petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank

Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank

Self-cleaning Betta fish tank that grows herbsFish waste feeds the plants while plants clean the waterIncludes organic seeds and a discount coupon for a Betta fishSleek and attractive design with 3 gallon capacityPerfect desktop aquarium for the kitchen, office or classroom
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
14 out of 19(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Review 1 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Itsazoo
from Arroyo Grande, CA
I really like this tank for the most part. It does what it says, the water stays clear with the plants and my fish enjoys it.
I think it is a very pricey tank though, and I have had a few issues/complaints. The top part that holds the plants is pretty cheap and doesn't seem to fit as well as it could. The tube for the pump just doesn't fit in the little slot for it and therefore the top does not fit tightly like it should.
The pump wore out fast.. in less than 3 weeks. I ran it during the day and shut it off at night, as suggested in the instructions, yet it didn't last even a month.
The seeds included could be better, or have a better selection. The wheatgrass is the only thing that will grow in mine. The basil just dries out and dies. So maybe my complaint is more about the grow rocks not getting enough water than the plants, I'm not sure. I would assume that the seeds included would have been the best choices for this system. But the rocks on top are just plain dry and couldn't get water to the basil. The wheatgrass did fine because it grows so quickly the roots reached into the water quickly.
So right now my tank is a little on the dirty side, because I have no plants growing. I have replanted the wheatgrass and basil.. When the wheatgrass was growing the tank looked great, so I am pleased with knowing the system does work and did so with no other care than getting the plants to grow. I've had this tank a few months now and haven't actually had to change any of the water at all, just top it off here and there.
Overall I give it a 4, the idea is great and does work, I would just like to have plants growing anything like in the picture, and for the price, a pump that lasts at least a few months!
Oh, and I really dislike the image on the tank. It's cute but I had to turn the tank around to actually see my fish. Would be nice if it had been just an optional decal instead. I bought the tank for function, not looks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dead Fish :(

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
msdon
from Glendale, California
I've been coveting this tank for my betta fish for some time, and finally went out today and bought it. I was excited to be able to treat him to a fun, new environment! After carefully reading all of the instructions, I set up the tank exactly as specified in the manual, and put my betta fish in his new home. He seemed a little anxious about his new habitat, but I figured it would just take him a while to get settled. After making sure he was fine, I went out for the evening. Several hours later, (just now) I arrived home to find my poor fish dead. I can't imagine what the cause might be, since he was in perfect health and I followed all of the set up instructions. I am a very conscientious pet owner, and know that he was receiving adequate care. After dishing out $60, I'm going to give the tank a second chance with a new fish, but I'm very disappointed so far.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
13of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tank with minor problems

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
AustinL
from Baltimore, MD
I really love my tank. My betta fish is doing great, I have a snail doing laps, and I have two types of basil and cilantro doing well in the grow stones. I've had a few problems:
1 - the water reservoir tray is slightly bowed and is difficult to snap in place.
2 - The air pump that came with it was the weakest link. Mine stopped working but the manufacturer (Back to the Roots) replaced it with a better submersible pump for free.
3 - STRONGLY recommend putting a backing on the tank if it's going to be in a lot of sunlight. Otherwise you'll have algae issues.
All and all I am extremely happy with my Aqua Farm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

back to the roots 3 gallon fish tank

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
tetraf
from FL
The tank is fine.. The problem is with the lid- the air filter tube did not fit correctly, snug under the top with the top completely closed. The lid pinched the air tube and won't close completely. The top part (place where water is caught where the plants and rocks are) does not sit evenly leveled. The coupon for a beta fish was expired and they only gave us four pouches of seeds to fill five spots and three of the four were the same variety of seed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

returned item

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
chamomilegardens
from st. louis
I received the item and upon unpacking, it appeared the inside tray was slightly bowed. (I'm not sure if this is part of the design.) I attempted to return to the store. The one I attempted to exchange had missing parts. Price for the product online at full retail are also higher than in-store. The special promotion I used really didn't save me any money. Overall, I left feeling the mostly plastic product was generally overpriced for the value received.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to do and entertaining

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
JJones426
from Boone, IA
We found we had everything included in the kit except the fish and there was a coupon for that. Easy to set up with the clear instructions. We are enjoying our aquaponics set up. The only problem is that our cats want to eat the herbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqua Farm

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Swimfishy
This is great, we have had it for over a month. So easy to set up, has EVERYTHING to get going except the fish. We went for mature plants that were non-toxic and for indoors. They are instant beauty and Zen. I had planned to try to build one of these but when we saw it and the low cost to have everything but the fish, it was an easy buy. It really helps too not to feel so much like winter with planting and seeing it thrive. Only downfall is PETCO doesn't carry the chemicals that came with the tank to keep it healthy and safe for the water and plants, you have to go online for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money on this tank

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
BettaMom42
from Glenwood Springs, CO
I followed all of the instructions and in the first week I was changing the water every other day because it would get incredible murky from the plants and "grow rocks". I was looking for a low-maintenance tank, and this is definitely not it. I ended up throwing out all of the plants, grow rocks, and pots for the plants. It is also depressingly minimalist and I ended up spending as much on more rocks and hiding places for my beta as I did on the tank itself. Don't buy this tank!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruMay 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. It's perfectly normal for the water to get very cloudy after set up for 3-4 days. If should clear up within a week and there's no need to change the water at this time. The cloudiness just shows that the bacteria is blooming and ridding the tank of toxic ammonia. Once the plants are growing the water should be crystal clear.

