petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank

Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank

Self-cleaning Betta fish tank that grows herbsFish waste feeds the plants while plants clean the waterIncludes organic seeds and a discount coupon for a Betta fishSleek and attractive design with 3 gallon capacityPerfect desktop aquarium for the kitchen, office or classroom
Average Customer Rating:
3.423 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
16 out of 26(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Review 1 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

BIGGER THAN I THOUGHT

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SAN DIEGO
I WAS HOPING TO PLACE BY MY KITCHEN WINDOW NEXT TO THE SINK. BUT IT IS TO BIG. DOESN'T NEED TO BE THIS BIG. COULD BE A MUCH BETTER LOOKING PRODUCT.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruDecember 9, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. We worked closely with PETA when creating the tank and decided that 3 gallons would be best for a betta fish. The tank's dimensions are approximately: H 12in. x L 11in. x D 8in.Bttrventures
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I'm one of those people who has to do everything by the book. I followed the directions for this very strictly. I have wheatgrass in two pods and basil in the other three. My husband and I were very excited about a self-cleaning tank. I set the tank up exactly as directed. After a couple of days, I purchased a moss ball to help clean the tank because I read that if the tank has direct light, which is required for the basil to grow according to the directions, the tank could grow algae. The moss ball is supposed to prevent algae. I feed 6 pellets twice a day, as directed. My water became very cloudy, so I thought that maybe the roots are supposed to be in the water to actually clean the water. I gently pulled some of the roots through two of the small holes, which was a very difficult process. It hasn't helped. If this tank is self cleaning, why would snails that aren't provided be required to have a clean tank? That isn't self cleaning. On top of that, when I first purchased the tank, one of the suction cups on the filter didn't work. So I had to drive back across town just to swap out the filter. It seems like this is a great idea that is poorly implemented.
Side note: My beta appears healthy and does not seem to be the cause of any issues we are having with the tank. Also, we are using a lamp for direct light, so the tank is not getting too hot and is remaining at a constant temperature.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big Failure!

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
You can't grow anything in the top of these tanks. It all dies within days. The manufacturer sent me replacement parts for everything and it still does not work! Wheat grass seeds pop out quick then are dead in 2 days! Nothing will grow. I've tried seeds and mature plants. Nothing works. Don't waste your time or money!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruOctober 30, 2014
Wheat grass has about a 4-6 week life cycle and grow extremely well in a variety of environments. If yours dies within 2 days, then you've set it up incorrectly or the pump is not functioning. Can you please reach out to me directly? Jasmine, contact@backtotheroots.comBttrventures
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

more trouble than it's worth

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from las vegas, nv
I received this tank as a birthday gift and was extra excited because I had been scoping out bettas and love to grow my own wheatgrass. What could be better?! I set up the tank according to instructions and then set out to pick out my betta. The first couple weeks everything went as planned. I grew only wheatgrass because these seemed easiest and the location of the tank was in a low light area. Even with the wheatgrass growing well, the tank water became cloudy. I also noticed my poor bettas fins starting to get all tattered. After some research I realized he had fin rot (which continued to get worse), more than likely due to water conditions. I quickly purchased some items from the recommended home grown ponics website, including fish therapy and more tidy tank and zym bac. I used them all according to the directions, along with testing the water. The gravel still needed to be cleaned along with frequent water changes of about 20-30% of the water. This became a huge hassle because of the set up of the tank, always having to removing the grow bed and pump every time you need to get into the tank, also getting water all over. This is definitely not a self cleaning tank. A lot of money has gone into the care of the betta and after 4 months I finally got an actual tank with a filter to move him to. I think the idea of this system is neat, though has a lot of room for improvement, please do your research before torturing a poor little betta!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruOctober 17, 2014
Hi Kasdeeish,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for supporting our company. Firstly, in low light conditions adding a water plant your tank will prevent cloudiness from dissolved algae. Also it sounds like your Betta had fin rot. Fish Therapy is an excellent product to help heal your fish. However, it's important to address the cause of his Fin Rot. A few tips to prevent further damage are:
1. Cut down on the feeding (6-10 pellets a day or even every other day is plenty)
2. Make sure that the water is warm. This will make the AquaFarm more comfortable and will reduce fin rot caused by stress.
3. Be mindful of your decorations. Bettas have very sensitive fins so avoid jagged and plastic accessories.
Finally, If solid waste is building up on the gravel rapidly, then you may be over feeding. Adding a snail or algae eater will eliminate the need to clean the gravel. If you have further questions, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

Jasmine Jackson
Back to the Roots
contact@backtotheroots.com | 510.922.9758Bttrventures
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like this system

