petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food

Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food

First ingredient is delicious deboned fish or poultryFull-flavored gourmet pate that cats loveGrain-free cat food; no artificial colors, flavors or preservativesMerrick cat food features natural ingredients sourced from local farmsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat loves it

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Itasca, IL
I have a cat who has allergic reactions to certain ingredients in most cat foods. She relapsed into a sickly state recently and stopped eating her old food. I pretty much bought 2 cans of every food I could find that met her diet requirements, the one she went crazy over was the the Merrick Purrfect Bistro Beef Puree. It pulled her out of her funk and she's back to her normal kittenish self.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A really good product

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rio Rancho NM
Since my vet recommended that I switch to a grain-free food for one of my two cats (to ease strain on the kidneys and because she seemed to be having skin allergies), I went on "the search" for the kind my fussy- eater cat would like. After a sampling of several, I settled on Merrick. There is sufficient variety to stay interesting and my cat loved all of them. So now I have switched my other, younger, cat to the same diet, and she loves it too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puufect Indeed!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fremont, CA
Our fussy senior cat loves this brand and type of canned food. This is the only one she will eat without hesitation. I would recommend this brand to others looking for a higher quality canned cat food. The Pate is a winner with our cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central Coast, CA
We tried numerous brands before we found this one. Cats would turn their noses up until they tried the Merrick chicken and turkey pates. They devour it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seemingly purrfect!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lewes, DE
WIth an 18 year old thin man, an overweight youngster prone to UTI and a regular cat, finding something they all like and can tolerate is a chore. The Merrick seems to be the pick! Consistently good, little indigestion issues at all and according to a rival mfg rep I met one day- one of the best in terms of quality!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats like it

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MA
My active, adult cats have been eating the duck and turkey food every day for over a year. They eat it right up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitty's long-time favorite

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
My kitty has digestive issues (like Ira Glass' pooch) and needs to be on a limited protein-ingredient diet. She can no longer tolerate rabbit; beef, turkey, and chicken are touchy. She has been stable on a duck diet for the last 9 mo., however she grew very tired of the pure-duck canned choices 5 months in. I ordered this to see whether her system would be ok despite the food containing chicken as a major ingredient (chicken as "filler" has been problematic in other canned foods). Not only does she LOVE LOVE LOVE this food, it does not irritate her gastrointestinal tract like other "mixed protein" canned foods tend to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The boys love it !

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Madisonville, LA
My two 10-yr old male cats have been eating this food for about 4 months now. Their coats are shiny and soft. They eagerly look for mealtimes. Not a morsel left in the bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick Purrfect Bistro

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Audubon Pa
My Bengal kitten just loves the pate line of Merrick cat food. She goes crazy over the Duck flavor especially. Thanks Petco for selling the best brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Merrick's Grain Free Cat Food

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Calif. Central Coast
My Maine Coon has a tendency toward digestive problems and once switched to grain free problems have gone away. Merrick makes a nutrionally sound cat food. Research shows that cats are truly carnivors and benefit from no grain foods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, pa
We started using Merrik when our cat was sick. We continue to use for both our cat and dog because their overall health has improved.
The product was introduced to us by a helpful associate at a Petco store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect food for many cats

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Clemente, CA
I have been testing many foods and found this one the best when feeding multiple cats. It is easy to serve and easy for them to eat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cat's favorite

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis, MD
The price was good. The shipping free. Our cat found the food...very,very tasty. The product comes in several flavors: chicken, turkey, duck, and terducken. She likes them all but prefers the duck. The texture of the pate suits her, and the lack of grain in good for our elderly cat, according to the vet.
On-line ordering was easy. Confirmation quick. And delivery was ahead of schedule.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I tried many brands, Merricks is the only one she likes

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Paul, MN
I brought home about a dozen different brands of cat food while trying to switch my cat to something with a better ingredient list than what I'd been feeding her. The ONLY two foods that she liked were the Merrick's Chicken Patte and Turkey Patte (sorry duck patte, she hates you). I'm happy that they're grain free, but I'm not so happy that two of the ingredients are salt and carrageenan. I was trying to find a food that doesn't have carrageenan, but they are few and far between, are very expensive, and my cat hated every single one of them. Hopefully someday Merricks will remove this from their food, but for now this seems to be the best choice for my cat. She likes it and has no trouble digesting it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Round Rock, TX
My 12 year old Maincoon had been having eating issues latley. She had been eating Wellness for years. After her issues I switched her to Merrick Pate wet food and now she is doing much better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Duck Pate not for my cat

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Grants Pass, OR
The other Merrick canned foods were very welcome to my cats, but I needed to switch one of them to something she had not eaten before. I chose duck. I was not able to find Merrick Duck Pate in the stores, so I ordered it online. Neither cats really liked it. I don't get it, but I don't think cats really strive to be understood.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Grain Free Canned Cat Food

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I've had cats for over 25yrs with two of my companions living over 15yrs. Over the past 8yrs I have switched to grain-free and natural diets and litter. The Merrick brand has the best amount of moisture and ingredients that my cats love than any other brand (and I've tried them all). My two girls prefer the pate's and my big boy prefers more natural look bistro blends. Their weight and health is great and they love the food. That's all that matters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great food but dented cans

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Asheville, NC
My cats love the food and their coats and overall health has improved, but, buying them through the mail has resulted in an unreasonable number if dented cans. Many times in the middle of the case- how does that happen. Better to pay more in a store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Merrick Purrfect Bistro Grain Free Pate Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Quack!" says the Cat

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Modesto, CA
I like Wellness turkey; however, my cat is not thrilled with it. So we compromise and she eats half turkey mixed with half of something else. She has been very pleased with the Merrick Duck mixed in with her turkey. The ingredients seem good. The consistency of the cans are similar. It is a nice pate with juice that smells good. I did get some dented/bent up cans in the order - will exchange those at the store. It is a new product and I look forward to reading other reviews on this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.