petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals

Toe and tail safeProvides an "out of this world" running experiencePets love the solid running surfaceEasy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Review 1 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wheel

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
housemouse
from Wisconsin
One of my mice had developed a pretty bad case of "wheel tail" from running on a traditional hamster wheel...he is much more comfortable running on this, and my other mice enjoy them too, and will run on them all night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saucer is okay

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
RoboandHammy
from Brooklyn, NY
I have my saucer for 1 day. It is the smallest size and both my robo hamsters run on it together. One of the robos came from a pet store where he was given the old type of wheel and he is trying to learn to use the saucer by watching the other one use it. It squeaked a bit, but nothing vegetable oil won't fix. The product is quite frail being of a light plastic so the animal can break it if it is heavy. I saw some broken ones in the pet stores all broken in same way. But the robos I own are very light so the wheel should be okay. The only thing I worry about is when they spin really fast on it, they fly off and hit the side of the tank, I am not sure if that is healthy for them... I might pad the walls around the saucer to keep them safe. But they do love the saucer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
happyhammy
from Maine
Good product for smaller hamsters, My daughters Syrian hammy still not sure how to use it after two weeks and prefers her standard wheel. Her dwarf hamster used it right away and seems to be a better fit for her where she is much smaller.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
HoneyBooBooFanChild424
from Elkhart,IN
My hamster really likes this wheel! It make small sound, (grease it w/ vegetable oil every now and then) but when it gets wet, bedding gets stuck to the center. It wipes off with a rag, but it gets old. I really like this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect For Mice

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
CubsCat
from Mesa, AZ
The 6.5" size is perfect for my four mice. They had had a free-standing wheel before (very squeaky) but immediately took to the Saucer Wheel. It's roomy enough that 2 or even 3 of the girls can run at the same time and it's safe: no way that tails or feet can be caught or injured. Very quiet, too -- just the sound of their little feet pattering away! You and your little ones will love this wheel :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is so so

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
cvtlavt
from West Milford, NJ
I had and is still having problems with my animal using this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet - Ahh, the sound of silence...

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mycurlylocks
from North Carolina
These are the quietest wheels I've ever owned. I have two long haired Siberian hamsters and they love to run the wheels.
The only time I hear any noise is when they've walked the wheels to where they rub the cage bars. If I can figure out how to weigh the wheels down, so they don't move, my nights will be perfect.
So nice to not have to worry about feet being caught in the wires or the wheel being flipped on it's side and becoming the potty zone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was poor

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommitaxi
from Augusta,ME
My chinchilla was able to break this today...the whole top broke off...very DIS-SATISFIED....didn't even last 3weeks..would like a refund
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not For Rats

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trenix
from Tucson, AZ
This wheel will not support the weight of a rat. My rats broke two of these wheels, if you have rats save your money and time by avoiding this wheel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
jejsrose
from Rochester, NY
We bought one of the larger wheels about a year ago for our hedgehog. He uses it every night and loves it, sometimes he even hides underneath the base. It is great for our pet since his feet and legs can't get caught in anything when he runs. We are ordering a second one as, after time, it becomes very loud and squeaky at night!! Great product. Wish we could pick our own color....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel For small Animals

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tamarak
from Minot, ND
I do like them, however a few tiny problems, first off not fair that a person cannot choose the Color they want!
secondly the big wheel for the Chinchilla's kinda dose not stay put and they have yet to really spin on it :( not sure on how to get them to use it or make it sturdy without duck taping it down on the bottom .... Otherwise the smaller one i think i seen my sugar gliders use so i am loving that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is worth the price!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hamsterrific
from Portland, OR
I bought 2 of these for my Syrian hamsters, and they love them! I put them in their tanks, and they thought it was Christmas! I like the way the wheel fits in the tank, and how quiet it is. I just needed to make sure it was flat on the tank bottom. Only question I have is can the base be a bit heavier. They get on it, and it moves across the tank with them. Other than that, this is definitely worth the price. I would definitely let other people know how good it is and where to get it. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for most small pets

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZooKeeper2013
from maine
i have used these with various small pets. they have worked great with all my hamsters (teddy bear, smooth haired, and chinese dwarf) but not so great with my gerbils. within just an hour they had it chewed up and made the bottom into a nest. lol. but all in all i would buy this again for less chewy rodents.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic for smart pets

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raena
I was really excited to get this "wheel" for my mice especially since the squeaking of the old wire wheel had been keeping me up at night. (Plus I was worried about their feet and tails.) However, no matter how long I left the Saucer in the cage without the other wheel, my mice didn't understand how to use it. I even tried several tricks to try and bait them into walking while on it, but they're not the brightest of the bunch. So I guess I'll have to find a different alternative. Perfect idea! But for more intelligent pets, whoops!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this wheel.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyMcBeff
This is a great alternative to wire wheels, especially if you have a critter with a long tail. Also, it is much less likely to cause bumblefoot if it gets too dirty and it's much easier to clean. Finally, if you have a large critter like a chinchilla or a big rat, an 12" wire wheel might be too small for them to run well and can cause back injuries. an 18" wheel is hard to fit in a cage with many levels. The 12" saucer is safe and takes up much less space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Flying Saucer Exercise Wheel for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It! <3

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmerigoKnight
from California, CA
I got my two gerbils about two weeks ago. When I was at the store I saw this wheel and remebered hearing that it was great and super safe so I bought it. I love it!! So do my Gerbils, they run for hours and sometime the run together with no problem. and there tails can't get caught!! For some reason the other pet stores near me down sell the flying sauce in stores so I was super glad that Petco had them. Mine is in green.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.