petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black

Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black

Small in size but big in featuresIncludes a sleek overhanging LED lighting systemNano aquarium features a powerful circulation pump with adjustable output3-Stage filtration system with media included keeps this small fish tank cleanContemporary design that fits on desktops and countertops
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Review 1 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Little Tank!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I purchased this to replace my old Eclipse 3 gallon and am very pleased. My Figure 8 puffer seems very happy too. I like that the filtration system is hidden in back, and I also like the LED lights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Desk Aquarium

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Tripoli, PA
Bought this little aquarium for my work Betta in my new office. Looks great, very quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FluvalSpec 2.6

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from worcester. ma
I was bought white that (white) Fluval Spec year ago after few day ago crank edge. betta,two catfishes, suckmouth, tiger snail still alive. I'm decide get another one that black Fluval spec in few day ago. all install and settle done. same place. my fishes really happy!
if further could happen. i will get another one in further. if they new update fluval spec little big. I'm expect that further is 3 or 3.6 gallon. i know only is 2.6 and 5 gallon current.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible tank

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from va
Filtration is horrible. The return is uncontrollable. You put more money into trying to mod it to make it work better that your better off buying a cube and a HOB filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tabletop Aquarium

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Manassas, VA
This is the best small aquarium we have ever had. Very easy to set up and love enclosed filter system. We ordered this online and the shipping was fast. Our betta fish loves his new home!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ideal betta tank

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
In my opinion as a breeder and keeper of dozens of bettas, this is the best tank you can buy for your pet betta, with the only exception being the 5 gallon version of the same product. The filtration exceeds what is necessary and allows you to use your choice of media in the same way as a canister filter. There are compartments in a large foam block for ceramic or other filter media. There is a space in the filter section for a heater so you there is no need for any distracting hardware within the tank itself. The light output is modest, but it is sufficient for low light plants like java ferns and anubias. The overall design is very clean and attractive and the workmanship is excellent. I have three of these tanks and have had no trouble with any of them. I plan on buying more of them. The only modification I've made was to place a filter sponge over the filter outlet to prevent current from sweeping around the tank. While they need filtration, bettas neither like or need any current in the tank. You will find your bettas are much more active without it. My only wish is that it was slightly bigger, this is really the absolute smallest tank size that is appropriate for a betta, or any other fish. Just because they make 1 gallon betta bowls does not mean it is a humane way to keep your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST GLASS AQUARIUM EVER!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
Great Product. Very well made. Durable, Sturdy, Attractive and is just what I was looking for. Very functionable. I like that the circulation pump and filters are hidden. There is also room for a heater to be hidden. Installation was easy and took only a few minutes. My Beta is extremely happy in his new tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good nano tank

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
Only thing that bothered me was mine was damaged when I opened it. Chipped bottom and lid. Otherwise good tank. Adjust flow by inserting some filter material in tubing...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Spec lll

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hemet, Ca
I bought this little set up after months of contemplation for one reason: Cherry shrimp. Yup I had an itch to try and keep crystal red shrimp. I have not been disappointed. A few reviews in the past stated the light was an issue that it would stop working after a bit so I put mine on a timer so I would not be turning it off and on by the switch. Hope that takes care of that. Otherwise, I am keeping about 50 shrimp in there as they have a minute bio load. I keep the aquarium well planted with micro swords and subwassertang because the LED lamp is very good for that. Water is crystal clear and I used the high setting for the air flow to keep good circulation. This is a great nano tank set up...I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Spec III Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tank

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from sacramento, ca
I have this tank set up with live plants and one male Betta. The pump is silent and there is plenty of room for a heater in the area that holds the pump.
No unslightly equipment inside the tank itself.
I also have the Spec V and it's terrific as well.
Water stays crystal clear with appropriate care and water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.