petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo

Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo

Safe for people and petsDe Flea Pet Shampoo kills fleas on contact without the use of pyrethrin based pesticidesAlso effective on ticks and liceWill not wash out spot-on flea and tick control products
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
48 out of 56(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Review 1 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I'm on the fence

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach, CA
I used this shampoo incorrectly the first time and got my cat wet beforehand. Oooops! No wonder it didn't work. Second time around, I put the shampoo directly on the cat and lathered it up. It's hard to lather, but the more you add on, the better it is. I left it on my little guy for 10 minutes and then rinsed him off. I didn't see any dead fleas leave his coat when I rinsed him in the tub. The verdict is still out on whether this product does what it says it does. I did find a couple of dead fleas afterwards, but other than that, I can't find any more. I also found a couple of live ones. I lathered my cat up good too. I combed him with a flea comb during the wash and after and I'm not finding anymore at this point, but I have a feeling I'll find more. I'll revise this review if I do not find any on him in a day or so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS WORKS

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Clearwater, FL
I work in the pet care/vet industry, so I am very familiar with Capstar, not only as an oral flea solution but also as a suppository--within 5 minutes generally Capstar will start killing off fleas when administered this way. This shampoo literally had my bathtub covered in dead fleas from the minute I put it on my puppy. I was amazed. I absolutely love it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has a flea problem in their home, since it helps repel/kill fleas for up to 7 days after use (when the pet is kept mostly indoors). With one bottle, I would say you could probably completely rid a single, small to medium sized dog of a flea infestation if used once a week until the bottle was gone. Its that effective!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Description

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, MO
I bought this as a preventative measure for a cat and the title and description did NOT indicate that it is to be used for dogs only. What's more, the bottle leaked into the bag it was shipped in (thankfully) so that would be quite a mess when opened. I will donate the shampoo to a local shelter and will not buy online again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
I use this product on my cats when they have flea's it kills the fleas the moment I put the soap on them I will continue to purchase this product when I run out because it works so well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kills fleas

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My roommate got this shampoo when our combined cats (she has 1, I have 2) got fleas last summer.
This shampoo is a very thin liquid so be careful as you are pouring it because you can waste a lot of the product and spill. This shampoo works VERY well to kill fleas in the pet's coat, and while you're shampooing, make sure to pick the fleas out (because you can see where they are on your pet's skin/wet hair). I would also suggest putting a topical flea treatment on right after giving your pet a bath to prevent more fleas. Also, wear gloves!!! This stuff is very harsh on human skin! I made the mistake of not wearing gloves when I bathed one of my cats and my hands were super itchy, red, sore and angry for a couple of hours after :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe for baby puppies

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Providence, RI
I've used this product for years - excellent for control of fleas and mites. I've used it on puppies as young as 6 weeks. An excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product with great results

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Katy (Houston) TX
My two 9 month old puppies had flies - one was being tortured so I had applied flea drops - two days later they were still being tortured so I rush down to my local Petco and purchased the Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo along with the spay for our carpet and furniture.
After bathing/shampooing the puppies we noticed that the fleas were gone - I allowed the shampoo to stay in one of the puppies for approximate five (5) minutes because his body was full of fleas, the other I gave a good shampoo and rinsed her off.
Immediately after drying the puppies my wife and I inspected the puppies and no fleas were found on their bodies at all - all we could see was the irritation from being tortured for two to three days. When lunch time arrive the puppies slept so well I knew that they shampoo worked beyond my imagination.
I would recommend anyone who has pets to purchase the shampoo and spray so if you dog or cat gets fleas you can address it immediately instead of wasting time and allowing you loyal family members to suffer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This Product Promised Much, Delivered Little

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kailua Kona, Hawaii
It sounded good! But when we used the shampoo on our dogs, we found it did not lather and it seemed to leave an oily substance in their fur. We repeated use, with same results. The proof in the putting, however, was that the dogs were scratching again in less than 3 days. And we found more fleas - alive. My biggest regret? We bought two bottles without first trying one, small bottle!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ticks and Fleas!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cape Coral, FL
Since I live in SW Florida we have very hot and muggy summers which is perfect weather for ticks and fleas. I do not like to use the flea and tick repelant on my dog because of my liitle sister. So I wash my dog once a week with this shampoo. He has been tick and flea free for a little over a year now! Amazing product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
Have used it multiple times on my dogs and if definitely kills fleas! I do have to pull them out of their long hair, but they're definitely dead ASAP.
Just remember it doesn't keep killing fleas like a pesticide does, so if you wash your dog and don't wash their beds, vacuum, etc., you'll just get more fleas...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work!!!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from West Haven, Ct.
I bought this for our dog and washed him twice within 2 days and the fleas were still in his coat. We lathered him up well and left the product to stay on for 15,20 minutes. Then we rinsed him off. Towel dried him and looking through his coat, there were the fleas. It certainly did not kill them. Am disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does NOT work

