petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Indigo Dog Home

Petmate Indigo Dog Home

Assembles in under a minuteTop-of-the-line igloo-shaped dog houseStructural foam construction makes this igloo dog house warmer during the winter and cooler during the summerExtended doorway gives your pet extra room and protection from wind & rainMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
92
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
109 out of 116(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Review 1 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Igloo dog house

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
I love the design and the quick set up. However, ithe dog house leaks, probably through the venting, and I have had to cover part of the top with heavy plastic and duct tape. I wish it were a better product. Did not send back because of cost and bulk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indigo dog house

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Drury MO
I bought one of these for my first dog (it is kept on my front porch so he never gets wet anyways) and he has a moving blanket and a heater in it for the winter and he lover the house, He has the door on it and he watches out the door for anyone that should not be on the property (I live in a rural area) and he love it, I have just adopted an abandoned dog and he is n=in need of a house and I would buy nothing other tan this house, this is a great price ans it is the cheapest I have found so far and I will be ordering it in the next few days. I highly recommend it to all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nervous at 1st But Well Worth the buy

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lansing, Mi
He was afraid to enter the Dog House at first but now he is the happiest pup around with ample room and shading.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Indigo House for Med. Dog

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
The house is not big enough for a medium size dog,It was supposed to be big enough for a 60 lb. dog.My dog weighs 25 lbs.the house is too small fer her.She will get to 50 lbs.If you have a dog I would find a store in your area and see what size you need before online buying.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for strays, takes a while for them to trust it

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I bought this for my feral cats who are all neutered and spayed. Some of them are getting up there in years, over 12 years old. It is a very nice option for them as I can mound up lots of fleece blankets and they can get away from the cold, wind and rain. It took them forever to trust it, and for a long time, no one would go in it! Finally saw one of them in there one day when it was cold and miserable. Unfortunately, my ferals do not like each other, and only one cat at a time will use the house, so I will have to buy another one. I put the house up on cinder blocks. Otherwise, when it rains, the rain bounces into the front of the house and makes a muddy mess. If you live where it gets very cold, you may want to insulate the seams. Where the top meets the bottom, I found a small space where I could see daylight. I stuffed blankets into the space to keep the cold air out. I also use the Snuggle Safe microwave disks to keep my strays warm, and I can put one or two in this house under the blankets every night to give some added warmth. I have had this house over 2 years now and it still looks very nice. I was surprised it hasn't discolored much at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad That I Bought This!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I bought this Igloo, the matching pad and the door for a stray kitty that's been living outside our home all year. I've been feeding her daily, fresh water and always worry about her. She let's me pet her, but I've tried to catch her a few times, she runs. Doesn't want to be picked up. So I decided to purchase this for her for the Winter. The house comes in 2 pieces; top and bottom. You snap it together by lining up the tabs. One tab just wasn't cut right. We didn't want to return it, so my husband took a utility knife and carefully shaved off a bit of the plastic on the one bad tab. IIt finally snapped together! He put the swinging door on and I had purchased the matching Pad for inside. Then I went and bought her a really cozy "leopard print" throw for inside. She uses it daily and at least she is protected from the elements; snow, rain, ice, etc. I go outside and check the house daily and it is dry inside, so this keeps the water out. I feel better knowing she has something to help protect her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Medium size is too small

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Fe, NM
I thought a medium size would be a decent size. It's expensive for the size. The entry is too small for a medium-sized dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backyard shelter

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jonesboro, AR
I bought this as a shelter for my kittens when they're in my backyard. The entrance is angled and protects the interior from rain. It is the perfect size for small pets. Medium size to large dogs would not be able to utilize this house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

dog not interested

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NC
Dog hasn't taken any interest in using... :'(, she is outside during day in yard but sleeps inside at night. I purchased dog home for her to have a shelter available. Dog home sturdy and made well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indigo Dog Home

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
This is a great dog house and takes less than 2 minutes to assemble. As soon as I clicked everything into place and put his bed inside, Maxey walked right in without being lured. He loves it and sleeps in it every night. He is a mixed terrier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate Indigo Dog Home

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, Hawaii
I've received the petmate indigo dog house in excellent condition. I'm very pleased with the dog house, perfect for my 2 small dogs. It came assembly, just had to take it out the box and set it in place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Igloo syle extra large dog house

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from texas
I purchased the PetMate Igloo extra large dog house., I was under the impression this was the BEST for large breed dogs., Buyer BEWARE, if your dog is tall he will NOT be abl to go thru the SMALL opening. My English Mastiff 10 month puppy had to do the Army crawl to get in. He was fine ONCE he got in, but coming out he had to crawl out once again. my dog will not go back in. Taking back is out of the question since the shipping would be costly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog house

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I purchased this dog house (pet igloo) after a friend recommended it. It really is a cozy dog shelter made from a simple yet effective design concept.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

leaks when raining

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from lakeforest california
i bought this in medium for my two pugs
when it rained it leaked from the front and the vents there blankets are soaked might return this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great dog house

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Its build ok and my basset hound and my other dog love this dog house. They go in it even in the summer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog products are great for cats

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MI
I bought a Petmate Indigo Dog Home because I feed five feral cats that I had spay/neutered returned. They have been spending the winters in a woodenhome-made dog house, insulated with plastic and straw, but I really felt they were cold last winter, and this winter promises to be very cold. The Indigo dog home is perfect for them. I have insulated it with foam rubber, covered with plastic, covered with straw. I intend to face the entrance into the shelter (a pressed wooden board, attached to the home-made dog house on one side and to bricks on the other side. They also have a small "cat" house, but that isn't even as warm as the dog house. What is good about that is that they can enter the shelter through it. I really think that when I put the Indigo house on boards to raise it off the icy ground, they're going to be snug as can be. I also plan to cover it with a tarp - last year, the temperatures reached 11 below. I had heated dishes, but they looked miserable. I'm planning on a cozy winter for them this year, and the medium sized Indigo dog house is just perfect for five cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
37of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best house for outside

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
my dog loves his house. Its just like a cozy den. Well made and great shape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Is Where Your Pooch Wags Happily

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from VA.
I am so proud of myself for ordering the Petmate Indigo Igloo dog house. This is one sturdy dog house. When getting ready to snap the dome to the base, I noticed that there are small holes around the base where you could anchor the dog house down with stakes if you are worried it could blow away in a storm. We haven't done that yet, but are going to.
Also, the vent on the dome really does make a difference with air flow. My dog would never get in her old dog house, she would just lie on top of it like Snoopy. However with the Indigo, she goes right inside and looks like she's HOME. Money well spent. So far, worth every hard earned dime.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Grove City, OH
Great service, great product - dogs love it - even the cat loves it. Well built. Just what I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Indigo Dog Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Indigo dog home

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
Super dog home for outside. Fits under the picnic table just fine. The medium size is perfect for my 16 pound mutt. I wish it had "feet" to lift it off the ground, but a few bricks are okay, just not pretty. I love the ventilation top, the doorway to protect it from rain, and the fitted mat that goes with this house, sold separately. Now, let's see if he will use it..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>