petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar

Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar

Prong training collars help you control even the most stubborn dogOffers gentle, effective controlCustom sizing through adding or removing linksConstructed of high strength polymer for durability
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 out of 10(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Review 1 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this collar for my german shepherd. It did not work at all. He continued to pull and jump even with the collar on. The collar did not appear to have any effect on him. Will be returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Star Mark Pro-Training Collar

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
Before I purchased this training collar I had been using the metal prong one and would recommend this one you will be so-so happy you did. The metal one was very hard to take apart and would bind up no problem with the Star Mark .I give it 5 stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for training

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lafayette, La
this collar is great for training. it helps me stay in control without harming my American Bulldog.
for those who say the links are hard to remove/add, it has to be - if it weren't my dog would break it easily.
a really Good Collar!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the collar

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WI
I use the collar for obedience classes, and walking. It works great,the only bad thing is it's hard to get it apart. There should be an easier way to get the links apart to put around the dog's neck.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albuquerque, NM
The Petco Dog Trainer suggested this collar for my dog. Small was too small, so I ordered the large--there is no medium. Very stiff when removing links. I'm probably not using it exactly as recommended because I have to leave enough room to take it off over my dog's ears; I don't have the strength in my hands to press and release the collar to open it up. That being said, IT WORKS! A gentle tug and command has my Alpha dog minding immediately and responding to appropriate commands. I definitely would recommend it if you're looking for a gentle but effective control collar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wish it was better

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Longmont, CO
I have purchased three of these and I'm now done. The first one came on a recommendation from my trainer. They work great, applying pressure when the dog pulls. The problem is they are made of plastic and the teeth that connect the links break very easily. I have lost two collars when my dog was playing in the snow because the links broke and came off. As my drill instructor used to say....great initiative poor judgement (or in this case, execution).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cheap

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Montana
I'm sorry to say that this is a very cheaply made item..My husband already broke it trying to get it apart to put onto our dog that is an American Staffshire Terror. Also if u have arthritis in your hands ..specially in the thumb area, its impossible to open it and close it. I'm really disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
This collar seemed like a good idea but broke the first time being used. Might be better for smaller dogs, but it certainly didn't work on my GSD puppy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Immediate change

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Salem AR
My 10-month old mini Aussie has loads of energy; training him not to jump or lunge has been a challenge. The first time out with this collar his behavior began to change. Great device.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Star Mark Pro-Training Dog Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Training Collar makes the grade!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dayton Ohio
Pro:
~The cost of this product is fair.
~The collar has adjustable sections to fit the diameter of a growing dogs neck. No fear he will grow out of the collar.
~Is perfect for Large / XLarge breeds. Currently using it with our Doberman 75 lbs.
~Works great alone, or with body harness, service vest concert.
~Dark collar makes it hard to see with dark haired dogs, and fits nicely under a service vest.
~Comes with a back-up leash tether.
~Comes with easy to read instructions with pictures.
Cons:
~I have not found a negative of this product.
Summary:
I purchased this collar aid to assist in training our Doberman SDIT. The results were immediate. From simple halts to people sniffing in stores, to rabbit lunges, this collar work great. The design allows for quick release, which makes it better than metal chains that look aggressive and can bind, and not release from the dogs neck until they shake their neck. This training collar has a super smooth release and grip, which is a must for quick response training. The color and shape does not appear to the on looker as a choker collar. Thi collar is perfect for Low Stress Training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.