petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand

CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand

Ideal substrate for marine, reef or african cichlid aquariumsHas unsurpassed buffering capabilityPure aragonite helps maintain a healthy pH balance of 8.2 without chemicalsProvides up to 100,000 sq. inches of surface area per poundContains calcium, carbonate, strontium, magnesium and other trace elementsReduces fish stress by creating a natural reef habitatMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Review 1 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

CaribSea Sand

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Conway, AR
Fantastic looking product. Did not experience any foreign debris, like sticks and such. Cleans up easily, just use a 5 gal bucket and wash at least 4 times. Water is murky at first, but cycle with a good filter using a lot of polyfil and it should clear in 24 hrs. Very easy to clean and does not toss and turn easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

rinsing is a must

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
Definitely take the time to rinse the sand. It took almost 10 good rinsings to get the water to flow semi clear. I did 20lbs at a time in a 5 gallon bucket. tank was still cloudy for about 24'hours. once it settled, all is well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price you can find on quality aragonite

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Easton PA
used 4 bags for my 29 gal tank. Rinsed each pack in 5 gal bucket three times. Water turned milky initially. Water was crystal clear in 48 hours. Did lot of research and this was the cheapest product. Glad I went with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clear wAter and good bufferer

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Wash it in a 5 gal bucket 5 pounds at a time pouring water in and pouring cloudy water back out repeat till water clears about 7 times and when u put it in it will be fairly clear. This product is great for buffering ph in african cichlid aquariums
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this sand for high flow tanks

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Florida
This sand is not like the oolite or sugarfine sand..
It is fairly uniform in size i would say its all 1 to 1.5 mm
It works very well in a situation where you have power heads as it does not blow around and create sand storms. I have sugarfine in my reef tank but i keep my frags on this substrate its small enough to have small sand sifters running through it. if you like marine plants they grow well in it its easy to hand sift and doesnt pack down like sugarfine so you can get rid of the gas pockets and black spots that develop in your bed. but then again they really don't form like sugarfine.
You do have to rinse this product before adding as its dry.. but if you want to keep an easy bed in frag tanks, biocubes, fuges i like this stuff everywhere outside of my main display..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

MUCHO DUST!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
In comparison to the same product from a different source in 20 lb bags, this item is inferior. Not only in appearance, but it is not muti- colored as my other Argonite. It is single colored fine sand and sand dust. Even After more than half dozen prewashes, it continued to dump very fine dust particles in my new tank that I was setting up. It made my tank a dense cloudy mess. It for It took over a week of ruffing up the sand and my tank would be totally cloudy for hours as my canister filer did it's job.. I had to repeat this process 4x a day for over a week to get about 80% of the very fine particles. I had to clean my filters multiple times. This item took away the excitement of setting up a new tank, and added extra time and much extra work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CaribSea Aragonite

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OKC, OK
With my freshwater tanks, due to the amount of wood and other stuff my pH is always going down and I want to maintain it in the 7.0 and higher range. I've tried crushed coral, but didn't seem to last. CaribSea Aragonite is doing what it says. I've added a 1/2 cup per 20 gallon and my tanks and plants are happier and my fish are breeding with my pH around 7.2 - 7.4. - Don
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

be prepared

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from frankfort, ky
Be prepared to rinse and rinse and rinse this sand and then rinse it some more. I think I spent about 45 minutes rinsing each bag of this sand before it was suitable to put in the aquarium. Absolutely DO NOT put it in your tank un-rinsed and expect your filter to clean the water. It's incredibly dirty sand. Once it's cleaned though, it seems to work well and is pretty.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is not clean

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from texas
I used caribsea oolitic substrate and was very satisfied with it. However the aragonite substrate is DIRTY containing organic matter. which I had to remove from my tank.
I recommend the Oolitic substrate instead of the aragonite. The grain size is also smaller and less jagged.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.