petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

Toe and tail safeProvides an "out of this world" running experiencePets love the solid running surfaceEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
18 out of 26(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Review 1 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great Mfg. backing!

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, Nevada
The original ones had a metal pin that the saucer sat on, the newer ones are plastic.For those of you here that have mentioned the larger wheel "breaking" when used with a hedgehog or other "large" small animal, Ware has addressed the issue, and is VERY GOOD about sending you a replacement if you call them directly. Now that the breakage issue has been taken care of it is once again a great product. I am a hedgehog breeder, and we use these interchangably with other types of wheels. Very quiet, and the hedgies love them, price is right also!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this style wheel for mice!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DE
We originally purchased a medium sized blue one for the hamster but she never did figure it out. I offered it to my mice instead and they absolutely love it. It hardly makes any noise at all and it's held up great for several months. I just got my order in for a second medium flying saucer in green, also for my mice. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hedgie Wheel

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
I bought the large flying saucer for my hedgehog. He loves it more than his old wheel and he spends hours running on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

chinwheel

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from calexico, ca
My chin loved this wheel, it was a bit noisy but seeing him happy made that imperfection worth it. But it broke after only 2 weeks!! I fixed it but in 3 days it broke off from the same post that holds the wheel. I purchased a new one and the new one broke after a week!! Really bad product, and a huge waste of money...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Breaking

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
We have had this wheel for about two months now and it has been destroyed by our pet hedgehog just running on it. I would not recommend this wheel because of its irritability and destructibility.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Breaks Sooner than Expected

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
The pricing was great compared to alternative wheels and such, I purchased it a week in advance of bringing my hedgehog home. He was 6 wks old when I got him and waited a couple days until I let him run on it. Ofcourse he ran on it daily and loved it the first night he got it. While it is not so silent, the sound I do not mind but it does give a whirl sound. My deal breaker is that my hedgehog only had it for about two months when it broke in half from a colum in the inside holding the pieces together. These two months included days when we will place a diggin box instead. Did not last long, so would not buy again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice alternative to a wheel

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Utah
The only con I can think of is that it takes up a lot of floor space, but on the plus side it does not take up much vertical space.
Some of my adult mice can't figure out what saucers are for, but the ones that do figure it out love it. Young mice always seem to figure it out quickly--and more of them can run together than on even an 8-inch wheel. They also seem better able to understand the concept of running the same direction (on wheels often I'll have two trying to go opposite directions).
And of course, there's the very obvious pro: it's a far more natural running position, no risk of wheel tail, better for the back.
And (so far) very quiet as long as it doesn't migrate across the floor and start knocking things. lol Still quieter than even quiet wheels, frankly.
Oh--another con--it does have a tendency to gather gunk far more quickly than wheels do, and is a little harder to wash off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not get for hedgehogs

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Itasca, IL
This is our 3rd wheel in 2 months. They keep breaking. I would recommend this for a hedgehog. Not sure how well it works for other animals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this product is ok

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Currituck, NC
Although several of the flying saucers I ordered can with cracks in them, and I have not heard back from the company about them, some of my mice enjoy the ones that were intact when they arrived. But not all of my mice like them, given the choice between the Flying Saucer & the typical wheel, they will pick the wheel 9 times out of 10. But it is quiet!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth it

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, CA
The only interaction my pet rats have with this is to knock it over. It seems to just get in their way and they do NOT play on it at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wheel

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
One of my mice had developed a pretty bad case of "wheel tail" from running on a traditional hamster wheel...he is much more comfortable running on this, and my other mice enjoy them too, and will run on them all night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saucer is okay

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I have my saucer for 1 day. It is the smallest size and both my robo hamsters run on it together. One of the robos came from a pet store where he was given the old type of wheel and he is trying to learn to use the saucer by watching the other one use it. It squeaked a bit, but nothing vegetable oil won't fix. The product is quite frail being of a light plastic so the animal can break it if it is heavy. I saw some broken ones in the pet stores all broken in same way. But the robos I own are very light so the wheel should be okay. The only thing I worry about is when they spin really fast on it, they fly off and hit the side of the tank, I am not sure if that is healthy for them... I might pad the walls around the saucer to keep them safe. But they do love the saucer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Good product for smaller hamsters, My daughters Syrian hammy still not sure how to use it after two weeks and prefers her standard wheel. Her dwarf hamster used it right away and seems to be a better fit for her where she is much smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Elkhart,IN
My hamster really likes this wheel! It make small sound, (grease it w/ vegetable oil every now and then) but when it gets wet, bedding gets stuck to the center. It wipes off with a rag, but it gets old. I really like this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For Mice

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
The 6.5" size is perfect for my four mice. They had had a free-standing wheel before (very squeaky) but immediately took to the Saucer Wheel. It's roomy enough that 2 or even 3 of the girls can run at the same time and it's safe: no way that tails or feet can be caught or injured. Very quiet, too -- just the sound of their little feet pattering away! You and your little ones will love this wheel :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is so so

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Milford, NJ
I had and is still having problems with my animal using this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet - Ahh, the sound of silence...

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
These are the quietest wheels I've ever owned. I have two long haired Siberian hamsters and they love to run the wheels.
The only time I hear any noise is when they've walked the wheels to where they rub the cage bars. If I can figure out how to weigh the wheels down, so they don't move, my nights will be perfect.
So nice to not have to worry about feet being caught in the wires or the wheel being flipped on it's side and becoming the potty zone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was poor

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Augusta,ME
My chinchilla was able to break this today...the whole top broke off...very DIS-SATISFIED....didn't even last 3weeks..would like a refund
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not For Rats

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
This wheel will not support the weight of a rat. My rats broke two of these wheels, if you have rats save your money and time by avoiding this wheel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
We bought one of the larger wheels about a year ago for our hedgehog. He uses it every night and loves it, sometimes he even hides underneath the base. It is great for our pet since his feet and legs can't get caught in anything when he runs. We are ordering a second one as, after time, it becomes very loud and squeaky at night!! Great product. Wish we could pick our own color....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>