petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

High-back design helps contain litter scatter and cat sprayEasy step-in front entranceStrong and durable plasticGreat for large cats & multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Admirecats
from Minnesota
I have three cats with not an over abundance of space for their cat boxes. There was space for two high back, big boxes, but not enough for a third. Came across the correct size of 15" in this high back. It fits perfectly! Now they have three boxes. Do not stop producing this size cat box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used to love it, but not anymore!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
decorqueenzilla
Petco- Please. please, please go back to the plastic you used to use to make this!!
I have loved this litter box for years and owned several. The other day I needed to get a new litter box due to a new cat addition and bought this. In the store I thought the plastic looked and felt different but I thought this may be due to my other boxes being years old.
I bought one and brought it home, but accidentally dropped it when filling it and it cracked up the side! I have dropped my other ones many times and they have never cracked like this. The plastic is cheap and brittle, not the plastic that used to be used.
I went back to the store to exchange it, thinking it was a fluke, and all the others had discount stickers on them noting that they were cracked as well! Every single other one had a crack somewhere on it.
I have had to go elsewhere for litter boxes now. Petco, please go back to the plastic you used to use!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more presents left on the side!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
XxTinkerbell
I wasn't actually expecting this product to be that great based on the price and the type! I had orignally purchased this pan to just be a "filler in' while we were in between moves with my cats.
This pan is actually quite purrfect for my cats since they haven't traced as much litter around (depending on the litter...) and it has also stopped them from leaning over the side while they do their business so I am not finding any presents on the floor around it anymore.
The only downside is that my cats are both a bit over weight so they have bellies that drag over the top when they step in.
Worth the price though if you want to have less of a mess with diggers or cats that lean while they go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
KenB
from Cleveland, OH
Quality product and reasonable price. Will last and be well used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high back open litter pan

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
kmander
from mays landing new jersey
Having a digger this is a great pan. Also the himi likes to be in there with vindiesel so it's big enough for both. it's easy to clean and is roomy enough to miss a day and not look full or smell.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended for diggers

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
kmland07
from MN
My cat loves to dig in his box and this one keeps in all of his messes. I've barely had to vacuum near his box since I got this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this litter box!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Orcogirl
from Oregon
I love this box so much I had to get a second one. I foster cats and kittens so I need big litter boxes and they needs to be able to be used by all sizes from kittens to huge adults. This box is perfect! The material the box is made of is extra slick and the stuff scoops out easily! Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap plastic

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gabeandralph
from Carroll is
When I received this product it was broke in two places. I do wonder how to line this litter pan? The store will allow me to exchange. Will need to travel over 140 miles to return this product.
Thankfully I have 60 days to return .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap plastic, broke two already

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
BostonStrong
from Boston, MA
This is a great idea but with poor execution. I've broken two of these now in the SAME spot! (rear corner). They have cheaped out on the plastic. May even have a design flaw. Even with no litter in it, the corner broke off when dropped a short distance onto the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Binderella
from MN
I have a 9-yr old male cat that has had recent hip problems. He now has a hard time "squatting". I have been looking for something wide and tall enough for him and this is it!!! Was going to cut down a plastic container but none I found were wide enough for him to turn around in or tall enough. They were also to long & would take too much litter. This is perfect!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pan, perfect size

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Friley
from Chicago, IL
I bought this as the removable insert for my homemade covered litter box. It fits perfectly and seems to get the job done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for multi cats

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catsrule13
from Piscataway nj
Holds enough litter for multi cats...sides high to help keep litter and accidents in box. Use to use 2boxes before purchasing this box over 2 years ago. Washes easily. It is a big size for big cats or for those who want to sift less often. Be sure to use at least 3 inches of litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Plastic

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
918kiwi
from Palmdale, CA
Dropped it on my way out of the store yesterday, and it broke and cracked in several places. It's getting returned today!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.