petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit

Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit

Everything you need to start a great aquarium for your Betta or other small fishBetta fish tank kit includes: 2 1/2 gallon acrylic tank, carbon floss cartridge, light, divider, Betta food sample, Betta Bowl Plus water conditioner sample, and moreSpace-saving design make the Mini-Bow 2.5 gallon the perfect desktop fish tank
Average Customer Rating:
3.649 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
14
70 out of 97(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good idea

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
beach33445
from S. Florida
Nice tank but I use it for only 1 betta. Great idea except the 2 bettas are able to see each other and drive each other crazy trying to fight. I dont like to stress out my fish so I just took out the divider and use it for 1betta and bought another tank for the other betta. All in all its a good idea that would be a great idea if the betta's couldnt see each other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its really called Betta Bow 2.5 Great design and space.

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
IloveBettas123
from Phoenix, AZ
Over the weekend, I purchased this kit for my red crowntail betta, Blaze. His previous home was a glass bowl with some marbles. The water quickly got cloudy everyday, and he was getting weaker and weaker. I was worried he would die. So, i got this tank at Petco, and I think its perfect! Its real name is Aqueon Betta Bow 2.5. It came with betta food, a special betta water conditioner (which works so well I bought a bottle), a power filter, and a lighted hood. This is the perfect siized tank for bettas, spacious, yet small enough to fit anywhere. The filter cleans the tank very well but I do only have one fish, so for me, perfect! If your really tied for space, try the Mini Bow 1, which is a one gallon. Overall, great product! I bought a second one for my tiger barbs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very quiet!

PostedMay 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv4fish
from Michigan
My bettas love this tank! It's super quiet! Crowntail and regular betta love it! Just add beautiful gravel, plant, and a hut! Thanks! I wouldn't put a female in this tank because she can jump through the vent inside and jump over the top the other side easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best on the market if you use your brain

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynne11
from NJ
Just because it shows it can be used as a split tank for two bettas does mean that's all it is good for. To the contrary, I'm not using it for anything close to a split tank. I was looking for a small desk tank and already had a one gallon for my betta. BTW, great tank. I wanted a tropical fish tank for my office. Bought the two gallon, a heater and the fish. Best small 2 gallon tank on the market. I had an extra gallon with filter and am using the one gallon filter (same size as two gallon). I've never enjoyed my tanks more and will never buy another brand. Someone mentioned that they couldn't buy the filter they broke. I bought one and the propeller was missing. I just called the company and they sent me out an entire new one gallon full, complete set. Great customer service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Betta

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Puppyhugger18
from Rough and Ready, CA
I bought this tank about a week ago now. My Betta Mr. Plum has never been happier! I also got the silk betta plants and put half a clam shell in. The light is nice and bright and keeps the tank warm. Also got him a couple new friends a catfish named pearl and a snail named spot! Super happy with this little tank and it came with extras! I paid full price in store and still think it is worth the money because Mr. Plum is having a blast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for a betta

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
rayray1234
I bought this on sale for about $16.00, and it was really a steal for that price. The aquarium is very attractive, and I have not had any problems with the acrylic scratching or cracks in the tank.
I wouldn't recommend using only the undergravel filter that comes with the kit. For one, it does not provide any chemical filtration, and it makes cleaning your tank rather difficult. Secondly, the motor is very loud, and the wire on it is short. It is hard to place the motor far enough away from the tank to keep the vibrations from disturbing the fish. I decided to stop using this filter, but I bought the same tank for a friend of mine and she has been having good luck with it so far (over 1 month now).
I bought the Red Sea Nano filter as a replacement and it has proven to be an excellent filter for this small tank.
Another slight complaint is that the tank does not come with a heater. I got the Hydor mini heater, and it has worked well thus far.
I'd really recommend this tank for betta keeping. It's a great size; it provides just enough room for a betta to swim around in. If you do decide to keep the undergravel filter, you can twist the pipe so that the bubbles blow into the corner, which makes the water less turbulent (which is what bettas prefer). Also, if you add a bit more gravel to the bottom, it seems to make the bubbles a bit less strong.
The tank is a pretty good deal and MUCH better than a lot of the other options for bettas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for 1 betta but needs tweaking for 2

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
purplefirefish
from Moses Lake, WA
Great tank setup for the price. The filter is quiet, the light really shows off the fish and they are over all happy in it. I looks nice on my desk and I enjoy watching them swim. HOWEVER I would not recommend it for 2 bettas unless you change a few things. As other people have said the divider holes are too large and the bettas can nip each others fins through them. Also with mine the filter return flow was so strong that it pushed my male halfmoon double tail up against the divider and he had difficulty moving away from it (getting nipped at the whole time) the light does promote algae growth but it is easy to clean and filters should be changed regularly anyways, but an led hood would be much better, I would pay more for this tank if I had the option to get an led hood (and then perhaps a betta heater). I fixed the divider issue by using the divider as a pattern and cutting it out of a plastic canvas sheet (like used for yarn and needle art) and stuffed a bit of extra filter bag material in the return water slot to slow the flow. I have not had any problems with the bettas getting around the divider and they seem to be doing quite well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Deal for Price

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
2TuxedoCats
from Connecticut
I bought this tank on sale for $27 for my male veil tale betta. It's a great size for one betta and easy to clean. I wouldn't put 2 in it if you plan on using the filter, though. The filter takes up a lot of room and I imagine there would not be adequate space for a betta with the filter installed. That being said, I believe this filter is too strong for a betta. I found mine to often get pushed around by the current and I also noticed his tail getting sucked in. At first I tried pantyhose around the filter.. it did stop his tail from being sucked up, but it didn't slow it down. I stopped using the filter all together and just conduct more frequent water changes. This shouldn't prevent you from purchasing this kit, though. It's a great starter kit and the perfect setup for a betta!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is great!

