petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

Unique two-door Midwest dog crateGreat for crate training with traditional swing-out front doorFeatures a space saving up and away side doorCollapsible dog crate easily sets up or folds flat in secondsNo tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.069 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
25 out of 29(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I Wanted!

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I got a 2 1/2 month old pointer mix about a month ago and we both love this crate! I will tell you, I completely lucked out into getting a puppy that was quickly crate trained and loves his special place. I say that because he doesn't use all of his puppy power to try and get out of it like some others might. He does, however, jump on the sides when he's excited to be let out, but it holds up wonderfully. All in all, the new sliding door is great - it's out of the way and easy to use; It's really easy to take down, move, and put back up; and it's very sturdy. Very happy with the purchase and would recommend it to all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality crate!

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from McKinney, TX
I bought the large size of this crate for our 35 pound Basenji mix. He likes to sprawl out when he sleeps so I wanted him to have plenty of room. He can stand up with his ears just barely not touching the top of the crate. It was super simple to set up and I love the side door! Overall, it was a great value! I highly recommend this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I needed an extra crate when a stray came around. I wasn't toO sure about the dor options but I got a great deal so I purchased the create. I am so glad I did. This create is easy to cream and has a great easy access door. I am very happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Midwest 30" wire crate

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ca
Fast delivery, exactly as described. Great travel crate for my smaller husky.
Four stars because I wish it had a metal pan like in the "olden" days. Pan had broken edges when I opened the box, probably from rough handling by the carrier.
Love the double door feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from east coast
The side "up and away" door is perfect, it takes up no space and stores nicely. All other features were exactly as described. Handy divider is useful for our puppy till she grows into a bigger space. We got the Large and it is not very heavy and sets up easy- I didn't even need to read the instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product fit my needs

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bunnel, Florida
The side door, which lifts up and out of the way, is a great benefit of this dog crate. Dogs get to accept the crate as their home and this side door can be left open for easy access and freedom of movement for my pet. I would highly recommend it to any dog owner looking for a well constructed and well designed dog crate.
The price at Petco (online) was the best price I found for this item. I had not plan to buy it until later this summer but they ran a special discount on their already low price and I grabbed it and took advantage of the sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best crate for the price!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New Iberia LA
This crate works perfect for an area that U don't want a swing-open door...very easy to set up & my girl loves her crate!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Product

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
Bought the XXL size for my dog who is 35 pounds. Came in the mail incredibly beat up with the box torn open so I had to take it back to the local store. The store replaced the crate but it was very cheaply constructed and had to be returned a month later after the metal bent from where we opened and closed the doors. Very disappointed and am going to purchase a different brand. Don't waste your time!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love them!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
We've had these crates for a couple of weeks now and love them. The side door is perfect for our needs and it's so much nicer to have it lift up. It can't get knocked shut, they aren't constantly banging into them, and neither are we! They also haven't figured out how to open it on their own, like they did with swinging side door on their previous crates. (We have 3 lab mixes and bought the XL size. Plenty of space and headroom.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the pull up door

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Middle door pulls up and folds over the top. No tripping over an open door. Really like that feature. One of the hooks on that door was broken off and box was damaged when it arrived, but everything works. Easy to fold once you get the hang of it, but for me, it was very heavy to carry up to the hotel room. I got the 36 inch for my Lhasa Apso. Overall, It was a great purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love the Brand, Hate the Series

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
As a foster, I've tried many different crates. I love the iCrate and the LifeStages series so I didn't think much of buying another MidWest, but I was really disappointed in this one, it is shorter, height wise, than others with similar dimensions and the side door makes it really easy for my dog to escape. Not only can he lift it up all the way, he can completely pop it off, and it's really difficult to put back on the right way.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Crateq

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wales, ME
The crate is fine but we finds the doors difficult to operate. There are much better designs but for the price, it will be acceptabel. Both the slide door and hinged door are difficult to operate and our kids can not secure them correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ovation Crate

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Upland, CA
Our sweet "Olive" loves here new home. We leave the side door up and away most of the time and she relaxes inside while all the action of the family hums around her...she is very happy with our purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DFW, Texas
I recently adopted two puppies and had to get two kennels. I purchased these two kennels at Petco and have been extremely happy with them. The two doors actually come in handy. Depending on the location I placed the kennels, I'm not restricted to storing them in any particular direction. Tray is easy to clean when there was an accident. I've been very happy with these kennels.
My only criticism is that after washing them with the hose several times, there are signs of rust in the corners. They could have done a better job powder coating the finish onto the metal. Overall, great product at a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Des Moines, Ia
Received this crate a couple weeks ago and have not been disappointed. My 70lb lab/Weimaraner mix has a ton more room to stand up and lay down comfortably. I've also traveled with it and although it is big, it collapses nicely and sets up quickly. The double door is also nice as it leaves options to place it if you're in a tight space. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality crate

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
I wanted a larger crate so my puppy had more room to move around during the day. He had outgrown his puppy crate. This one comes with a divider, so I can still make it smaller if needed. My puppy likes the extra room and I often come home to him stretched out and relaxing. The only reason I gave 4 paws instead of 5 - the front gate/door is a little tricky to close or is at least trickier than the puppy crate I was using before. Twice I thought it was closed and locked, but my puppy escaped. Now, I double check it before walking away, so overall, would not prevent me from recommending.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy & Secure

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hillsboro, OR
We have adopted a new dog and found out quickly she's a Houdini and destructive. Ordered this crate and she has not escaped and caused any more damage. Love that it has 2 ways to open also so I don't have to have a door hanging open, just stays on top of crate until ready to close.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
This is the MOST disappointing and undesirably built piece of hardware I have ever come across! It came with pieces already broken, so I can not use the "ovation" door, plus, when I put it together number other connections just snapped by the lightest touch! I am probably going to send it back. I am very VERY DISAPPOINTED in the quality of this product!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase!!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my lab puppy in anticipation that she will grow to a full size dog pretty quickly. There's a divider so I can make it a smaller space while she's little.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
This kennel works perfectly for what I needed it for. My dog sleeps in it at night. I did buy the largest one available because I wanted her to be able to move around and not feel trapped in a cage. It's plenty big for her and she's a medium to large sized dog. The price was great, shipping was very fast and it was very easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>