petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Premium Privacy Please Den

Stylish, hidden litter box den effectively conceals litter panUpper drawer provides storage space for litter accessoriesDen can alternatively be used as a private resting or dining nookSide panel opening can be assembled on either sideFront door swings open for easy access to cat litter boxes
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Review 1 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is a good concept

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Prague, MN
I was super excited to get this product and to be able to make my bedroom look a lot better without having a huge litterbox in the way. However, when I received the package in the mail, some of the parts were missing and other parts were not symmetrical/same size. Luckily for me, my dad is a carpenter so he was able to improvise and make it work but for a normal person, you may have a hard time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product looks nice and my cats love it

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York
Assembly was a bit of a challenge for me--not my strong suit. But it was worth the work, it looks so nice and my three cats (including my 17 lb kitty) all love it. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I love this product and it is worth the price. We put it together very easily, and after reading the other reviews we decided to use wood glue on all the pieces and I am so glad we did. It is very solid and the kitties love it. I would suggest getting the smaller high back litter box though because the larger one takes up the WHOLE cabinet giving the cats little room to walk and knock off excess litter. We have two large cats and the smaller littler box works just fine for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for Large Cats

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Beaufort, N. C.
I purchased this for our 14 lb Ragdoll cat. It is perfect for him to go in and ample room to turn around and not make a mess of himself, if you know what I mean??!!
I have the smaller white cabinet which was perfect for our little 5 lb girl that passed away but it was much too small for Marlin. This cabinet is large, the drawer is nice to hold his food and any other items of his. Be careful in putting it together not to do what my husband did and knock two of the wood pegs completely through the top panel!!! I wish I could order just a top panel to replace it. I wish it had been available in white also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value and looks beautiful

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pinole, CA
This is the second time I've bought and assembled a litterbox privacy den. The first was a much bigger model and ended up having to literally be glued together when the screws, bolts, etc did not line up. This was a 100% improvement. It took me just over an hour to set up and part of my slow set up was bad lighting and difficulty in seeing the screw holes for the door and drawer. There are only a few things I struggled with such as the wood bits kept falling out so I just glued those in to avoid frustration. The cam locks were kind of cheap but the kit comes with an extra one. You will also need a standard screw driver and a flashlight as the wood is so dark you can't see inside when locking in the cams on the back side.
The model is very sturdy and looks so nice I'm afraid people will look inside just to see what it holds. I was able to assemble on my own. Looks exactly like the photos and is perfect for a living room end table. I suggest buying in the store instead of online because I can see where shippers may just drop the box due to how heavy it is.
I did not give it a full 5 stars for some missing labels on the wood pieces, the store would not match the online price (online 104 and in store 149), need to pay close attention to the drawer when setting up bc the lengths are not the same on all sides.
Overall at $150 this is a nice piece of furniture and I was surprised it cost so little in comparison to some of the other models on the market.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to assemble.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbus, OH
I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing this due to some of the 1-star reviews on this. But after going ahead with the purchase, I'm very happy.
The packaging wasn't all beat up like some mentioned, but I did pick this up at a local store instead of having it shipped.
The instructions were fairly easy to follow... if you've ever shopped at Ikea, it's on par with their instructions. I feel bad for the engineer who left his review... I mean come on, it wasn't that hard.
I didn't have any damaged pieces at all. From start to finish, it took me less than an hour to assemble.
The only bad part about the entire experience is the amount of packaging that gets static electrically charged and clings to everything. I had to vacuum for a solid 10 minutes or so after I was done. Packaging was everywhere.
Definitely recommended though. The quality is much better than I was led to believe from the photos and some of the other reviews.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I was so excited to get this privacy den, though I was understandably nervous since the reviews have been split on this item. The good reviews made the den seem worth the risk of the bad reviews. However, that was a big mistake. When I got the box, it was ripped and had holes punctured in it. I hoped that nothing inside was damaged... but when I got everything out (reviews didn't lie, the styrofoam gets EVERYWHERE), one of the drawer pieces was broken. I debated on returning everything to get a new one, but wasn't sure it was worth it for just one small broken piece. So my husband and I put everything together, realizing that the wood is cheap and splits easily. It's not at all sturdy like the other reviews made it out to seem. When we got to the drawers with the broken piece, we mistakenly realized that it actually WAS a bigger deal but at this point, we'd already put everything together and it wasn't worth taking it all a part to send it back. Because of that one small broken piece, we couldn't get the drawer built and had to just put a face plate over the spot where the drawer is supposed to be.
While it fulfills the need of hiding the cat litter -- the material is SO cheap, the price of the product is totally out of line considering how cheap the wood is and the fact that it's not at all sturdy. I would NOT recommend this product at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice size for larger cats

