petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food

Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food

Grain-free with no meat by-products, wheat, corn, or soyDelicate shreds in a delectable sauceComplete & balanced for everyday feedingPerfect for encouraging hydrationCustom printed, upside down can
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat won't eat this and food doesn't look very appetizing

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles,CA
I have tried my best to feed my cat Wellness wet food, but have had zero success. He'll eat the dry food, but when it comes to wet, he will not eat the pate kind. The chunks of meat need to be visible and identifiable. I've tried the Chicken & Chicken Liver can, and when I opened it, looked like a pile of brown goo that even I wouldn't touch. He licked the gravy and that was about it.
For my cat, the meat needs to look like real shredded chicken, I was hoping to see that when I opened the can, but that wasn't the case. If you have a cat that likes the look and taste of real cooked meat, I would avoid these cans. Not to badmouth Wellness, but it just wasn't for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

YUM-YUM

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MD
Wellness Signature is the best natural canned cat food my Boots has ever had! He knows, he's tried them all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works wonders

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Red Bluff, CA
This has made a huge change in my exotic cats. No more IBD for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One will eat it, one won't

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I have 2 cats (female is about 4, male is about 4.5) and we feed them Wellness Core Original Formula cat food. They absolutely love it, and sometimes we give them some of the Wellness Core Chicken, Turkey & Chicken Liver or the Salmon, Whitefish & Herring canned cat food which they also absolutely love.
This last week I was in a Petco that didn't carry any of the Wellness Core canned cat food but they did have a selection of these Signature canned foods. Since they were grain free and on sale I bought a variety of flavors. So far, our male cat will happily eat all of them but our female will not touch them. She was so upset that he was getting a treat and she was not that I opened flavor after flavor but she wouldn't touch any of them so I broke out the last can of the Wellness Core Chicken, Turkey & Chicken Liver canned food for her so she wouldn't feel left out. It wasn't her appetite, she was quite happy to eat that one. The strange thing is that if I were to call either of them a picky eater it would definitely be our male and not our female.
Since both cats will eat it I will continue to buy the Wellness Core canned cat food, but this one seems like it has decent ingredients and our picky eater definitely enjoyed it. If you are questioning whether or not to try it, imo it is worth the risk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

my cat wouldn't eat it!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from san jose, ca
I am a stickler for nutritious food for my very active Abyssinian. We gave this food a try due to the great ingredient list, sadly she didn't agree that I know best and refused to eat it. For us we rated it low because it's expensive and my little monkey wouldn't eat it (I had several flavors to try).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wellness Signature Food - Excellent!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kew Gardens, NY
My cat loves this food, as he prefers moist food with gravy. I use to give him Pro-Plan with gravy choices and now he will only eat this brand. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shredded canned Signature cat food

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bay City, MI
This is my cats 2nd favorite - of which they only have 2 that they like. Their first choice is the Flaked Tuna.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love this food-and our vet approves!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MN
I have researched cat food for quite a while now. Cats are carnivores, meaning that their bodies are not designed to process grains, etc. They also have a tendency not to drink as much water as they should (since, in nature, they get much of their fluids from food). Raw meat is ideal for cats (see recipes online), but my cat has IBS and is also finicky. She just loves the shredded Wellness brand (chicken, and chicken & beef). It's grain free, and contains needed liquid ("gravy") to keep her kidneys functioning properly. Our vet was pleased that we had researched proper cat nutrition, and she approves of the Wellness brand, along with a few other grain-free brands. It is more expensive than, say, Friskies, but it is MUCH healthier. The comparison would be feeding your child a healthy diet vs. feeding your child potato chips every day. This is a very nice cat food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Largo, FL
My kitties loves this, product was delivered quickly, great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wellness cat food

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from florida
I recently ordered 2 cases of this cat food. It arrived damaged.In both cases 6 or 8 cans had expolded and most of the other cans were dented. I returned both cases to my local Petco. I did recieve a refund for an even exchange.My cat loves this food and the reason I orderedit was because my local store does not carry enough on the shelf. I need to go to the store weekly and I thought ordering 2 cases online would be better for me. However it was a huge inconvience for me and
will not be ordering online again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cats like it but small portions

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I was looking for a cheaper alternative to Tiki Cat's shredded chicken, and this is an OK substitute. I use Wellness cubed chicken food intermittently to make feeding our cats less expensive, and they liked this Wellness type too (after some hesitation by one of the cats).
But it's a smaller portion, so I end up giving our two cats 1.5 cans (the 5.3oz size) to share each time instead of 1 can. The other Wellness cat food is 5.5 oz, and Tiki Cat is 6oz, so 5.3oz is just not enough.
The food seems to be high quality, made up of shredded meats. But a lot of the volume is this "jelly" that the meat is mixed with, so it seems that you don't get that much meat for your money. That also probably contributed to why out cats were still hungry after sharing just 1 can, besides the smaller can volume. If your cats eat less or need portion control, maybe this is would be OK.
Although our cats like it, I may go back to the Wellness cubed chicken canned food instead because of the larger serving size and since those cans are mostly filled with cubed meat (not jelly).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Food

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
The cats love and there is never a lick of food left on their plates. With other cat foods it was always a challenge to get them to finish their food in one sitting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
All three of our cats devoured this food within minutes. Great choice for grain-free, plus no fish base, which is very helpful for our dsh with recurring urinary issues. A bit pricey, but worth it for us since there's no waste! Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New favorite

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
The newly discovered Signature Selects series is a huge hit. (Thank God for not having to go through the trouble of returning those boxes.) Chicken & Beef gets the bowl empty very quickly. Finally a good stew that's grain free, healthy and does not have a fishy base (i.e. is not based on tuna plus other fishes or seafood)! This allows our picky eater to enjoy a balanced diet with both delicious meat stews and fish/seafood in alternation. The cat also liked chicken&turkey, but the favorite is chicken&beef, paws down. She likes Wellness patés as well, but the stews have more sauce and, apparently, are much more fun to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Seems like good stuff, cat won't touch!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburg, CA
I try to get a variety of canned foods into my cat's diet. However, his sensitive stomach and allergies to seafood make it a bit of an obstacle at times. I try to buy mostly cans with the simplest ingredients. Wasn't thrilled to see 'dried egg product' in this, not sure why that's a necessary ingredient. Anyway, my cat is really not finicky, I thought he would love this- he loves shredded or flaked canned with lots of sauce/gravy, which this has. This confirms that my kitty just does not like Wellness brand! I've tried other varieties on him, he wants nothing to do with it. This one, he gave it a sniff and walked away, never came back. Some others he ate begrudgingly (I swear) and only bits. I know Wellness to be a higher-quality brand with many options, so that kind of stinks. This is the only brand he does not like, so, if you ask him, I'm sure he'd give this one paw.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wellness Signature Selects Grain Free Shredded Entree Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I was feeding my kitty chunky canned food that contained grains and gluten. He was throwing up all the time, (I tried the vet and they don't know), so I tried many other brands that did not contain gluten or grains just to test it out and this food was the only food that he could eat that is most like his favorite (plain chicken), and he will eat this as leftovers which he will not do with any other cat food. Plus, the best part is he stopped throwing up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.