petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black

Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black

Perfect size countertop or desktop fish tankModern tank with etched glass and aluminum highlightsSleek, slim profile ideal for narrow spacesIncludes 37 powerful LED lights to illuminate your fish and décor3-stage filtration system keeps tank water cleanComes with foam block, activated carbon and BioMax bio ringsFor use as a saltwater or freshwater aquarium
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Review 1 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great small size aquarium

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nj
Great aquarium if you can't or don't want to allow too much space to the fish's. Very convenient. Easy to set up. Modern design without noise and big plastic parts.
have it for 2 weeks and just started cycling with 5 small tetra neons inside. They Seem all right.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little tank - just one thing

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
So, I love this tank, very clean lines, etc. Just keep in mind that the plastic top sits FLUSH... Which is great unless you want to put anything else in the tank with a cord (like a heater). That's my only gripe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ohio
Using the tank as a reef tank with mushroom anemone and coral polyps and will be adding feather dusters soon. Love the design of the filter and lighting everything you need to start a small reef tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for beginner

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sheffield, AL
I love this aquarium. The size and sleek rectangular design allows it to fit almost anywhere. The setup is so easy. It's extremely quiet. An overall great kit for the beginner or anyone wishing to add a small peaceful spot in their home or office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Maternity tank

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbia sc
Using for my baby African cichlids, only issue is wish it had a switch for the light instead of having to unplug it. This is great for babies and also as a hospital tank for sick fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kit

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
I've had this tank set up for about a week. This is a great little tank kit, and is actually quite a good value when you consider that it comes with the large filter built right in, a lid, and a decent LED lighting system. It's quick to set up and well made. With other less expensive kits you might end up replacing the filter and lighting system; and you'll probably be looking for a lid that fits. As a result, you might end up spending more than this tank it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Elegant Spec V

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newark, CA
I started a 3 gallon as a hospital tank for my sick fish. As months go by, I realize that some fish rather stay in this small tank than go back to the bigger tank because upon being in the big tank, they immediately get sick again. The 3G tank then of course become inadequate for a couple of those now permenant residents. However, bacause of limited space available, anything greater than 6 or 7 gallons seem out of proportion. Spec V model fits the bill perfect - slim, elegant yet functional and extreemly quiet
The reason for 4 stars is because of the light. The piece holding the light is poorly designed. The light wont stay parallel but rather tilted at the tip. Very annoying. The 2 blue lights for nite time viewing though beautiful, they are too bright which may disturb the fish sleeping. I ended up using a piece of dark plastic to cover most of the light before I go to bed.
Other than that, it's a beautiful addition piece of deco to anyroom. Even my shy cherry barb comes out to hang (instead of hiding in its favorite spot).
A big bonus for me was I bought it when Petco had $30 off on $100 purchase! Happy customer ;)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiul, but has false measurements.

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from WI
I was confused as to why the Height was said to be 6.3" (H), 10" (W), and 17" (L). I thought of what an odd tank it was stating to look like by the measurements. Not sure if it was a web mistake or my computer, but it really confused me. The actual measurements have a width of 6.3", a height of 10", and a length of 17". Other than that I love it. It looks great, the lighting is great, and my Betta loves the space.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item Broke

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from orchard park, my
The base of my fish tank arrived in the mail broke and there was also a chip in the glass tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful but needs some minor tweaking

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We got this for our Betta and to eventually add some cherry shrimp. We wanted a planted tank too for the shrimp to hide. When we got this it seems like a beautiful design. However when we set this up we noticed 2 things. First if you put a heater in, you can't accommodate the cord with the lid. If you read some other reviews, you can fit some of the heaters in with the filter, however I am not sure if that damages the life of the filter due to the heat. Also I wanted to have an airstone in there to help with circulation so the tubing was another thing that won't work with the lid, since there is no accommodation for any tubes or electric cords in the lid. So what I did was just left the lid pushed down on the right, and by the left side with the filter, the lid just rests on top of the tubing and heater cable. You can't even retro fit the lid to adjust for the cable. I don't regret this because the other tanks filtration systems are just too aggressive for a fancy betta male, but those others allow for cables and tubing through the lid.
Someone also said the light wasn't strong enough for plants, I haven't had it long enough, but the tank is near my window so hopefully the additional light will help them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent view of the fish inside !

