petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels

The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels

We've got your pet's ticket for a luxury ride in this airline pet carrier The Sherpa-On-Wheels has a roomy, comfortable interior for your pet and recessed easy-glide wheels for smooth travelAirline approved dog carriers for in-cabin useWashable faux lambskin liner with removable, waterproof travel trayLocking zippersRoll-down privacy flapsFour mesh panels for ventilation
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Review 1 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
loveourpet
from central Florida
Haven't used the carrier yet for travel, looks very well constructed with zippers, ventilation windows, handles and wheels. We pulled our little dog around the house and patio, it rolled easily and she seemed comfortable. Has a nice soft bed. Our dog and we like the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sherpa on Wheels

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luv2fly
from Boston
Purchased this to replace the one I purchased in the spring without wheels, to make airport travel easier. The new bag looked the same, when compared with the one without the wheels. Unfortunately, when I put the dog in the carrier, he was sticking out of the top; he did not sit down in the bag as he does in the one without the wheels. The problem is, when adding the wheels they took out an inch or more in the height of the bag on the inside. I had to take it back and use my original purchase. I have no complaint about the bag, it was made exactly like the my original one, sturdy and comfortable for the dog. I purchased a luggage carrier with wheels and put the Sherpa carrier on it; it works fine. The bag I purchased is a medium; my dog is 11 inches high from shoulder to floor and weighs 14 lbs. I took it on Jet Blue in the spring; pushed the top down to get it under the seat (only one end is soft to push down, other end has a frame). I would have preferred the large but Jet Blue has an 8.5 inch height; afraid to take a chance that they would not let me fly with the larger one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I wish it was larger.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snork
from Pittsburgh, PA
This carrier seems well made and has some nice features. I haven't actually used it yet. However, I purchased the large sized carrier, and it is a very close fit for my Norwegian forest cat who weighs 16 lbs. and is 20 inches long. I would really like to see this carrier made in a larger size because I need a carrier with wheels. The cat and carrier combined are simply too much weight for me to carry. This is the only pet carrier I was able to find with wheels.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag on wheels!

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
OwnerMiniDoxies
from Henderson, NV
Our puppies are getting used to the bags as we are a week from leaving on a long haul flight. They must think its comfy because they are walking right into it for naps! Test driving this on carpet and on stone floors was a cinch with the straps securely attached to the bottom of one end of the bag. I like that you can raise the sides of the bag so my pups will be comfortable with the experience of being in it for a while during this long trip. Material is great and sturdy. This bag is several points up from the Sherpa bag we used to carry our other dog for 17.5 years on domestic and international flights! Love the bags - will let you know more after we get back from the trip!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultimate Sherpa Bag on Wheels

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
ArrowV2
from Mahwah, NJ
This bag has great features & is made very well however it states it is good for dogs up to 22lbs. My dog is 16lbs and barely fits in the bag. He hates it because he cannot move at all. I was very disappointed and now have to return it. Could you recommend a better travel bag for flying? He is a therapy and must travel with me. Overall rating is a good product for small dogs
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Sherpa on Wheels

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Welsh
from Mass
We bought this to replace an older Sherpa bag. This is a different design. The last bag the all the zippers failed.
It is a nice bag which we hope the zippers hold up better than the last one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall...Good

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
AtomAnt
from San Diego CA
Great quality...could use a little more storage space, and, tighter clasps for curtains(stay up higher)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not OK for American Airlines

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gennysmom
from Keller, Texas
The ad said Airline Approved. Check with your specific airline!
We bought this for my grandson to use to take his puppy home. When it arrived, thankfully there was a brochure outlining how to make sure the pet & carrier were approved by the airline. I was directed to a form specific to AA. This carrier is NOT AA approved. We exchanged it for a smaller one and stuffed the long legged pup in and she went home like a little sardine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+42points
42of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

USELESS

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
NYCitygirl1969
from Neptune, NJ
Sherpa Bags (with wheels) in the past had a structured opening to allow pets unencumbered access in and out of the carrier, something essential especially when doubling as a bed during travel. This Sherpa carrier totally collapses when one door is open: you must hold the opening open with one hand once you unzip the door. IT IS USELESS. Sherpa Customer Service is also USELESS: it doesn't exist. If you have a problem with the wheels (which does occur) or something else, kiss your $99.00 investment adios. With this carrier, you can't even take damaged wheels off and use it as a bed. Don't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
40of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my cat and I both loved it!

