petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze

North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze

Dog gate pressure-mounts instantly and securely without hardware36 inch height is ideal for tall petsShuts firmly yet easily with one simple pushSwings open both ways for your convenienceTriple locking system for peace of mindDecorative bronze design helps pet gates blend into your home
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Review 1 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Txslade
from Frisco, TX
Very happy with the gate. It looks really high quality and is a great color. Easy to install. I researched every gate. There are not a lot on the market this tall and is exactly what I wanted. This is my first ever pet gate and the only negative would be the open latch is awkward to me. The slide the lever underneath and lift is strange. The lever is plastic.. so I don't know how long it will hold up. I imagine this is standard for operating these type of gates. It is still the best gate for my household and happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Gate, Fantastic Online Price !

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigDaddyEric
from Sacramento, CA
Needed 2 gates which would have cost us over $200 in the store but by purchasing online we got these gates for ½ price that day so got both of them for just under $100 and they look and work great !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gate

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
mommag
from Newtown PA
I have been through many gates due to my dog continuing to scratch or jump over gates in that past. I use to have two gate so it was like a fortress, & some howBentley aka Hudini escaped. Well After talking to a friend he suggested the gate I purchased & life is so much easier. No surprises when I get home, The dog can scratch all he wants he cant hurt himself :) I don't know why I waited so long-to purchase it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Annabelle66
from Newport RI
Easy to install, good quality, keeps my 80# boxer in my bedroom when guests are here. Would highly recommend
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Careful when setting up!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JRMom
from Sacramento, CA
The finished product looks great and is very sturdy. I undid all of the zip ties though and when assembling alone this can be dangerous as gate door will swing open and knock you on the head while trying to position in opening. I also could not successfully position gate with end caps on as they kept falling off. The rubber grips proved plenty sturdy and safe so don't feel the need to screw in the end caps or utilize the tape. I plan to move soon so this also makes for a much simpler removal. Works beautifully and the dark brown adds a bit of elegance to what could easily be an eyesore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very durable & convenient for people use.

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LambeauW
from Green Bay, WI
Excellent gate. Convenient ay to not having to take down or crawl over the standard baby gates. Definitely would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Gate!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
RustyS1
from Williamsville NY
Wanted a new gate for my house, that was attractive. BEAUTIFUL gate! Several ways to open the gate and the width is perfect to adjust for different openings. Easy for my kids to work. Extremely easy to install! If your tired of the ugly dog gates, this is the one your looking for. Beautiful and easy for everyone to work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Gate

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
morav3
from New Jersey
We bought two of these gates to confine our large breed puppy to the kitchen until she is house trained. We couldn't be happier with this purchase! The gate is very easy to install and fits in the doorway very snugly. The door latch is easy to open and the fact that the gate door swings both ways is an added bonus. The gate is also very attractive and does not detract from our home decor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gate Yet!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
bluegirl2727
from Tucson, AZ
I have tried a couple gates.....This one has been the best gate yet for puppies trying to jump or get out! I ended up purchasing 4 for different locations in my house I was so impressed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Gate

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
CaptainsMomandDad
from Sacramento, CA
Works great, keeps him contained, at least until he figures out how to open it, and allows light and air into family room so it isn't so dark and gloomy as it was with doors closed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Gate

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
AZMomto2
from Gilbert, AZ
This gate is a perfect height for my husband (6'2") and is still easy for our children to operate. It has a feature that allows the gate to stay open which is helpful when carrying things into the kitchen. Then, the gate easily swings shut and latches with a push. The kids (ages 6 and 10) had to learn how to open the latch by squeezing and lifting - it took only a few tries. It also has a lock feature, but we don't have a reason to use it.
I installed the gate myself and it took about 45 minutes. I followed the warnings & instructions and didn't have any problems. To make it easier to line up the gate square, I secured the bottom mounts with screws and then used the sticky pads on the top mounts (it allowed me to adjust the alignment). Tightening the mounts then secured the top by pressure. I am pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to operate and how well it works to keep our pets out of the laundry room. We have 2 chihuahuas (7 lbs. and 11 lbs.) and they can't fit through the openings. Have no regrets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North States Pet Gate

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Neuf1
from Virginia
The Easy-Close Pet Gate had instructions that you can understand. It was not hard to assemble and it fit just right on our door opening of 36inches. Once assembled the gate is very sturdy. One nice feature about the gate is that when you open the door it swings shut and locks. If you open it all the way it will stay open.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChicagoMaggie
from Chicago
This gate is impressive. Well made, attractive finish and great feature which allows the door to swing both ways, swing closed automatically and prop open if necessary. Unfortunate that it requires a small hole in the wall at each of the four tension points, but its extremely sturdy that way. Watch for online price specials.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dog Gate

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
FaithandMarsha
from Chapel Hill, NC
Dog gate works well. The only thing I don't like are the plastic caps they want you to screw into the wall. These caps are used to provide more stability for the gate. They also give you the option of using 2 sided tape. But do you really want that on your walls? The only other problem was the box that it came in. It was totally ripped apart when UPS delivered it. He even said he would mark the delivery as possibly damaged. Turns out the gate was ok, but they need to have better packaging.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Solution

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
SwtGypsy
from Ingleside, TX
Baby gates cannot substitute for this gate. Keeping our dogs separated is a must for safety reasons, and after struggling with a baby gate for months that wasn't tall or secure enough, this gate came along and solved all of those issues. The generous height keeps my dogs from jumping over. The top and bottom catches hold the gate securely shut. I have arthritis but I can open the gate easily with one hand as stated and it doesn't hurt. Gate swings shut behind me. They didn't miss a thing when they designed this gate. Even includes options for temporary or a more secure, more permanent installation with screws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tall but still too short for my jumper

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
KatFlow
from Nashville, TN
Sturdy but the walkthrough is narrow for most adults. Unfortunately my dobe can still jump and clear the height of the gate. It blends well with the furniture and easy to install and remove.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gwammie
from Iowa
The gate functions great and looks beautiful. I was a little worried when I first looked at it because it seemed cock-eyed but as soon as it was installed in the doorframe it got its proper shape and balance. It works very easily and can be left open. I used one of the extra panels. I highly recommend it. The color is very pretty.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tall gate

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
alohachip
from birmingham,al
It is tall enough for most of big dogs, and it is quite sturdy. I wish it can be little bit easier to open the gate because I need to hold the bar and lift it up to open it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic gate

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eeveenado
from Pittsburgh, PA
After stepping over a baby gate for about 6 months, we finally decided to upgrade to this type of tall pet gate with a door. I just wish we'd done it sooner! It's been working wonderfully so far- we've had it for about 2 weeks now. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, it's great quality for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for North States Extra Tall Easy-Close Pet Gate in Bronze
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tall gate

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maxsalpha
from San Antonio TX
LOVE this gate - I own a small bridal store and my boxer comes to the store with me; I have to keep him in the back. i had bought a child gate but he chewed it up then jumped it. This gate is very attractive (which is good because my customers see it), sturdy, AND Max can't eat it or jump it. PERFECT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>