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tacoma WA
I love this Fluval tank. I have a smaller one also that I've had for 6 months or so. These tankw stay cleaner than any other tank I've had. Putting it together was a breeze. Love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Spec V Aquarium

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I too stressed about what tank to buy and where to put it. I have a nice mahogany lawyers bookcase with the glass door 3 high that I though might be a perfect place, thus, I needed a slim design as its narrow.
It ended up being over $150 all in after the plants, gravel, etc.
Although this is a relatively expensive tank, its top quality. Solid glass tank. No plastic here to get scratched. It looks very modern and although I only had it for a few days, is working well. The filter is nearly silent and the led lighting and design is very sharp.
I have a beta and 5 neon tetras and it seems perfect.
Fluval seems to have some nice, high quality products, so if your looking for a modern design, and not overly concerned with price, this is it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Coeur d'Alene, ID
Bought this tank tonight after debating for about a week, because of the price. The picture on the front of the box does this tank no justice. I bought it expecting a plastic tank and decent lights. When I got home and took it out of the box, I was surprised to see the tank itself was seamless glass, with surprisingly adequate LED lighting. Set the tank up and filled it with water, and within an hour the tank was crystal clear. The performance on the filter was outstanding. The moonlight feature is beautiful. Wonderful tank, and would recommend it to anyone interested in setting up a nano tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic , good size, beautifully too

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from worcester. ma
so since three month. my fishes is one snail mystery, one betta, two catfish, one catfish cuckoo, two guppies too. they love it that one. lovely decor. look down pix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Evans, GA
Love the tank!!! It is lovely!!! Easy to maintain and the filter keeps the water pristine!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Two things..no..three things

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from bay area, ca
I have two Fluval Spec Vs. One for my betta Bruno and his cherry shrimp Max and one for my other Betta Claude and his nothing, he gets nothing. The Fluval spec V is a great deal IF you can get it on sale. Do not pay more than $50 and I will tell you why
1. If you are going to keep a betta (which is pretty much the only thing you can keep besides inverts) you have to buy a heater separately. You can fit a Hydor Theo, ViaAqua, or Finnex heater in the filter compartment nicely. It looks very nice!!!!!!!
2. The light is good, but not for growing plants. Growing plants is crucial for me so I remedied this by buying a Finnex Fugeray 16" for one tank, and adding the left over light to the other tank until I can buy a second Fugeray to match.
3. There is randomly a hole in the bottom of the filter panel that has to be covered up for the overflow filter mechanism to work correctly. I covered it with some clear plastic. works fine.
4. the filter sponge is all wrong. the holes in the middle do not allow the water to go through filter media evenly. I fixed this by cutting the bottom off of the filter sponge, filling the remaining hole with Fluval polishing pad/ quilt batting, and then sticking an Aquaclear 50 size Biomax packet on top. now the water will at least get even bio/mechanical filtering. I don't use charcoal, sucks the plant fertilizer out of the water. Oh also I have to cover the outflow with a Fluval Edge Prefilter Sponge because the flow is just too much for my bettas'es. Also you need to rinse the sponge every week because if the thing gets clogged the water will not go through the chamber, it will kill your pump and risk killing your heater as well because your heater will not be submerged. Just have to remember about that. So change 20-50% water weekly and rinse sponge at that time. k.
So I think the Spec V is a GREAT looking tank, especially with a Fugeray on top, but I wouldn't buy it for full price since it's really not as all-in-one as it seems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flawless Aquarium

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
This is the world's best aquarium. It's super quiet and just perfect. I bought a thermometer that I attached to the side and a 50 watt heater (Tetra HT 10) that I put in the filter portion of the tank to keep it out of site and maintain the appropriate temperature for my betta fish at all times, year round. My little Nemo loves it. You have to be careful with the decor you buy. Some of the castles and houses they sell are too rough and the fish can scrape himself on it while swimming. Make sure the edges are somewhat smooth. Betta's like little hideaways. I put a live plant in there too though people should know that betta's do not eat plants. - they rest on the leaves. If they ever eat a plant it' because they are literally starving. I feed Nemo pellets twice a day and dried blood worms as treats a few times a week. ...It really is an awesome tank. I love it. Fish loves it. Easy to put together. Easy to replace filters. Simple design. Happiness.. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic !

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Lansing
This tank is even better in person. The quality is also top notch, and looks beautiful on our table. The ONLY issue is that the pump is a tad too strong and it actually sucks our beta fish against the filter/wall, pinning him there. We have to shut it off so he can escape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good features for the price

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mexico
Tank is a small but very elegant and beautiful.
The LED light is powerful enough to have plants that do not require much light.
Is completely silent.
The height and width are sufficient but is very thin and there is not much space for plants, logs or rocks.
The filter works great as that in just three days completely cleared the water was very cloudy by the substrate.
The flow is perfect as 85GPH are more than enough for this little guy.
The blue night light is a little strong and not very pretty, but I use it only when I go to sleep so it does not affect me.
My daughter loved it and wants one just to put it in your bedroom, so I'll have to buy one.
I think I made a good buy, but I think that next SPEC should be identical to this one twice as large as the minimum to be perfect
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval Spec V Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick little system

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
The unit arrived broken in shipping, cracked frame and lid was split. Exchanging it at the local Petco was easy and trouble-free. They even honored the online sale discount price. After setup, which took all of five minutes, I cycled the tank for five days and got three small fantail goldfish. Wouldn't recommend any more in a tank this size, and even that is pushing the limits, but I'm religious with my water changes. Filter is absolutely silent, and the LED lighting looks great in my kitchen. The dimmer blue LEDs function well as a nightlight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
9of 23voted this as helpful.