petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

Exclusive hybrid double door dog crateDesigned specifically for crate training with a traditional swing-out front doorFeatures a space saving up and away side doorEasily sets up & folds down in secondsNo tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Crateq

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
GreenwoodHomestead
from Wales, ME
The crate is fine but we finds the doors difficult to operate. There are much better designs but for the price, it will be acceptabel. Both the slide door and hinged door are difficult to operate and our kids can not secure them correctly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ovation Crate

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
swanky
from Upland, CA
Our sweet "Olive" loves here new home. We leave the side door up and away most of the time and she relaxes inside while all the action of the family hums around her...she is very happy with our purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
RufusandSandiesDAD
from DFW, Texas
I recently adopted two puppies and had to get two kennels. I purchased these two kennels at Petco and have been extremely happy with them. The two doors actually come in handy. Depending on the location I placed the kennels, I'm not restricted to storing them in any particular direction. Tray is easy to clean when there was an accident. I've been very happy with these kennels.
My only criticism is that after washing them with the hose several times, there are signs of rust in the corners. They could have done a better job powder coating the finish onto the metal. Overall, great product at a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
LD92
from West Des Moines, Ia
Received this crate a couple weeks ago and have not been disappointed. My 70lb lab/Weimaraner mix has a ton more room to stand up and lay down comfortably. I've also traveled with it and although it is big, it collapses nicely and sets up quickly. The double door is also nice as it leaves options to place it if you're in a tight space. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality crate

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Odogsmom
I wanted a larger crate so my puppy had more room to move around during the day. He had outgrown his puppy crate. This one comes with a divider, so I can still make it smaller if needed. My puppy likes the extra room and I often come home to him stretched out and relaxing. The only reason I gave 4 paws instead of 5 - the front gate/door is a little tricky to close or is at least trickier than the puppy crate I was using before. Twice I thought it was closed and locked, but my puppy escaped. Now, I double check it before walking away, so overall, would not prevent me from recommending.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy & Secure

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
TammyBS
from Hillsboro, OR
We have adopted a new dog and found out quickly she's a Houdini and destructive. Ordered this crate and she has not escaped and caused any more damage. Love that it has 2 ways to open also so I don't have to have a door hanging open, just stays on top of crate until ready to close.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
dlbaab
from Tulsa, OK
This is the MOST disappointing and undesirably built piece of hardware I have ever come across! It came with pieces already broken, so I can not use the "ovation" door, plus, when I put it together number other connections just snapped by the lightest touch! I am probably going to send it back. I am very VERY DISAPPOINTED in the quality of this product!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase!!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doordoor
I bought this for my lab puppy in anticipation that she will grow to a full size dog pretty quickly. There's a divider so I can make it a smaller space while she's little.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works great

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
stringbean
from Louisiana
This kennel works perfectly for what I needed it for. My dog sleeps in it at night. I did buy the largest one available because I wanted her to be able to move around and not feel trapped in a cage. It's plenty big for her and she's a medium to large sized dog. The price was great, shipping was very fast and it was very easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASFI
Works as described, good crate with double doors. The locks on the doors seem secure (we've had the crate for couple of weeks now). The bottom of the side door came a bit bent, but it still works.
I ordered the large size for my 5 month old lab-samoyed mix and it feels like it might be a bit small when she's full grown, even when description said up to 70 lbs (and crate's box said up to 90lbs).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sturdy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
kimmie08
from winston salem nc
I am not pleased at all. Cage is not sturdy and my german shepard pup keeps getting out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MW Ovation double door crate

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Citycyclegal
from Boston MA
Fabulous crate, quick set up, and the door folds away on top easily. Terrific feature! I have the regular 2 door in my living room, as I hadn't noticed the Ovation style. I have a small condo, and this is perfect for my bedroom, as my cocker, had outgrown his kennel, I was using. Midwest crates are very well built and easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing Troubles

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
KT2014
from Mt. Pleasant, MI
So I realize I should have double checked the measurements, however I assumed that the LARGE recommended for retrivers & boxers and dogs up to 90 lbs would be big enough for my 55 pound lab/boxer mix.
The crates really awesome, I like the door that hinges on top and can lock open like that. However, there is no way the crate is big enough for my pup nor any other lab or boxer that I have ever seen. She couldn't sit or stand up in the crate and definitely couldn't turn around.
Be wary of the sizes and you should be fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We were pleased with the fast free delivery

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daylilylady1700
from Aubrey, Tx
We were happy to get 30% off the Midwest Ovation Trainer Kennel plus getting free delivery. The kennel was exactly what we expected & getting it in 3 days with free delivery. We have shopped Petco stores for years & always satisfied with our purchases. I also want to commend Petco for helping with Animal Rescue Groups & offering pet adoptions! We just rescued another dog (#5) for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Crate

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
PanzerPaws
Was exactly what was expected. Well described and just what we needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
BostieLover95
I bought this crate online and have had it for 2 1/2 months for my now 4 1/2 month old puppy and so far it's worked great! No issues, but my puppy will not try and get out, so the quality is fine. Thankful I purchased online and the price was a lot cheaper than in the store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Won't Buy Online

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
DGM1128
from Nampa, ID
I have two dogs, one is 6yrs and the other is 4mo. I bought this kennel for the 6 year old months ago at my local Petco and was very pleased with the product. Recently purchased one for the pup via Petco's website and am very unsatisfied with what I received. There was a crack in the plastic "floor", a wire on the divider was bent, and the side door struggles to open and close properly. It doesn't move smoothly at all. Overall, I like this product. I just think I received a faulty product and am very disappointed with the more recently purchased kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Ovation Trainer Double Door Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good space-saving crate, but a few glitches

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from San Francisco, CA
I have another Midwest crate that is only about 3 years old. It was interesting to compare this one with it. The newer one is lighter weight with thinner gauge wiring. This was not a problem for me because the crate is huge and easier to move because it's not as heavy. It could be an issue if your dog is prone to trying to bust out of crates. I bought this crate only because of the door that slides up and lays on top of the crate. I didn't have room for a big swinging door. The sliding door doesn't operate super smoothly, but it's fine. The other door is probably better for very frequent use. It took a little bit to get my dog used to the sliding door. She was a little scared of it at first. All in all, I'm happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.