petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus

Kaytee Ferret Home Plus

Multi-level ferret cage that is perfect for playing inQuality construction ensures a long lifeFeatures chew proof coated wire and locksHas stain resistant plastic parts to help keep cage cleanIncludes ramps, slide and comfort shelves
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Review 1 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it so far!

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Leola, pa
I bought this cage about three weeks ago when I got my second ferret. So far I love it, his food is on the top level secured to the wire which gets him running around. Also I love the locks because my previous ferret used to break out. The only complaint I have is if you set up the cage how it shows you, which is pretty much necessary the bottom level is kinda low so you have to get a low backed litter pan so it fits under... Also the slide could be a bit more sturdy.But otherwise so far I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this product!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Puyallup Wa
My husband and I bought this product in Oct. 2014 as of today I am contacting the company to get a full refund. My ferret age 3 months just fell from the top level to the bottom and it was not a soft fall by any means, she slammed right down on her igloo. Thankfully she is okay, but this was not the first time. This has happened many times due to the fact that the platforms are very small. I hate the doors on this product as well. NOT easy to get in and clean at all and the platforms are not fun to take out if they need to be wiped down. The ramps are made of such poor quality that a ramp broke 2 weeks after we bought it. Buyer beware!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

beware the plastic ramps

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
This cage was fairly easy to put together, however I was very disappointed to discover that one of our two ferrets was chewing on the plastic ramps. Apparently they are not as chew-resistant as the rest of the cage. Plus, the spiral slide constantly falls down thru normal use. So we took all that out since the ferrets are big to climb from level to level.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage for the price!

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I bought this cage in store and got it for 20% off due to box damage and for 110 bucks I am pleased with it. I didn't have much trouble putting it together but the platforms are VERY difficult to take in and out or to move around. I bought the cage for my two adult female rats hoping that they wouldn't be able to squeeze out and luckily they don't (Or at least they aren't trying hard enough because they love their new cage so much!). There is plenty of room to run and play for a rat or a chinchilla, not so much for more than one ferret maybe. If your rats are small or if they are escape artists, I would not recomend this cage. The widest gap is 1 inch. The ramps are pretty flawed; they are too long for the dimensions of the cage and they touch the wall of the cage which kinda bothers me but isn't physical problem. Also they are a little slippery which means you can't make them very steep. Lastly, the slide seems really cool but in order for it to fit in the cage at all you MUST put the shelves in exactly like the are in the picture, which I didn't want to do. All in all, this is a good cage based on the resonable price and my ratties and I are satisfied with the purchase! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Eh....

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from TX
It's a great cage for my bigger ferret, but my other ferret keeps slipping through all the bars. Also, the wire breaks easily and the top corner was bent when I bought it. Despite the quality, it'd be okay if the bars were a bit smaller. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Frustrated

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Radford, VA
I got this cage for my pet rats, even my full grown ones can slip through the bars, though even looking at the bars in person, they don't look it. Chincilla would be happy here I'm sure but the darn thing took me over an hour to get together and some of the ramps are breaking when they came out of the box. Could be better quality and I wish the bars were smaller!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage for starters

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from The Dalles
It's a great cage for starters, I have two ferrets of my own. The downside to the cage is mainly the slide. It won't stay together with the ferrets' weight. I ended up 'duct taping' the top part of the slide to keep it together. The ramps were a lil slick for them climbing up and down, and some of the cage latches I had to bend a little to get it to secure a little better. On the plus side, there is a lot of space for their sleepers and what not, easy to clean and maintain, and it also has a top latch for easy access... Overall, I would refer this cage to others, as long as they don't mind the little faults.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's really good

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
This cage is good for a starter. it is big enough for my ferret to play around in. but if you don't put the slide together correctly, then it wont work. That and the slide wont hold the ferrets weight. But overall it is a great cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Ferret Home Plus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from wassaic
this is a great cage for a ferret to grow up in we have a baby
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.