PostedMay 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrsKitty
from nj
My cat and I both loved this carrier. We flew delta in comfort and the medium bag fit under my seat with plenty of room!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great solution

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrchopper2011
The whole concept is great and the right size for airline travel. I travel internationally frequently and have had issues with the former Sherpa non-wheel model.
I do notice too much noise on hard surfaces-I live in a condo and the noise disturbs my neighbors. I really love the waterproof line and the ability to buy extra wheels and pads. Another outside pocket would be good as well as flaps all the way around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pet Carrier!!!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
drumnlisa
from Ojai, CA
The Ultimate Sherpa Pet Carrier on Wheels is a MUST for your travel needs!!! I purchased it two weeks before my trip to let my dog get use to it. He could not wait to go for ride in it everytime I got it out. He would come running everytime he heard the wheels on our hardwood floors. He would try to jump in the bag he loves it that much!!!!
I flew Southwest airlines with my 12 pound pekingese. I purchased the medium size bag andi it fit perfectly and comfortably! The bag fit under the seat in front me with tons of room on each side of the bag still left for my purse to fit next to the carrier. The bag does stick out a little by your feet but still lots of room for my feet and legs.
Southwest airlines couldn't have been more accomadating to my pets needs and me. They are very pet friendly. Southwest staff,fellow travelers and security kept remarking what a great bag he was in, and how it looked so easy to pull him and how happy he looked in the bag. This bag is so light when u pull it with my dog in it, I kept looking back to make sure he was still in it. The blanket in it is so soft and plush. The screens on all the sides give great ventilation. The side zipper pocket has great storage space for a leash, bowl, pet wipes and toy. The wheels roll sooo smooth. This is a great buy for your pets comfort and travel needs. This is the Cadillac of all pet bags on wheels!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

my dog loves getting into this!

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
bjcflorida
Great airport bag. Fits under the seat in front of me and I always sit at the window (which are smaller). I also use it during thunder storms because my dog always freaks out. She gets right into it and feels safe and secure. We practiced a bit before getting on the plane and in no time she adapted. Great idea but one thing......the first time I used it the wheel broke and therefore it was unbalanced. I order another because I loved the concept (returned it no problem to Petco) and so we will see if this one lasts longer. Everyone at the airport was lugging their dog with their shoulder pet carrier....they were so envious of me! I would give this a 5 if the wheel didn't break.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
LynAnn
from Las Vegas, NV
I really like the Sherpa Bag on Wheels. My 2 adult cats can both fit into the large size bag, but it is a tight fit. It rolls easily and doesn't tip over. Sometimes it sounds like the bottom of the bag is dragging on the ground. I bought this bag so that both my cats could go with me in the cabin of the plane. After buying I found out it is 2" to long to fit under the seat. Even though it says this bag is airline approved the large size one is NOT. Wish this had been clear before I bought it. Also wish it came in more colors besides just black.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did return it

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
momzke
I ordered this and the snoozer. Altho this promised that I'd have no airline problems (or they would pay for tickets), I chose the snoozer for my dog (well, actually he did,,...and I liked the back pack feature) I write a review for 2 reasons. 1. The product is everything described (probably better construction than the item I kept)
2. Returns at a local Petco Store were super easy!
Great customer service at my local store!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Yorkie Loves It

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michsunshine
I have a 10 lb. Yorkshire Terrier and she loves her new carrier. I bought the mediium size and she has plenty of room and feels safe in it. It pulls fine and is a quality made product. Planning a trip from Mich. to Oregon and I know this will work fine for us. I can pull it instead of lugging her between flights. Fifteen pounds is a lot to carry plus your carry ons so glad I can just pull her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes traveling a breeze

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
BEARandBELLE
from San Francisco, CA
My pup-parent(s) travels with both of us in one carrier, and this was great! We just hung out in it while she zipped and pulled us around in the airport. This bag is much better because there is no carrying, which means a smoother ride for us! Also, the sturdy, yet flexible, top allowed her to slide it under the seat in front of her (SWA), so we could just sleep during the entire flight. Compared to the carriers that can get heavy (especially with both of us in it), we really like this one. Plus, both ends open up and all sides can be exposed to allow great ventilation (or coverage when we wanted to sleep).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHERPA CARRYALL

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
HONEY7
from Massachusettes and Florida
I enjoy using this product because I am on portable oxygen and it leaves me free to carry my unit on my shoulder and pull my puppy on the wheel carrier. It is also very safe in the car strapped in by the sealt belt
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMay 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
lokismommy
It was plenty big enough for my 22lb Pug to stand up and turn around in, but he hated it and he clawed holes in the netting -- the side pocket isn't a pocket anymore.
I primarily chose this one because of the wheels because I have medical issues but I ended up having to carry it as pulling it caused it to turn over at random, which really upset my Pug.
Plus, it did not fit under any of the seats on any of the flights I was on, which caused me much trouble with the flight attendants, who informed me that I was causing a fire hazard; plus it made my medical troubles extra exasperated due to the discomfort of extra less leg room.
I have to purchase a brand new one this year since the one I bought last year is beyond repair anyway so I'll be looking for something more sturdy that really will fit under the seat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Ultimate Sherpa Bag On Wheels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Jack Loves It!

PostedAugust 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
JRTLovah
from San Diego, CA
This is a super comfy carrier for my Jack Russell. I leave it open in the living room and she goes in it and takes naps all the time. My only complaint is that it didn't really fit under the seat when I took it on the plane. I had to keep it out in front of me, which made the 7 hr. flight pretty uncomfortable. But my dog slept the whole time which was good enough for me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>