petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System

Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System

The Doggie Dooley Toilet is like a miniature septic tank for your dog's wasteThis easy-to-install pet waste disposal system utilizes enzyme and bacteria action to reduce your pet's waste to a ground-absorbing liquid
Average Customer Rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Review 1 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Darn Dandy Doggie Dooley

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Otego, NY
This is the fourth time I have ordered this product. I get the larger one and it handles three dogs for about 5 years. After that time I remove and cover that area and start up another.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CO
I have two standard poodle puppies and the Doggie Dooley works great and keeps up with large amounts of waste. Hardest part of the project was deciding on a spot and digging the hole.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

doggie dooley

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
Installed and waiting to see how it works. Easy to put together. Hole was pretty deep to dig.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Meh, It does it's job

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hampton Roads, VA
Overall, I like the idea of having a place to put the dog waste that doesn't require me having to put it in the trash. I have 2 55lb dogs and a 20lb puppy so my yard was getting out of control. Digging the hole took a couple hours (recommend having a wheel barrel to put the dirt in), especially to get around roots and everything. I put it in, got it level, but when I piled the dirt back on, the sides caved in a little and broke the brace that was inside of it. It's fine but now the lid won't close all the way. I put a border and rocks around it so I don't run over it with the lawn mower. It's only been in-ground for a week and hopefully will take care of the piles of waste I put in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeping the Yard Clean

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pasadena, maryland
Best purchase ever. Now our doggie has her own septic system.. Saves us so much time. We just scoop and drop her business into the disposal system. Easy to setup and maintain and no odors. Fantastic!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lexington, SC
This has solved my problem with what to do with the waste! It has made a messy job a lot easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome product

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, Ohio
I purchased this for my dog so I could keep him from going after my cats & other much smaller dog. It works wonderfully! Highly recommend it's product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-24points
3of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I thought of it

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
this product is amazing. my backyard/garbage always smells. There are two dogs living in my house so between the smell and the flies it is just horrible to sit outside. I am sure my neighbors aren't thrilled either. No more smell and no more flies. Luv it!
One issue - digging the hole. My soil is very rocky and the amount of blisters I had on my hands afterwards was horrible - that is not the products fault but just realize that a hole will have to be dug so you might want to line someone up to dig it for you depending on your soil type.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doogie Dooley Set-up in rocky yard

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, Ca
Doggie Dooley recommends that water should last a minimum of 24 to 48 hours before being absorbed into ground. This requirement is perhaps the most prevalent issue as to the success of the system.
I live in southern California where the soil is a sandy loam for 6 inches on top followed by hard clay mixed with sand and various rock sizes. At 20 inches the ground is predominately packed with large hard rocks. The Doggie Dooley model I have is 20 inches square at the bottom and stands 25 inches with the 8 inch skirt on the bottom.
I used a digging bar to crack through the rocks and pry them out. The problem I have is the base will not hold water more than 30 minutes. The water leaks through the cracks between the large rocks (mostly 20 to 40 pounders).
Therefore I leveled off at 26 inches (hard work indeed) and then poured a 2 inch slab of concrete. I put a 4 inch plastic sewer pipe fitting in the center to allow some drainage through bottom center. I then pressed the Doggie Dooley into the wet cement. I also back filled the outsides with 3 inches of concrete. This was to hold three to four inches of water before seeping through the cracks in the plastic skirt.
I will tell you how this revised construction works next month. I am hoping, because it was a lot of blood sweat and tears to make it (without help from any undocumented labor).
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
14of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, lid issues

PostedJune 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
I love that I have somewhere to put my dogs waste that also is good for the soil. I put it next to my dogs potty area which makes it even easier.
My only issue is the lid. There is a lip to step on to open, but it doesn't actually open the top. It bends and seems like it will break before it actually opens. I end up having to pry it open with my shoe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste System

PostedJune 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
Overall, this unit was easy to set up. Took about 30 minutes. It's big and I am not looking forward to digging the hole it's going to have to go into.
The only issue I have with the unit is the lid. It should securely snap into place, at the moment, it is not closing shut all the way and well, you can imagine, it's going to smell and attract flies and they will be able to go right in under the open lid. I'll have to put a rock on the lid or something to hold it shut. Not sure why the unit would not have had some sort of mechanism in place to hold it shut.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad purchase

