petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat

JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat

Five fun levels of climbing action plus an exercise wheelHamster cages with tubes for hide and play funFeatures a petting pod for effortless pet interactionSnap-latch door opens and closes easilyDurable construction stands up to playtimeEasy-to-assemble hamster cages, no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
10
4 out of 15(27%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Review 1 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hatemycage
from Estero, Florida
Bought this cage for my daughter who wanted a bigger cage for her Hamster. Little did I know how HORRIBLE IT WAS!!! Impossible to put together! Broke pieces trying to put it together!! And IMPOSSIBLE TO CLEAN!! There is no way to clean this cage without taking the whole thing apart ...remember it was impossible to put together so imagine having to do this once a week!! I'm about to throw it OUT THE WINDOW!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nercul2200
I wanted to upgrade my Syrian hamster's cage, so I though this would be a great choice for him. He hated it. It is cheaply made and it was extremely hard to put together. I ended up switching him back to his old cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No No NO!!!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
SunShinecolors12
from nevada
for syrians it is TERIBLE!!! if you are not handy you will brake the cage!
It is a cheap lowsy cage and it is not big enough for s syrian hamster!!!!
PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS CAGE!!!!
YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Accurate reviews/ disappointing product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
elementaryteacher
from Saint Louis, MO
I was looking for a new hamster cage for my elementary class pet. After shopping around I thought that this cage was great; I couldn't have been more wrong.
Although apprehensive about the other negative reviews for this product, I decided to give it a try anyway. What a waste of time and money! Upon opening the box I could already tell there was a part broken off and in the bottom of the box. The wire sides do not fit properly and snap out of place. The plastic 'levels' do not snap into place or fit, and they bend and would break if forced any harder. The lid/top does not fit correctly either. This is such a disappointment and is a poorly made product. Do not consider purchasing this as it is a waste of money and time. I am returning this and will be looking for a different cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katylynne
from St Martinville, Louisiana
The pieces would not fit together correctly and the latch that is suppose to close tightly was easily opened by my hamster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gerbil likes it

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shanetrain
from Fort Worth, tx
We bought the roller coster one first, the latch broke in the first few mins so we took it back, and got this one to replace it. Knowing the plastic is not the best I made sure to be carefully putting it together, it was not hard to put together..
I do not like the latches they use so I decided to wire the bottom door shut, so our gerbil would not escape.
Overall we really like this cage, people are complaining about cleaning it, but it's not hard, Gerbil in the ball, the bottom comes off easily rinsed in the shower , put the bottom back on with a little fluff re add the gerbil.
My only complaints are the latches, they break off easily,.
We have the cage attached to a Katee cage topper
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HAVE TO BE VERY CAREFUL

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
racquelh96
from Lincoln, Nebraska
I have had a fancy hamster for almost a year and she has grown almost triple her original size since I got her. I went to get a bigger cage for her and this was recommended. I bought it and brought it home for her and I could tell it was the perfect size. However, building it is not so perfect. I tried to build it with another person and all the hooks that connect the bottom and sides together broke. It was as if the pieces weren't meant for the same cage. I was extremely frustrated and took it back to Petco the next day and explained my frustration but I was willing to give another one a try because I could tell the size was perfect and she really needed a cage like this. I took now the second one home and tried to build it. It was tricky, took almost an hour and definitely tests your anger management skills, but I got it to work. And its perfect. My hamster loves all the space and levels and having a wheel like actually fits her. And so far the wheel is silent, but I know that will change. The cage is frustrating to build and you can tell its made cheaply with the sides not fitting right right away and the hooks wanting to break off. But if you take your time the walls end up connecting, the ceiling ends up connecting and all the shelves work out perfectly. Its definitely a patience tester, but if you get it right, it proves to be a great cage for such a huge hamster. She's a happy one with a happy owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the money

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
supertheo12
from New york,ny
This cage is very cheaply made. I can not clean or do anything to this cage because all of the plastic hinges are breaking. When I go to take out my hamster something breaks. When I went to take my hamster out a few weeks ago he was in the pod or spaceship of his cage and the piece that holds the lid to the pod broke. Alsoso the front to the pod brokeso now I have to tape this pieces together. The bottom level or floor locks broke and we did bring it back to petco and it was replaced. Do not waste your money on any Jw petville products because they ALL will have a issue with them and I am very upset with this product. I have contacted this company twice and still no answer on if I can get a refund or replacement parts. I have no issue with any petco or petstore I have gone to. They have all been very help full and I would like to thank you
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible item

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoeWhyIsMYNICKNAMETOOSHOR
from Dallas
My girlfriend bought this cage for me for my 2 mice. It was a horrible experience. The cage didn't fit together the fragile pieces broke apart. I was extremely upset. This product is a HUGE WASTE OF MONEY and I do not recommend it to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
trjumom
from nebraska
flimsy, wires broke with little effort in assembly, never got the levels to sit, not escape proof, waste of money and time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap Quality

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
tachiaya
I bought this cage because I thought it would be a good new home for my teddy bear hamster, since he was growing out of his old cage. But when I received the cage, it was incredibly hard to put together. The tabs that hold the cage together break easily. The platforms do not stay up very well and are hard to put in the cage. The cage is fairly difficult to clean. The plus side is that my hamster loves this cage, especially the petting pod. However, I will be buying a new cage for him.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Habitat If You Get All the Right Pieces!

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kerin
from Oklahoma
Our Gerbils love this cage! I was concerned that they would immediately start chewing up all of the plastic tubes and platforms, but oddly enough, they don't! It's a fun cage!
My only complaint is that the first one we received had missing and wrong parts on it, so we had to exchange it for another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
willawafers
from Austin, TX
I got this cage last month. It looked awesome on the box. When I tried to put it together, the two wire walls were both left, so I had to return it. Later, once Petco was in stock again, I bought a different one but this time the wire walls were bent out of shape and wouldn't fit in the track without springing up and hitting me in the eye. The platforms wouldn't clip on right. I ended up returning it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible cage overall

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
luv3cats
from State College Pennsylvania
I bought this cage for my teddy bear hamster thinking it would be a wonderful cage for my little girl since she is out growing her current cage. I thought she could run all around on the different floors and enjoy it. So I went to Petco payed the 70 dollars for the dang cage and got it home and started to put it together. I already knew it would be a handful because there were so many pieces. The thing would not connect AT ALL. The wire walls were all bent and nothing would click together. The little connecter for the wheel was bent so it was unable to click together. Let me just tell you this cage was NOT worth seventy dollars. I will be taking it back and buying a totally different cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for JW Petville Palace Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica1027
from Maryland
This cage is the best cage i have had, my gerbil loves it! he loves to crawl around. It keeps hi from being bored. This cage is definitely cage you would want for your animal to be entertained.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.