petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean Hydrometer

Instant Ocean Hydrometer

Quickly, easily, and accurately measure your marine aquarium's salt level and specific gravity with Instant Ocean HydrometerFull range scale features easy to read markings with safe zone clearly indicatedNo-wet-hands-design
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Review 1 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not accurate

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
JeremyW
from Phoenix, AZ
The price is good but I didn't find this to be the best at giving me correct salinity levels. Personally, I think it is worth spending a little more and getting a good salinity refractometer - especially if you have a reef tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it really does work

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
happyfish36
from Cary, NC
Yes, there is no "bottom fill hole" per say. You need to dip the one corner from the top into the tank - that fills into the bottom. Also for those getting the highest readout on first try; it is good to "season" this device in a high concentration of salt water first, rinse and let sit overnight, then you should get accurate readings. As suggested, periodic cleanings/rinsing so crystals don't form and get needle stuck is good idea. May need to season again. Don't give up on it, it does work and is easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

difficult,but works!

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
CaptainNemo
from Toppenish,WA
You are supposed to dip this unit in your tank and fill via bottom fill port. What bottom fill port? I eventually just had to fill unit by filling from the top and then I did not notice a fill line so I filled unit until the wand began to move and give some sort of reading Though I did recommend this unit, it is the instructions that make using this product more difficult then it actually needs to be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Systems Instant Ocean Hydrometer

PostedJune 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
firefish
from ca
update:Aquarium Systems Instant Ocean Hydrometer ..is by fare the best for ur saltwater tank.Slowly fill it by dipping bottom corner fill port below water..Dislodge air bubbles on the white DOT.inside scal on the pointer..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
lemurluver
from Wichita, KS
Does it's job as far as i can tell. Would recommend rinsing it to avoid build up. Sometimes it will give me the highest read out possible and when i test again it will read accurate. I haven't figured out why yet. in time im sure i will figure it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Acurate!

PostedMarch 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
MorePets
from Castle Rock, Colorado
This hydrometer is acurate! I took my hydrometer and my water to a proffesional marine aquatic store and they checked my hyrometer in my water then their digital hydrometer in my water and they read the same thing. This hydrometer has never let me down! But make sure you rinse it out before and after use or it will stick and not work because of dried salt build up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst instructions ever

PostedApril 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
lexyyy
I just got my first marine set up and first hydrometer.The instructions on this one say to dip a bottom corner in water and wait till it fills up with water.what corner and how deep?I've tried for a hundred times ,different ways and angles,and it didn't work,so I filled it with water from the top opening and the reading was at its max,no matter whether the water was actually salt treated or not!!!
Very confusing and frustrating !!!
Tomorrow I'm bringing it back to trade for something decent.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good and cheap

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
splash
from colorado
better then the high tech ones. Cuase you need to use this one to calerbrat the high tech ones. so you have to buy it any way funny I think.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
William
from MI
Very accurate and easy to read. You have to rinse it out after you use it to prevent the needle from getting stuck. Overall, an excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Instant Ocean Hydrometer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

How much?

PostedJune 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Saltwater fish lover
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
We use one of these, but sometimes the hand inside gets stuck. We check our water all the time with this. Accurate with it's readings
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.