petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball

Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball

Provides hours of mental & physical stimulationTough, puncture resistant materials are virtually indestructibleKeeps your dog occupied while you're awayHelps prevent destructive boredom behaviorsDishwasher safe for cleaning convenience
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Review 1 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps dog's attention

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln NE
Great product! It was recommended to me by a friend and I see why. I have a 60# boxer who destroys most toys but this one takes him awhile. Great for when I have company and want him to leave us alone, I just give him the groovy ball and off he chews!
I would recommend for aggressive chewers - get the correct size toy for your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a treat toy that works!

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Somers, NY
Our 32lb. terrier mix makes quick work of most chew toys. I've tried other brands, but she ends up chewing off the rubber while working on the treat. This is the first treat toy that can withstand her chewing and it takes her almost an hour to get the treat out, which is exactly what we needed to keep her attention when left alone since she has some anxiety.
Yes, it is hard to get the treat into the toy, but if it went in too easily it would come out easily too. So, I am happy to spend the minute or two it takes to get the treat securely into the toy if that means it will keep her occupied longer! Here's the trick: slide one quarter of the treat into the hole then use the tail end of a spoon to stretch the rubber upward as you work your way around the opening pushing the treat in as you go. Takes less than a minute!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't last

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Medford, OR
I have a 40 pund dog and I first got the one recommended for his size and he got the treat out in about 1 minute and simply ate the whole treat. So then I got the next size up... same thing. quite a waste of money for me... even my little 12 lb dog got his treat out of the appropriate size toy for him...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite of my dog.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
My dog loves Star Mark toys. We have them in different sizes. We got this in a small and he enjoys bouncing it around the house along with enjoying the treat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bakersfield, CA
We have an English Pointer, just now a year old, who destroys EVERYTHING! This is the ONLY toy/chew that we have purchased that has survived him!!! The only negative I would say is that treat that is made for the ball is hard to put in and doesn't last long. I started taking regular dog bones (like a Milkbone) and break it into 2 or 3 pieces and put them inside the ball. It entertains him for 30 minutes to an hour. I have now purchased another one... just in case I can't find the other.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Loves and Lasts

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My dog can devour chews or he will get bored with them. He loves the groovy ball. It will keep him occupied for hours until he is tired enough to take a nap then he starts in on it again.
It is a little difficult to put refills in but I used a bicycle tire lever which made it pretty easy.
I just wished Petco sold the refills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Monrovia, Ca
This was by far one of my most frustrating purchases in my entire life. Awesome toy, but refilling the treat is a NIGHTMARE.
I've literally had to run water on the treat to reduce the size, then had to cut the edges to make it fit. After several on and off sessions (because I've pushed so hard with my thumbs they began to cramp) I finally got it to fit.
I NEVER WRITE REVIEWS, BUT HAD TO SPREAD THE WORD AND SAVE YOU ALL FRUSTRATION.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this on clearance with extra treat inserts just to try it out, AMAZING. Keeps all my dogs busy (shepherd, lab, and russell) and they love to chew. Minor tearing on the rubbery part but quite hardy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Australian Cattle Dog loves this toy!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
This toy keeps my ACD busy for hours. She loves this toy so much. Wasnt to sure at first how she would like it but I am so happy that I got her this toy. She hasnt really chewed on the toy itself just the treat. Would recommend to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice sturdy treat, poor quality toy

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area, Ca
The treat lasted my Boxer/Pointer puppy about 45 minutes, which lasted longer than his Kong treat toy. But the rubber toy was shredded the very first time he chewed on it. Very poor quality, and given the reviews on the other Star Mark toys, I probably won't bother to purchase another unless they were on clearance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lab loves the ball

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
The dental treat part only lasted about 30 minutes but the ball works great to put treats in, play with, and entertain her. The ball works well to throw, and she drops it to try to get treats to come out, and uses her intellect in various ways to figure out how to get to the treats. If you put in treats they can't get out, put peanut butter on the top inside so they can get them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GROOVY IS BEST MODEL OF THESE

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SC
THE GROOVY IS THE ONLY ONE OF THE 3 DIFFERENT STYLES I BOUGHT THAT ACTUALLY HELD THE TREAT FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. None of them hold the treat long enough to be a long lasting entertainment toy but the Groovy did the best . The others, I could have just bought the refill and handed it to my dogs. Took my lab mixes about 5 minutes to get the treat out of the ball and then chew it up. They have no interest in the ball without the treat in it so big waste of money. Tried to reinsert the 1/2 round treat back into the ball but they got it right back out quickly. I would not recommend any of the balls except the Groovy since they do not hold the treats in place which defeats the purpose of a long play entertainment type toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FUN, FLEXIBLE ENTERTAINMENT

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
So far , so good (only had it 2 days). Our 40 # rescue dog, Tootsie. LOVES this toy! She chews on it for long periods. And her tenacity to go after the treats inside is great. The purchased dental treats are good, but a bit pricey as they don't last that long. We'll only use them occasionally. A great product we've found to stuff inside that takes a bit to get out are dried duck breast pieces. Now, let's see how it holds up - it is very soft, so I'm a bit cautious, which is why I gave 4 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Star Mark Everlasting Treat Groovy Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for problem solving power chewers!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have a year old South African Boerboel. He's the epitome of a power chewer. He's also very intelligent. I purchased the bento ball and the everlasting treat ball before I purchased the groovy ball. He got the everlasting treat out of both the everlasting treat ball and the bento ball really easily. He's also pretty much destroyed the bento ball. In short, while those are both great toys, they just didn't cut it for my powerful problem solver. This groovy ball is PERFECT! In my opinion, it's much more durable and challenging than the other two. If you have a powerful chewer who needs to be kept busy, this is definitely the toy to get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.