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Galveston, TX
I have had this about 3 weeks now, I have a betta and a snail. I just had the water tested and they said everything looked great. I have a small heater in mine, and I'm not crazy about the look of it and the filter hanging down(different Aquafarm models have different filter setups). It still looks pretty sleek though, so I can deal with it. I have the wheat grass they provided in 3 of the plant slots, and I have already trimmed them several times, I have the basil seeds in the other two. I recommend watering the basil seeds, as mine have just started growing since I began watering them. The company seems very helpful when anyone has a complaint, and seems very passionate about their product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poorly constructed; low quality.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I am sorry; I know some people like this product, but people should know about its shoddy quality. The top warped almost immediately, lifting one corner out of the water completely and so nothing will grow on that side. The whole "grow the herbs" thing doesn't work and the tiny pump even came with a web reference to find a better one. I seeded carefully; it send up a few shoots, but those don't flourish and stop growing after a few days. (It is in a place with good sunlight.) I followed the instructions very carefully, but truly wish I had never bought this. I feel sorry for the fish I have in it and am thinking I'll have to get another tank just to move him.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruOctober 13, 2014
Hi Suzie,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for being an early supporter of our AquaFarm. The current AquaFarm has a lid and top made from a different plastic to rectify the warping issue. I'd love to chat with you about upgrading your tank and I am more than happy to provide support surrounding plant growth. Aquaponics is an ancient for of farming; just takes a little indoor gardening know how. Please contact me directly!

Best,

Jasmine Jackson
Back to the Roots
contact@backtotheroots.com | 510.922.9758Bttrventures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little effort goes along way

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Plano, Tx
After purchasing this product I was under the impression that if I followed the instructions and put all of the minimum components into play that I would have a successful aquafarm. The tank almost immediately became filthy. So after using the de-sludge and waiting two days I cleaned the tank and purchased two snails. Miraculously the tank cleared up however after a few weeks, buildup of nastiness began to litter the bottom of the tank.. I cleaned the tank again and purchased two africanized dwarf frogs. I'm going to heavily emphasize this, This is the winning combination for this tank. Occasionally you will have to clean the pool of water in the reservoir above the tank however the tank itself is always spotless! I purchased an algae rock to ensure the snails had plenty to eat because I worried since the tank was so clean they were starving. The beta & frogs each have their own pellets. This tank is on cruise control. I add water and clean the top reservoir roughly once a month. After a proper setup you are golden. Love this lazy man tank. One word of caution is be sure to only use silk plants or low height decorations. Your beta's fins will thank you. One other word of lazy man advice is to purchase pre-grown herbs from a home improvement store wash all of the soil off of the roots and re-plant them into the rock cups..
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arroyo Grande, CA
I really like this tank for the most part. It does what it says, the water stays clear with the plants and my fish enjoys it.
I think it is a very pricey tank though, and I have had a few issues/complaints. The top part that holds the plants is pretty cheap and doesn't seem to fit as well as it could. The tube for the pump just doesn't fit in the little slot for it and therefore the top does not fit tightly like it should.
The pump wore out fast.. in less than 3 weeks. I ran it during the day and shut it off at night, as suggested in the instructions, yet it didn't last even a month.
The seeds included could be better, or have a better selection. The wheatgrass is the only thing that will grow in mine. The basil just dries out and dies. So maybe my complaint is more about the grow rocks not getting enough water than the plants, I'm not sure. I would assume that the seeds included would have been the best choices for this system. But the rocks on top are just plain dry and couldn't get water to the basil. The wheatgrass did fine because it grows so quickly the roots reached into the water quickly.
So right now my tank is a little on the dirty side, because I have no plants growing. I have replanted the wheatgrass and basil.. When the wheatgrass was growing the tank looked great, so I am pleased with knowing the system does work and did so with no other care than getting the plants to grow. I've had this tank a few months now and haven't actually had to change any of the water at all, just top it off here and there.
Overall I give it a 4, the idea is great and does work, I would just like to have plants growing anything like in the picture, and for the price, a pump that lasts at least a few months!
Oh, and I really dislike the image on the tank. It's cute but I had to turn the tank around to actually see my fish. Would be nice if it had been just an optional decal instead. I bought the tank for function, not looks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dead Fish :(