PostedMay 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
A real pain to put together and very flimsy. All plastic. When I buried it and started to refill with dirt I made the mistake of stepping too close to the edge and the plastic form holders gave way. Total waste of a lot of time and effort. Better off cutting the bottom off of a small metal garbage can.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Backyard Addition

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MN
Shipping was very fast.
Product arrived in relatively small box.
Assembly was easy and fairly quick.
The only hard part is digging the hole. One basically digs a 2X2X2 foot hole (with an optional additional 10"diameter by 18" deep hole at the bottom). Be sure to carefully cut away sod so that it can be relaid around the approx. 10" sq. lid (the only part visible above surface after backfilling).
Once installed, this product makes keeping the yard clean as easy as possible. I couple a small petco p**p rake with the little collection pan/rake included with the dooley. It is great to be able to scoop up a load, walk to the dooley lid, step on the back of the lid to open, and dump the p**p. I've dumped directly into compost heaps in the past, and this actually seems easier, probably because the waste (p**p--a word not allowed by this review system) is out of sight and out of smell after dumping.
Maintenence is as easy as a spooning in the enzyme mix and adding water a couple of times a week.
I have two medium sized dogs, and the model 3800 seems to be more than sufficient.
Great product.
Great price from Petco.
At my door within 4 days of ordering (without paying for any shipping/shipping upgrade).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The Soil is the key

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
I have had this product twice. The first time I had one I had really nice “dirt” that it was installed in. The unit was able to retain the water long enough to digest quickly. This was in Florida and even the HOT summer did not smell. I recently moved and decided to get another unit. This one has not worked at all and I would say it has to do with the soil. I now live in an area where the soil is very sandy and fine. I will fill up the water level and it is gone in less then an hour. Even the rainy season didn’t help. The Doggie Dooley is now totally full of dog droppings and I can no longer use it. Also the “step-on” lid broke (a rivet popped) before I even finished the install. I have not been able to figure out any way for it to hold the water longer which would help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me.

PostedJanuary 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
My soil is too fast, I guess. I would fill up the unit with water, and within minutes it was empty again. So I dug it up and planted a tree in the big gaping hole it left behind.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes effort, but well worth it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
My husband and I love this thing. We installed it in July and it's awesome! We have two dogs and you could never tell looking at our yard. They poo, we rake it up, and into the dooley. No more awful odor from bags baking in the garbage can sitting in the hot sun! The garbage men even noticed a difference. I'm sure the neighbors are happier, too. I constantly promote this system to other dog owners.
Yes, you do have to fill it up with water once a day, but it's a septic system. Of course they depend on water. Just be sure to install you system within range of a waterhose. We turn it on to fill when we let the dogs out in the morning. By the time the dogs are done, it's almost full. We just turn the water off, and put the hose up. We add enzymes weekly. We planted flowers around the lid to avoid running it over with the lawnmower. The flowers look fantastic and well fertilized. I have no complaints with this thing. It has saved us money on those bags.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

PostedJune 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Northbrook, IL
Assembly was fairly simple; I recommend a cordless drill over a screwdriver though. Digging the hole was the hardest part - the hole needs to be big and deep. The hole aside, the dooley is great! No more garbage cans full of poo (offending the neighbors and the poor garbage man). This really is a brilliant product and environmentally friendly too. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Ever Purchase

PostedJune 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
This is a waste of money. Water drains right out, does not stay long enough to digest stools, product is made of cheap plastic, and is hard to keep square so lid will close when you install it. You can do a better job with a plastic 5 gallon paint bucket with holes drilled in the sides. SAVE YOUR MONEY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedSeptember 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
I have had trouble with the drainage. I guess it drains too well. I have to add water more often, but I still love it. My biggest problem is that someone ran over the cover with a lawn mower and cracked it. I can't seem to find where to purchase another cover. Even the Doggie Dooley web site didn't have just the cover. By the way - PETCO is almost half the price that it is on the Doggie Dooley web site.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doggie Dooley Toilet Prism Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea but drainage issues

PostedMarch 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Australia
The idea of this is great but I had heaps of problem with drainage. Water would disappear within seconds of filling the hole. Must be the sandy Australian soil. I added pebbles and gravel as a base but within 10 minutes the water would still disappear and the unit is dry. I used the unit anyhow and everyday need to refill water. Not sure if this means the enzyme has gone as well and needs to be re added. I havent been readding the enzyme. The waste level seems to be raising so not sure if it is working. But if your soil and drainage works it is a easy and clean way for disposal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>