petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew

Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew

All-natural treat that helps satisfy chewing needs and cleans teethLong lastingSourced from free range and grass fed animalsHigh in proteinA natural source of essential minerals
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Review 1 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parker loves this

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh PA
My dog chews on it for hours! Great bang for your buck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for chewing

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salix, PA
This is great for my chewing puppy. Although the one received is very curled and not straight as the picture shows. It mskes it a little harder to chew on but still love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable but smelly

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Streamwood
My pretty pittie loves her water buffalo horn, but I don't love the smell. It smells like manure. The horn is actually hollow and the material at the very opening is very thin and chips off. Otherwise it is very durable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buying Again! Dogs can't stop themselves!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Between my boyfriend and I we have 3 dogs - A 9yr old Pitbull mix, a 1 yr old Beagle mix and a 3 yr old lab/husky mix. All 3 chew to destroy and they LOVE these horns so much that when one takes a break from chewing the other will snag it up. (2 horns stay at his house and 1 at mine.) They of course wait patiently for each other to take a break... it's pretty funny really. Regardless, it's time to order more! Very happy with the price (as opposed to the Elk/Deer antlers), dogs are content for hours and they're great for cleaning their teeth!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dogs not loving them

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from edgewood, md
My 3 dogs love to chew, they did not take to the water buffalo horns at all. I am finding them just laying on the lawn , not chewed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a heavy chewer!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
Our Great Dane / Shepherd mix hasn't put this down since we got it. It's great if your pup is a heavy chewer, pieces don't come off, it just wears away. By far the best dog chew I've ever bought. Well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Water Buffalo

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Reseda, CA
Our dog was immediately curious about the package when it arrived and we were equally curious about the product after reading other good reviews. We have a two year old, 40 pound lab/pit mix who can chew through a high quality rawhide in a few hours, the 8 ounce water buffalo horn is perfect size for him. He was skeptical at first, did not know how to approach it, but he loves chewing on the solid tip and picking it up in his mouth and parading around like a little bugler-haha! He'll stick his nose in the open end and sniff contently, and I guess my only worry is that when he chews on the open end, sometimes small hard pieces chip off, which I am worried he might choke on but he hasn't had any problems yet, although I have stepped on a few little pieces hiding in the area rug. Our dog has had it almost two weeks now and works on it at least an hour a day still and there is plenty left, so I think its a great investment for our canine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog's favorite!!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from King of Prussia, PA
I have bought numerous toys, chews, antlers, etc for my one year old pit/pug. He enjoys them all, but none as much as this huge, strange looking water buffalo horn. He loves it, somehow manages to carry it around and has spent many happy hours chewing it.
He's had it for about two weeks, has not lost interest, and there is still plenty of horn left to chew.
Best treat I ever bought him!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is worth every penny!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from flint,mi
I was surprised by the size of these horns.My dogs love them.I will buy them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
My pit Ozzie absolutely loves these. He goes through everything else so fast but these horns last FOREVER! I just got another pit Inka and I had to get her one too! Would definitely recommend to everyone with major chewers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These things are great!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Morgantown,WV
I have three dogs one is a Pit Bull and the other two are mixed breeds. All three are aggressive
chewers and all three love these horns. Usually all chews are destroyed within 20 minutes (one dog has even destroyed Kongs) but these last weeks! It keeps the dogs entertained for hours at a time. Love them and highly recommend them to anyone with a dog that loves to chew and chew hard!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loves Them

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greer, SC
I bought two of these as Christmas presents for my 2 Golden Retrievers. They loved them - so much so that they ignored us while we opened presents which was a first. They also ignored the two elk antler bones that they got (previously these had been their favorite bones). I will definitely buy more. My daughter recently got an Airedale puppy and it has taken over the buffalo bones from the bigger dogs as she likes them too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the most powerful chewer

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My foster dog will destroy any chew toy and strongly dislikes Kong's unless I am continually filling it with something. She also dismisses marrow bones after a couple days. She is obsessed with this thing and it is going on two weeks. She throws it around like a toy due to its fun shape. It is easy for her to hold with her paw. Make sure that you buy the right size for your dog though. My first one was a medium, the large is most appropriate for her. She is a 65lb pit mix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Out of my four dogs, only one tried chewing on it but got bored. I don't know if they don't like the smell or taste but it was a waste of my money. I have purchased antler horns from other shops and they really love those the best. I would not recommend this item to other people.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for chewers!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brownsburg, IN
I have a lab mix who is a big chewer. He seems to really like this. And the curved shape stimulates the Border Collie in him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Water Buffalo Horn Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This thing will last a long time!

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
I have a 55lb boxer mix and he is a really strong chewer. He goes through the large antlers very quickly. He's been working on the horn for over a week and it barely has a mark on it. This thing is going to last forever. The only problem I have with it is that it has an odor for the first couple days. I've never used the pig ears or bully sticks, but I'd imagine it's similar. I'd definitely buy it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.