petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan

High-back design helps contain litter scatter and cat sprayEasy step-in front entranceStrong and durable plasticGreat for large cats & multi-cat households
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
39 out of 44(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Review 1 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great with the merry pets cat house

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wv
I got this to go with the merry pets cat house. It fits perfectly and helps my cat not mess up the wood in the cat house, because her mess stays in the litter box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size and height

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellevue WA
I have two cats and they love to throw litter all over plus they started to stand up rather than squat to urinate. The box keeps everything that needs to be in the box in there!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High-Back Open Litter Pan just what I needed

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dunedin, FL
More than one need solved for my two kitties. The high back made sure nothing spiilled over, since they liked to back into the corners, and plenty of room for them to get to push the litter around. Also easy to clean too. Nothing "sticks" to it. Very pleased!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size for multi-cat family

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, Oregon
My cats loved their new litter pans. They are not scattering litter anymore and there is room for all three cats.
We purchased two for their convenience and privacy.
Perfect Christmas Gift for the Kittys
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bigger Box for Growing Kittens

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
One of my kittens hadn't been using the litter box much, so I read online that sometimes they like bigger boxes once they start to grow. Since I purchased this one, she seems to be using it more and is more comfortable in it. I used to see her trying to turn around in her old one and she seemed cramped. The only negative I would say is that you can't choose a color. I saw tan and blue as options and was hoping to get the tan, but I of course got the blue (for my tan bathroom). I even tried to call and couldn't specify a color. Oh well, just a first world problem!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter Pan

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bellingham WA
Looks sturdy and should do the trick for my high kicker of sand--who refuses to use a box with a lid!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as I had hoped!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Kent, VA
I have 2 cats that had outgrown their standard 18x15 inch litter boxes. I was having to vacuum daily, as well urine was accidentally being kicked out or little accidents were happening outside the box.
This 24x18 jumbo litter box works like a charm!
I bought 2 - 1 for downstairs and 1 for upstairs.
It has high back and sides.
No more litter being kicked out or accidents!
I am thrilled with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the trick

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I purchased 4 of these at one time and was informed that Petco would pick out the colors...you would think they would either do 2 of one color, 2 if the other or all the same. No, they send 3 of one color and 1 oddball. The blue one shows the dusty litter a lot more than the cream colored ones.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great For Multiple Cats

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from az
Perfect size, roomy and makes for easy cleanup. The high back is helpful too for litter overspill.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size, easy to clean

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Battle Ground, WA
This pan is large enough for my bigger cats and with a rolled top and a smooth interior is much easier to clean than some others. It is sturdy enough to pick up with litter in it with out bending, but not heavy construction. Have purchased many and it is the one I and my cats prefer!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High-back open litter pan

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carrollton, TX
Like this style very much compared to the small, low pans I have tried previously. It is simple and does the job. It is roomy and everything stays in the pan, including the litter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for large cats

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from So Cal
I am happy to find a box large enough for my long, 25 lb cat. The sides are high enough that the litter doesn't get kicked out so easily and my other small cat can't go over the side when she raises her butt before she's finished. Perfect solution for us! It seems sturdy but I haven't lifted it yet to completely empty it. Just received it a couple days ago but so far I'm very happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Multi Cat Home

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Apopka
We have four cats and have found these high- back pans to be great to keep litter from spilling out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more misses

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my older cat who has arthritis, she needed more room and higher sides, it's worked out well foe her and me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big litter box

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philly, PA
This litter box is high and long. It provides lots of space for big house cats to use the box without making a mess. It can easily handle a 20 lb container of litter. I like the low entry for older cats who have trouble with getting in the box. A great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Roomy!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
My eight home cats prefer these boxes over their previous hooded boxes. They still have choices in other areas, but they usually use these. I like that there are no hard angles to clean and the surface seems almost non-stick.
The one design improvement I would love would be to make the front entrance slightly higher preventing my cats that face backward to urinate from peeing over the front edge and then, even if they manage to keep their butts down, they very enthusiastically bury their gift with mountains of litter that sometimes ends up outside on the rug.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely helped with litter scatter!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Angola, NY
I purchased this litter box because I was tired of cleaning up scattered litter from a litter box that had a litter guard around the top that didn't seem to work. This litter box solved the problem. The only time I have to clean up litter scatter is if the litter is kicked out of the front of the litter box which really isn't that much anymore. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad They Made This

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I have a cat that likes to back up and urinate in the litter box it usually ended up over the side and on the floor.. I bought 3 of these because they are high enough to stop this mess. Yes, they work and would buy them again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST litter box

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Saint Charles, IL
These litter boxes are the best for a few reasons. First, the cats like the high sides, and they are very easy to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco High-Back Open Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not easy to empty

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
I purchased the Jumbo version and my cats seem to like it. However, as the one who changes the litter - I do not like it. The 'front' end of the box will not fit into the opening of a standard kitchen trash bag (13 gallon) so I have to scoop the used litter from the pan into the trash bag instead of dumping or pouring it directly into the trash bag. That's no fun so this litter box is getting replaced asap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>