petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit

Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit

Kit includes a roomy wire habitat, food, bedding, food bowl and water bottleGuinea pig cage is easy to set up and requires no toolsPlastic base helps keep bedding inside guinea pig habitatEasy snap on/off design makes cleaning fast and easy
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 108 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
6
92 out of 108(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Review 1 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, only one flaw.

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bakersfield,CA
This cage is perfect for one guinea pig, the bedding is nice as well as the food and bowl. The only problem I had was that the water bottle was too hard for my guinea to use it wasn't releasing enough water. But besides that it is a great kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Start

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
This cage is plenty big enough for one pig. You are still supposed to take them out daily for exercise, so this is a good home for them most of the day. KIT DOES NOT INCLUDE A HIDE HOUSE! You need to purchase an igloo or other type of hiding place for your pigs. Also DOES NOT INCLUDE HAY. And they give you one small wire to attach the bottle to the cage, so you'll probably need to buy one of those metal holders for the water bottle. But, this was a good deal on Black Friday weekend to get started. Very easy to assemble. My pig was popcorning in no time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
Nice size cage for a guinea pig. The side hooks don't close as tightly as I would like though. But still a very good cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad for piggies

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stow,OH
This cage is way too small for a guinea pig, a good cage size for only one guinea pig should at least be 2x3 feet. Also, guinea pigs are very social animals and work best with other guinea pigs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pensacola, Fl.
Yes, this kit has the proper essentials to take home your guinea pig for the first time, but the cage is way to small. Guinea pigs do best in C&C cages, where they have plenty of room to hop and popcorn around as they please.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All Inclusive - almost

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wv
This kit is good, it has the primary essentials to take home your guinea pig. Which was perfect for us since we did not go in to Petco looking for a guinea pig. It could use a hidey home but we used the box Mittens came home in for now. Good starter kit, esp. for us, since Mittens is only 9 weeks old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice size

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Irwin, PA
Perfect size for my guinea pig. Lots of room. The only problem is that the water bottle leaks. So we just had to use our old, smaller one. Now we just need to get a bigger stand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way too small.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage is a glorified litter box. Should any animal have to live in a litterbox? No. Guinea pigs need 8 sq feet per piggy. When they have space, piggies can run laps and popcorn. Don't waste your money on these cages. Build a C&C cage!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
6of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage for great price

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh, PA
I really like the cage and contents of the kit. But as mentioned before from another reviewer, the water bottle is cheap quality and leaks constantly. Also the wire sides of the cage did not completely snap into place in multiple spots requiring the use of needle nose pliers to properly assemble. Because of these two problems I deducted a point from the rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Cage is perfect

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Butler, PA
I bought this cage for our guinea pig. It came with food, dishes and bedding. Couldn't be happier!!!! Great bargain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cage for Guinea Pig

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue, WA
The water bottle always leaking. Except that overall is very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Middlesboro KY
i absolutely loved this cage! the size is perfect, i wasn't too big on the bedding. it got EVERYWHERE! my guinea pig loves the hanging chew toy, and it has plenty of room! my guinea pig didnt really like the treats, but, each guinea pig likes different things! easily assembled, and SO easy to clean! i couldnt have gotten a better cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
I got this cage about a week ago. It was the easiest set up ever. It comes with food, a bowl, a water bottle, bedding, a chew toy, and a name tag that hangs on your cage for your guinea pig. She has never gotten out (my Guinea Pig Karamel) of her cage. It is also the easiest thing to clean as well. It doesn't smell and I really didn't think the cage was going to be that big. So don't underestimate it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small but big enough

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Normal, IL
I bought the Kit when I got my second guinea pig. I personally don't like using the water canister it comes with, but it is a great starter! The cage itself is slightly small, but my pig seems to enjoy it! She loves the hanging wood toy, she constantly chews it! Overall a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ma
When I got my guinea pig I purchased this starter kit.It has everything but a hideyhouse.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for beginner

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Great beginner cage for your first guniea pig. The only catch is that I am planning to get another guinea pig and I will have to upgrade to a bigger cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice beginner cage

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from oak creek wi
I really liked how this cage had everything included! We only have 1 pig so of you are planning on having 2 I would get a bigger cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No, no, no, no, no!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
:( The supplies may be helpful, but the cage is way too tiny! It's about half the size of my cage, and my cage is just the minimum at 8sqft for two. (i plan to play with my guinea pigs alot, btw) dont buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tiny and inconvienient

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
The cage is TINY and fit for only a baby guinea pig. MAYBE.... Also, There is no opening on the top like most cages for quick daily cleaning or easy handling of the animal... NOT suitable for guinea pigs. Maybe good for a smaller animal?????
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Complete Guinea Pig Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT CAGE!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loved this cage. My piggy has enough room to run around in! However when Twinky gets bigger, we will have to buy a bigger cage. It is a great starter home like it says. Everything it comes with is great, however the bowl gets knocked down somewhat. Overall it was a great purchase. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>