petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food

Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food

Fresh salmon is the #1 ingredient in this Canidae dog foodMade with whole foods including sweet potatoes and peasSimple recipe with only eight easy-to-understand key ingredientsHealthPLUS solutions in every bite for great nutrition Grain-free dog food ideal for sensitive dogsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wilmington nc
My dog absolutely loved this food!! She's a shepherd/hound mix who is rather picky when it comes to her food but with this food she is excited to eat every day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grain Free

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central South Florida
My GSD rescue was miserable with allergic itching. We tried several foods and this one both relieves the itch and satisfies his taste buds. Was undernourished at less then 80 is no on 2nd bag and made it to 101 and holding
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Food and Brand

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My three dogs have been on this food for over a year now. Two of them suffer from allergies and so the grain free food is just what they need - and it works wonders! Decrease in ear infections, less paw/butt chewing, etc. And there is no fishy breath smell with the Sea formula (as is the case with other fish formula brands I've tried). Extensive research also showed that Canidae is one of the best brands out there. Would recommend to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
We have a Black Lab Female that was diagnosed with Addison's disease. She stopped eating another quality dog food and we were told we needed to find a food with very few ingredients. Pure Sea Salmon was a god send. It really saved our dogs life. She immediately started eating it and has not stopped. Thanks to this wonderful company we still have a loving member of our family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kersey, PA
I have been looking for a grain free kibble for my epileptic dog without rosemary. Rosemary can cause seizures in dogs prone to them, Although the line with grain has rosemary, the Pure line does not. My dog has been on the Pure sea for about 3 days. We were home home cooked before this,we didn't do a gradual change. He had him homemade for dinner then breakfast he has the kibble. No diarrhea, nice solid poo. Not as small as with the home cooked but a lot smaller than with grain filled food, thats for sure. My other two will be transitioned onto this food as well after they finish up their current bag of kibble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Picky dogs love it!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from plymouth, mi
After months of trial and error and a lot of wasted money, I finally found a grain free dog food both of my dogs like. I had to change their food when I discovered the reason my Boxer was always chewing and biting at her itchy feet was caused by food allergies. I tried so many grain free, organic, holistic, and limited ingredient diet dog foods but neither of my dogs would eat them. My guess is that maybe they're not as flavorful as the foods that are full of junk. Then I found Canidae Pure Sea and since my dogs both like seafood I gave it a try. I was overjoyed when they both chowed down a full bowl. They have been on this food for almost 2 years now and we are all happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fenton, MO
It has only been a week, but the dogs gobble this stuff up! I had them on a pricey raw food brand and often they would just walk away from it.
With Pure Sea, which I call their "fish food," there is no hesitation. It could be a scent additive or just the fish ingredients, not sure which. I bought this because grains are becoming too prevalent in many foods, low nutrients and fattening! It's also related to MANY health issues in dogs - siezures, ear infections, and on and on. Not to mention, they are likely GMO grains!! More health problems related to that too! They still get carbs (which they need) from other sources, but it's just not an overabundance like most junk (pricey and cheap) big brand foods that that fill their foods with cheap corn, wheat, gluten meals and by-products. Also, because chicken and poultry in general, is a VERY common source (as are grains) of allergies. It may seem "picky" but you have to be if you want healthy dogs. I also add left over fish, salt free spinach, carrots and whatever veggies they like, to their food, along with raw frozen nuggets dog food. When you've had dogs die of cancer, and do research you learn why it is becoming so common. It's because big brand, massive corporate "balanced" commercial dog foods are absent of nutrients. Years of eating those poor diets severely compromise their immune systems. The ingredient list in this food is pretty impressive, and they add probiotics too, something that is vital to good immunity in dogs AND humans. Buy the best quality pet food possible. It makes a difference! You'll have healthier, weight appropriate pets, and far lower vet bills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for sensitivity issues

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San marcos, CA
I am so glad to have finally found the best dog food. I can now feed both dogs the same food. They both have had bladder stone surgery, so they needed high protein. But the real issue was for the one dog that has horrible bowel issues (bloody stools and even vomiting) and skin sensitivity. The food perfectly corrected both issues. It has so much protein in it, the poo gets very dry, so I feed it with a little water and every 3rd day a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, and viola! Perfection
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Allergies

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Switched both of my dogs a 10 year old hound mix and a 2 year old lab Shepherd mix to Pure Sea a year ago because of gastric issues and haven't had any problems since the switch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Improvement!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My 16 year old Shih Tzu has always had severe allergies and, more recently, developed joint problems that come along with age.
We switched his food to Canidae Pure Salmon and after about two months, we noticed that his posture changed, he spends less time in bed, and he isn't limping nearly as much as he was before...
He seems to really enjoy the taste (he gobbles it up quickly) and it's helped to improve the symptoms associated with his allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Pure Sea is great for dogs with sensitive digestive tracts, such as greyhounds and others. It provides proper nutrition, fish oil (though I give my dogs sardines a couple of times a month to supplement and give them a healthy treat). Most importantly, the dogs love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shiny coat, no allergies!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kingwood, TX
I switched my chocolate lab to this food about 6- 8 months ago. His coat has never looked better, shinier or fuller! Also, he has always had food allergies which manifested in his skin (constant itching, licking). This grain - free and chicken- free is doing him wonders... and he LOVES it. I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I love that this food is fish based but also retains the higher protein seen in grain free foods. I feed it to my giant breed dog who has food allergies and he enjoys it and has done very well on it. This was the only fish based food I could find that has a protein level comparable to chicken based food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Bad Breath!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My 13 year old Japanese Spitz Mix had bad breath even after her teeth were cleaned. She drinks spring water and had been eating only Halo dog food. I switched her to Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food, PROBLEM SOLVED!! REAL QUICK!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy pug tummy

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Our 5 year old pug was throwing up weekly. After switching vets and food we are all happy happy happy. Canidae pure sea is a bit pricey but for is it's well worth it. Also, it's made in the U.S.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

healthy food for my Malamutes

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from seattle wa
I have 2 giant Malamutes who love fish based dry food and this is one of the best (its pricy) but worth it. They both have itchy skin so the fish base works amazing. we go through less than which cheap grain based food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

He eats it!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Auburn, Alabama
As you can see by my review title, my dog pulls a hunger strike every now and then. He is 6 years old and had been on Blue for 5 years and then the vet placed him on Hills Rx Ultra due to ear infections. The ear infections stayed with Ultra and he would not eat for days. This is our 2nd bag of Canidae. Though he may not eat all at once, he does eventually get around to eating his breakfast and dinner. And, his ears and over all scratching have declined immensely.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canidae Grain Free Pure Sea Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food with quality ingredients, no grains or by-products

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Our shiba inu really likes this food, he eats it up right away. His stool is healthy and firm, no diarrhea when switching to CANIDAE. I love that it has probiotics, Omega 3 & 6 oils and Vitamin E. Big thanks to Petco. for selling CANIDAE!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.