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Detroit MI
I used this product 4 days ago, yesterday I still seen fleas on my dog. I washed him again yesterday and hours later he still had fleas. This product was awful!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This does not work at all

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from marlborough, MA
i just washed my cat a day ago and i still see fleas crawling all over her and we used a lot of the shampoo. On the bottle it says kills fleas on contact, well it doesn't. I would never recomend this product to anyone. We even switched over to the dogs flea shampoo from natural chemistry, and once again that didnt work either. Also i think this stuff smells disgusting i was washing my cat and dog and i was simply gagging because it smelt so bad and i cant get the smell off my hands and i washed them almost five times. I rather have my pets smell good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mass Flea Genocide

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
This shampoo is excellent. My girlfriend and I noted a few fleas on our cat and chose this shampoo based on the reviews. It was a team effort, and we suffered a few wounds in the battle, but our cat was soaped and bathed from head to toe. We found many dead fleas while rinsing her off. It was clear to us that the shampoo had done its job.
If that story isn't enough...there was a stray flea on the side of the tub that was struggling to make a getaway after the smoke had cleared from the cat bath. I sprayed it with water, but that only suspended it long enough for me to grab the shampoo. I poured some of the shampoo onto the swimming flea, and it was DEAD in TWO SECONDS. This is not an exaggeration.
Please note: We also bought a house spray to kill the ones that were not on her body during the bath. We advice that you do the same.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great outcome

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Florence, PA
This shampoo doesn't smell good. When the shampoo comes out it is a clear color. Then when you apply it to you pet it foams up so you can tell where you applied it. After your animal is all dry the coat is nice and shiny and smooth. What is another great thing about this shampoo is that it can be used on dogs and cats. Puppies need to be at least 12 weeks of age but I don't know how young the cat has to be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

De Flea pet shampoo

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville,Fl.
My Flea product that I was using stopped working, Friend told me of this product and now I use the whole line of DeFlea.It is amazing ..I also had a flea infestation and it helped w/ that (the flea spray that is) This product is 5 ***** in my book...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an awesome product

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Waco, Texas
I bought this product because I had tried several others that did't work. Well to my surprise I was verry happy with it and so was my dog.In my area the fles have been really bad, mostly because some of my nieghbors dog treat their yards or animals. This is the only product that I have been very satisfied with. Hope they keep this one on the market. Could not find in the store anymore so had to go on line which is fine with me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job great

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Appling, Ga.
I have used this product for about 5 years and it kills all of what it is supposed to. just follow the directions and it works great. I get the concentraded formula from my dogs " barber" lol and it last a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wish it did more for TICKS :/

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
My little lady is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. And for those of you who have never heard or seen of the breed, Cavaliers have very thick, lengthy coats.
However, due to the fact that there has been a stray cat wondering around the yard, she unfortunately got exposed to the nasty little fleas and ticks.
This shampoo, along with Frontline PLUS does a GREAT job at getting rid of fleas. And yet, it does nothing to keep the ticks off.
I did notice, though, that while bathing her, the shampoo actually helped to make the ticks visible on the surface of her coat, but about 2 days after her bath, the ticks hopped on again.
Also, keep in mind that a little goes a long way. Despite the fact that my little lady has a thick, lengthy coat, I only had to use a few drops in order to get a nice foamy lather on her. And after the bath, I realized I had actually used way less than 1/5 of the bottle.
**NOTE: YOU NEED TO FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS ON THE BOTTLE.
It specifically says to apply the shampoo as close to your pet's skin as possible, and then lather with your fingers. DO NOT PUT IT ON YOUR HANDS FIRST, and then apply it to your pet.
A lot of other consumers did that, and it seems that their results were lacking as opposed to the results of those who followed the directions.
And after lathering, let your pet keep it on for at least 5 minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Chemistry De Flea Pet Shampoo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product!

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
This is a great and safe way to treat for fleas! Since it is much less harsh than other shampoos, I felt very comfortable shampooing both of my cats TWICE for good measure. HERE'S A TIP though .... after their baths I set them both on a towel so they could groom themselves dry again ... and while they were grooming the fleas that did NOT die in the bath were jumping off of them! As they come off ... just grab them and place them in a bowl of water. It took about 45 minutes to an hour of "supervising" their grooming ... but I was able to get the last of them before they repopulated my home and my cats! They are both now sleeping comfortably for the first time in days!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>