petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier

Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier

Top and side entriesStorage pocketIncludes a handgrip and removable shoulder strapRemovable interior faux lambskin linerAirline approved pet carrierParticipation in the Guaranteed On Board program guarantees Sherpa carriers meet an airline's specific rules and regulations and will be allowed on board
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Review 1 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West palm beach, FL
This product is great. Sturdy and easy to carry with shoulder strap. When you pick it up with pet inside it doesn't bend or fold in the middle, in fact it comes with a soft fluffy bedding inside. Good ventilation. My 13 lb fatty cat had room to stand around and move in it. And most importantly for airline travel it has approved dimensions to fit under seat in front of you. I wish I bought two of them for my other cat, but I had already bought another. I highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolute Garbage

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williston, ND
I did not realize this carrier is a knock off of the " original" Sher airline approved pet carrier. First of all it is made by another Group, secondly the fleece liner is attached/sewn over cardboard so it is NOT able to be put in a washer machine, 3rdly the mesh is so poorly made that my pups chewed through it in less then a half hour after being placed in it. I do have an Orginal Sherpa carrier and placed my pup in that one and she was unable to catch the mesh on her teeth therefore unable to chew a hole in it. Don't be fooled, spend a couple more dollars and purchase the Orginal Sher, it won't be a waste of money. The Quaker made Sherpa is absolute garbage!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Easily Ripped

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
Don't use this carrier if your pet wants to get out! Our 10 month old dog, who is 7 lbs, tore a hole right through the plastic netting right in the middle of the flight! There is no leash restraint inside the carrier. I fought to hold her in the carrier most of the flight and eventually just let her out and held her in my lap at landing because it was impossible to keep her in while under the seat in front of us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very well made

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from chicora, Pa
I am very pleased with the dog carrier. He is still getting acquainted with it. No trip for a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CARRIER

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas
i already have one of these carriers and since I care for about 10 cats, I needed another one.
they are perfect-smallish-so they feel same and secure.
Plus-they are easy to carry with the shoulder strap
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moving from New England to Florida

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Excel Size,Easy Pet in&out, perfect on smll planes
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carrier

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
It's a sizable carrier and it has a comfortable pad at the bottom for my kitten. With it's size, it is PERFECT to use as a travel carrier on flights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This bag is okay at best

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Found the foundation to be weak. It was very flimsy when carrying my pet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unimpressed

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from FL
This carrier wasn't sturdy at all... the top collapsed onto the dog's head and the sides caved in when lifted by the shoulder strap. The dog (who loves carriers) freaked out and I could completely understand why. This product needs to be 100% restructured before it's safe for an animal. DO NOT BUY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Zachary, LA
Zippered opening on one side and on top make it easy to get my unfriendly cat in it. He keeps still in it while on car ride to the vet, unlike previous occasions in a hard plastic carrier. I feel he is more comfortable and more at ease which is important. Carrier seems made well and I expect it to last a long time. Best of all is the price. Even with shipping cost it was cheaper than any other soft carrier I found.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sammamish WA
The experience was painless, the product was exactly as described, the price was right and the delivery was on time. It was easier than buying at a store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This carrier meets my needs perfectly.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Belleville, MI
I was able to use the carrier the very next day, when my service dog and I rode the bus to the local department store. He was able to sit in it while on my lap, and he was also able to have his head out of the top opening. He was able to interact with myself and others, yet I felt very secure knowing that if I had to stop my wheelchair suddenly, he would not fall off of my lap. It also works well for him to be secure in while riding on the bus with me, because he goes with me everywhere I go, and he needs to be in a carrier while on the bus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed with product

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
When I got a new kitten it meant getting a new carrier and I really didn't want to get another hard kennel since they take up so much space. This carrier is sturdy and will work okay for me, but I was disappointed. First of all, my 14 lb lean cat barely fits so hopefully my kitten will not get as big! I guess I should of measured the length of my cat, but I didn't think about it since she was under 16 lbs. Second, it does not collapse down very well. The piping used to give the carrier shape is extremely firm. I was hoping to store it inside my hard kennel but I can't get it through the door because the piping will not budge the one inch I need it to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sherpa To Go Pet Carrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kittens Love it

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Swansea, MA
I previously used a big old plastic carrier for both of my kittens, but when it was time for them to get fixed I wanted separate carriers and I wanted something easy to carry both of them on my own. I also was interested in a non-solid carrier for storage purposes in a small apartment. I got this particular carrier because it seemed to be the best sized. Most of the cat carriers I looked at were for pets up to 10lbs, I wanted something bigger (the kittens' father is huge) but not over 20lbs. The package arrived so small I was worried, but that was just because the carrier is easily folded and compacted. When it is open and the liner/base is in place the bottom is sturdy and it retains it's shape. Once I had them open and set up, the kittens wanted to play inside them! It has been a few weeks since our vet trip and I've actually left the carriers out because they still enjoy sleeping and playing in them. I've washed the faux lambskin liner pouch in the washer and dryer without a problem (just take the plastic and foam out of the pouch first). I also love that it has options for both top-loading and front loading. When you are at the vet you can open the zipper a bit on the top-loading portion and give your pets a reassuring pat without them escaping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.