petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel

Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel

Plastic dog crates feature solid construction with heavy duty, easy-to-assemble wing nut & bolt hardwareLarge dog crate designed with ventilation on all sides for plenty of fresh airSteel door with squeeze latch, door-pull barriers for strength & safetyOverlapping beltways provide extra strength & durabilitySporty camouflage great for working dogs and outdoor enthusiastsMeets IATA requirements for transporting pets by air – check individual airlines for pet travel regulations
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

large cargo carrier

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
Sturdy, has the correct burrs and bolts for TSA, should work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the kennel

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Allyn, WA
I purchased this kennel for my dog to travel on an airplane. I am pleased with the kennel in all aspects. It is sturdy, easy to put together or take apart for storage, came with extra fasteners, and the color sets it apart visually from the standard white/beige kennels. There is plenty of room for my 47 lb. dog to be comfortable while traveling or using the kennel at home. It is sturdy and will last for years, I am sure. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an excellent kennel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cozy

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta GA
Cozy, stylish and sturdy. Easy to assemble. My dog loved it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog's new space

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rome, NY
My daughter was experiencing anxiety separation issues with her 8 month puppy and it was starting to cost money damaging things when she was at work.
I researched and found this one and decided to ship it to her. She was impressed how easy it was to assemble and set it up with her dog's favorite things, took time getting the dog use to it and WHAT A RELIEF! Her dog loves her new home and my daughter has less stress.
Used correctly, crates can improve you and your dogs relationship. Just never use it as a punishment as it will become your dog's safe haven. Thank you Petmate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dingo dens

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from san diego
Dark colors nice in exterior look, and make for a cozy den inside. Interior plastic is very smooth and non-porous. Door sits firmly and does not rattle or catch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy crate

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kingman, AZ
This crate holds our Alaskan Malamute without any issues. I think they could have done a better job with the securing mechanism as it is kind of hard to press. The crate itself is very breathable and sturdy. Works great for travel as well as nightime. I would buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

if you have a large dog, this is the crate for you

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cary, NC
This crate is well made and very sturdy. I belong to a hunt club where we use dogs to hunt. Often, to retrieve a dog we have to hike long distances when we cannot get out trucks to the dogs location. With this crate mounted to my ATV, I am going to be able to go down many of our foot/ATV trails and get much closer to the dog and retrieval will be much easier and much faster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luxury dog crate

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from gilbert, az
I was impressed with the room my dog had in the crate. There is a lot of head room and my lab was able to stand and stretch comfortably. I included a picture or two which my wife, daughter, and dog could all fit in the crate. The connectors are metal bolts with wingnut type nuts and not cheap plastic connectors that break all the time. It has a flexible type plastic that is still sturdy but allows a little bend when being loaded in with all the other gear. I took it out the second day I had it because we went hunting over Thanksgiving. The dog took right to it and I had plenty of room to throw in a few blankets and the food dishes. My lab thought he was in a hotel. The company had thrown in a few extra connector bolts and nuts in case I lose one or two and you know I will. The last thing I liked about the crate is it has tie downs on each corner which made it easy to secure it on our trip. I highly recommend this crate. I have the XL crate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Ruff Maxx Camouflage Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kennel- for home and travel

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
This is my second Petmate kennel. We initially purchased a Petmate to fly with our dog (it met all airline regulations to fly from HI to WA), and it ultimately became her daily kennel at home. She does have severe separation anxiety, so after 7 years of chewing on the inside of her cage, we decided to get her a new one. The validity, even after years of chewing on the inside, did not falter, we just thought it was time to get her a new one while trying new anxiety-reducing techniques. We did not buy this kennel specifically for the camouflage coloring; we bought it because we liked the drilled plastic air holes on the side, as opposed to the regular grey kennels that have metal grating on the sides. (She would try to chew on the metal grating of her old Petmate- now there is nothing to really grab on to.) The camouflage coloring is subtle and is not unsightly in our home. It is easy to clean. I have been very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.