petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars

Safe, effective no bark dog collars to help stop excessive barkingThese bark collars automatically adapt to your dog's barkInnotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars stops correction at a level just right for your dog and recognizes good behaviorIncludes collar, battery, probes, and free professional training supportModel BC-50B
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
23
72 out of 98(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Review 1 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So helpful!

PostedJuly 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
New Dog Owner
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
My dog was adopted as a stray and needed to learn how to behave around people and other dogs. She would bark uncontrollably when another dog would walk by our home or if we were out on a walk and saw another dog. She would bark so forcefully that people would stare and think she was going to attack. A visit to the vet was really unpleasant! My dog would also bark at the cat in the middle of the night. The Innotek no-bark collar has been a lifesaver! It's not pretty-looking on the dog, however, after a few months of wearing it, she no longer needs it! I did feel sorry for her when the collar shocked my dog, but she learned not to bark so quickly that she was only shocked a total of maybe 5-10 times. My dog no longer barks like a crazed attack-dog when she sees other dogs. She no longer runs around late at night barking at anything. She is so quiet now that some of my neighbors had no idea I had a dog (I live in a condo). She only barks a couple of times when there is a knock at the door. I suggest using this collar to help your dog learn to control his/her own barking. You probably won't need to use it forever once your dog learns how to behave.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+54points
97of 140voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I can say is God Bless! the inventor of this product.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
jeffreyflawlessangel
from Fresno, CA
My wife and I have a 9 week old Labrador-Collie mix puppy, Samurai. Samurai started out being a calm tempered dog, but a week after getting him, he became a (noise maker) barking and whining every time we would leave the room or try to go to bed. He was beginning to drive us crazy, and we were considering giving him away because we just couldn’t handle all the noise anymore. We tried all kinds of methods to get him to stop barking and whining, we tried the dog whistle, water in spray bottle, anti-bark ultrasonic noise device, and putting him outside for 5 minutes, and nothing was working. Finally we did some research online from the Petco website, and we found the Innotek Automatic No-Bark Collar (get the shock one, not the noise one). We got the collar and it put it on our puppy Samurai, it only had to shock him four times before he realized that he probably shouldn’t bark and whining anymore when we leave the room. The first couple of times your dog gets shocked they will sound like someone is trying to kill them, but don’t worry your dog will be fine, it’s not going to injure your dog it’s just a pinch to them. Your dog will learn very fast that barking or whining has consequences, and hopefully soon they won’t need the collar because they will know that being noisy is bad. It’s day two with this collar and Samurai has been quiet as a mouse =) now instead of being noisy he's being good and plays with his toys. I think he is finally knows being noisy is not ok its bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop bark collars worked well

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danigirl
from Maryland
Bought two of these for our 12 pound Jack Russell and 45 pound chow mix. On the Jack Russell it only took a few barks until she stopped. I think we had the collar too loose on the chow at first, it didn't seem to deter him at all. When we tightened it up a bit he stopped too. We are in a rather rural area, but we do have neighbors who can hear them when they bark outside, and after only a few days of wearing the collars while outside they are doing great. Well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Run to Petco!!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
CliftonsMom
from New Jersey
I have an 8lb. Pom I just rescued from a local shelter. EVERY sound made him bark for 30-45 seconds straight-I could not enjoy his company. After reading the reviews on this site I could not get to the store fast enough. Took 2 1/2 hours-he is a different dog. Be patient-the first few barking "sessions" had no results, then BAM! He didn't know what hit him-it might sound harsh to some dog owners but I can tell HE is happier too! The barking seemed to exhaust and upset him. Now he is calm and greets everyone with kisses. Give it a try!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doglover880
from Troy, MO
We have a part Lab part Blue Heeler dog who barks constantly, especially at night. We purchased this bark collar hoping it would stop the barking. We have an underground fence which works great, that is why we thought this collar would work, too. However, she still barks and it doesn't seem to faze her.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Solution for Thea

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Math
from Auburn Hills, MI
My dog is a small chihuahua mix (the breed is quite nervous) and has a strong separation anxiety and it became worse as we moved into the States from Mexico.
I started to get complaints from the neighbors because she started to bark whenever I was out, even for a short visit to the supermarket. I couldn't use the sonic collar because I also have cats at home and I didn't want them to suffer with the sound everytime Thea barked. I needed an immediate way to control the barking (and yes, we are working on the separation anxiety with proper methods as well).
I felt soooo guilty to know my baby girl was going to be shocked whenever she barked but it turned out she only did it twice and stopped. In one ocassion, we ran out of batteries and left her with the collar anyway. My husband and I returned home to a nervous but barking-free pup.
Haven't got any complain since and Thea is getting rid of her anxiety pretty well. I'd totally recommend it if you have a barking problem that needs an immediate solution. Just wouldn't leave the collar for too long and still work on the dog's behavior.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It worked

