petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System

Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System

The fast, easy way to keep your dog safe and at homeUnderground pet fence kit includes 500' of insulated boundary wire for more than ? acre of coverage, transmitter, dog collar, training flags, hardware kit, and support hotlineTraining tools make training your pet to the electronic dog fence easyTransmitter can cover up to 5 acres with boundary wire extension (sold separately)Model SD-2000
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Review 1 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what we were hoping for!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovethebrittany
from the South
I feel compelled to write a review because we struggled so much over what to do for our puppy. THIS WORKED! We tried a wireless version first and it did not work with our property layout... too many buildings, sporadic signal. We wrestled with the idea of going through all the hassle of burying a wire wondering if it would turn out to be effective enough for our dog. Well, it has been amazing for us! Our Brittany is running free right now having the time of her life chasing kids in the yard! We have almost 3 acres and we felt it such a shame to have our puppy tied up. My husband rented a machine from a local tool barn that cut a groove all around our property in no time. He also got a concrete blade for the Skil saw and cut a shallow groove in our asphalt driveway. It took a whole afternoon to bury the wire, but the results are so worth it. We filled the driveway in with some tar (in a tube like caulk). Training was really fast. Our dog has gotten buzzed a few times and now will not go within 3 feet of the flags. She is not traumatized in the least. She LOVES her freedom. It is so worth it to see her RUN like a dog was meant to do. Just a few minutes ago I was watching as all the neighborhood kids were racing to the flags still up in our yard. Our Brittany was running with them but stopped before she reached the flags even though all the kids went through! LOVE IT! We caught this on sale, so the price was very reasonable, too. Only wish it had a low battery indicator, but we are happy to make due!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set-up

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
PoopiePuppy
from Maple valley, WA.
Very happy with this fence, our 70# lab learned very quickly. We did the training and within 3 days and maybe 4 ZAPS see got the idea. after 2 weeks we didnt even need it any more. She has been testing it lately so I went to use it again, but now the batteries dead. Thats my only complaint, it was bound to happen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
9of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Innotek Inground Fence

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
lm7997
from Hamilton, Ohio
I have had major problems getting this to work. It only wants to work intermittently and we have been troubleshooting it for over a week. My dog runs right through it in areas we just tested and worked one second and not the next.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for big dogs

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
agreene
from Louisiana
I have a Great Dane and she doesn't respond to the static correction! she will actually sit where the wire is buried and the collar is shocking her but she just doesn't care. I followed the training steps and she knows that she should run the other way, but the static correction doesn't hurt so she ll keep going. On this particular device there is no way to change the level of correction so if you have a hard headed dog or a big dog look at spending a few more dollars and getting something a little better. I will be getting the stubborn dog and trying that soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Ground Fence

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarleyPooch
from Chicago, IL
Installing was a snap. I highly recommend renting a low voltage cable trencher. I ran 800' of wire in an hour. The whole install took only 2 hours and it works perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great so far

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
lhart
from Cheraw, CO
We got this because our Weimaraner quit respecting the fence and we couldn't keep her in. She is a little afraid of it as she ignored the beeping, barreled across the barrier and got shocked. I like you can adjust the range from the barrier. Pretty simple to install, we buried half and stapled the other to the very bottom of our fence. GREAT value for the product, up to a third off other systems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

innotek fence

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hopper2012
from indy
Great fence for the $. My 6 month old dog got it figured out in 1 weekend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boxed a Boxer!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Boxerdogluv
from New Mexico
Great Product! Easy to set up. Word of caution: start the dog on the lowest setting, even a power setting of 1/3 seems to be over kill for inital training. Also be advised on the twisted wire boundary break may not be included in the set.
Over all, Extremely satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Corralled a Jumper

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
LyraViiolet
from Olathe, KS
What a great product. Far cheaper than most on the market and just as effective. After following the directions on the DVD, our GSP stopped jumping the fence immediately with the collar and now doesn't need the collar at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
3dogsand1kid
from Central Missouri
My in-laws bought us the Innotek underground fence a few years ago. They have the Petsafe one and our dogs would use their collars when we would visit. Since we have had the fence the only time the dogs have left the yard is when they run the battery dead, OR the electric company is working on the power lines when you are not home and the fence isn't on. I have a golden sheltie mix who is almost 5, and weighs 50lbs, a beagle mix that is almost 3 and weighs 28lbs, and the newest is a Great Pyrenese that is 11months and weighs 80lbs. Haven't had a problem with the fence working. Even with the new neighborhood full of chickens, cats, dogs, and other farm critters, the fence still contains them. I love it because they can run the property and I don't have to worry about them running away or getting hit by a car or harassing the neighbors livestock. I have recommended and underground to friends because it is awesome to have the power to let your kids run.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but to strong

