petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat

JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat

Unique wheel spins and rolls along a trackFeatures a loft, look out windows and a petting podSnap-latch door opens and closes easilyPlastic hamster cage is durably built to stand up to playtimeEasy to assemble hamster cages; no tools requiredFun home for hamsters, mice and other small pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.611 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
6 out of 18(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Review 1 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is a waste of money!!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Coventry, RI
Purchased this cage for my daughters new hamster right before Christmas. Bring it home put it together and the clip breaks. Didn't want to have to take the hamster back out and everything else so I super glued the clip. Last week the wheel fell off and we realized that the attachment snapped off. Then last night, the climbing tube broke off. I purchased this item in store and paid about $60.00. Would never ever purchase again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wish it lasted longer

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Bought this brand of cage in August for my daughters new hamster friend. I was shocked to see the hamster outlive the cage! By November ALL of the hinges snapped off and we did not over use it. The kids are in school all day and hammy only comes out about once or twice a night. I took the cage right back to our local petco and they couldn't be nicer! No questions asked they told me to pick out a replacement. We picked this same brand a different style because we liked it and our hamster is rather large he doesn't fit in the pet vile ones at all! Well this cage has only lasted till December, how frustrating!!! Do not buy!! Our cage is currently duct taped at all hinges because I really don't want to bring it in yet again:-(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great habitat, trick to eliminate wheel noise

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, ID
My hamster loves this cage! Once you quiet the wheel the humans will love this cage as well. Dip a Q-TIP in "OLIVE OIL" and rub oil around the inside pivot point of the wheel bracket. This is a safe lubricant for the hamster (do not use WD-40, vegetable oil, or mechanical oils) we have not dropped any parts of the habitat so have not experience any fragile parts. The parts are easy to clean and put back together, a bonus. We are thoroughly pleased with this habitat. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
26of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ROLLER COASTER

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from calif usa
We were sadden when we put the hamsters in the cage we did not see that one wire was missing and one hamster got out and we never found it!! our little girl was devastated !
Nancy Carter
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
23of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Do not get for Teddy Bear/Syrain hamsters Its easy for them to escape The wheel is very loud and the plastic cracks easily DO NOT BUY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cheaply made

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, Tx
The concept of the cage is cute, but unfortunately the delivery is poor. I have a dwarf hamster and he finds it hard to move around the tubes as they seem a little too big with not enough ridges to climb. On the other hand, I cant see a Syrian using the cage either as it looks to small. The wheel concept looked great, but it is very very loud! I tried using some oil to grease the wheel but it still makes a loud noise. The wheel is a nice size, though. My hamster isn't a biter so that is not a problem, and the bars are high enough to where he can't reach them. The water bottle is terrible, it leaks everywhere, and the bowl is a good size for a dwarf. The latches all look like they can easily be ripped off, and the petting area tower latch broke off within the first day. Cage is also hard to assemble, had to use quite a bit of force to make the pieces fit. My hamster does not like the cage either as he's hardly in it. Overall wouldn't recommend, especially for the price. Only got this cage because the manager was selling it for a $1 and I wanted an extension cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for Teddy Bear/Syrian Hamsters

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Trumbull, CT
When we brought our daughter's Teddy Bear hamster home and placed her into the cage, she was not at all happy with it.
She chewed on the bars constantly and defintely seemed that she wanted out. She looked too big for that size cage. It seems it would be better suited for mice our dwarf hamsters. We ended up getting another, larger cage a few days later and the hamster seems much more calm and relaxed. No biting on the bars at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst products ever

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from houston
This is the second product I purchase from this company the first 1 broke during assembly and the water leaked out of the water bottle. I returned it and got another one from petco. My hamsters had babies so at time of seperation I purchased another one from pettville. Had the same issue again with the water bottle and this time it completely leaked out of the bottle within two hours flooding cage. The observatory plastic hinge broke with the first opening. Product looks great but is very cheaply made :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

CHEAP AND NOT DURABLE!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pearland tx
I purchased this for a hampster thinking my 9yr old would love it...within 1 week the side latches both broke off. The wheel is very noisy when the animal is playing in it. I would NOT waste my money on this awful cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute,but watch out!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massacheuttes
We ordered this cage/habitat for our dwarf hamster. When we received, it was very easy to put together, but one of the latches was broke, the one for the petting area. I read that in some other reviews but thought what are the odds that will happen to us. No biggie, I called PetCo.com and they sent me a whole new habitat, no charge! Now, here is the only thing I don't like it about it. The space between the cage opening and the bottom of the cage. It is VERY easy for your hamster to escape when its opened, if you were feeding him or spot cleaning the bedding. He has gotten out twice! So beware of this issue, other than that I really like it. Out hamster loves the wheel, he is on it constantly!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap plastic cool design

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, tx
My son wanted this so bad, we were putting it together and the pod fell and the latch broke, so we could not use it, but it is a cool deign the gerbil likes it.
We also had to use a different water bottle it kept dripping.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern Virginia
All in all, this was just the item we were looking for. However, it turned out to be quite a bit more challenging to assemble than it might seem. Pieces did not easily connect and required some force. Once asssembled, the hamster loved it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-So

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montana
It has kept my pet inside, but the clasps are easily broken, the running wheel is loud, and creates dust in the sides of the route the wheel can go over. Glad I got a great discount on it though!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs smaller wire cage

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I used a Tin Cat to catch three wild mice and all three squeezed between the wire bars. Now I have to figure out how to close them up. Wild mice don't like to be caged up and will find those hidden escape routes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
9of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gatesville, NC
Broken in the Box but customer service was helpful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Cage If You Get All the Right Parts

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
The first cage we bought had missing pieces, so we exchanged it at the store. That one had a missing piece and broken piece, but we were able to exchange those as well. Once we got all of the right parts and were able to assemble the cage, the Gerbils loved it! It is a very fun cage to watch them in, too!
Being that Gerbils are such chewers, I was worried that they would immediately destroy the wheel and plastic tubes in the cage, but so far in the 1 1/2 weeks that we've had it, they haven't at all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from IL
I bought this cage for my one dwarf hamster, and she loves it. She loves the roomy wheel, and I love the petting place. It's also very easy to put together, it took my 5 minutes. The only down side is that the water bottle drips and you need to replace it with the 4 dollar one from petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for JW Petville Roll-A-Coaster Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love this product

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from florida
my hammy has a great time trying to explore the whole cage i highly reccomend this cage although on most cages you need to buy a new ball and water bottle i didnt try it but i think the water bottle will start dripping and the ball may be to small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.