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvMyCockapoo
from Reading, PA
Our 25 lb. 11-month-old cockapoo was howling in the early morning because she wanted company. Otherwise, she didn't bark too much. We put the collar on her during the night when she was in her crate. At first it didn't seem to work and she would still howl some, but after a few mornings she no longer howls. One morning we heard her begin to howl and then yelp. She hasn't done it since then. She even seems to remember when we forget to switch her collar (she wears an Innotek invisible fence collar during the day).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Innotek Bark Collar

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
grgbear
from Fayetteville, NC
Worked great! For one day:-(. I'm sure it would have worked great for a dog in a yard by himself, but you don't want to buy this or any other collar where a second K9 has a chewing habit. My other K9 had it chewed in two by the next morning. Not saying it's a bad product, just be aware if your dog is not fenced alone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

howlin' coonhound

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
rossvelk
from wichita, ks
Worked like a charm after the second bark. He's an excitable boy though, so he needs it on occassion just as a little reminder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still waiting for it to start working

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
jmoney6891
from Kansas
I received this bark collar and instantly tried it, it might be the battery that came with it, or maybe I just used a dead one, but so far it has yet to work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for small dogs

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Purplesunshine
from Las Vegas, NV
It was very harmful to my 2 small dogs and made them yelp, jump, shiver, and were very unhappy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless does not work!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
hrdplay
from Thousand Oaks, CA
I have a 7 month old Labrador. When left alone he barks non- stop.
Thought I would give this automatic No-Bark collar a try. I liked that it had good reviews.
Well read the instructions and followed them to the letter. Tested the unit to make sure that it worked. I rubbed it on the kitchen table top and was pleased to see the red light come on.
So I adjusted the collar, so that I could just get one finger between collar and neck. Placed the dog outside. immediate barking and I could see that the red light was coming on since he was paws up on the sliding glass door.
No reaction from him at all.
Removed collar and checked probes to make sure they are secure. trimmed hair where probes contact skin. Reinstalled collar a little bit tighter. tested again. dog barks with no reaction to probes. red light flashes.
This unit is JUNK ! I am tired of junk like this that does not perform the way that it is supposed to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
12of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more loud barks

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
foodbandid
from Canton Ohio
FINALLY....A no bark collar that works. Everytime this dog would bark, she would be sitting right next to me. Used to scare me half to death, she was so loud. After two days, no more barking at every llittle squirrel, chipmunk and rabbit or whatever she sees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
17of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery bad

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
DCamille
from Pleasant Hill, CA
I had to get a battery as the one that came with the unit didn't work; so that was an extra $10. Also, it works but every time my dog barks, she squeaks in pain. Hard to take.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dont like it

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
roswav
from washington
it only worked one time. my dogs still bark and i wasted my money on buying this item. I had to buy two since I have two dogs and $100 later I am very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMGOSH

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
sandiszoo3
from Huntington Beach Ca
I'm pretty sure that my Silky Terrier, Lucy, had stopped barking before the charge for this collar even showed up on my cc. I'd been reluctant to try one of these, but she was getting on my last nerve, for 3 years she's been barking incessantly. After trying other methods, we tried this collar, it worked like a charm. She caught on within minutes of wearing the collar. Of course she needs reminding, It's been less than a week, but even without the collar she has quit screaming when we get home. I would give it 10 stars if I could. I always wondered if these reviews were for real, I assure you this real.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Okey
from Alamo, Texas
This collar is so simple and does the job. It only took two times and my dog is NOT a barker anymore!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
poodab86
from chicago, il
I live in a condo and I recently bought a shizt tzu puppy even though he is very lovable he barks a really high pitched bark every time I was out of his sight. At first I thought I'd just ignore it until he realized I cant be in view 24hrs a day, but then I started getting complaints from the neighbors so I bought this collar. At first it scared me (& him) when he started barking, because it made him yelp, then he tried to bark again this time louder thinking it'll stop after about 3x he just stopped barking all together. Now he only barks when he sense someone is at the door but never when I'm out of his sight now he only whimpers when I'm away to long.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
19of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collar

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jetster
This collar did no work on my dog. She barked and nothing happened. I tried it on her several times with no luck. I am returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Free Spirit Automatic No-Bark Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
jenm3233
from Lexington Park, Md
I NEVER write reviews for things, but this product worked so well for me I felt like I had to write one!
I got my 2 year old beagle a little over a month ago. She is a great dog, except one problem: every time I would leave the house I could hear her barking, howling and carrying-on. I set up a camera and found that she would bark and howl every five to ten minutes for hours at a time. I live in an apartment building and knew this could not continue, so I bought this collar. I've been using the collar now with her for about a week. The very first day, she did her normal bark and howl routine and boy did she learn quick! The next few days she barked just a few times. Now in the past few few days nothing but a little whining, knowing she can't make more noise than that. I can't wait to see if I can eventually not have to use the collar at all!
This product worked wonders for me! I was nervous to buy it because of the punishment, but she learned so quickly she didn't get punished more than 10 times. I'm so happy I bought it! Me AND my neighbors thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>