petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit

Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit

Surround your hamster with all the comforts of homeIncludes a roomy wire cage, food, bedding, and a water bottleCage includes an exercise wheel and a food dishSimple snap-together set-up requires no tools
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
27
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 star
8
70 out of 97(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Review 1 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Investment

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SC
When I got my first hamster, Whinnie, I purchased this to start out. It was perfect for her, a medium sized hamster - though, I would NOT recommend it for robo-hamsters, because they can escape from in between the bars. She used the ramp often, the food dish is a lovely size. The wheel on the other hand, being plastic, makes an annoying noise as they run - because it clanks against the side of the cage throughout the night, which, after awhile, grows very frustrating. I eventually switched to a new, metal, standing wheel. Worked perfectly, had enough space for the wheel too. A hut should also fit under the ledge perfectly. I would, for sure, recommend this to people getting their first medium sized hamster; but, I would also suggest investing in a new, metal, wheel. Occasional oiling is needed for those also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
As someone who has never had a hamster before this was my easiest option because it comes with a cage bedding food and a hamster wheel. I didn't have to guess at which item I should buy individually, which can get pretty confusing. However, it's not very sturdy. One of the wire bars broke while I was putting the cage together because I pushed down a little too hard. There are warped bars around the door also From the latch. The wheel can be pretty loud. My hamster has a hard time climbing the ramp so she just climbs the walls of the cage instead to get to her food then jumps off the platform to get down. Plus it seems way too small. Over allit's not bad for a starter kit but I certainly plan on getting a better quality home f or my hamster soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for any pet

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I bought this for my winter white dwarf hamster the day I got him, I thought it would be great for him but it is not! This cage is only 96 square inches and the recommended minimum size is 360! The problems do not end with the size but the wheel on this thing also does not work well, for the first month I had my ham just didn't like running but boy was I wrong as soon as I got him a different wheel he ran all the time. Please do your research and get an appropriate sized cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Size for Dwarf Hamster

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I just got my new little furry friend yesterday, and he loves the new cage. He climbs up and down the second level like a pro, and is on the wheel constantly. The wheel is a little loud, but I've seen louder wheels.
Another nice feature is the deep tray on the main floor allowing for a nice amount of litter for burrowing. The second level is sturdy, although a bar near the top came off leaving a pretty big gap.
Lastly, my cage only came with the cage and a food bowl, so I'm a little bummed I didn't see this!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheaply Made Cage

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Statesboro, GA
The plastic interior parts are cheap and fragile. The "second story" piece was broken (very thin plastic) when I bought it and the exercise wheel is wobbly and does not attach securely to the cage. The bedding and food are fine but the cage seems small and cheaply made. The cage is acceptable and has features that are good, such as the narrow bars. But ultimately I'm going to have to return it buy a different one they offer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great cage, but.....

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Riverhead, NY
This is a great cage and my hamster loves it, but the wheel is very very noisy. It may be a problem at night because it creates so much noise when it's being used. Also, the cages's bars are kinda thin, my hamster actually chewed through them and escaped.....twice. This would be a good cage for just starting out with hamsters, but at some point you might want to get a different cage for your hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, I guess

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Augusta, Georgia
The cage is small, but I would recommend this to a friend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from MN
very good product, water bottle doesn't leak and everything stays in place! except the wheel is very loud
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, i guess

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis MN
Good for a starter cage but too cramped. The bedding is bad but the food, treats and water botlle are good but the wheel squeeks loud and the second level is small for my Syrian hamster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
18of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This product is terrable. I first got this cage for my hamster and loved it, it was much better than the dazzle cage. my first one of this cage was open already and it came with opened food and a broken slide and opened toy package. since at first i really liked this and thought let s just take it back. so i got the second one and everything came closed and sealed. my hamster loved to clime on the top of it so he was climbing on the top and fell off and hit his head on the slide and died. plus the door gets stuck and and it is so huge that your hamster might run out and it is not practical for my personal opinion.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
29of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this cage!

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach,Ca
My hamster Bruno loves this cage! It is the perfect one! plus your getting your money`s worth! You get food bedding a treat and a toy! I would recommend this cage to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super cage

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from CA
I use this cage for my djungarian dwarf hamster. The Water bottle leaks a bit and doesnt really stay on to the cage very well. The wheel is very noisy but its barable. With the ranp there wasn't much play room, so i cut it off. My hamsterd didnt even use it, he just climbed up he bars instead. It's best to mix the mix with blocks too, so oi had to go and buy those. The bedding was great, but i swiched to Care fresh. Hamsters love the little yogurt and hay snacks. Over all this is a super product with very few minor issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

snow balls first cage

PostedJune 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
from wa
he exaped the cage over and over my mom said we shoud go to the hardwere store and get mesh and that was a temory fix until i canbuy a new cage
do not buy for dwarf hamsters
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not worth the money

PostedMay 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from New York
I did not like this product. I didn't like this because the bottle was loud and leaked. Also the bars were really cheep to the point where my hamster got loose. The wheel is also really loud and the food for the food bowl spills everywhere around it because of the bars. This product was not worth the money you have to pay for it. I would not recommend this product to and I would get a cage by critterpals it would be a lot better choice than this cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
13of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good at first

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
My son got a hamster for his 6th birthday. He was given this cage. Overall we were please with it at first. The wheel does NOT squeek, but it thumps very loudly. The hamster could not be in my son's room and even though it is now downstairs you can still hear the thumping wheel very loudy upstairs. It is still better than a squeeky weel, though. The food dish is up on the platform which keeps it away from the hamster's feces (so it is more sanitary) but the food gets thrown everywhere (outside the cage). I think it would be better if the corner by the food dish was a solid wall and not open. The cage is small so it is great for a starter home but our hamster is only 2 months old and is already in need of a new one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's okay..

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I was told to get this as a cage for my teddy bear hamster, when she started getting bigger, she got to big for the wheel, same with my other teddy bear lol. It's a good starter cage. My hamsters also throw the food bowl out to the bottom of the cage, and chew it.
(two cages).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

really good

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn NY
My hamster cookie likes this cage, and she loves the food too.. actually, i think she liked to hide behind the wheel at the first day, but i took the wheel out. and i think thats good for 1 hamster..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from York P.A
This cage was amazing my robo hamster named ribel loves it she just has so much fun she loves to ring her bell and she is amazed by her wheel also the cage is so easy to clean and the water bottle dosnt even spill water but the donw side to the cage is that the fod bowl is way to high so she was to get in the bowl and then she makes a mess. but over all a great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Cage Ever

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
This cage is amazing.You should buy it.My hamster loved it.She was always on the wheel.And it is so easy to clean.Trust me you should buy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Complete Two Story Hamster Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not to bad

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
This cage is great to get if your working with a low budget. I got it, and it came with everything but a house. The wheel is VERY noisy and ended up breaking off but my hamster loved it. The water feeder doesnt drip and stays in place. Great for starters! recommended for first cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>