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bettaluver4evr
This tank is a great tank for betta fish! It would be better for just one betta fish, but it is fine for 2 fish too. It is filtered, separated and big enough for both fish to have enough air and filteration. Great buy, and good for your fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bargain!

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
macncheese
from TX
I was given this kit and I must say that I LOVE it! Acrylic is so much safer than glass and it has survived a couple of relocations. The filter and air pump are both quiet and don't disturb my betta fish. Sometimes these little kits will have those power filters and I really don't like them. Some of my fish were killed by them so I stay away from them. This tank doesn't have that and I love it even more. You get everything you need in it and the light isn't too bright nor too dark. I have it next to bed and I like looking at my betta swim when I'm trying to fall asleep. I highly recommend this and will purchase it soon for my friend's birthday!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Fish Tank!!!

PostedMay 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
LonLonLink
I bought this tank for my goldfish. I won my fish at a fair and I didn't expect him to live long so I originally put him in a small bowl with an airstone. In a few days the tank started getting really cloudy and I started feeling bad for him. So, I bought this tank. This tank was a great find. It gives my fish plenty of room to swim around and it looks great. The water has stayed crystal clear and my fishh looks both healthy and happy. I would recommend this tank to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

reivew for min-bow

PostedMay 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
triggzilla
from new jersey
it looks great and is very functional except for the feeding hood. It does catch alot of the fish food which eventually will mold and get pretty unsanitary. otherwise, it is really well priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mini Bow

PostedJanuary 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Betta Buddy
from VT
First of all the aquarium looks great. But it is not glass and that is how you describe it. Check your copy. I am fish sitting a betta and when I changed it's water, I noticed that the bottom was full of cracks. I called the owner of the fish and she said that the first tank did the same thing! Because I have no other options, I'm off to buy a third one in 2 1/2 years at your store. Wish I could come up with a defective product that isn't what it claims to be and have folks come back buying it. Amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little setup

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ceemz
from Cudahy, WI
We keep my grandson's red Beta, Flamer, in the 2.5 gallon tank. Flamer is very, very happy in it - at 6 months old, he's bright red and actually interacts with the boy. The tank holds Spongebob and Squidward huts to hide in and a plastic plant - with a good amount of gravel on the bottom. The only drawback is that the bulb gets pretty warm, so there tends to be a good amount of algae buildup. Fortunately, the tank is easy to clean, so it's not a big problem. I'm thinking of getting one for myself! :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good tank

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
2Bettas
from Southern Illinois
I recently purchased a Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit for my 2 bettas. It has a divider so they are not in the same tank, which makes it nice since I don't have to take care of 2 tanks. It is a pretty good fit for what I needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing tank

PostedNovember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
doggyluver234
i bought this tank for my 3 danios and snail they love it. The filter is quiet and the lighting is great! It was really easy to set up and basically alredy assembled. I would reccomend this to anyone who wanted to start a great new hobby.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COMPLETELY AWESOME PRODUCT

PostedJuly 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
bettasrock123
from colorado
i wanted to get a betta fish so i went to my petco and saw this kit. i wondered why they sold it for 30 bucks because its worth way more i got 2 bettas i white halfmoon and a black delta betta. they completely luv this tank. they started to attack the divider in the first hour but then they stopped they luv having the company now. i would definitely reccomend this product to all of my friends because its got they perfect amount of space on each side for a betta it is AMAZING. ill write another review and sho pics later. bye
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good upgrade

PostedOctober 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kaya
I recently upgraded my betta from his bowl of 3 years into this little tank. He seems to be much happier (I got him a little catfish buddy too) and is eating about twice what he did before. The tank is large enough to fit two fish comfortably as well as a fake plant and a tunnel, however I wouldn't recommend using the divider because it would be way too small. The undergravel filter is nice as well but it doesn't cover the entire tank floor - only the center. Also, the plastic bottom doesn't attach to the tank and gapes at the sides. Oh well, you get what you pay for right? For the price, I think it's a great upgrade from a betta bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My little boy loves it..

PostedJune 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
PoetJeni
I bought this for my male betta, Desi and he loves it. I had to get a regulator for the filter, though. It was too strong for his long fins. When it's time for the stone to be changed (I've only had it a week), I'm going to buy one that does "fine" bubbles and that may help a lot. I noticed on my trip to Petco today that the stone that came with the tank is one for "coarse" bubbles. He was in a one gal. tank and was pretty happy, but I upgraded his house when I bought a female and put her in the smaller tank. He's been SUPER happy in this tank. There is a pretty big gap in the back of the lid that I'm worried he'll jump out of (bettas DO JUMP, and well!) so I ALWAYS keep it covered when I'm not around to make sure there are no escapes. The light keeps the tank good and warm for him, and he's got tons of room to move around in. I had to return the first tank I bought because it was all scratched up, minor inconvience. FYI: It is ACRYLIC. All-Glass is the name of the company that makes this tank. I also wouldnt recommend using the divider that comes with this tank. It's not opaque, so the bettas could see each other and try to fight all the time, and there's plenty of room at the top and on the side where the tank bows out for a betta-ready-for-battle to get thru.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Aquarium Mini-Bow 2.5 Gallon Acrylic Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Small Tank

PostedOctober 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Satisfied
from Horseheads, NY
I just recently bought this tank and so far, have been impressed. The undergravel filter is much easier than a regular filter. I currently have 2 bettas in this tank and they enjoy it. The picture doesn't show it but it comes with a divider so the bettas won't attack each other. I am very satisfied with this tank and recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>