petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

High-back design helps contain litter scatter and cat sprayEasy step-in front entranceStrong and durable plasticGreat for large cats & multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
25 out of 30(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big litter box

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philly, PA
This litter box is high and long. It provides lots of space for big house cats to use the box without making a mess. It can easily handle a 20 lb container of litter. I like the low entry for older cats who have trouble with getting in the box. A great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Roomy!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
My eight home cats prefer these boxes over their previous hooded boxes. They still have choices in other areas, but they usually use these. I like that there are no hard angles to clean and the surface seems almost non-stick.
The one design improvement I would love would be to make the front entrance slightly higher preventing my cats that face backward to urinate from peeing over the front edge and then, even if they manage to keep their butts down, they very enthusiastically bury their gift with mountains of litter that sometimes ends up outside on the rug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely helped with litter scatter!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Angola, NY
I purchased this litter box because I was tired of cleaning up scattered litter from a litter box that had a litter guard around the top that didn't seem to work. This litter box solved the problem. The only time I have to clean up litter scatter is if the litter is kicked out of the front of the litter box which really isn't that much anymore. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad They Made This

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I have a cat that likes to back up and urinate in the litter box it usually ended up over the side and on the floor.. I bought 3 of these because they are high enough to stop this mess. Yes, they work and would buy them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST litter box

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saint Charles, IL
These litter boxes are the best for a few reasons. First, the cats like the high sides, and they are very easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not easy to empty

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
I purchased the Jumbo version and my cats seem to like it. However, as the one who changes the litter - I do not like it. The 'front' end of the box will not fit into the opening of a standard kitchen trash bag (13 gallon) so I have to scoop the used litter from the pan into the trash bag instead of dumping or pouring it directly into the trash bag. That's no fun so this litter box is getting replaced asap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good to "go in"

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from louisiana
The kittens took to this pan right away and it's large enough to handle the three of them for a day without getting too messy. High sides keep the litter in where it should be. My 18 year old likes hers too. I have another litter coming and the same size pan waiting for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Andrews, TX
This product solved our problem of our cats
pushing liter out of their box. The higher sides prevent this from occurring. It saves us a lot of time cleaning up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase for my multi-cat family

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Scituate, MA
I have 3 cats, one of which is almost 20 pounds, so these large, open litter boxes are ideal, especially for my scaredy-cat who doesn't like enclosed spaces, nor someone sneaking up on him! Also, not sure if it's that it's new or the material, but clean up is easier than it was in my Booda Dome litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great size

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oregon
This large litter box is excellent for the cats that urinate outside the litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Four Cats and They All Love It

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Encinitas, CA
We have four cats and four different kinds of litter boxes in our house. This box is everyone's favorite by a long mile. It's big enough that even a large cat has plenty of room and won't feel cramped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my big cat

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I have a 16 lb cat. She can walk in these and move around until she has found her "spot". This is a great product for her.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern Kentucky
I really love the 3 XL high-back litter pans I bought. They are great for keeping the litter in the pans and the XL size works well for the two large cats I have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as durable

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from rural Georgia
I have used this model of litter pan for several years and was quite pleased with them. I needed a few new pans recently and it appears that they are now being made of a less durable polymer. More than 50% of the pans in my order were broken in transit. That had never happened before, and in all instances, the pans were shipped via UPS, The "original" pans were very durable, but the newer pans don't have the same density and strength as the older ones did. Buy them in the store; don't have them shipped or they'll probably be damaged when you receive them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great with the privacy den

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
This product fits great in the "premium privacy please den". We have two large cats and originally bought the larger sized litter box, however, after putting it in the cabinet we realized there was no room for our kitties to walk and knock off excess litter. We ended up exchanging it for the smaller sized little rbox and it has been working great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the high sides

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cape Coral, FL
I purchased three jumbo boxes because we have several large cats and one that thinks she needs to take liter from the other box which makes a mess. The jumbo boxes have been great, no more liter being used from the other box because of the high sides and everyone has room because of the size. I will be purchasing one more so I can alternate them weekly for cleaning. I highly recommend these and the size is just right for multiple cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The One To Buy!!!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati
I have several litter boxes. Omega, Clever Cat, Arm and Hammer and now the Petco High Back. This is my favorite of all and the cats favorite too! I have 6 cats and 6 litter boxes and since I received this one they have stopped using 3 of the others. The jumbo is exactly as it says... Jumbo. It has smooth sides which makes it easy to clean. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
I have three cats with not an over abundance of space for their cat boxes. There was space for two high back, big boxes, but not enough for a third. Came across the correct size of 15" in this high back. It fits perfectly! Now they have three boxes. Do not stop producing this size cat box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used to love it, but not anymore!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petco- Please. please, please go back to the plastic you used to use to make this!!
I have loved this litter box for years and owned several. The other day I needed to get a new litter box due to a new cat addition and bought this. In the store I thought the plastic looked and felt different but I thought this may be due to my other boxes being years old.
I bought one and brought it home, but accidentally dropped it when filling it and it cracked up the side! I have dropped my other ones many times and they have never cracked like this. The plastic is cheap and brittle, not the plastic that used to be used.
I went back to the store to exchange it, thinking it was a fluke, and all the others had discount stickers on them noting that they were cracked as well! Every single other one had a crack somewhere on it.
I have had to go elsewhere for litter boxes now. Petco, please go back to the plastic you used to use!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more presents left on the side!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
I wasn't actually expecting this product to be that great based on the price and the type! I had orignally purchased this pan to just be a "filler in' while we were in between moves with my cats.
This pan is actually quite purrfect for my cats since they haven't traced as much litter around (depending on the litter...) and it has also stopped them from leaning over the side while they do their business so I am not finding any presents on the floor around it anymore.
The only downside is that my cats are both a bit over weight so they have bellies that drag over the top when they step in.
Worth the price though if you want to have less of a mess with diggers or cats that lean while they go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>