petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door

Features an easy to use small pet door18" height makes for a comfortable step-over gate for puppies & small breedsQuick & easy pressure mounting systemSturdy, durable, all metal constructionPerfect for top or bottom of stairways
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Review 1 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is meant for a vey small breed that does not jump

PostedJune 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from CA
This gate is great for a very small breed of dog. I have a toy poodle/ terrier mix and it is too short for her, as she is very athletic and can jump right over it. This gate is also not very good with stairs. My dog managed to push the gate right over, but only because the gate did not fit properly along the walls due to the molding along the bottom of the stairs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent stair gate

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from queens, new york
At last a stair gate that works and is easy for me to step over. Very well made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Gate for Small pets

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Texas
This is a well-constructed gate and easy to use but is best for smaller animals. It seems sturdy but won't stand up to larger breed puppies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rock Hill, SC
I purchased this gate as a puppy gate so I could easily step over it. My adult dogs (Havanese) could easily jump over it, however I have discovered they respect the boundary as well. I have also purchased one to put in another doorway. This way I can keep the door open and step over easily to enter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Eastchester, NY, United States
This product was great for my less than 5 lb Yorkie. When I want him to roam the house I open the door, which took him a hot minute to get. Otherwise he stays on the other side. It's also nice and low so it's easy for me to step over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

puppy gate

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from vienna, VA
We now own three of these gates. We have a 27 lb 16 month old Staffordshire Bull Terrier who is a challenge at best. Gating has kept us sane and this gate is perfect for both humans and dog (step over and pass through). I highly recommend the gate for dogs 27 lbs and under that require access restrictions. BTW we own 2 cats as well who negotiate this gate just fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid gate

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kaneohe, HI
Found this item very good. Fits solid between 2 walls - strong. Problem for me was my puppy was able to jump over it. Had to buy a second one to put above the first one to make it high enough so he couldn't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it.

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore,MD
Have a 4 lb. puppy. I needed a gate that we could step over without moving. Love this gate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I got this gate to help house train my very small toy poodle puppy (3 months). First of all, the gate does not hug the walls of the doorframe as tightly as I would have liked but we overlooked that and didn't return it. Today, only the second time she was confined behind the gate alone (we've only had her for 2 days) she CLIMBED over this gate! Did I say, she is a very tiny toy puppy? Really, don't buy this unless your pet is a gerbil.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dog gate ever!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from crawfordville, fl
I needed a low dog gate for my little ones. This is perfect, I can step over it and not have to worry about undoing it each time. Good quality, love that it is made out of metal and easy to operate. I bought four!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Geneva WI
Gate keeps dogs out...small door keeps cats moving & it's easy for humans to step over...love this gate
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good little gate

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Gate works well. Small pet door is great for my cat. I use this to keep my dog out of the cat food and it works just fine for that purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
After using a baby gate and carrying our puppy over it several times a day we decided to get something new! He loves it. It is much more "open" than the baby gate so he isn't as scared and lonely behind it. I was worried his head might get stuck between the bars (he's only 4lbs right now), but so far so good. He went through the little door on the first try and now has better access to his litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Pet Products Lil' Tuffy Expandable Gate with Small Pet Door
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice sturdy gate

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Newaygo Mi
Overall I like the gate. It is metal, sturdy, and stays in place very well. I set it a few inches above the floor in a doorway to get a little extra height, but I can still step over it easily. I have a 30 lb. medium sized dog and she has not tried to jump over it. (yet) The small door opening works well to let her in and out, and she just fits through the opening. She is a slender dog so if yours is fat, the opening may be too small. The gate expands, which is nice, but the small door will not be usable if the gate is shrunk to its smallest size, due to the overlap of the two sections. A standard 28 inch door opening is about as small as you can go and still use the small door. It would also be nice if the small door opening was padded, or at least rubber coated, so it would be a little softer for the dog as she bumps her way through. It is a very nice and practical gate for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.