petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain

Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain

Dog or cat water fountain features free-falling streams that encourage your pet to drink moreIncludes charcoal filter that removes bad taste and odorsLovely porcelain design is more hygienic, easy to clean and looks great in your homeCirculating cat drinking fountain keeps water much fresher than standing bowl waterUpper and lower dish provides two drinking areas for pets
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Review 1 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and my cat loves it!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
We bought the Pagoda for our 13 year old torty who is battling 2 forms of cancer. The miracle medicine that's keeping her feeling just fine like nothing is wrong, Prednisalone, makes her drink like a fish. Anyway she was waking us up several times a night to run the sink water for her. For some reason she stopped drinking from a bowl. Years ago we had the plastic drinking fountain but it finally succumbed to mold that no matter how hard we tried to clean it, just wouldn't go away.
So, the pagoda itself - beautiful, well designed, and easy to clean. Our honry, thirsty kitty? She loves it. The minute we plugged it in, she went straight for it. She drinks from the bubbling top, from both sides, and the bottom. She also sits and stares at it. The sound is a little loud for me, but hubby loves it. Kitty is not waking us up any more. It is worth every penny even if we only have our wonderful kitty a few more months. It's a beautiful fountain on its own and would work well in an indoor garden setting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

How to slow water stream.

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Blue springs, Mo
I have only had this pagoda fountain for several days, and my cats are still unsure. I am mostly writing this to let people know that if they lift up the rubber grommet on one side, that will slow the flow of the fountain. I am hoping this will help my cats adjust to it. Will post more later on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Warranty not honored

PostedAugust 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fairmont,WV
I have had endless problems with the motors on both of my Petsafe Pagoda fountains. At one time, I was spending $80 a month for replacement filters for each fountain and trying to maintain proper care of the fountain. I have had the same issues with the motors (except for two just stopped working after I cleaned them and plugged them back in). You will spend endless amounts of time attempting to resolve issues with Petsafe until you are so frustrated that you are frightened to call because you know what you will have to endure. The motor stopped working on one and I was so afraid of calling again that I took the motor from newer one and just bumped my crew of seven down to one fountain. I mean, they throw a fit over an obviously cheap motor when they are out future purchases of filters. There are other people on a few of the pet sites I go to that have had the same problems and they just got tired of dealing with it as well, so they just stopped using their fountains. I guess they think I am doing something criminal with the motors. Hate to be treated this way.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Larger than expected

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from LA, Ca
It is definitely larger and more rectangular than expected, better for multiple pets I suppose. Set up was fairly simple and it seems to be running just fine. My cat loves it and started drinking from the top right away. I bought the unit strictly for its design, which (as a designer) looking at it now I could make a few improvements upon for better functionality, etc. Wish it was battery operated or came with a white power cord to match. The sound of running water is a bit noisy and I can hear it from my bedroom if the house is quiet enough, but the motor doesn't make any noise at all. The particular unit I received looks like it had been opened, the bottom of the fountain tower was scuffed and dirty and one corner was even chipped. Under the water it isn't noticeable and I've been waiting to purchase this fountain for so long that I'm just going to keep it. According to the instructions the water level has to be maintained at least 1" from the top or the motor will die out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic when it works!

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hampton Bays, NY
This is the best investment I ever purchased for my cats(fur babies)!
I bought it about 8 months ago, the motor is cutting out, it should last a lot longer than 8 months! It is Not loud at all, when it works! 1of my cats drags the bowls across the floor when she is bored! She can't do it to this fountain, thank goodness it's too heavy! I clean the fountain 2x a week. My cats are unusual, they put their feet in the fountain, so I have to clean it twice a week. The downside is the motor does not last! So now, I have to invest in another fountain, for another $100.00.
To me it is worth it. It saves me the trouble of constantly cleaning a slimy water bowl 5x a day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's great...when it works

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cherry Hill, NJ
We bought one that lasted about 2 or 3 months and then the motor stopped working. I saw other people had a similar issue. Petco was great with facilitating an exchange. The new one has been up and running for a few weeks, so far so good. All three cats love it and I am hoping it was just a defective unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando, FL
I have four cats, so they go through a pretty decent amount of water each day and small metal feeding bowls weren't cutting it. At first my husband gave me a lot of grief for investing almost $100 into a water fountain for the cats but, I wanted something that wouldn't be easily knocked over and I don't purchase plastic products. We both now agree that this is one of the best investments we've ever made for our cats. Once every two days or so I just pour a bottle of water into the fountain to keep it full. It's extremely quiet as long as you keep the fountain filled with a good amount of water. I love how aesthetically appealing the fountain is, we actually keep it on the counter and it looks like a decorative piece rather than a gross stagnant water bowl. The cats love it because it doesn't strain their necks to get the water, they just drink out of the top. I do buy the carbon filters for the water but, since I use bottled/filtered water in the fountain although I sanitize the fountain once a month, I only replace the filter once every 3 months or so. I feel like replacing it any sooner would just be a waste. If you're hesitating buying this product because of the price, I would just go ahead and buy it because the convenience of thing thing is well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Loud