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
craziglueforever
from Boulder,CO
I got this product because the new home I moved into had only a 3 ft tall fence and my youngest dog was jumping the fence whenever another dog or person walked by. We were desperate and could not make the fence any taller (strict HOA rules). We just zip tied the wire to about mid way up the fence. Worked wonders but the downside is the shock it gives out is INTENSE. I shocked myself to see how strong it was and I let out a scream and my fiance was also surprised and its strength and there is no way to control the strength level. it was heart breaking to watch my dog yelp and rear up when it would shock her. I returned it because I would like to find an alternative and she also got to scared to even go within a couple feet of the fence even though we put the boundary level on the lowest. Good if it's your last resort or you have lots of land. Easy to install .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
31of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
FreeLily
We have a new Chocolate Lab who loves to run. The install took 2 of us a full day but was completely worth it. After one week, she is on her own. It did help that the ground was nice and soft from rain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
38of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
shopper2010
With less than a year left before we move from our house, we wanted a fence, but didn't want to spend a lot of money. After searching on-line, this fence seemed to be the best for the price. We bought an extra set of wire and spent a full weekend with an edger burying the wire around our 1 acre lot. At the time we began training, our lab/ boxer mix dog was 4 1/2 months old. The recommended age to train is 6 months, but I figured we were close enough. After all the training, it didn't take long until the dog learned she could run at full speed and break through the fence. Disheartened, I took all the flags down, turned off the fence and went back to the old tie-out in the back yard.
Two months later, we decided to try again. We re-started the training from step 1. It was magic! No break-throughs for several months. In the meantime, we adopted a black lab and it worked for her as well!
A few weeks ago, the dogs started running the neighborhood. I tested both collars and neither worked. I replaced the batteries, still nothing. The red light on the transmitter was still on, so I didn't think there was a break in the line. I called customer service and they said there could be a slight break and the light would stay on. I followed their instructions and bought some gadget from Radio Shack for $1.50. We found several rodent-like bite marks on the line in our front yard.
We decided to replace all the wire with heavier wire from the hardware store. We also rented an mini underground cable burier for $45 and got the job done in a few hours rather than a few days. Now, the magic is back and our dogs couldn't be happier running free again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
49of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
kansasdogowner
We purchased this fence to keep a new dog from digging out of an existing fence…..worked like a charm! We had a couple of questions upon installation that were answered by a knowledgeable and polite person on their help line. We are very happy with our fence!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-22points
15of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
ohpickles
from Statesville, NC
This in-ground fence is great. My husband and I installed it in a day (about 6 mos ago) and it has worked perfectly ever since. We always comment about this being the best $100 we have ever spent. Before having this fence our dog would bolt the minute the door was open, but with this, he stays in the yard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedMay 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
golf
We've had this for six years now. My husband installed it himself. I do not know how we would have handled a greyhound living on a busy road without it. We have had to replace the collar about once a year but the peace of mind is great. The dog happily runs around the yard all day and knows her boundries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hundred bucks I ever spent.

PostedMay 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Saucyyyy
When i bought this I wasn't sure if it was going to work or not, but i gave it a try. Turns out, it works just as good as my friends which he bought for over $700. Only took about a day to install. Highly recomended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Purchase - But not for snow

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
luvhounds
from Michigan
This underground fence works great. Love almost everything about it. There are a few things to watch for, if your pet is running fast enough it may run through with out hearing the beep in addition to not feeling the shock. Also, we live in Michigan; and the fence does not work well under the winter snow. Our hound learned very fast. Definitely a valuable purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A Work in Progress

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
plfinne
After having a fenced yard, we moved to a new house and installed this in-ground fencing. Our golden is 7 years old so it has been difficult to keep him in the yard at times. Our first collar wasn't holding a charge for the 2-3 weeks, as it was supposed to. Innotek has replaced the collar (we'd had it for 6 mos.) and we are hopeful that we will have better luck now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Smart Dog Basic In-Ground Pet Fencing System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Invisble fence

PostedApril 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terry123
from Effort Pa
I loved the product but we have one problem the brain has burned out and we cannot get just that piece to replace it. We have only had the product a year and a half
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+15points
30of 45voted this as helpful.