petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable

Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable

Neatly stow your cable until it's time to use itRetracts and revolves 360 degreesReflective
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Review 1 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works Pretty Well

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Versailles, KY
Have now purchased three of these and a little disappointed in the first one as it no longer retracts very well. My wife put some WD-40 on it and helped some, but it not better, we are going to return it.
Having said that, the warranty says "rust" not covered.....well it looks like the line got rusty....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tie-out

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
I am very pleased with my retractable tie-out cable. The fact that it does retract is a big help. My dog can't wrap the cable around a tree like he does with the old cable. It also keeps me from mowing over it with the lawn mower.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love our tie out

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, Ca
The tie out cable works exactly as described. Although our husky/gsd puppy still manages to get herself tied up in our plants and with herself. Lol. But that's another issue. It is very sturdy since she pulls so hard (she's over 30lbs now). We've also had a couple of our nephews sit on it and spin. It's held up through all of that!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great idea, tension too much for little dogs

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Darien, CT
love this idea! However, my dog is 10lbs and she can barely pull the leash on it. If it was smoother and the tension was lighter it would be an A+!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fenton, MO
I've bought this item twice now. My dog loves being outside and she loves this. I would recommend that others get this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Saint Louis, MO
Product works as described, and have not had any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wish it had a locking feature.

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
I wish I could extend the lead out all the way and lock it so my dog doesn't have the constant tension on his neck. It will do until the fence is finished but I wouldn't recommend this product for a long term solution.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great - but get the right weight

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Love this tie out . But be sure you get one that corresponds with the correct dog weigh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for small dogs

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Jenison, mi
I really liked the idea of a retractable tie out. My dogs are under 10lbs. The dogs could not move or pull on the tie out. I wish the tension could be adjusted for smaller dogs. Might be a good for a very strong big dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good idea

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greenville,NC
worked well but pulled too hard for my small dog. she is only 12 lbs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tie-out stake

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Clinton, TN
This tie-out stake is a great purchase. We rescued a second dog; therefore, this is a second purchase. Since the tie-out cable is retractable, the dogs can walk the 16 ft perimeters without getting tangled. Also, it is easier to mow the lawn without having to move the cable. The tie-out stake is portable and can easily be moved to different locations. The stake and cable are strong enough to secure our 21 & 30 lb dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pa
great idea, now my dog can roam and not have any problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Howard Pet Products Dog Retractable Tie-Out Cable

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This item is great as long as you go by these steps and proper installation.
Pour a gallon of water over the area you plan on putting this tie out at. Then make sure you do use the cap to put over the nut when you pound it into the ground. If you do not use it you may damage the coil system inside. Follow these steps and you will love this lead for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.