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palmya, VA
I read all the reviews before purchasing two of these cabinets for my cat boxes and decided that there wasn't anything else on the market that would work for what I needed for my largest cat. When the boxes arrived damaged, I was concerned since some reviews mentioned having to return the items. Fortunately, the styrofoam protected the contents. Yes, it does get all over like someone mentioned, but I rubbed all the pieces down with a dryer sheet to get rid of the static and vaccuumed once the cabinets were assembled. Putting them together was very easy. Just be sure you don't tighten the snap lock connectors too tight, or you will have to adjust things as one reviewer mentioned. You can have the hole for the cat on either side, but note that it will be at the back of the cabinet instead of the front if you reverse it from the picture. These are VERY big cabinets. I knew the length and width were what I wanted, I didn't pay attention to how high they are. I had to add child locks to the cabinet doors as my dogs were able to open them with a simple nudge of a nose. Other than that, they are working great and just what I needed to hide the cat boxes, make cleaning easier, and keep the dogs out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Addition

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Whitsett , NC
This is such a beautiful piece of furniture in our living room but so functional for our cats when they do not want to go upstairs to their room !!! The directions had to be studied closely before starting . You have to look closely for the screws placement virus the wooden dowels . You really need two people to assemble .It looks so beautiful and I would suggest it to anyone who wants the cat opening concealed from view !!!!! Love it !!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it... with a few glitches...

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newark, OH
Overall, I Love this piece of furniture. I feel it was fairly easy to assemble, is VERY sturdy and able to hold a heavy litterbox, and my cat started using it from day one! The door is a little crooked, and I haven't been able to resolve this yet, but it is functional. I was surprised at how large it is, so make sure you measure where you are going to put it. Make sure you have a vaccuum handy, as the Styrofoam packing breaks off and goes everywhere, as well as sticking to the furniture. I also installed a battery powered light inside with a motion/heat sensor inside, so that when the cat enters a light turns on and goes back off after she leaves. I velcroed it to the wall. (You can find them on the internet). The glitches are that I first received one with a broken side board and scratches on the drawer front. It had to be packed back up ( a major puzzle feat to get it all back in the box and padded).and returned, but I was rapidly sent a replacement which was fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is horrible to put together. I am an engineer so am pretty good at putting furniture together. However, none of the pieces fit together the way the directions implied they should -- The fittings were all too short to actually fit in the holes in the wood and still stick up. I had to use wood glue and small nails to finally get it to stay together (couldn't return it, as as another reviewer said, the wood breaks when you barely turn a screw). I used it for a year, because I left it in a single spot the whole time. It continued to break during this year, but since I wasn't moving it, I could deal with it. When I moved from my previous apartment, I threw it out, because it was useless. Definitely NOT worth the money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wichita, KS
I was skeptical to purchase due to prior reviews. I am more than satisfied with this piece of furniture. It was easy to assemble(less than an hour). Finished product looks nice and size is great for my 18 pound cat. I purchased the jumbo high sided litter pan and it fits perfectly inside. I have 3 cats and they started using the litter box inside this cabinet within hours after assembling and putting litter box inside. Cabinet looks great in my basement and no one realizes it has a litter box inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
I am pleased with this privacy den. I was a little worried because of the other reviews, but assembly was really easy. We had no problems putting it together and the quality met my expectations. The only drawback is the size - it could be a little shorter, but then I'm not sure how easy it would be for the cat to move around inside. I'm not really sure that my cat likes it, so I am still using the second outside litter box until she gets used to the den. If she likes it, it seems like it will serve its purpose - to keep my dog out of the litter. Good product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poorly made

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
If I could give it zero stars, I would. There was a broken piece when I opened the box. The material is so cheap that when you try to screw anything together, it would break. The cam locks doesn't really work & it broke chunks out of it. The pieces didn't really fit together properly. I did managed to put it together & I think using gorilla glue would've been the better choice. I will probably have to go back & glue it together because it is unstable as is. It is such a beautiful piece but I wish the material was better. I'm very disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium Privacy Please Den
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Graet idea

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Smithfield Va
This is a great idea, however very cheaply made, broke before it was ever fully assembled. Instructions are bad and hard to figure out and parts don't fit together properly. We ended up using glue to to get it to stay together and repair broken parts. After gluing it together it looks great, maybe could have been a little more shallow as it is a little to long to use as a night stand or end table. Over all it is a great idea just needs to be built a little better and wish there were more options in sizes to choose from.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.