petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen

Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen

Wire dog play pen with rust-resistant finishPortable and easy-to-assemble dog exercise pen – no tools requiredEight 24" wide panels fold flat for convenient transport and storageVariety of heights accommodates various pets and pet sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Review 1 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Pen

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
AJ2014
from Idaho
I am using this for a puppy. I have it on my kitchen floor as an area for the dog to be when he sleeps at night or during the day. It is very easy to setup or take down and you can move it around to shape it how you'd like with the 8 panels. It has a swing open door that has a latch. You can leave the door open if you want your dog to have access to walk in and out or you can close it. My puppy likes it also. When he's tired he will just go right to the pen to sleep. He is able to easily push it around the kitchen, (I have hardwood floors), but you can easily put something to block this from sliding or even have a piece of carpet put under the pen which is what I've done and he's not purshing it around. For me this is a temporary use because my puppy is a X-Large breed of dog and he can easily hop up on the side if he wants and one day may be able to knock it over. I'm using this while training him so I can have him stay in one area when I need him there. Plus when he's in his pen he can easily see me. This is a great product for a puppy or small dog. For a large dog it will soon become too small of an area but overall this dog pen works very well for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have used it for years...

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
FullHouseCatsOverDogs
from Florida
We have had three 36" high sets of this Precision brand fencing for over fifteen years. We first bought it to keep Springer Spaniel pups on the vinyl flooring of our home for easier cleaning until they were house broken. After the pups were adopted out the fencing also worked nicely for containing the adult spaniel during our camping outings.
We have used this 36" fencing for several years in our present home to keep the cats from pressing against the patio screen and eventually making a hole at the edge. The fencing has to be pressed tightly against the screen frame, however, because two of the three cats won't hesitate to climb over the fence.
We recently bought the 48" because we have larger dogs now. The fencing keeps the dogs away from areas of the house where we prefer not have them. The gate that is in the fencing is a nice added feature since our first purchase of many years ago.
While the lightweight portability of these fences is great, I would never leave pets unsupervised in one of the fences. As mentioned, cats and possibly some dogs will climb over, even the 48" fence. I also have no doubt that, if excited, our 65 lb shepherd would knock the fence over.
Overall, we're very happy with this product. It can also be secured at each end, to cross a room, with screw eyelets that are available at a hardware store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd one!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
MomofPom
from Florida
We bought one of these for our mini schnauzer and wanted another for my pomeranian. They are great for camping as they clip together easily and make a wonderful safe, large area for our babies to play. At home we use them in lieu of kennels to separate them and keep them safe when we are away. Good quality and extremely easy to transport.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Indoor or Outdoor

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
LhasaPillow
from Hawaii
I bought two of these to keep boys separated from girls when the girls come into season. I put them up in my den. The bottom wire has plastic sleeves that prevent it from scratching the tile floor. The 30 inch tall model is high enough to keep them from jumping out. I use the 24 inch model outside as a puppy pen where mamma dog, a 14-lb Lhasa, can jump over the side and out when she's had enough of the babies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for bunnies

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
britgirl69
from New York, NY
I love precision x-pens. I use them to protect my rabbit from my mischievous cat. The cat cannot scale the 36 incher and it gives bunny lots of safe time when I'm out. They are a nice heavy weight, excellent door, easy to take down, easy to put up, store flat. very high quality. I just wish they still made the gold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product has great quality

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
petie2lily2shop
from las vegas nv
bought (2) to use as a fence and or pen in future , units are versatile . love the silver finish . keeps dogs away from digging at plant roots! price was sweet and delivery (5) days =nice
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very satisfied

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
morganduke
from Enfield ct
Love this excercise pen. Allows my dog to go off the deck and remain safe. The fast free shipping was great. Very satisified.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

GARBAGE

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
mdbigsur
from carmel, ca
Bought this for our indoor rabbit. Unit is extremely cheaply made, extremely flimsy and has sharp edges.
Save yourself the gas and time, get the Midwest "Life Stages" model with the new handle design.
Cons:
1. Flimsy
2. Sharp edges
3. Panels came bent or warped
Pros:
NONE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Khone
from Banning,ca
It's so convenient and my dog loves it!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works for our small dog

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
mfrisch
We attached two of these together and now our dog has plenty of room to move around when outside during the day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what was expected

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
gunnybunny
I ordered this pen for my rabbit and it had worked perfectly. It's the right size for him, plenty of space to move around and for his litter box, house and toys. It is well made and solid. The door must be unlocked and lifted in order for it to open which would be good for pets that bash their way out of pens. It is easy to fold up and move when needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Flimsy

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
bunnybuddy
from Cardiff, CA
Precision wire exercise pens used to be the best, but then a couple years ago they switched to a thinner gage wire. Now they are too flimsy. The panels aren't even straight anymore... there's a slight curve to them which looks strange when they are in a square or rectangle configuration. I have these pens set up inside my home to house my rabbits, so I do actually care about how they look.The new wire gage also makes the door harder to latch and unlatch. I used to recommend this pen to many people, but I just can't recommend them anymore. I hope Precision will switch back to the thicker gage wire.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to set up

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
DOOl
from CALIFORNIA
this is compact and very easy to set up. I bought a second one and use it to section off my yard to keep my dog on one side while i am at work. the neighbors thank me
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very pleased with them.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luckii
from MD
These silver ones replaces the gold ones Petco carried. I bought a gold one a few years ago and it is made with bars with a thicker or heavier gauge. My older 30"H weighs more than the current model in a 36"H. You may have to train your dog or other pet and get it to be accustomed to staying inside of one. I hope these pens are treated with something so they do not corrode or rust easily.
They need to carry the metal and fabric tops for the ex pens for the dogs that may jump or climb out of these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doggoneit8532
from Denver, CO
Poor quality for the price, wobbly, thin and pinches fingers when folding. Returned immediately.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precision Pet Eight Panel Silver Wire Pen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy, inexpensive playpen

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Krismina
from Brooklyn, NY
Bought this for my 8 month old Shepherd Mix puppy and it is great. I love the door and the fact that each panel has recessed fasteners at the bottom to protect my hardwood floors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.