turned it to low, he swam around and got used to it! I think he really loves the current. He'll swim against it and do some flips. I think it makes the tank feel larger than it really is.
My only issue is that the current will push all the food into the filter or down towards the bottom, and it doesn't give my betta enough time to eat. I have to turn it off before feeding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little tank!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Gatos, CA
Really pretty little tank. Completely silent. Low energy usage. Nice day or night lights. I have three tiny shell dwellers in my tank. They are so fun to watch. I wish this tank came in a 10 or 15 gallon. I would buy another immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They thought of everything!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Winchendon, MA
I love this tank and it seems my Betta fish does too. First it's glass (not the cheap thin kind) it has a good weight to it very nice! All the elements (the filter and pump) are hidden in the back, and the pump is adjustable. The only thing I would recommend is to start the pump on low, not high as recommended (my Betta couldn't swim with it on high). The glass lid easily slides back for feeding. The LED lights are the best, you have a choice of just blue, blue and white, or off. Another great feature is the pump and lights are separate, so you can shut the lights off and the pump will stay on. I purchased the 3 gallon tank perfect for my Betta, and it was very easy to set up. I highly recommend this tank. In the future I hope to purchase the 5 gallon tank for other kinds of fish. Well done Marineland!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautifly designed

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Woodside, NY
It's a beautiful aquarium but I had forgotten how heavy glass can be. Placement becomes important but it is a perfect height for tall plants.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mini tank ever

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
I have an Aqueon Evolve 4 as well, but THIS tank is the best! It's glass, the LEDs are amazingly sparkling and colorful, and the filtration system is the best around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newport NC
I would highly recommend this aquarium.
It looks great, and it is silent.
I like the way the filter and heater is hidden in the tank.
It was very easy to set up. I wouldn't mind having one in every room.
I find myself watching the fish instead of the TV.
It was delivered the day I was told it would arrive.
Thank You
Harry M
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, Nice and Fun

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grand Island NE
I am going to use this set up for Shrimp. I filled it with water and it was easy and works good. I am looking forward to using the set up. It looks like fun. Filtration works good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Contour Glass LED Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Contour LED Aquarium Kit

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from VA
I couldn't be happier with this little aquarium. It's quality made, easy to set up and very attractive. I only had to add a small heater and the rest was included.
If there are any cons it's the slight inconvenience of moving the glass top to feed or do something to the tank. But minor compared to the pros. I didn't think the built in filter would be enough power, but it seems to work fine. Overall an A+ for a small tank with an excellent price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>