Also, this is a fish tank-- it's important to add decorations and make it a happy home for your fish. It does include natural river stone to decorate the bottom of the tank, but it's fun to make it your own by adding plants, large stones, a cave, etc.

If you'd like to set your AquaFarm up again, please contact us directly for replacements of the materials you discarded.

Best,

Jasmine Jackson
Back to the Roots
contact@backtotheroots.com 510.922.9758Bttrventures
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChipSprite
from Philadelphia, PA
This was a great fun project to do. The setup was simple and it adds a pleasant attraction to the room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
OklahomaOrganic
from Oklahoma
Purchased this aquafarm a few days ago. So far so good.
Since I purchased a beta (.99 cent beta coupon included with the tank!), I had to install a small 10w heater.
Water is still cloudy but this is to be expected according to the instructions.
Wheat grass is growing pretty quickly!
I will take the water to be tested in a week or so to make sure it is actually filtering.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty tank but you still need to feed fish

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cak1234
from Sd
The tank looks pretty but please if you purchase this feed the betta daily and more the just plant roots. It's a long slow painful death for a betta with only roots to eat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-46points
17of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Aqua Farm :)

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
becca94357392
from Boston, MA
I've had my aquafarm for a few months now, and I love it! I was surprised at how quickly my plants started sprouting, and they are doing great! Back to the Roots is extremely helpful when I have any questions or concerns about my Aqua Farm! I would definitely recommend this product :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy ecologist

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Juangonzalo
from Colombia S.A.
have a quick look at the AQUAFARM no matter what you are doing and you receive a green splendid sensation of relax and confort
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the gift that keeps on giving

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
hidingunderthebed
from new york, ny
so, i got this as a gift in the mail from a friend and at first i admit i was a little flustered because what do i know about setting up an entire aquarium...? apparently A LOT! it was wicked simple and i was proud of my accomplishment as was my new swimming friend. neatly enough, i was able to use some of the food growing on top to put on the pizza i made....HOORAY BASIL!! now i know what to get my nieces for the holidays, they can share the responsibility of feeding the fish, since the fish will help feed them (at least that's what i'm telling them in the card i send)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brings life to our office!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Almasreview
from Los Angeles, CA
We got this cute tank for our office and put it next to the reception desk. Almost everyone who comes through the door stops and takes a look at our fish who we named "Buddy". At first I didn't think the tank would work because the water looked murky and I was afraid the fish wouldn't last long. After 3 days though the water totally cleared up and the plants on top of the aquarium are now growing at a crazy speed rate. You can practically watch the greens grow by the hour, well almost.
We also got a fish tank for one of our clients as a thank you gift and they were super happy and excited. So yes, I'd definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beta13
from San Francisco
I just bought my aqua farm in the store! I am so excited! Very easy to put together. It looks beautiful in my kitchen!....... My beta looks so happy. I can wait to see the plants growing. I will keep you updated....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kids Love This

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
OscartheFish
from Los Angeles, Ca
I ordered this for my office, and we have it in our reception, and it's amazing to see kids walk by and get so excited about it. When we tell them that the plants on top are food, and they can eat it, they get even more excited. We decorated it really nice, and the water is sparkling clean and have not had to change it at all. All we do is feed Oscar the fish in the am. We have a juicer here so used the first crop of wheat grass for that. Pretty cool idea, and a fun gift. Def recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

tank review

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
sadtank
from boston, ma
I purchased this tank for around $70.00. It's not cheap.
The plant tray is flimsy. It does not sit in the top correctly, so the water does not flow correctly. Also the tank filtering system does not work well at all. The tank is filthy, and now is covered in algae.
It is hard to clean. The plants don't grow. I would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruOctober 16, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that your tank is not cleaning itself and that you're having trouble growing plants. Both of these problems may be a result of a failing pump. We've made quite a few changes to the AquaFarm pump including hardening the seal cup, improving the material the valve is made of, and increasing the depth of the valve to improve water flow. Can you please contact me directly and send me any photos of your AquaFarm? I'd be more than happy to send you the new improved pump and would love to check out your tank so that we can solve any other issues you may be experiencing.

You also mentioned that your tank is filled with algae. While increasing water flow with the new pump and tubing will definitely help minimize algae, Algae grows naturally in your tank because of the presence of sunlight, heat and nutrients. You can help minimize algae growth by first washing the tank, rocks, tubes, etc. really well before you set up your new replacement pump to get rid of the cultures in your tank (we can send you another sample of beneficial bacteria if you need it), blocking the back side of your AquaFarm to minimize the sun exposure to the tank. We're currently designing an aquatic backing for the AquaFarm, but in the meantime you can purchase aquatic backing from your local Petco or design one yourself. Also, one or two algae-eating snails or an otocuinclus catfish are a great additions to your AquaFarm and will help maintain algae growth. I really hope this helps and don't hesitate to reach out to me with more questions.

I look forward to hearing from you. You can email me directly at jasmine@backtotheroots.com.

Best,

Jasmine Jackson
Community Happyness
Back To The Roots
contact@backtotheroots.com | 510.922.9758Bttrventures
+40points
49of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry126
from Kapolei, Hi
I received this item only days after ordering, and I live in Hawaii. Shipping was still free! Set up was easy and it came with a coupon for a betta for $.99 for petco stores. The story on the box was great and the idea of aquaponics in the house is great. I started with wheat grass to see how it goes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.