petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand

CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand

pH neutral sand will not increase carbonate hardnessUnique sand sized grains resist the collection of detritus, fish waste and food within the substrate bedMakes maintenance easierSmall, smooth grains are fish friendlyPerfect for Rays or other bottom dwelling fish and invertebratesProven to reduce nitrates better than regular aquarium gravelMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Review 1 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Off white sand

PostedJune 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Central Florida
Makes my tank look very natural.
Cleaning of the sand is a must. It takes a little time but worth the look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from az
I have a 36 gallon bow front aquarium and changed out my old substrate for the Carib Sea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand. I used 30 pounds for my aquarium, it looks great and the fish seem to like it. This substrate makes for a very natural look.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sand for my Rabbit Snails

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SoCal
I have a 135 gallon community fish tank, and a 20 gal show tank with many rabbit snails. In both situations I had the the tank occupants in a rounded rock substrate, and then with small gravel, and finally with this sand. Everyone, including the plants, seem happiest and prefer the sand. The snails enjoy snuffling through it and it provides a softer landing when they drop off the side of the tank. This sand is staying nicely clean and compact, does not suspend in the water during water changes, is easy to clean, and enhances the plants, fish and snails nicely. The sand required minimal cleaning, and I didn't worry about the stray bits of wood or plant debris that would show up, it soon was gone. I did not find it necessary to use the Bio-Magnet Clarifier. I have made additional purchases of this sand because of my good first experience when setting up the 135.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great substrate

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
This sand is very clean and only needed a few rinses to remove the small amount of black debris and fines. I just added 30 pounds to my 29-gallon freshwater tank. This amount gave me a nice layer of substrate, and has an attractive white color. I also like the fact that it is pH-neutral and doesn't increase carbonate hardness--a plus since I already have hard water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wallingford, Pa
This sand is very aesthetically pleasing and the color is beautiful. It's a very light tan color and it makes the aquarium look larger and more clean. The sand required little to no rinsing and it also included a small amount of water clearing solution which was an unexpected plus. I got one bag and it was the perfect amount for my ten gallon. the only downside to this sand is that the grain size is very very small. besides that I was pretty happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and quality

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this sand for a long time in my salt water tank and have never had problems. The sand has been filtered and strained well and is very aesthetically pleasing to look at. I rather save a couple dollars and cycle my own bacteria than buy the live bacteria sand that can be expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Substrate

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Easy to work with when shaping aquarium. Also didn't cloud water at all, as I was concerned would happen. I washed the sand briefly and it was ready to go once I put in the additive that was included to reduce sand in the water.
Looks nice and natural as well
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Substrate!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I bought this from my local PetCo to replace the flat glass marbles I had in my two betta tanks. The marbles are very pretty, but waste gets under them too easily and makes cleaning the tanks very difficult. A friend recommended I get this sand instead and I am so happy I did! You must rinse the sand thoroughly before adding fish to the tank (this is printed on the back of the bag itself). After rinsing, the water will still be cloudy for about 20 minutes or so, but afterwards it settles quite nicely. This sand is soooo easy to clean. All of the fish waste sits right on top, so I just graze over it in circular motions with my aquarium siphon. I would definitely buy again and have recommended it to many friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oak harbor, wa
This product was great for my banjo catfish. And very soft and pretty. I will be continuing to use this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Go to the playground

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
might as well just go to the playground and scoop up some free sand
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-46points
4of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CaribSea Super Naturals Aquarium Sand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VERY DIRTY SAND

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from indianapolis
WE ONLY OPENED 6 BAGS OF OUR ORDER & OF THOSE SIX BAGS 1 HAD A TWIG IN IT 1 HAD A LOT OF DIRT IN IT & THE LAST ONE HAD BOTH, THE OTHER 3 WERE CLEAN.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
7of 28voted this as helpful.