petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel

Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel

Ideal Petmate kennel for home use or while travelingEasy to assemble, no additional tools or hardware requiredTwo-way opening door can be opened from the left or right sideWell ventilated with superior visibility for your pet"Grow With Me" divider makes this a great puppy training tool among Petmate dog kennels (available for small to large sizes)Made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 out of 22(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from RLCA
Excellent product. I like that it has ventilation on the top AND bottom. It's hard to find kennels that are vented top and bottom. Because this is a molded plastic it can be a little difficult to slide the two halves together. Don't get frustrated. It might be easier to slide together if two people are working the halves. With that said once it goes together it works like a charm. My dog loves it. If you have a very powerfully built dog that would be inclined to attempt an escape they might require a different type of kennel.For my fur ball it works great. (Side note I had need to contact customer service regarding this order and they were fantastic. Thank you.) I was also able to get mine on sale at a fantastic price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

no handle on top

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sanford, FL
A great kennel except it has no handle on the top to carry the unit. I made a handle which was not to difficult.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We have been buying dog crates for 47 years.........

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
This crate is way ahead of any we have purchased. The ventilation is excellent, it is very easy to assemble and disassemble and has smooth simple lines for easy cleaning. Also the the ease of opening the door from either side or completely removing it with our disassembly is an excellent feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, except

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Valley, AZ
I like the kennel, but it did not come with the divider as described in the specs. I have re-ordered it as they suggested and will see if it comes with the divider this time. Will review again after I get the second one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the 2-way opening door

PostedApril 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Crate was easy enough to put together. It is light to carry. I got an X-small (which does not include the divider) for a miniature dachshund puppy (9 weeks old 5 Lbs at this point). For the car, I place the crate on the back seat and slide the seatbelt through the carrying handle. I only use it at night (placed next to my bed) and for the car. The 2-way opening door is great as you can completely remove it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crate for our GSD!

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Missoula, MT
This is our third Petmate Navigator crate & we love them! Bought our first when our pup was 8 wks old, then graduated to the largest size as he grew. We just bought the third one to keep in our bedroom for him. Our pup is 10 months old now & has more than enough room to stretch out or turn circles when he's crated in this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but scratched in shipping and not that easy to latch

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
First off, once you get it together this is a really good dog crate. It's very sturdy and seems that it will last a long time. All the extra vent holes throughout are nice so I don't worry so much that it will get too stuffy in there.
However, our first problem was that it shipped to our house without any kind of a box or protection around it. We looked it over very carefully for cracks and there were none but there were scratches and scuffs from shipping this way. I do like that they are saving materials by not using an enormous box but think they could have put something around it...maybe a cardboard bottom that attaches to the flat side to keep it from getting scratched up?
The other issue is that this was not easy to put together. The ads make it look like it just slides right into place but it took my husband and I about 10 minutes to get it where it would latch. I honestly don't think I could have done it without him. We did eventually get it but, for us at least, it wasn't that simple to slide into place.
All this said, it is a really sturdy well made product and I would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Kennel

PostedApril 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NE
My dog was in it for 5 minutes before breaking out of this crate, Portuguese Water Dog and he is crate trained. Also can not ship in this crate as there are no bolts to secure it together. Would not recommend for larger dogs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy, very well made

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
This is the higher end crate made by petmate. It is very sturdy and withstands the abuse of being in the back of the truck. Mine came with the extra bolts which come in the flight package. Also this was the best price I could find compared to competitors and major online stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Got it to fly home with. my cat love sleeping in it all the time. I love the two way open door.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Crate for my Aussie

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Williamson, GA
This crate is perfect for my Aussie puppy to use now and when she is full grown. I wanted a crate with openings on the bottom half to insure plenty of air circulation since my Aussies have always been hot natured. Petco on line had the exact crate I wanted and the price could not be matched by any others I researched on line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I don't know WHY no one hasn't tried to make a plastic kennel-type crate with a divider yet! This is EXACTLY what I've been searching for for my dalmatian puppy. I prefer plastic kennels to wire crates so that the dog feels more like he is in a protected "den." This crate is PERFECT. It is extremely lightweight, has tons of ventilation on the sides, but it is also very durable and looks to be high quality. The divider is perfect and JUST what I've been searching for. I am SO glad someone finally made a plastic kennel with a divider! The divider is not super sturdy, but put a box or some towels behind it and it will do its job perfectly. The crate was awkward to assemble, so make sure you have more than 3 minutes to pop it together. Once assembled, it was great. It does not have a top handle, but it is lightweight enough that I don't mind. I like the knob-style door (reversible) over the traditional two-prong levers on most plastic kennels. This crate is a great purchase at the sale price. I purchased a Medium 36" size for my dalmatian, which looks appropriate. He will grow into it perfectly. Best of all, I did not have to buy 85 crates to grow with him, but instead just this one crate with built-in divider. Best purchase!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size issues

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tracy, CA
I'm very upset with the misleading sizing information that Petmate provides. They measure from the outer most edges of the crate including the very outer edge of the door handle. The interior space is significantly smaller than the product describes - 29 inch length is more like 21 inches on the inside. My dogs will not fit so I'm taking it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

unlike your photo, it has no handle

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phornixville, PA
I must have a handle. Had seen one in a store in NY that had a handle, After talking to you I am convinced the one I saw in the store was mis-labeled. Petmate is good quality but as I said, I must have a handle. I returned the crate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice looking crate

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fremont, CA
rounded edge's give crate nice appearance. double hinged door works well. holes didn't align for screws, needed to use Dremel tool on back 2 holes. other than that, like the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for my rescue dog

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Ana, CA
My dog has major separation anxiety issues and was able to pop open this crate. It is too small for her (she is 58 lbs) even though it was supposed to be for dogs, 50-70 lbs. Now I need to buy another crate for her.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Crate!

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brighton, MI
We've had dogs for years. We have a huge Vari-Kennel crate for in the house but needed one that would fit in our car (a Ford C-Max) to pick up a 2 year old Ibizan Hound that we are adopting. We ended up buying the PetMate Navigator 40" and couldn't be happier. It is incredibly lightweight and was very easy to put together. I did it on my own and was done in under 5 minutes. It's a very simple, straight-forward assembly. LOVE this crate - easy assembly, lightweight but sturdy, plenty of ventilation, and the door opens from the left or right, which is convenient in the back of a car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad we made this purchase.

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, Colorado
This is an all in one grow with me crate, that we love for our new puppy. Well worth the price when on sale. Easy to put together. I took the time to review various crates and so pleased we went this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME CRATE

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Post Falls Idaho
This is without a doubt the best crate I have ever owned. Lighweight, but very sturdy, and airy enough for warm days ringside. I love love love this crate! I own 4 of them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Navigator Pet Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not so easy

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
This crate did NOT go together as easily as advertised. It took two of us pushing, pulling and squeezing to get it together.
I do like that the door swings both ways and that there's a divider for puppy training.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>