petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System

Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System

Safe and convenient dog waste disposal systemUtilizes enzymes and bacteria to reduce dog waste to a ground-absorbing liquidDoggie Dooley plastic septic tank and steel tank is easy to installHarmless to pets, lawns and shrubsHelps control odors and keep your lawn clean
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 out of 25(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Review 1 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
This is a great way to dispose of dog waste. It was easy to install and is easy to use. I would definitely buy another one of these if I move to a new house at some point.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW Awesome!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, WA
I have had waste disposal systems before and was surprised when I received this one in the mail. It was larger than the last one I had, and it was made out of tough tough plastic! The one I had previously was a much thinner plastic and the lid broke off not long after we installed it. Installation was quick and super easy and I love that I can walk by it and there is no smell of waste.
I am more than satisfied with the system! I would totally recommend this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! LOVE IT

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from RI
I have two 100 lb dogs & a fenced in yard. I used to bag their waste every day & put in trash. This method was very smelly & attracted flies & bugs. Terrible in the summer time, could not use the back yard. After installing doggie dooley- no smell, no bugs & such a time saver. You don't even know that the dooley is there. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Simple to install & to use, and purchase price was cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
36of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Disposal Ever

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Michigan USA
I love this product. Saw it on TV a long time ago. Recently put in a fenced potty area for my pups and wanted to keep it clean. This is just the tool. So easy to install, and looks really nice in the yard. Absolutely love this. Works like a charm. So happy it is made in the USA. Thanks for a great product I am proud to own. All my pet owner friends are coming over to check it out and they also love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
10of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works fine

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great idea for pet waste. It's a little slow working at times. I've leanred to add warm water to the system, not right out of the hose. Easy to follow instructions, dig a hole, add digester and warm water every week. I bought the larger model to keep up with my 10 month old, 122# Yellow lab "Dozer". See how happy he is...
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-8points
19of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have two dogs now and this product is great and I'm sorry I didn't get it sooner. It disposes of the waste easily and the trash can now only has trash in it and doesn't smelll as bad as it did before. Thank you for carrying this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stinky

PostedMay 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ok, this is a decent product if you like lots of digging on the forefront. You have to dig a four foot hole 14 inches wide for this thing. The platic is not going to last in the sunlight and the galavized container will eventually rust out (they should have made it all one piece molded plastic that will withstand sunlight). Once installed seemes to work. The enzymes (only two table spoons) actally triple within 30 munites. The only thing is it claims not to smell but when you open the lid, OMG! the smell will knock you down. You must add a gallon of water each time poo is added (daily). It definately breaks down the poo and when you add water it washes down the tube and drains into the 4ft hole to be absorbed by the earth. I can only give it fair because it is cheaply made and does not live up to the "odorless" claim. Otherwise it does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedApril 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati, Oh
Love this, the only suggestion I have in choosing from the different sizes, realize the dimensions and remember that the hole has to be much deeper than the Doggie Dooley is tall and wide! Other than that, it has been great, the yard has never smelled better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Just received the doggie dooley waste system. It is compact, well designed and easy to install. I wish we had gotten it sooner. A great value for the price.
BillandKathy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A year later and still loving it!

PostedJuly 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
A year and another dog later, we still love the doggie dooley!! I swear it is the best invention in petcare. We have the prism system, but it wouldn't let me do another review on that product. We initially had 2 dogs, but inherited a 3rd this past February. They weigh 13, 19, and 55 lbs. The doggie dooley is still handling the waste well. Our soid drains fast, but it still digests. In fact, we sometimes forget to add water daily. It still works. As far as odor, I haven't noticed anything major. Of course when you open it to deposit new waste, there may be a whiff; however, but it is very minor compared to poo in baggies. As long as the lid stays closed, there is no odor. We love it, love it, LOVE IT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedOctober 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
I give this product a fair rating. Because my neighbors homes are in close proximity to mine, I tried to find a place in the yard that would not be offensive to them. I dug the hole, and began using the system. The enzymes do break up the waste into water. When you add water to the system every day, it does overflow into the ground. I planted decorative grasses around it so it would not look like a sunken garbage can in my yard. I have a golden retriever and a chocolate lab. The Dooley handles the waste just fine.
The only problem I have, is that I cannot always add water to the system every day. I am not sure if this is adding to the more serious problem, of odor. The odor in the Dooley is very offensive. If I add more enzyme to the system, it has no effect on the smell.
I too live in a climate where the temperatures fall below 40 degrees for a good 4 months of the year. So the Doggie Dooley hybernates until spring.
While reading everyone's reviews of this produce, almost everyone mentioned that there was no odor or smell. What am I doing wrong? If there is a breeze when I am adding the waste and water to the system, the offensive smell is everywhere. It is bad enough for me to consider disposing of the Dooley and going back to using scented garbage bags.
I know this system has been around for ages, but I believe that a few things need to be 'tweaked' before the Dooley is up to the standards that are advertised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and efficient use.

PostedSeptember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Very pleased with this product. My only recommendation is that the use of a post hole digger is mandatory. I dug to three feet with a spade but it was impossible to get to four feet without the right tool for the job. I now have a post hole digger and a functional doggy dooley!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea, but...

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
I wasn't able to dig a hole deep enough on my property to use this product! I wish I could have, though, because it would have saved me a FORTUNE in baggies!! :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Traverse City, MI
wonderful product--works great even in clay soils--don't know how we managed before the dooley.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Smelly Trash

PostedAugust 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Littleton, MA
I have been using this now for the whole Summer and very glad to report its more pleasant than throwing the stuff in the trash.
We do still have to pick up the dog stuff from the lawn, but at least it doesn't sit around for a week stinking up the trash.
Seems to work really well. No smell, no mess. Good product; I have told all my friends with dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedJuly 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Yonkers, NY
Really love this product. Took me a while to put it in the yard. But what a great idea. Especially with the hot weather, the garbage did not stink nearly as bad this last time around - no dog stuff!
Thank you Doggie Dooley.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Doo

PostedJuly 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
I was really happy to find this product on-line. I had not seen it in the PetCo Stores. It makes clean up much nicer; and trash day is not nearly as stinky.
Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Dooley

PostedJune 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Manitowoc, WI
I did not realize that I had to dig a hole so deep! That took a while. I had to borrow a post hole digger from the neighbor. That worked a lot better than the shovel. Otherwise, it seems to work pretty well. We just have the one dog, but it sure beats putting the stuff in a grocery sack in the trash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doggie septic

PostedJune 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Naples, FL
This thing is great! My sister-in-law had one and said it worked great, so I bought one too. It took a little doing to dig the hole, but seems to work fine. I ran it over with the riding mower and broke the lid. So be careful.
Now if I can just get my dog to go in it my yard will be perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doggie Dooley Pet Waste Disposal System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pet Poop

PostedJune 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Reno, NV
This thing works better than I expected, as it sounded too good to be true. The hole took a while to dig, but after some sweat and a beer or two, it was done. The plastic circle thing that holds it above ground seemed a bit flimsy and could be thicker. But overall, its been just as advertised - no mess, no fuss. Takes some doing as you have to add water with a hose and remember to add the chemical. But it sure beats leaving a bag full of stuff by the sidewalk for a week till trash day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>