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
It's a pretty piece. It's heavy enough that my cat can't drag it across the floor but the center piece is loose so he knocks that over. The water pours out pretty heavily which makes it very loud, louder than my previous water fountain. There's not much room for him to drink from the bottom so he forced to drink from the spout which doesn't pour out very far so its a little awkward for him to drink from it. It's easy to assemble and looks nice but I'm returning it due to the noise and awkward drinking position my cat has to be in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cats love it!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bethalto, IL
Very good quality! Sturdy and easy to clean. Cats adapted easily. One suggestion: widen area between fountain in middle and edge. Cats barely have room to drink out of sides and ours both avoid drinking out of the top trickling areas. Worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for cats

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
This fountain is great! My cats are drawn to it and don't take a bath while trying o see if there is water in it. My male cat use to be wet on his back and paws because he would stick them in the bowl first to make sure there was something in it. The result was water flying around when he shook his paw. Now he steps up and just drinks. So does my other cat The porcelain is nice and clean. Easy to maintain
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a Fountain!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gainesville, FL
My cat is hypersensitive to noise. When he was recently diagnosed with kidney problems the vet said he should drink as much water as possible. I tried large bowls, gravity water dishes and looked at fountains. The pump noise from a plastic fountain scared him. He wouldn't drink from it. I could not find one with a quiet pump but thought maybe if the pump was in a large reservoir made of something much thicker than plastic it might be quiet enough that he would drink from it. This one worked. I can't hear it running and he definitely prefers the filtered water. This is perfect for a scary cat who needs to drink more water. He also prefers to drink the water in a separate location from his food dish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Pump

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Palm Springs, CA
My first Drinkwell pump lasted over 5 years with 2 cats.
Got the Pagoda, same two cats and pump lasted 2 months.
Emailed PetSafe - they are giving me the run around on replacing the pump. Do this, soak that. Not one single piece of hair was in the pump. I use all the filters required. I don't think my cats saliva can cause the pump to malfunction this soon.
Like I said - first Drinkwell no problems with the pump.
Clearly they are using cheaper pumps and don't want to own up to the poor quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait 14 years?

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My son (cat) (Billy) has been meowing about getting a faucet for years...bugged me in the bathroom sink ...bugged me in the kitchen sink. I wanted a cat fountain that looked good, wasn't plastic and was quiet. I GOT IT! :) Mother & son are now purrrrfectly happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Great Fountain

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MI
The last fountain we had for our two dogs and cat just recently gave out, so we decided to get them a new one. Overall, the Drinkwell Pagoda fountain is great, especially aesthetically. The only downside to it is that it is noticeably louder than our last fountain but it's not that big of a deal to us and you can only notice it when it is dead silent in our house...which is not often. All pets seem to love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fresh water easy clean

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
This was everything I wanted in a pet fountain, the only thing that kept me from buying it was the reviews on the water noise. I finally bought it 2 months ago. :) First, I live on hard well water and the plastic fountains were impossible to clean, this one is easy to clean -which I do as needed or once every week or two. Also, I have yet to have any water pressure/pump flow issues like my last one, thanks to the little thing that surrounds the pump to keep gunk/hair out. I have six (yes six... sigh) cats and all but one drinks out of it, each in their own way (bottom of bowl, waterfall, and top bowl) so it really works great. Now, to the noise, it does have two falling fountains that drop about two inches into the water bowl so there is water noise. I am a noise sensitive person, and the first several weeks, I would just unplug it when I went to sleep or if I was sitting right by it. Overall tho, it has been worth it. Only improvement would be to redesign the tower so the water hits the slope first which would soften the noise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought this after buying for my mom's cats

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rio Rancho, NM
This is a great water fountain, the cats love it and it sounds like a trickling creek
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drinkwell Pagoda Fountain

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Valley, WA
Unit installed upon receipt three days ago. Material seems durable. Will await experience with three cats to ascertain resistance to previously encountered "crud" buildup with plastic based units.
At present time can only make a provisional positive recommendation based on visual & tactile experience during assembly and disbursal of unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Started out okay...

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shelby Township, MI
I've had this fountain for a week, it worked really well for the first few days. The water flowed well, it wasn't loud, and my cat liked drinking from it. Two days ago the water went from a steady stream to a barely noticeable dribble. I thought it might be because the fountain needed to be cleaned, but that didn't help at all.
Since the point of these fountains is to keep your pets water clean, it doesn't seem worth having if the water is barely flowing through the filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy, lapping cats

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque NM
The fountain works really well and seems to encourage my cats to drink more water, which is good since one of them has the first stages of kidney failure. So far I've just washed it once and haven't changed any of the filters yet. It's something of a chore to clean, but I guess that's the nature of these fountains in general.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Drinkwell Pagoda Porcelain Pet Drinking Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fountain

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I bought this fountain not only because it was one of only a few I could find that had an actual waterfall, but it matches my home decor as well. It looks great, is the perfect size for not only my cats but my dog to drink from as well, and has that great waterfall noise. It might annoy some but anyone with a fish hobby won't even notice it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>