petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food

Grain free dog food made with limited ingredientsAdult dog food contains high quality turkey, potatoes and peasOmega-3 and 6 fatty acids support healthy skin and coatLifeSource Bits provide a precise blend of micronutrientsEasily digestible formula is free of wheat, corn, soy, dairy and eggs
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy and tasty

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
My two dogs (Golden Retreiver and Duck Tolling Retreiver) both love Blue Buffalo. It took some trial and error to figure out that my little one has food allergies. I switched to grain free, turkey and potato and the skin issues have completely cleared up.. They eat it dry in the morning for breakfast and mixed with a little canned Blue Buffalo at night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Limited Ingredients

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
One of two of our dogs has food allergies. We switch to Blue Buffalo limited ingredients. No, allergic reactions and both of their coats/hair are soft and shiny. I definitely recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
My pit bull mix has a sensitive stomach and some dry skin issues, and he is an extremely picky eater.. We had him on Halo when we first got him but it was quite a bit more than Blue and he didn't like it that much. We switched him to Blue Buffalo Freedom and his skin cleared up a lot but he was VERY gassy. I have two dogs and my female dog had not problems with the Freedom. So we found out about Basics and he has been eating the salmon recipe for about 8 months and loves it. The Basic formula is a little more costly than other formulas in the Blue line but if you have a dive dog like me, it's worth it. The only problem I have seen was when we switched flavors of Basics. I bought the turkey and potato instead of the salmon because it was on sale and I had a few days of stinky dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sparta Tn
Has all the good stuff and none of the bad. My Dogs Love the taste.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy on digestive system

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County CA
Finally, after trying many other high quality dog foods for our dog's very sensitive stomach, this did the trick! Digestive system is normal and he loves the food, plain by itself - no need to add warm water or wet food on top. Highly recommend for anyone having issues with their dog's digestive system. Also recommend giving Omega supplements to help with overall immune, skin & coat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesom food

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Statesboro, GA
This food is great for dogs with stomach issues. My dogs has had stomach issues since he was 4 months old. We had tried many different foods, then the vet said the last thing to try before they did a surgery or something was the prescription Royal Canin GI food. That food definitely did the trick but it was $80 a bag.. Which definitely adds up very quick because my dog is a german shepherd/great dane mix so he eats a ton. But after a few months of the veterinary food I asked if the blue basics would be a cheaper alternative and they said if there was anything that may work that doesn't require a prescription then blue basics would be it! We have now been on blue basics for 6 months now, and it has been great! We love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food for dogs with stomach issues

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N,NY
Our dog can have a sensitive stomach. Switched him to this Blue Buffalo and what a difference! No stomach problems and he loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dogs love the food

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Corona, CA
My dog is a picky eater but she really loves the turkey or salmon flavored. As for my lab, I've never seen him drool so much for food. I read the ingredients and I'm happier with this brand then last we used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs don't shed as much

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Our Dogs love their new food and don't shed as bad as they did with their other food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from north carolina
This food is awesome! I recently adopted a dog, and started her on the limited ingredient because she was suffering from ear infections and stomach problems. 3 months later, her coat is shiny and healthy, no health problems whatsoever and her ears are back to normal! You can tell when you feed your animal the best food, they are healthy and happy!
I HIGHLY recommend this food to any animal that has a sensitive stomach, you will not regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For a Dog With Sensitive Stomach & Allergies

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
We recently switched from another brand who stopped making their food for sensitive doggies. Our Boston Terrier has issues with food allergies (big time itching) and stomach sensitivity (easily vomits up most dry foods) and we hoped this product would do the trick. Not only has her stomach and skin tolerated this formula well, she LOVES the flavor and can't get enough of it! The only downside we've seen (if you could even call it that) is that she is having significantly more bowel movements. More poo to pick up, but definitely irritating her stomach less. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for sensitive stomachs

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Tx
I have been purchasing the same product for the past 6 years and it has never failed. My dog has always had problems with other dog food he either didn't like it or it didn't like him (made him very sick). So I decided to go with Blue Basics and it was like a true love match and he never had stomach problems since. If it makes him happy, it makes me happy. Thank you blue , never stop making this stuff.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for dogs with allergies and sensitivities

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mckinney TX
I have 2 large dogs who both have sensitive stomachs and we have tried a lot of different food. This one is the first that has helped with their sensitivities. We have been using this food for about a year and we love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Basics

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
My dog does very well eating this food. She is vibrant and has a beautiful coat. I love free shipping when ordering.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Stuff

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
My dog is a picky eater. She has allergies and I tried grain - free Basic and she loves it. Her coat is soft and shiney. Skin is good and she seems happier. I would suggest this brand of dog food to any dog owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Dogs with food sensitivities

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Near Houston Texas
recommended by my Vet when one of our Beagles had recurring ear infections. Cleared her right up, so along with Blue Buffalo treats, ALL the 5 Beagles eat this. They love both.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Katy tx
This is my fourth bag, I have a 8 yr old lab and she came down with allergies and diarrhea to the point I was thinking I would have to be her to sleep that went on for 3 weeks and a 113 lb dog it was a mess, after I started feeding BB basic no problems and her coat use to be dull and skin was flaky. Today she is doing great her skin and coat shiny now and she loves the food, the price is worth it, also have a 9 yr old chihuahua and she is doing good with the change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog food for allergies

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
My dog has suffered with severe food allergies for years. I have tried all different dog food brands. I have tried dog food brands that my vet has recommended. None of them helped my miserable Jack Russell with his itching. Then I tried Blue Buffalo brand dog food. He is so much better now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albany, OR
We've searched all kinds of foods for our boxer who has colitis. This is the only food that doesn't cause her problems. She also has an allergy to chicken (she chews her feet) so this works perfectly. We add a little of the Turkey & Potato canned food and she loves it! I must also add her favorite treat is the Greenie Joint Care treat. She also likes the Blue Buffalo natural dental bone chew treats. These extra treats keep her joints and teeth healthy. Thank you Blue Buffalo for creating this food and thanks to Petco for your great promotions!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Basics Limited Ingredient Grain Free Turkey & Potato Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Port St. Lucie, FL
Our German Sheperd has food allergies and this is the only food we have found that he can tolerate without any problems. We tried all kinds of sensitive formulas without success. This is wonderful food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>