petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate

Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate

Easy to set up with the fold-and-carry configurationUp and away door conveniently slides and stows overheadDivider panel lets you control dog crate sizeComposite plastic pan makes cleaning up accidents easyPlastic handle for carrying
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Review 1 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas,Tx
I love this crate I have a 17lb maltipoo but he's a busy body and very smart. He knew how to unlock his old crate which was a size small. But this crate has a different type of door and lock so he can't let hisself out anymore. And the size of course is great because he likes to lay flat on his tummy. Lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect crate!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from McHenry, IL
This crate is perfect for a growing puppy. I love the extra wall that you can move back as he/she continues to grow. Also, the door slides up, rather than out which is a great space saver!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought one of these for my puppies because they didn't seem to like the more closed in (travel) crate that a friend had give to us. They absolutely love this one! They liked it so much that when they got too big to fit both of them in there I got another one.
Like other reviews said the safety catch to keep you from dropping the door on the dog can be annoying, but it's better than dropping the door on your dog :)
I have the memory foam mat in the bottom of the crate (also from PetCo) and a cooling mat. When I say crate they leap into this little guy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crate

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
Easy set up, saves space in the house by not having a big swinging door. Using the 36" for a pit bull mix 50-60 lbs. He loves it it's his "room". Had to purchase as a replacement for the fabric zip crate our presa canairo ate, plan on purchasing the next size up for him as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is about time

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
We have two small dogs and living in a loft. With the regular dog crates, the doors in the open position would get into the way and take up much needed spaces. The ability to open the doors by pulling them up and then folding them on top of the crates is great. No more tripping over open doors!!!! We brought two before and like it so much that we brought two more for travel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
This is a terrific metal crate. It's a good size, and it's very easy to assemble and disassemble for travel. I love the fold up door for space-saving anytime-access for my dog. The door slides up and down without any trouble. My dog can see her surroundings, but she still seems to feel safe and protected. Her food and water bowls attach to the crate securely.
I have two problems with the crate. The first is the safety feature on the door that is supposed to keep it from crashing down on the dog. It requires me to use two hands to open the door. I have actually decided to tape this feature to the door. This disables the safety feature, but I'm pretty sure I'll never need it anyway. The handle is what keeps the dog from being able to push the door up, and that will not be effected.
The second problem I have with the crate is the noise. I've never had a swing open door, so I can't compare the two, but opening this crate door is really loud. The overall crate is loud when my dog moves around at night. I'm not sure if anything could be done about this issue.
Overall, I recommend this crate. I got an unbeatable deal from Petco, and the two problems I have with it aren't deal breakers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
Great product to use at home or when traveling. Once I mastered the initial setup, it was easy to collapse for travel & set up again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic idea, saves space!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arvada, CO
The crates with the door that slides up and out of the way are great! It is so nice not to have the door in the way when it is open. We use the crate to contain the dog at night, and as a "house" during the day, so the door needs to be open all day. The other kind of door (opening horizontally) would never work for this, it would always be in the way when open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tried two of them and not satisfied with them

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
We really wanted a crate that had a door that opened up to save us space. There are very few crates that are made like this. We first ordered the smaller version. Opening the door was a bit noisy and we decided to instead order the larger crate. The second crate came and it almost seemed like it was used before. The door didn't slide into place easily and you had to wiggle and jiggle it to get it to fall into place. It seemed like something was out of alignment. We returned both to a Petco store which was very convenient. They accepted both items. Just be sure to use the petco website to print out a "return receipt". You cannot just print your shipping email and use that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good value

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Central Florida
The best thing about this carrier is the up and over door.
you can keep the door open for your dog with out having the door swinging open and closed and getting in the way.
The over all quality is average for an inexpensive cage.
It was easy to assemble , I only wish it was available in a heavier gauge wire and "gold anodized" finish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Ovation Single Door Folding Dog Crate
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not strong enough for my dog

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
I purchased this crate because of the design. I liked that the door slid up a track and laid on top of the crate and out of the way. However, maybe it's my insanely strong dog, that I'm fostering right now with separation anxiety, but she got out the 1st time we left her home. We bought d-rink clips and added those to the door and crate, she broke a d-ring and squeezed out. Now the door is bent and warped from her getting out, and barely slides through the track anymore. We now have purchased 6 baby masterlocks to secure the door in the track. I understand we have a unique situation here, but Im shocked that a 70lb dog can push the door right out of the track so easily. Maybe the track should be wider? Just a thought.. Otherwise it was super easy to put together and set up. We have zip tied the front and back panels on so she can't push them off.. which she could before. Other than that she loves the crate, hangs out in it when we are in the room no problem, just won't relax when we are out of sight.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.