petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs

Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs

Delivers 15% more heat, light, and UVA output than standard basking spot lampsPremium quality bulb is engineered specifically for use with reptiles
Average Customer Rating:
2.684 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
8 out of 19(42%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Review 1 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

did not last

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
dragongrandmother
from queens ny
bought this 12/31 it's 1/26 and it burnt out last week. it gets turned off at night. someone on the internet said they can't be horizontal or on any type of angle so...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO LUCK WITH THIS BULB

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
SOBEE
I have gone through 4 of these bulbs in the last 6 months. I don't blame Petco they have given me Free replacements but am starting to get looks of disbelief. They work for a while then go bad. I even waited till they got a new shipment of bulbs. Well at least this one lasted ALMOST 2 months. I even changed housing. I know not to touch the bulb and always use a soft cloth to change them out. I personally will not buy halogen bulb again. I wonder if they are shaken up in shipping due to packaging.
The Zoo med company may want to look into the way they ship and package.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started Smoking

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
moonltwillow
I purchased one of these bulbs but the first one burnt out after I had it for 3 days. Then I bought another one and it started SMOKING after I had it in for a few hours. Needless to say I will never buy this bulb again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beardie loves it!

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
tigergirl13
from Maine
My beardie, Brutus loves this thing! We'v tryed like, 5 other brands and they all burned out within two months! But this light is on it's 4th month and is still going strong after 12hr a day use. Happy lizard=happy lizard parent:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wish i had read the reviews

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Swank909
I purchased the first one at full retail and was pleased by the results...but it burned out within 2 days. So i returned it and got another one. Once again pleased with the results till it burned out 1 week later. Was going to give it a third try but decided to get my money back instead. Zoo Med is still a wonderful company that i will continue to do business with in the future.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad bulb

PostedApril 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
dancybear
I bought this bulb and it lasted 1 week
I will try another brand
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

return of product

PostedMarch 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
fly68
I haven't owned the bulb long enough to give a decent review, partly because the bulb broke. I was reading another review and the guy said that he had to pack the bulb up and ship it back to get a new one. I called the company and all I was asked to do was to e-mail a picture of the bulb to Zoo Med and they will send me a new one. That's all I wanted to say. I think they are a good company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not last

PostedJune 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Millers
Unfortunately I didn't check the reviews here before I bought this bulb. The center spot is very small as previously mentioned, which results in a very hot spot at that point, with little to no heating a few inches away. I use a temperature gun to check at various points and found that this did not really cover a basking area properly.
Worst of all, it burned out in less than three days of 12 hour/day use. The bulb is guaranteed to last a year or 3,000 hours, but you have to pack it up and pay for shipping to send it back. No thanks - I'll go with another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not buy again

PostedJanuary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
vero
I purchaced this product for my turtle and I agree with alot of you it went out fast with in 2 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dissapointed

PostedNovember 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
rexx
It has un ungodly little hotspot in the center, which i'm sure isn't good. Right? Shouldn't it light and heat evenly? Did I get a "bad one"?
I shined it on the wall accross my room, it looked like an old cheap flashlight with the lil bright spot in the center. I shined it/held it as far away from my hand as my 55 gal tank height, and in 30 seconds I reeeeally didn't like holding my hand there anymore. So I shined it on the thermometer at the highest sensor, marked 105*, it lit it up! 'Course, it was a 150w vs. 75, but the point being; from that far away I could still aim it at each individual sensor number. I didn't dare try it directly on my python, I didn't want to blind him! Basically a reptilian laser gun. To be safe, I'd have to hang it from the ceiling and use an extension cord, but Ball Pythons in a really cool, natural looking habitat aren't tacky. Extension cords hanging down a livingroom wall are. Ok, I'll stop.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk

PostedJanuary 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Danyal
from Norther California
the bulb looks really nice and fancy but when i put it over my anoles it wouldn't work so i tried another dome light and still, no light. it will usually light up for about 15~20 seconds when i first turn it on then it will go out for awhile and then it might turn back on for a few seconds. if you want a basking light just go to a hardware store and get a normal halogen bulb, it'll be alot cheaper and the ones that are supposed to look like natural daylight aren't half bad for appearances then just rely on a UV fluoresent tube(fluoresent tubes put out UVA and UVB, incandesents and halogens "UV" bulbs only put out UVA and reptiles need UVB for calcium absorbtion)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is exellent

PostedJanuary 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
claire
from virginia
my snake loves this light beacuse it carries both heat and light. it is really amazing how bright it is! i think that if you get any light, you should get this one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Daylight Blue Reptile Bulb

PostedAugust 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
oakpkgop
from Oak Park, IL
Bulb had to be replaced after 2 months. Petco sales personnel said there was no guarantee. The bulb is advertised as "European quality for longer life"; however, this bulb lasted for only 60 days.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Iggy
from Chicago Heights, IL
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One Year Life Guarantee?

PostedJuly 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Unbridled Fury
from Nashville, TN
When i first bought a Zoo Med Halogen Bulb, it was defective and would not turn on. I then replaced the bulb for a new Halogen Lightbulb only to have it burn out on me within three months of operation.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJune 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
justysmom
from Bloomington, MN
I purchased one bulb that only lasted for 2 months, not the year it promises. I bought a replacement, though because the light makes my water dragon look so much nicer than traditional lighting. I am hoping the replacement bulb will last longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
iguana's_rule
from Yakima, Washington
What a great light, hold up, and was easy to install.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product for a good price

PostedDecember 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
horse & herp houser
from whittier, ca
This customer did not provide a text review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Repti Halogen Bulbs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Bulb!

PostedDecember 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Vet Student
from Wausau, WI
This bulb has worked very well in heating my geckos terrarium. I've bought three of them so far and each of them has lasted one year, if used for about 12 hours a day, as the company claims. It definitely beats buying bulbs every 2 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.