petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze

North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze

Pressure-mounts instantly & securely without hardware36" height is perfect for tall petsShuts firmly yet easily with one simple pushSwings open both ways for added convenienceTriple locking system for peace of mind
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Review 1 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Gate!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
RustyS1
from Williamsville NY
Wanted a new gate for my house, that was attractive. BEAUTIFUL gate! Several ways to open the gate and the width is perfect to adjust for different openings. Easy for my kids to work. Extremely easy to install! If your tired of the ugly dog gates, this is the one your looking for. Beautiful and easy for everyone to work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Gate

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
morav3
from New Jersey
We bought two of these gates to confine our large breed puppy to the kitchen until she is house trained. We couldn't be happier with this purchase! The gate is very easy to install and fits in the doorway very snugly. The door latch is easy to open and the fact that the gate door swings both ways is an added bonus. The gate is also very attractive and does not detract from our home decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Yet!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
bluegirl2727
from Tucson, AZ
I have tried a couple gates.....This one has been the best gate yet for puppies trying to jump or get out! I ended up purchasing 4 for different locations in my house I was so impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
CaptainsMomandDad
from Sacramento, CA
Works great, keeps him contained, at least until he figures out how to open it, and allows light and air into family room so it isn't so dark and gloomy as it was with doors closed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Gate

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
AZMomto2
from Gilbert, AZ
This gate is a perfect height for my husband (6'2") and is still easy for our children to operate. It has a feature that allows the gate to stay open which is helpful when carrying things into the kitchen. Then, the gate easily swings shut and latches with a push. The kids (ages 6 and 10) had to learn how to open the latch by squeezing and lifting - it took only a few tries. It also has a lock feature, but we don't have a reason to use it.
I installed the gate myself and it took about 45 minutes. I followed the warnings & instructions and didn't have any problems. To make it easier to line up the gate square, I secured the bottom mounts with screws and then used the sticky pads on the top mounts (it allowed me to adjust the alignment). Tightening the mounts then secured the top by pressure. I am pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to operate and how well it works to keep our pets out of the laundry room. We have 2 chihuahuas (7 lbs. and 11 lbs.) and they can't fit through the openings. Have no regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North States Pet Gate

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Neuf1
from Virginia
The Easy-Close Pet Gate had instructions that you can understand. It was not hard to assemble and it fit just right on our door opening of 36inches. Once assembled the gate is very sturdy. One nice feature about the gate is that when you open the door it swings shut and locks. If you open it all the way it will stay open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChicagoMaggie
from Chicago
This gate is impressive. Well made, attractive finish and great feature which allows the door to swing both ways, swing closed automatically and prop open if necessary. Unfortunate that it requires a small hole in the wall at each of the four tension points, but its extremely sturdy that way. Watch for online price specials.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Gate

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
FaithandMarsha
from Chapel Hill, NC
Dog gate works well. The only thing I don't like are the plastic caps they want you to screw into the wall. These caps are used to provide more stability for the gate. They also give you the option of using 2 sided tape. But do you really want that on your walls? The only other problem was the box that it came in. It was totally ripped apart when UPS delivered it. He even said he would mark the delivery as possibly damaged. Turns out the gate was ok, but they need to have better packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Solution

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
SwtGypsy
from Ingleside, TX
Baby gates cannot substitute for this gate. Keeping our dogs separated is a must for safety reasons, and after struggling with a baby gate for months that wasn't tall or secure enough, this gate came along and solved all of those issues. The generous height keeps my dogs from jumping over. The top and bottom catches hold the gate securely shut. I have arthritis but I can open the gate easily with one hand as stated and it doesn't hurt. Gate swings shut behind me. They didn't miss a thing when they designed this gate. Even includes options for temporary or a more secure, more permanent installation with screws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tall but still too short for my jumper

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
KatFlow
from Nashville, TN
Sturdy but the walkthrough is narrow for most adults. Unfortunately my dobe can still jump and clear the height of the gate. It blends well with the furniture and easy to install and remove.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gwammie
from Iowa
The gate functions great and looks beautiful. I was a little worried when I first looked at it because it seemed cock-eyed but as soon as it was installed in the doorframe it got its proper shape and balance. It works very easily and can be left open. I used one of the extra panels. I highly recommend it. The color is very pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tall gate

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
alohachip
from birmingham,al
It is tall enough for most of big dogs, and it is quite sturdy. I wish it can be little bit easier to open the gate because I need to hold the bar and lift it up to open it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic gate

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eeveenado
from Pittsburgh, PA
After stepping over a baby gate for about 6 months, we finally decided to upgrade to this type of tall pet gate with a door. I just wish we'd done it sooner! It's been working wonderfully so far- we've had it for about 2 weeks now. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, it's great quality for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tall gate

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maxsalpha
from San Antonio TX
LOVE this gate - I own a small bridal store and my boxer comes to the store with me; I have to keep him in the back. i had bought a child gate but he chewed it up then jumped it. This gate is very attractive (which is good because my customers see it), sturdy, AND Max can't eat it or jump it. PERFECT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
CClarke
from Philadelphia
I ordered this gate for my pit bull puppy who is growing and very strong already. I like the gate because he cannot climb up and over the top and it was easy to assemble and put up good quality and no complaints thus far
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this gate!!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
BerneseMtnDogOwner
from Ohio
We use this gate to separate our giant 100 lb puppy from the cats and from the front half of the house (Im actually online to buy a second one!). We cant possibly puppy proof the entire house - she has and Will eat socks, and other non-food items if they are left out! So for her own safety, we need to contain her to the back half of the house. We dont even latch the gate. We leave it sitting against itself unlatched but facing inward, since the dog cant open it toward herself and go thru. So it's super easy for people to just swing it and go thru. It can also prop open if needed. Latching it would be a hassle and isnt really needed for us. I highly recommend this gate. No more stepping over baby gates!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect gate

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hersheydog
from trumbull, ct
This was easy to put together and has great height and allows easy access into and out of the kitchen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality Good Looks, Not Hand Friendly

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
PatDE
from Middletown, DE
This gate is beautiful, the perfect height, and was fairly easy for one person to install. The mechanism for opening is easy unless a person has hand-mobility issues. That is the case in this house, so we have had to make some modifications. Modifications are possible because we use the gate to separate pets from people and do not have to use it for small children, so no safety issue there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great quality.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
bbcc
from midwest
love this gate. the quality is unmatched. Sturdy construction, and it fits securely in many configurations. The bracing system is adjustable at all four points that contact a wall, so even if your doorway or staircase has trim this gate will fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.