petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit

Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit

Kit includes a roomy wire habitat, food, bedding, food bowl and water bottleGuinea pig cage is easy to set up and requires no toolsPlastic base helps keep bedding inside guinea pig habitatEasy snap on/off design makes cleaning fast and easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
7
95 out of 112(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Review 1 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just a few problems

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Easton, PA
I would recommend this cage to young guinea pigs.It is very small for an adult guinea pig.I also did not like the fact that the water bottle that came with mine only lasted my guinea pig about 2 months.She is an adult now and hardly has enough room to run around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Definitely not worth the money...

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis MN
I'm going to sum up why it's easier just to buy everything separately instead of in a kit. The cage is way too small, the food is full of sugar (not good!!!), the food bowl is too deep and easy to tip over, it doesn't come with Timothy hay, and it doesn't come with hidey house. The only good thing I can say about this is that the water bottle is good quality. Otherwise, I would suggest buying all of these items separately. Trust me, this kit is not complete at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great starter kit buy

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from poughkeepsie, ny
This cage is great. It comes with the the first essentials needed. The cage is easy to clean and simple to assemble. However I do need to buy a larger cage now that my guinea pig has grown bigger. Also the cage comes with now hay feeder which is a downside. Overall it's a great cage to begin with.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good starter kit

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
It is just as it says it is. Everything is in the package to get started which is nice. It was a good price too. The bedding is a little weird but it did fill the cage once you fluffed it enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, only one flaw.

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bakersfield,CA
This cage is perfect for one guinea pig, the bedding is nice as well as the food and bowl. The only problem I had was that the water bottle was too hard for my guinea to use it wasn't releasing enough water. But besides that it is a great kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Start

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This cage is plenty big enough for one pig. You are still supposed to take them out daily for exercise, so this is a good home for them most of the day. KIT DOES NOT INCLUDE A HIDE HOUSE! You need to purchase an igloo or other type of hiding place for your pigs. Also DOES NOT INCLUDE HAY. And they give you one small wire to attach the bottle to the cage, so you'll probably need to buy one of those metal holders for the water bottle. But, this was a good deal on Black Friday weekend to get started. Very easy to assemble. My pig was popcorning in no time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Nice size cage for a guinea pig. The side hooks don't close as tightly as I would like though. But still a very good cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad for piggies

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stow,OH
This cage is way too small for a guinea pig, a good cage size for only one guinea pig should at least be 2x3 feet. Also, guinea pigs are very social animals and work best with other guinea pigs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, Fl.
Yes, this kit has the proper essentials to take home your guinea pig for the first time, but the cage is way to small. Guinea pigs do best in C&C cages, where they have plenty of room to hop and popcorn around as they please.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All Inclusive - almost

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wv
This kit is good, it has the primary essentials to take home your guinea pig. Which was perfect for us since we did not go in to Petco looking for a guinea pig. It could use a hidey home but we used the box Mittens came home in for now. Good starter kit, esp. for us, since Mittens is only 9 weeks old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Irwin, PA
Perfect size for my guinea pig. Lots of room. The only problem is that the water bottle leaks. So we just had to use our old, smaller one. Now we just need to get a bigger stand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too small.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage is a glorified litter box. Should any animal have to live in a litterbox? No. Guinea pigs need 8 sq feet per piggy. When they have space, piggies can run laps and popcorn. Don't waste your money on these cages. Build a C&C cage!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
8of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage for great price

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh, PA
I really like the cage and contents of the kit. But as mentioned before from another reviewer, the water bottle is cheap quality and leaks constantly. Also the wire sides of the cage did not completely snap into place in multiple spots requiring the use of needle nose pliers to properly assemble. Because of these two problems I deducted a point from the rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Cage is perfect

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Butler, PA
I bought this cage for our guinea pig. It came with food, dishes and bedding. Couldn't be happier!!!! Great bargain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cage for Guinea Pig

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue, WA
The water bottle always leaking. Except that overall is very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Middlesboro KY
i absolutely loved this cage! the size is perfect, i wasn't too big on the bedding. it got EVERYWHERE! my guinea pig loves the hanging chew toy, and it has plenty of room! my guinea pig didnt really like the treats, but, each guinea pig likes different things! easily assembled, and SO easy to clean! i couldnt have gotten a better cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
I got this cage about a week ago. It was the easiest set up ever. It comes with food, a bowl, a water bottle, bedding, a chew toy, and a name tag that hangs on your cage for your guinea pig. She has never gotten out (my Guinea Pig Karamel) of her cage. It is also the easiest thing to clean as well. It doesn't smell and I really didn't think the cage was going to be that big. So don't underestimate it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small but big enough

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Normal, IL
I bought the Kit when I got my second guinea pig. I personally don't like using the water canister it comes with, but it is a great starter! The cage itself is slightly small, but my pig seems to enjoy it! She loves the hanging wood toy, she constantly chews it! Overall a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ma
When I got my guinea pig I purchased this starter kit.It has everything but a hideyhouse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for beginner

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Great beginner cage for your first guniea pig. The only catch is that I am planning to get another guinea pig and I will have to upgrade to a bigger cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>