petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food

Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food

Fresh salmon is the #1 ingredientWhole foods including sweet potatoes and peasSimple recipe with only 8 easy-to-understand ingredientsHealthPLUS solutions in every bite for great nutritionOptimal protein levels - as much protein as a 7 oz. salmon steakMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
prorockgirl
from Fenton, MO
It has only been a week, but the dogs gobble this stuff up! I had them on a pricey raw food brand and often they would just walk away from it.
With Pure Sea, which I call their "fish food," there is no hesitation. It could be a scent additive or just the fish ingredients, not sure which. I bought this because grains are becoming too prevalent in many foods, low nutrients and fattening! It's also related to MANY health issues in dogs - siezures, ear infections, and on and on. Not to mention, they are likely GMO grains!! More health problems related to that too! They still get carbs (which they need) from other sources, but it's just not an overabundance like most junk (pricey and cheap) big brand foods that that fill their foods with cheap corn, wheat, gluten meals and by-products. Also, because chicken and poultry in general, is a VERY common source (as are grains) of allergies. It may seem "picky" but you have to be if you want healthy dogs. I also add left over fish, salt free spinach, carrots and whatever veggies they like, to their food, along with raw frozen nuggets dog food. When you've had dogs die of cancer, and do research you learn why it is becoming so common. It's because big brand, massive corporate "balanced" commercial dog foods are absent of nutrients. Years of eating those poor diets severely compromise their immune systems. The ingredient list in this food is pretty impressive, and they add probiotics too, something that is vital to good immunity in dogs AND humans. Buy the best quality pet food possible. It makes a difference! You'll have healthier, weight appropriate pets, and far lower vet bills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for sensitivity issues

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
largecorgisrule
from San marcos, CA
I am so glad to have finally found the best dog food. I can now feed both dogs the same food. They both have had bladder stone surgery, so they needed high protein. But the real issue was for the one dog that has horrible bowel issues (bloody stools and even vomiting) and skin sensitivity. The food perfectly corrected both issues. It has so much protein in it, the poo gets very dry, so I feed it with a little water and every 3rd day a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, and viola! Perfection
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Allergies

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
ldupie
Switched both of my dogs a 10 year old hound mix and a 2 year old lab Shepherd mix to Pure Sea a year ago because of gastric issues and haven't had any problems since the switch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Improvement!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheezbeez
from New York, NY
My 16 year old Shih Tzu has always had severe allergies and, more recently, developed joint problems that come along with age.
We switched his food to Canidae Pure Salmon and after about two months, we noticed that his posture changed, he spends less time in bed, and he isn't limping nearly as much as he was before...
He seems to really enjoy the taste (he gobbles it up quickly) and it's helped to improve the symptoms associated with his allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
DSGB
from Pittsburgh, PA
Pure Sea is great for dogs with sensitive digestive tracts, such as greyhounds and others. It provides proper nutrition, fish oil (though I give my dogs sardines a couple of times a month to supplement and give them a healthy treat). Most importantly, the dogs love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shiny coat, no allergies!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
lovelabradors2
from Kingwood, TX
I switched my chocolate lab to this food about 6- 8 months ago. His coat has never looked better, shinier or fuller! Also, he has always had food allergies which manifested in his skin (constant itching, licking). This grain - free and chicken- free is doing him wonders... and he LOVES it. I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Yetibear
from Texas
I love that this food is fish based but also retains the higher protein seen in grain free foods. I feed it to my giant breed dog who has food allergies and he enjoys it and has done very well on it. This was the only fish based food I could find that has a protein level comparable to chicken based food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Bad Breath!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DelilahM
from Ohio
My 13 year old Japanese Spitz Mix had bad breath even after her teeth were cleaned. She drinks spring water and had been eating only Halo dog food. I switched her to Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food, PROBLEM SOLVED!! REAL QUICK!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy pug tummy

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happypugmama
from Michigan
Our 5 year old pug was throwing up weekly. After switching vets and food we are all happy happy happy. Canidae pure sea is a bit pricey but for is it's well worth it. Also, it's made in the U.S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

healthy food for my Malamutes

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
sgardea
from seattle wa
I have 2 giant Malamutes who love fish based dry food and this is one of the best (its pricy) but worth it. They both have itchy skin so the fish base works amazing. we go through less than which cheap grain based food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He eats it!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeckhamB
from Auburn, Alabama
As you can see by my review title, my dog pulls a hunger strike every now and then. He is 6 years old and had been on Blue for 5 years and then the vet placed him on Hills Rx Ultra due to ear infections. The ear infections stayed with Ultra and he would not eat for days. This is our 2nd bag of Canidae. Though he may not eat all at once, he does eventually get around to eating his breakfast and dinner. And, his ears and over all scratching have declined immensely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food with quality ingredients, no grains or by-products

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShibaSweet
from Florida
Our shiba inu really likes this food, he eats it up right away. His stool is healthy and firm, no diarrhea when switching to CANIDAE. I love that it has probiotics, Omega 3 & 6 oils and Vitamin E. Big thanks to Petco. for selling CANIDAE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.