petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain

Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain

Dog or cat water fountain features free-falling streams that encourage your pet to drink moreIncludes charcoal filter that removes bad taste and odorsLovely porcelain design is more hygienic, easy to clean and looks great in your homeCirculating cat drinking fountain keeps water much fresher than standing bowl waterUpper and lower dish provides two drinking areas for pets
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Fountain!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, FL
My cat is hypersensitive to noise. When he was recently diagnosed with kidney problems the vet said he should drink as much water as possible. I tried large bowls, gravity water dishes and looked at fountains. The pump noise from a plastic fountain scared him. He wouldn't drink from it. I could not find one with a quiet pump but thought maybe if the pump was in a large reservoir made of something much thicker than plastic it might be quiet enough that he would drink from it. This one worked. I can't hear it running and he definitely prefers the filtered water. This is perfect for a scary cat who needs to drink more water. He also prefers to drink the water in a separate location from his food dish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Pump

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs, CA
My first Drinkwell pump lasted over 5 years with 2 cats.
Got the Pagoda, same two cats and pump lasted 2 months.
Emailed PetSafe - they are giving me the run around on replacing the pump. Do this, soak that. Not one single piece of hair was in the pump. I use all the filters required. I don't think my cats saliva can cause the pump to malfunction this soon.
Like I said - first Drinkwell no problems with the pump.
Clearly they are using cheaper pumps and don't want to own up to the poor quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait 14 years?

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My son (cat) (Billy) has been meowing about getting a faucet for years...bugged me in the bathroom sink ...bugged me in the kitchen sink. I wanted a cat fountain that looked good, wasn't plastic and was quiet. I GOT IT! :) Mother & son are now purrrrfectly happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Great Fountain

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MI
The last fountain we had for our two dogs and cat just recently gave out, so we decided to get them a new one. Overall, the Drinkwell Pagoda fountain is great, especially aesthetically. The only downside to it is that it is noticeably louder than our last fountain but it's not that big of a deal to us and you can only notice it when it is dead silent in our house...which is not often. All pets seem to love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fresh water easy clean

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
This was everything I wanted in a pet fountain, the only thing that kept me from buying it was the reviews on the water noise. I finally bought it 2 months ago. :) First, I live on hard well water and the plastic fountains were impossible to clean, this one is easy to clean -which I do as needed or once every week or two. Also, I have yet to have any water pressure/pump flow issues like my last one, thanks to the little thing that surrounds the pump to keep gunk/hair out. I have six (yes six... sigh) cats and all but one drinks out of it, each in their own way (bottom of bowl, waterfall, and top bowl) so it really works great. Now, to the noise, it does have two falling fountains that drop about two inches into the water bowl so there is water noise. I am a noise sensitive person, and the first several weeks, I would just unplug it when I went to sleep or if I was sitting right by it. Overall tho, it has been worth it. Only improvement would be to redesign the tower so the water hits the slope first which would soften the noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought this after buying for my mom's cats

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rio Rancho, NM
This is a great water fountain, the cats love it and it sounds like a trickling creek
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drinkwell Pagoda Fountain

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Valley, WA
Unit installed upon receipt three days ago. Material seems durable. Will await experience with three cats to ascertain resistance to previously encountered "crud" buildup with plastic based units.
At present time can only make a provisional positive recommendation based on visual & tactile experience during assembly and disbursal of unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started out okay...

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shelby Township, MI
I've had this fountain for a week, it worked really well for the first few days. The water flowed well, it wasn't loud, and my cat liked drinking from it. Two days ago the water went from a steady stream to a barely noticeable dribble. I thought it might be because the fountain needed to be cleaned, but that didn't help at all.
Since the point of these fountains is to keep your pets water clean, it doesn't seem worth having if the water is barely flowing through the filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy, lapping cats

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque NM
The fountain works really well and seems to encourage my cats to drink more water, which is good since one of them has the first stages of kidney failure. So far I've just washed it once and haven't changed any of the filters yet. It's something of a chore to clean, but I guess that's the nature of these fountains in general.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fountain

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I bought this fountain not only because it was one of only a few I could find that had an actual waterfall, but it matches my home decor as well. It looks great, is the perfect size for not only my cats but my dog to drink from as well, and has that great waterfall noise. It might annoy some but anyone with a fish hobby won't even notice it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than excellent!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lebanon, Ohio
This drinking fountain was a Christmas present for my pet family. While Jannie, an Aussie, stayed close by watching me set it up, Gillyflower, the cat, got interested when I poured in the water. But the dog was the first to get to it to try it out, and she just loves drinking from this. The cat plays and drinks, as cats will. I like that it is ceramic, no plastic to worry about, and is clean, quiet and just nice to see the gentle spill of the water. Overall this is a great success, don't know why I waited so long to get one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for picky cats

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Norfolk, VA
I have 3 cats who all have issues with drinking, one likes to test the water and tip the bowl over, another only likes dripping water from the sink, and the other only drinks water right after I've cleaned the bowl....this fountain solves all those problems by providing ample space and clean water without much hassel, and now I have happy cats!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the Best

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Plano Texas
This fountain my animals love. At first the cat only liked it, but now the dog drinks out of the fountain as well. I can tell they are both drinking alot of water because I add water to the fountain twice a day.
Originally I purchased a plastic fountain for the pets. It was horrible & smelled like fertilizer & made too much noise.
This fountain is beautiful & quality ceramic. It has a soft running water sound & the motor is undetectable. I simply love the fountain & so do our animals. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.