petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects

Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects

Convenient and easy to maintainClear plastic base with a self-locking lidDesigned with excellent ventilation, feeder window, and access holes
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
29 out of 33(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Review 1 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use these all the time!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeoBreeder
from St. Paul, ,MN
I've got all the sizes except the round one. I mostly use them for leopard geckos. The smallest is great for bringing baby geckos places or putting them in while their cage gets cleaned. I've got 2 of the medium ones- 1 is for adult geckos to travel in or for while their cage gets cleaned. The other one has a small heater attached to it and I've had baby geckos live in it temporarily. The biggest one is used for adult geckos or larger juveniles during their quarantine period. If it's not being used for a gecko, my ball python sits in their while his cage gets cleaned. He's still a baby so he uses the medium or large depending on what's not being used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Missing Parts

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
CPofKC
from Kansas City
Did not have large clear hatch included or interior information/instructions. Will be returning it. Item exactly what I needed - quality issue wastes my time and is a hassle
I would recommend this to a friend!
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pay attention to size

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReggieTheGecko
When I ordered this online, I somehow completely missed the sizing options, and ordered a keeper that was much larger than I needed. However, I was able to exchange it in store for the correct size, so I still have this same brand.
I used it to move my leopard gecko, who has not been a happy traveler in the past. He freaked out a little bit when I first put him in, but that's a gecko's nature. He eventually calmed down and all was fine.
My only complaint, which is seriously minor, is that it's somewhat difficult to take the top off - the locks are very tight. Which is good, don't get me wrong, but once the time came to put my gecko back into his tank (and I was eager to do so) I found myself struggling with the top.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hermit crabs!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hermitcrabingrid
from Nj
This is great for a travel cage for hermit crabs just not for permanent housing! My straws loved to climb all over it,
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!!

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
KassieIsa
from New York, NY
I don't use this for my aquatic turtles.... I use it as a carrier for my hamsters. These keepers are so much bigger than the ones made for hamsters!!!! I got the biggest one made for hamsters (i paid about 20 bucks for it at a local pet shop) and it was still too small!!!!! These are bigger and so much cheaper!!!! I am a very very happy customer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Generally good.

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bapril
from Minnesota
I decided to buy this instead of a glass tank for my reptiles, for one thing, the light weight so it's more portable and easy to handle, and another is that the top is fairly well secured. These aren't recommended for some species of reptile nor as a permanent home for most. But is good for small reptiles or a starter home for juveniles. I also enjoy that I received a divider with mine so I can have 2 animals in one cage. These are also stackable which saves a lot of space but I don't recommend stacking too many for animal's safety. The only downside is the main hatch or doorway if you will is not directly centered so if I have a divider in the middle I can't reach my hand through to the one side, I have to take the whole lid off to get access. And I can't seem to figure out how to open the little feeding door (or hatch) without busting it. Seems like a design flaw there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Reptile/Insect keeper

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leaping4lizards
from Connecticut
This item is perfect for my 4 baby gargoyles, with a hide place, coconut cave and bark log, a plant and tons of moss. It's large enough to house all of them comfortably yet small enough for security.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for Hermies

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Petzyperson23
from Glen Ellyn Il
I got the biggest one for my 5 hermit crabs I liked how it held humidity well and you could put a heat pad on it! But I wanted to be able to see the crabs a little bit more, this one was too short so you couldn't lokk inside very well. I wanted one so you could see wher they were they were climing becouse I think hermit crabs are so entertaining. I would recomend a 10 gallon aquarium instead. One other good thing was they never got out so the lid was very tight:) Overall I give this 4 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
RudeGirl
from San Angelo, TX
Just got an Emperor Scorpion, and so far she loves it. plenty of room and good for feeding. holds humidity well, and its light weight. also got the smallest one to put her in while i'm cleaning her cage. great product just hard to open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizardwoman
I got an x-large, I think its great. Works fine and came early in the mail, thats all I cared about.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exactly what we needed

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
NathansMom
from Texas
new home for my son's 5 hermit crabs. He is able to watch them no matter where they have burried themselves :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Gerbils, too!

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kerin
from Oklahoma
I got the 17.5" x 12" one to use as part of our "gerbil city". I think it's great for the price! The top did crack right away when I got it home and went to take off the lid, but with the lid snapped on it covers the crack. This is a much cheaper alternative than the ones that are actually marketed for small rodents, and it still has the punch-out hole on the lid where you can put a tube or a water bottle (in addition to 2 doors).. This larger one also has a removable divider, which came in very handy while we were using the "split cage method" to introduce strange gerbils to each other. I will probably get more of these as we expand our gerbil habitat even more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so good

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blubbermath
from NJ
When I got my fiddler crabs (R.I.P.) after science project at school (dumb move on my part) I went out and bought the extra large one for the crabs. Knowing that the crabs were small and didn't need much attention, it was well priced and I got it. My crabs loved it! After they died (in about a week) we were going to save the tank! Then, the top cracked. Then the bottom cracked. Then I saw a small hole on the base. Not good!
I also do not reccomend this to any animal larger then a pink toe tarantula.(leg span not included) bigger animals need more quality and bigger space. For anything bigger, I either reccomend an inexpencive gallon tank or if you really want, one of the more expencive critter tanks designed for heat to flow through correct.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
9of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Keeper

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
nakamuraabe
from Mesquite,Tx
I use this for my rosehair tarantula and its great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good size for larger reptiles

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeeFan
from Native New Yorker, living in Lima, Ohio for 10 yrs
I use these carriers to hold my snakes when cleaning their tanks, and for traveling. I've had the smaller size for many years, and my ball python has outgrown it. I now use it for my milksnake. My 4 ft. python fits comfortably in this larger one, but the one drawback is that it doesn't have handles like the smaller one. You would think that the larger carrier would be much more convenient to carry around with handles! The lack of handles cost it one 'paw'.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reptigirl
from San Diego
Lightweight and great for displaying the snakes for events. Great ventilation and the lids stay on well. Would love to have some 20” L x 20” W x 7” T
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Carrier

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
FrogFanatic
from Gimmelshtump, Druzelstien
I use this to carry my Frog and Toad when I go to my friend's house. Sometimes I put in coco husk fiber while other times I just put in an inch of water. Sometimes, my female young bullfrog even tries to breed with my male fire-belly toad in it! I also use it to put the crickets in and then put in my eastern newt (Newton), bullfrog (Frogger), and fire belly toad (Flamez). GREAT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
StephyB
from Tulsa, Ok
Great size for small crabs, holds humidity very well. Easy to clean
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tab87
We use it to keep crickets that we feed to our lizard. The lid is a little hard to get off, otherwise it works just fine for the purpose we bought it for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Pet Keeper for Reptiles, Amphibians and Insects
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for hermit crabs

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
hermitcrabby
from San Antonio, TX
I purchased the largest one (17x12) for my two hermit crabs. It is shallow enough that they use it to climb up on the sides and the lid (kind of like spiderman!). I have about 2" of play sand in it, plus a salt water dish and a fresh water dish, a crab castle, extra shells, driftwood and food dishes - it all fits with plenty of room for them to move around. I also like the two doors at the top that allow for accessing the crabs without having to remove the lid. This was a great purchase - highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>