petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp

Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp

Provides essential UVA, UVB, light & heat all in one lampPrevents metabolic bone disease in reptilesTested to last an average of 10,000 hours
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Review 1 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this bulb online and it quit working after 3 hrs. I called Petco and they replaced it for me at the store. The new one is great. It heats the tank and sends precious UV rays down for my lizard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
It's exactly what I wanted, and it works great. Hopefully it stays this way for the entire year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix
I bought this light over two years ago and it's still going. I know the price is steep - that's why I haven't replaced it yet. If you can get a good one and take care of it, these bulbs are the best. Just don't turn it off and expect it to come back on until it has cooled down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk...

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
I've gone through two of these bulbs in less than a month. Anytime I switch my lamps off using the actual switch (not the timer), that is when they seem to burn out. Might as well stock up on the cheaper ones...at least they last longer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

UVB mercury bulbs

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from VA
After purchasing this bulb I was surprised how bright it was and that it really doesn't put out much heat at all. It lasted two weeks, I called Petco and they picked it up and sent a new one. Then the new one was received broken (internally) and didn't work, so they sent out another. We have a sulcatta tortoise and we had to purchase a heat lamp to go with this bulb because it didn't keep the aquarium warm enough. I hope this one lasts 2 years like it's supposed to! I won't buy another one....
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
from vermont
I love this bulb. Its great for my Iguana. He basks under this light for a long time. Its great because it is a UVA and UVB and a Heat Lamp all in one. Pricey but well worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
This bulb is powerful. It's one of the few that combines heat and UVB spectrum. My painted turtle loves this lamp and spends most of his time basking beneath it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
This light has lasted me for two years and it still keeps my toroise warm and its shell looks fantastic. Without this one of a kind item my tortoise would never have survived from when it was hatched!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

basking spot lamp

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
These basking lamps are nice. They keep the tank nice and warm and don't burn out too fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dont last

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
i've gone through about 10 of these bulbs in the last year.a couple of those were bumped and went out the rest just go out after a couple of months.they work well,they just dont last.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Powersun UV Self-Ballasted Mercury Vapor UVB Lamp
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lights for my reptiles

PostedDecember 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Carson City, NV
I use this product with my ball python and 3 bearded dragons. They love to bask under the light and I notice with my beardies that the coloring in them comes out and they look healthier when they are under it. I definitely believe this product does what it is intended to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.