petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

Toe and tail safeProvides an "out of this world" running experiencePets love the solid running surfaceEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
25 out of 38(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Review 1 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They love it

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Orlando,FL
My Hammies love this saucer,
Had it for a few years .. Easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke after a week

PostedJune 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Galesburg illinois
Have this running disc and after just a week of use. It broke off the base.
Also the hedgehogs I have, can run on these well. It's more of a spin only with their front feet. Good idea but poor design in reality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Degus love it but broke after TWO DAYS

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I had a flying saucer from an unknown manufacturer that lasted 2 weeks with my 2 degus.. I decided to buy this one to see if it would last longer. To my disappointment, it lasted not even 48 hours. The center piece (made of PLASTIC) that connects the top saucer to the bottom base, that the saucer spins around, completely snapped off. I called Ware and they are sending me a replacement part but I am told it will take 5 business days to arrive. My degus have a regular wheel that they use a little bit, but it's these flying saucers that they truly love...I hate that they have to go a week without it! Apparently this problem is mostly an issue with only the large size. My mice have a smaller size and it's lasted several months. It's a good product if Ware could make the large saucer more durable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gerbil Wheel is awesome!

PostedApril 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
This product is amazing for your little fluff. best wheel excepting the critter cruiser car!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Medium Flying Saucer

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Upper Left Coast
Exactly what I expected. More room for my dwarfs to run.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Degus love it!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I hesitated to buy a plastic flying saucer because I thought it would be an expensive chew toy. But when it went on sale 40% off, I took a chance. The degus love it! They have been running nonstop, sometimes more than 1 at a time on it. And so far, no chewing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not for hedgehogs

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kennewick, WA
I had one for my hedgehog for about 3 months and it broke. so i bought a new one on wednesday. By Friday it had broken the whole top off. Didnt even last 2 days!!! will never buy this again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All Wrong

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from IL
I'm not really happy with this product. I tried spinning it with my finger and it doesn't spin smoothly. I bought it for my mice who LOVE wheels because the wheel that came with their cage was too small and would cause wheel tail over time. They won't touch this wheel. I got the size recommend for mice and I honestly think it's too small. I can put them on this wheel and it won't even move with them walking across it, the only thing it seems to be good for so far is it's something for them to dig under. This item was recommend to me by many mouse owners so I am giving them more time to get used to it but it is not looking good so far. I'm hoping I just got a defective item and not that they all are so badly made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SC
Medium works well for a large hamster that had trouble in a normal wheel, takes up less space and feels much safer and comfortable for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hamster loves it!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NC
My winter white dwarf hamster really enjoys this wheel - it is his preferred one! He can runs for ages on it and doesn't seem to find it awkward or uncomfortable. I was surprised at how much he enjoyed it and was relieved that he didn't slide/fly off of it like I feared he would! Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was perfect

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from wyoming
This product was perfect for my little mice. I breed mice and was worried about the wheels being to big for the little ones this product is the perfect size and they all can join in. I've had up to 5 4wk old mice running on this at once they get plenty of exercise and it takes up little space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great of a product

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Troy, MI
I used to have two of these for my Syrian Hamsters. All they ever did was tip it over and smack it against the glass of my aquarium. I would not recommend this product because it was not used for running on and I quickly had to switch over to an excercise wheel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great Mfg. backing!

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, Nevada
The original ones had a metal pin that the saucer sat on, the newer ones are plastic.For those of you here that have mentioned the larger wheel "breaking" when used with a hedgehog or other "large" small animal, Ware has addressed the issue, and is VERY GOOD about sending you a replacement if you call them directly. Now that the breakage issue has been taken care of it is once again a great product. I am a hedgehog breeder, and we use these interchangably with other types of wheels. Very quiet, and the hedgies love them, price is right also!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this style wheel for mice!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from DE
We originally purchased a medium sized blue one for the hamster but she never did figure it out. I offered it to my mice instead and they absolutely love it. It hardly makes any noise at all and it's held up great for several months. I just got my order in for a second medium flying saucer in green, also for my mice. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hedgie Wheel

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from IL
I bought the large flying saucer for my hedgehog. He loves it more than his old wheel and he spends hours running on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

chinwheel

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from calexico, ca
My chin loved this wheel, it was a bit noisy but seeing him happy made that imperfection worth it. But it broke after only 2 weeks!! I fixed it but in 3 days it broke off from the same post that holds the wheel. I purchased a new one and the new one broke after a week!! Really bad product, and a huge waste of money...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Breaking

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
We have had this wheel for about two months now and it has been destroyed by our pet hedgehog just running on it. I would not recommend this wheel because of its irritability and destructibility.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Breaks Sooner than Expected

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
The pricing was great compared to alternative wheels and such, I purchased it a week in advance of bringing my hedgehog home. He was 6 wks old when I got him and waited a couple days until I let him run on it. Ofcourse he ran on it daily and loved it the first night he got it. While it is not so silent, the sound I do not mind but it does give a whirl sound. My deal breaker is that my hedgehog only had it for about two months when it broke in half from a colum in the inside holding the pieces together. These two months included days when we will place a diggin box instead. Did not last long, so would not buy again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice alternative to a wheel

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Utah
The only con I can think of is that it takes up a lot of floor space, but on the plus side it does not take up much vertical space.
Some of my adult mice can't figure out what saucers are for, but the ones that do figure it out love it. Young mice always seem to figure it out quickly--and more of them can run together than on even an 8-inch wheel. They also seem better able to understand the concept of running the same direction (on wheels often I'll have two trying to go opposite directions).
And of course, there's the very obvious pro: it's a far more natural running position, no risk of wheel tail, better for the back.
And (so far) very quiet as long as it doesn't migrate across the floor and start knocking things. lol Still quieter than even quiet wheels, frankly.
Oh--another con--it does have a tendency to gather gunk far more quickly than wheels do, and is a little harder to wash off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not get for hedgehogs

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Itasca, IL
This is our 3rd wheel in 2 months. They keep breaking. I would recommend this for a hedgehog. Not sure how well it works for other animals.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>