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glendale, California
I've been coveting this tank for my betta fish for some time, and finally went out today and bought it. I was excited to be able to treat him to a fun, new environment! After carefully reading all of the instructions, I set up the tank exactly as specified in the manual, and put my betta fish in his new home. He seemed a little anxious about his new habitat, but I figured it would just take him a while to get settled. After making sure he was fine, I went out for the evening. Several hours later, (just now) I arrived home to find my poor fish dead. I can't imagine what the cause might be, since he was in perfect health and I followed all of the set up instructions. I am a very conscientious pet owner, and know that he was receiving adequate care. After dishing out $60, I'm going to give the tank a second chance with a new fish, but I'm very disappointed so far.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
14of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tank with minor problems

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I really love my tank. My betta fish is doing great, I have a snail doing laps, and I have two types of basil and cilantro doing well in the grow stones. I've had a few problems:
1 - the water reservoir tray is slightly bowed and is difficult to snap in place.
2 - The air pump that came with it was the weakest link. Mine stopped working but the manufacturer (Back to the Roots) replaced it with a better submersible pump for free.
3 - STRONGLY recommend putting a backing on the tank if it's going to be in a lot of sunlight. Otherwise you'll have algae issues.
All and all I am extremely happy with my Aqua Farm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

back to the roots 3 gallon fish tank

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
The tank is fine.. The problem is with the lid- the air filter tube did not fit correctly, snug under the top with the top completely closed. The lid pinched the air tube and won't close completely. The top part (place where water is caught where the plants and rocks are) does not sit evenly leveled. The coupon for a beta fish was expired and they only gave us four pouches of seeds to fill five spots and three of the four were the same variety of seed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

returned item

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from st. louis
I received the item and upon unpacking, it appeared the inside tray was slightly bowed. (I'm not sure if this is part of the design.) I attempted to return to the store. The one I attempted to exchange had missing parts. Price for the product online at full retail are also higher than in-store. The special promotion I used really didn't save me any money. Overall, I left feeling the mostly plastic product was generally overpriced for the value received.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to do and entertaining

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boone, IA
We found we had everything included in the kit except the fish and there was a coupon for that. Easy to set up with the clear instructions. We are enjoying our aquaponics set up. The only problem is that our cats want to eat the herbs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqua Farm

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is great, we have had it for over a month. So easy to set up, has EVERYTHING to get going except the fish. We went for mature plants that were non-toxic and for indoors. They are instant beauty and Zen. I had planned to try to build one of these but when we saw it and the low cost to have everything but the fish, it was an easy buy. It really helps too not to feel so much like winter with planting and seeing it thrive. Only downfall is PETCO doesn't carry the chemicals that came with the tank to keep it healthy and safe for the water and plants, you have to go online for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money on this tank

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glenwood Springs, CO
I followed all of the instructions and in the first week I was changing the water every other day because it would get incredible murky from the plants and "grow rocks". I was looking for a low-maintenance tank, and this is definitely not it. I ended up throwing out all of the plants, grow rocks, and pots for the plants. It is also depressingly minimalist and I ended up spending as much on more rocks and hiding places for my beta as I did on the tank itself. Don't buy this tank!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Back To The Roots- Community Happyness GuruMay 21, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. It's perfectly normal for the water to get very cloudy after set up for 3-4 days. If should clear up within a week and there's no need to change the water at this time. The cloudiness just shows that the bacteria is blooming and ridding the tank of toxic ammonia. Once the plants are growing the water should be crystal clear.

Also, this is a fish tank-- it's important to add decorations and make it a happy home for your fish. It does include natural river stone to decorate the bottom of the tank, but it's fun to make it your own by adding plants, large stones, a cave, etc.

If you'd like to set your AquaFarm up again, please contact us directly for replacements of the materials you discarded.

Best,

Jasmine Jackson
Back to the Roots
contact@backtotheroots.com 510.922.9758Bttrventures
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This was a great fun project to do. The setup was simple and it adds a pleasant attraction to the room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Purchased this aquafarm a few days ago. So far so good.
Since I purchased a beta (.99 cent beta coupon included with the tank!), I had to install a small 10w heater.
Water is still cloudy but this is to be expected according to the instructions.
Wheat grass is growing pretty quickly!
I will take the water to be tested in a week or so to make sure it is actually filtering.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty tank but you still need to feed fish

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sd
The tank looks pretty but please if you purchase this feed the betta daily and more the just plant roots. It's a long slow painful death for a betta with only roots to eat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-50points
17of 84voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Aqua Farm :)

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I've had my aquafarm for a few months now, and I love it! I was surprised at how quickly my plants started sprouting, and they are doing great! Back to the Roots is extremely helpful when I have any questions or concerns about my Aqua Farm! I would definitely recommend this product :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Back to the Roots AquaFarm 3 Gallon Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy ecologist

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colombia S.A.
have a quick look at the AQUAFARM no matter what you are doing and you receive a green splendid sensation of relax and confort
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>